We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rimrock Resort Hotel

300 Mountain Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2 Canada
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (2384)
360
Panoramas (16)
Room & Suite (632)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 6 resorts in Banff
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Highchairs available
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Skiing
Squash
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
ATM on site
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French
4.5
6,993 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
The Rimrock Resort Hotel boasts spacious rooms with breathtaking views, though guests often point out the need for updates. The service is generally lauded for its professionalism and promptness, yet some have encountered inconsistencies. Cleanliness is a strong suit, with the hotel being celebrated for its well-maintained spaces. Its prime location near attractions like the Banff Gondola is a highlight, along with the convenient shuttle service. While the amenities and inviting atmosphere are appreciated, there are calls for modernization. Opinions on value for money are divided among travelers.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Dated
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Top-notch
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
6993Reviews78Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4,326
  • 1,602
  • 611
  • 273
  • 183
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Michele S wrote a review Yesterday
Phoenix, Arizona239 contributions
We were very happy with our stay at the Rimrock. The hotel staff was extremely friendly. It is located super close to the Gondola and hot springs. The best thing I did was use valet parking. It wasn't that much more than self-parking and they were very friendly and helpful and made sure all the ice was off my window. It was awesome. I know that sounds silly, but coming from AZ the weather was quite a bit colder than I am used to and not the most familiar with dealing with snow and ice, so having them go and get my car and have it drive ready was awesome.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you are not local and deciding whether or not to get a rent-a-car......... No question, get...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Karianne Y wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
Excellent stay! Staff was efficient, professional, and provided wonderful service. Great location and beautiful views. Free bus pass was super convenient and appreciated to avoid parking headaches downtown. Only complaint was parking garage not well suited for SUVs or trucks.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Reminder: you need your room key to get out of parking garage
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Scenic12011808621 wrote a review Feb 20
1 contribution
Beautiful stay in the mountains of Banff! The concierge was very helpful in arranging local tours and the city bus shuttle was quick and convenient to get to town. So much to do in the area during wintertime. Everything about our stay was exceptional. Highly recommend the gondola ride (which is within walking distance of the resort), hiking Johnston Canyon and Lake Louise!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
britlynnm wrote a review Feb 20
Calgary, Canada3 contributions
+1
We Great stay. The team provided us with an amazing view. We did pay for the view although I don’t know if there is a bad view in this hotel. they went above and beyond for my boyfriend’s birthday and provided us with a small gift at check in. We were very impressed
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
alex882022 wrote a review Feb 19
3 contributions
+1
I came with a family to celebrate my 60. Thanks to the hotel staff, it was a remarkable 2 night stay. As a nice present, a little artisan cake and champagne with greetings were sent to the room right after checking in. Food was also delicious in all the locations. SPA area was clean and well maintained and we enjoyed staying there. Room was clean and had all the necessary accessories. It's definitely the place one wants to return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Complimentary buss passes and buss schedule are very convenient.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Natalie R wrote a review Feb 16
1 contribution
I felt entirely at home in your beautiful hotel. The front desk and concierge services were delivered with utmost professionalism by caring and friendly staff, making the stay extremely comfortable. While there was little time in my itinerary to enjoy your many amenities, I will certainly entertain these in a future visit.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
charlierjwalker wrote a review Feb 16
5 contributions
We stayed for 5 days in February. The location is breathtaking , the facilities are perfect for a young family. The staff were terrific and made us feel very welcome, suggesting lots of activities and helping us plan our time in Banff very well.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Wtnfire wrote a review Feb 15
CT48 contributions
Biggest shoutout to the Concierge staff - most helpful and informative for activities, transportation and recommendations. The resort as a whole is very nice, clean and comfortable. Food was very good and employees very friendly. Great views and onsite activities. Will stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Contact the Concierge Desk before your trip to schedule activities, things tend to book up.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Cynthia N wrote a review Feb 15
Sacramento, United States10 contributions
+1
Lovely views and welcoming staff. My 2-night mid-winter stay was very comfortable. Room was clean and spacious and the view was stunning, changing minute to minute as the weather shifted. A complementary bus pass was offered that allowed for easy trips into Banff for further exploration, shopping, dinner with pickup right at hotel entrance, and hotel is short walk to the sight-seeing gondola. Perfect location!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Didn’t need a car—multiple timely & inexpensive transportation options available.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Dustin N wrote a review Feb 15
1 contribution
The hotel is in major need of a large renovation. I remember the Rimrock being the pinnacle of staying in Banff, now I feel like it’s a punch line to a bad joke. The rooms are in disrepair and no one seems to care. And for the condition they are amazingly overpriced. The room service and most food outlets are also crazy in their pricing. We ordered room service and it was simply awful, 4 dishes and not one of them edible. We were told the skating rink would be open by the concierge when we checked in, we walked all the way to the garage for the hockey bag, got our kids all bundled up and dressed, only to find the rink closed. And closed because of pure laziness, no one wanted to shovel the snow off of it. The only high point, and the reason this is not 1 star, is the eden restaurant. We dined there and it was simply sublime. Easily the best meal I have ever had in a hotel. Based on our experience, we would never return to stay at the Rimrock. It was simply awful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t go until a major renovation is completed.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Rimrock Resort Hotel, Other at Rimrock Resort Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for your honest feedback. We are truly sorry that we did not meet our usually high standards. Your experience is certainly important to us and a hotel representative will be in touch ASAP.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Banff area.
PRICE RANGE
C$339 - C$446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rimrock hotel banff, rimrock resort banff, banff rimrock hotel
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCanadian RockiesBanff National ParkBanff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
333
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Rimrock Resort Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Banff, Alberta) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Rimrock Resort Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Rimrock Resort Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Banff Norquay Summer Sightseeing and Via Ferrata (6.2 km), Sulphur Mountain (1.4 km), and Tunnel Mountain Trail (2.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Rimrock Resort Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Rimrock Resort Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Rimrock Resort Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Rimrock Resort Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rimrock Resort Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Zyka Elevated Indian Restaurant, The Juniper Bistro, and Bluebird Wood-Fired Steakhouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rimrock Resort Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Rimrock Resort Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Rimrock Resort Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Rimrock Resort Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Rimrock Resort Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.