We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mount Royal Hotel

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mount Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,033: English reviews
Regina, Saskatchewan
Reviewed 17 March 2016

If you are looking for a ski and stay package, I highly recommend this place. Hotel is clean and fairly well kept. Lots of parking available, and busses drive to the ski resorts from the back lot of the hotel. Location is perfect in the middle of Banff Ave, so you can walk everywhere. No complaints from me.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank janson2016
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recommendation. Banff is a great area to ski from and we are happy to offer a competitively priced ski package for our guests. I am glad you were able to take advanatage of this and that you found the hotel clean and well-kept. We would love to see you again on your next ski vacation. Daren...

Sherwood Park, Canada
Reviewed 17 March 2016

Stayed at Mount Royal for a conferrence within walking distance of hotel at recommendation of conference host, but missed out on advertised price deal. Check in was fast & easy. Room 272 was in far end of hotel down long corridors & series of turns that felt like a maze! Room was actually 3 rooms with separate bedroom (2 queen...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary D
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Good day Gary D, Thank you for your wonderful review of our Mount Royal Hotel. I was happy to read you had an enjoyable stay with us! Our staff always does their best to ensure all of our arriving guests have a fast and easy check in experience so I will pass your comments along to our team to encourage...

Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewed 16 March 2016

my room had a crack in the ceiling, no fan in bathroom,mold on tub tiles, poor shape and peeling paint, overall cleanliness of lobby and basement was bad,hot tub did not even want to go in it, very dirty

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M15j
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Good day MJ A, Thank you for your insightful feedback on your recent stay with us at the Mount Royal Hotel. Please be aware that we take all feedback very seriously and always look to see where we can approve on the most. We do apologize that your experience with us wasn’t a positive one. This is never what we...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2016

The location of this hotel is excellent, right in the centre of Banff. An easy walk to plenty of restaurants and shops. The ski bus picks up from the hotel car park which was a huge plus - no schlepping through the town in ski boots. The room was spacious, plenty of hot water for showers and a bath is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ickle_lamb
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Ickle_lamb, We thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Mount Royal Hotel. We review every review and take in all comments such as your own and plan out what we can improve on. First off, wonderful to see you enjoyed our location with the added bouns of the ski bus picking you...

Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

This hotel is within walking distance to everything, in downtown Banff. Hotel is a little dated, but has some good character. Rooms could be updated, but were clean and very spacious. Also, buses to the hills, pick up right behind the hotel. Probably, not a better spot to be located.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Averagetravels
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Averagetravels, Thank you for the 4 star review of our Mount Royal Hotel. I was happy to see you enjoyed our location which is a great bonus for our guests as we are right in the middle of downtown Banff. It was wonderful to read that you found our hotel to have good character as we are part of...

Edmonton, Alberta
Reviewed 11 March 2016

1 star hotel 5 Star Pricing... Very Disappointed... Hot Tub Cold and Ghetto Looking... Did not Change Towels had To Shower and dry self with wet used towels.... Bed was horrible and well used...Would not Recommend Staying here very over priced

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank spyker_matt
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for offering us your feedback on your stay. I was very sorry to find that you were so disappointed with our hotel. Our goal is to provide good value for all of our guests and I apologize that you did not find this to be the case. Please know that our guest feedback is reviewed at all levels...

Calgary, Alberta
Reviewed 10 March 2016

you can literally walk to and from anywhere while staying at the mount royal hotel. very reasonable and perfect for a quick escape to the mountains! They also offer a package which includes a credit to the pub toque, which is a total bonus!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 404haley
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi 404Haley, Thank you for this lovely review of our Mount Royal Hotel. I was happy to hear you were able to take advantage of our Alberta Resident Package that includes a $20 credit voucher to our Toque Restaurant which you can receive by directly booking through our reservations team or our online site. It was also wonderful to see...

Banff, Alberta
Reviewed 10 March 2016

All the staff are friendly and efficient, and that seems to be the best part of the stay. The room looks a bit tired. I understand we are staying on Valentine Sunday of the long weekend, but $275 / night for a room without a fridge for our fruit, due to old wiring of the room, is inadequate and quite...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank janton85
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janton85, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Mount Royal Hotel. It was terrible to see that your experience with us wasn’t the best it could have been. But I am happy to see that our staff gave you friendly and efficient service to help make your stay a little more positive. Unfortunately,...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 10 March 2016

Some older reviews of this hotel hadn't given us high expectations for our stay, but we have been blown away by the friendliness of the staff on our arrival and the gorgeous suite they upgraded us to! The hotel has been very sympathetically renovated to a high standard, and has high quality artwork displayed throughout. A great experience all round!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Good day Jill S, Wow thank you so much for this amazing review! We really appreciate hearing that our guests had a wonderful experience with us. It was great to see you enjoyed our friendly staff and was able to be upgraded to one of our gorgeous suites! I am happy to see that you had such a positive experience...

Calgary, Alberta
Reviewed 9 March 2016

This hotel is not fancy, but its clean and comfortable and relatively modernized. The location is the selling point here. Worth everything for the location. We will stay again! There is even onsite parking.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trendy-Traveller82
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Trendy-Traveller82, Thank you for your review of our Mount Royal Hotel! It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in our clean, comfortable and modernized hotel. Our location is a wonderful option for our guests who are looking to be right in the heart of downtown Banff! I love the fact you will be joining us again...

505 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (237)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (106)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (244)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Hot Tub (14)
Viewed
Premium King Room (38)
Viewed
Premium Two Queens Room (30)
Viewed
Suite Pinnacle (49)
Viewed
Suite Rundle (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.4 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#14 of 32 in Banff
1,079 reviews
0.5 km away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 32 in Banff
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
1,354 reviews
0.5 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 km away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $135 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal
Mount Royal Hotel Banff, Alberta
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mount Royal Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Rockville, Indiana
over a year ago
over a year ago
Melbourne, Australia

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Mount Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The corner suites give ample view of the beautiful mountains!”
CelineDelisle, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room away from the "pub" if you wanna sleep early”
  • the view once you step on the main road. ...a bit of a zom cam in play
virafh, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Good location”
Chino_Mac, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“try and get a room facing the street...cool at night to watch”
DavesIKnow, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“stay somewhere else... but don't go to banff international...that's another dump.”
TRAVELFREAKONE, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Expedia.com
Hotwire.com
Orbitz.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates