We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tunnel Mountain Resort

Show Prices
#22 of 32 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,015 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 960: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

First time staying here and a little dated but very well keep, clean and a good value for the money. Every thing in the unit worked well and the service staff was very helpful. Will return for sure as we didn't get to really use much of the facility and amenities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dougsK5497RH
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review

dougsK5497RH Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Tunnel Mountain Resort, hopefully with a lot more snow on the way we will be welcoming you back again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

The resort was really worn down. It was expensive and we expected better. The place doesn't seem like it was renovated since the 1980s. The hot tub was in a basement and was odd. The beds were hard and the pillows were very uncomfortable. It seemed like the clientele was a mix of tourists and local workers. The resort is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T6490JNrichardw
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review

T6490JNrichardw Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Tunnel Mountain Resort. I can let you know we are in the process of redesigning and updating all of our rooms which we hope to have completed in the near future. Once...

Edmonton, Alberta
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

To our dissapointment, our studio suite was dirty. There were hair on both the sofa and the dining chairs. The pull out sofa bed was poor quality and made a lot of noise at the slightest movement. It was quite uncomfortable. The sheets and the blanket provided for the sofa bed had stains on them. The blanket definitely looked like...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank riar998
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review

riar998 Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am sorry for the issues you had at the Tunnel Mountain Resort, I have passed your comments onto both our housekeeping and maintenance mangers as we work hard to rectify the issues you had so they do not happen again. Thank you again for...

Edmonton, AB, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our family of 3 stayed here over the Remembrance Day long weekend. We had a Groupon deal so had a great rate. Upon check in we were upgraded to a cabin. That was a nice gesture but we were with our young son. The beds in the loft have the beds right against the wall which had enough space for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Teresa S
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Teresa S Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am sorry to hear your stay here with us at the Tunnel Mountain Resort was only average as our goal is always to insure a memorable and care free experience. I have passed your comments in regards to the cleanliness of the room...

Calgary, Alberta
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were upgraded to a newly renovated king size suite. Very friendly staff. Room has steam room, jetted tub and gas fireplace. Outer buildings look older but interior was done up very nicely. Heated tile floor was a nice touch when getting up during the night. Includes free bus tickets into town

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zookeeper_ca
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review

zookeeper_ca Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Tunnel Mountain Resort and were able to take full advantage of the room and hotels complementary amenities. Thank you again for you feedback and I do look forward to welcoming you back...

Alberta
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently my family and I stayed at Tunnel Mountain Resort for a wedding. We stayed in one of the stand alone cabins. While the cabins had a deck, a fire place and a loft we found aspects of it to be falling in to disrepair. We found the bed spreads and furniture to be dated, the beds were very hard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travel8tr
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Travel8tr Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear the experience you had at the Tunnel Mountain Resort was not as enjoyable and relaxing as you were expecting. I can let you know we are in the process of planning a complete room renovation which we hope to start in...

Calgary
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed the fireplace and it was nice to have 4 separate beds for our group. The main area is quite small so seating for 4 means sitting in the kitchen table chairs. Nice location and there are bus tickets available to go into Banff downtown area .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen S
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Ellen S Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Tunnel Mountain Resort and were able to make use of some of our complementary amenities. Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was very surprised with our cabin. Very cozy, well equiped and staff very welcoming... Nice Kitchen, nice living room, with espetacular view... Excellent location, 5 minutes or less driving from downtown Banff. Everything went perfect the days we stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank takanooki
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Takanooki Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the Tunnel Mountain Resort including your room and the service from our staff. Thank you again for your comments and I do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Edmonton
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We 5 ladies were comfortable in this unit. Nice quiet private location. We enjoyed the large hot tub. Nice to have a fireplace in the condo.Free shuttle to downtown was handy. Staff was friendly & accommodating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank funtimes13_53
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review

funtimes13_53 Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Tunnel Mountain Resort and were able to make use of some of our complementary amenities. Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Favellake
Reviewed 26 October 2016

This resort is very lovely and they really pull out all the stops. The rooms have energy about them that you feel just like at home. I burnt my arm and fingers on the bath taps sadly because they were opposite of what standard taps are cold on right hot on left. I was very upset .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mar A
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Mar A Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am truly sorry that you injured your arm while staying with us and I can let you know that our maintenance department has rectified the situation so it does not happen again. I am however glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay and...

521 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (230)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
2:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (93)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (258)
Viewed
Executive King Suite (50)
Viewed
Mountain Cabin (65)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite with Kids Loft (115)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#10 of 32 in Banff
1,892 reviews
0.9 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,001 reviews
2.7 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
0.6 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
1,040 reviews
1.4 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $105 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Tunnel Mountain Resort Banff, Alberta
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tunnel Mountain Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Tunnel Mountain Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you bring your own coffee you will need filters for the coffee machine. You may want to bring paper towels as well. ”
 of 5 bubbles EllenS547, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“the queen rooms are excellent.”
  • Default
  • Balcony with a view
  • mezzanino
  • fireplace
  • Bed
  • living room
 of 5 bubbles takanooki, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Fix the taps and next time compensate better, I felt embarrassed upon departure. ”
 of 5 bubbles P9575KHmarka, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room on the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Cee_Bee_Van, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The fireplace didn't draw very well.”
 of 5 bubbles 1Garland, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay