We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Banff Aspen Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Banff Aspen Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,145: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed here for two nights in June 2014 with my husband. The hotel as a fantastic location with just a short walk from the restaurants and shops. The free onsite car park is a bonus. Although there was no air con we had a balcony room so slept with the door open - mosquito screens are fitted so no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank slwray
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for saying at the Banff Aspen Lodge. I am glad to hear your stay with us was enjoyable. Hopefully next time you can endulge in the Hot Tubs and saunas!

Toronto
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Rooms are connected outdoors. Very nice modern rooms. Tastefully decorated. Continental breakfast was pretty good: scrambled eggs, fruit, bacon, sausage, etc. Outdoor hottub is beautiful. Only issue is internet (wifi) is very very slow.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ngc224m31
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time.

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were greeted at Aspen Lodge to find no restaurant, no bar, no air conditioning, and a television that was outdated at the turn of the century. That said, the staff were very attentive, particularly when we found ourselves in an emergency situation, the rooms were clean, but hot. The breakfast was varied enough to offer a good start to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joseph M
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Joseph, Thank you for the review. I am sorry to hear that you expected a restaurant, bar, and air conditioning. Unfortunately we are not a full service hotel and therefore have no restaurant or bar. However we have the Whitebark Café which offers light fare and Fantastic Coffee.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights recently . Such a nice hotel. Spotless large clean comfortable beds, and a nice size bathroom with a good shower. Breakfast was very nice with plenty of hot and cold choices. The staff were very attentive and cleared dirty dishes promptly. Good location, near the shops and bars. Would certainly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank grannyannie69
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Hi GrannyAnnie, Thanks for the great review...we hope to see you again real soon!

Marion, IN
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed with a tour group. we were told all rooms had mt. views. Well they do to some extent IF you step out on the balcony and lean way out. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast (complimentary continental) was ok. nothing to brag about. Hotel staff was very helpful. We were told we could do laundry but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pinsnpines
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. Like most hotels not every room gives the perfect view of the mountains. But our oversized balconies gives fantastic views as we are surrounded by beautiful landscapes.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights with my husband. Hotel has free parking and a fantastic breakfast included. The hotel is well placed close to shops and local amenities. Staff are polite, friendly and willing to help. Our room was very big and clean. I could not fault the hotel. A number of reviews mention the rooms being warm at night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chloe635
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Chloe, Thanks for the Excellent review. We hope to see you again!

Placentia, California
Reviewed 20 June 2014

June 21 to 23, 2014 - - Awesome experience. Staff friendly and helpful. Terrific at anticipating the next question. Offered options when possible. Complimentary breakfast was exceptional. Room was comfortable and clean. Location w/in four blocks of grocery store and retail center. Looking forward to our up coming stay on June 25, 2014.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul B
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Paul, Thank you so much for the review! I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was good value for money. It is a little older than some places we had stayed on our trip but the facilities and location was great. Nice hot tubs, underground free Parking, short walk to centre of town.. Breakfast was ok, not a deal breaker but not fantastic! Nice staff and a good price!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank broooke06
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are what we are and we don't try to be what we aren't. We focus on our service levels while offering a great product to our guests. I am glad you enjoyed your stay!

Nova Scotia
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here for one night in a room facing Banff Street. It was nice having a balcony however, in the evening when the hotel lights come on, the two lights on our balcony caused an issue since it had been a fairly warm day and with no air conditioning in the room (which we knew), you had to open the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gingyNovaScotia
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The sauna and steam room do require a few minutes to warm up and initiate. I had our maintenance department check and all seems to be in order. Hopefully you will be able to experience them when you return!

Hershey, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Free parking, free breakfast which was much more than the standard continental breakfast, great location, great staff. Standard room was very large. Would definitely stay here again. In hindsight stay an extra night here rather than at lake louise.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonathan E
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Our breakfast is fantastic, a great way to start your day in the mountains. We look forward to seeing you again next time.

542 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (248)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
1:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (87)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (258)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Hot Tub (25)
Viewed
Premium Queen (45)
Viewed
Premium Two Queen (37)
Viewed
Premium Two Queen Divided (56)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.6 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
808 reviews
0.5 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
1,050 reviews
1.7 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
1,917 reviews
0.5 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $145 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel
Banff Aspen Lodge Alberta
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Banff Aspen Lodge staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Dublin
Port Macquarie, Australia
5 months ago
Pune
8 months ago
Jarrow, United Kingdom

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Banff Aspen Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back and in the courtyard would likely be quieter but we were streetside and they were fine.”
 of 5 bubbles cookie1752, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upper floor”
 of 5 bubbles StephenB921, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There was a door gap allowing cold air to seep in (Rm#135). Still warm enough, but walking to the washroom you felt cold air to your feet.”
 of 5 bubbles whthird, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“there are different types of room configurations, so worth checking into depending if you want a sitting space, have children ect.”
 of 5 bubbles jbriannelaw, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The outdoor rooms are cool as you can talk to your friends very easily!”
 of 5 bubbles keltiel2015, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay