We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rundlestone Lodge

Save
Share
537 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8 Canada
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
CheapTickets
US$103
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-10-11
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.comUS$121
Priceline
Trip.comUS$133
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (374)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (344)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20-12-17 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20-12-17 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 33 hotels in Banff
Travellers' Choice
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Patrinos Family Restaurant.
Read more

Location

Full view
67Somewhat walkable
Grade: 67 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 km
0Attractionswithin 0 km
Contact
537 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8 Canada
Getting there
Calgary Intl Airport109 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
1423Reviews25Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 534
  • 613
  • 191
  • 57
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Wherever1234 wrote a review Aug. 2021
1 contribution
Great location, about 7 minute walk from downtown, so it's quiet with a lovely little park right next door great for relaxing in the shade of some beautiful trees. The rooms are simple, clean and comfortable. The staff are very friend and helpful. Ken and Line at the front counter were awesome. I would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Amelie Plouffe, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We hope to see you again during your next stay in Banff and don't forget to use your returning guest discount. This park is also a great location to observe deer and elk. I'll make sure to pass along your good words to Line and Ken. Warm regards, Amelie P.
Read more
Sean C wrote a review Aug. 2021
Calgary, Canada1 contribution
EXTREMELY DISSAPOINTED with our whole experience. We opted for the King Jacuzzi Suite and found bugs all over the room, the jacuzzi tub was yellowed and when we turned the jets on there was a rank odor and algae coming out of the nozzles. The shower was only 2'6" square and the ceiling was at 6'6", as someone who is 6'2" tall I had to crouch down to even get below the shower head and had no room to even turn around in the shower without bumping into the shampoo dispensers and the temperature dial. Every faucet in the room leaked (sink flooded the top of the counter, tub faucet leaked to the ground and all over my phone on the edge of the tub, in the shower it even leaked). The pillows in the bed were about half length, extra thick and extremely firm so that our heads were propped up at awkward angles. This combined with a firm bed led us to barely sleep. Small fridge was provided but with no microwave or any other appliances or amenities means that no food could be reheated, this is an expectation for any hotel room these days. Overall this was the worst hotel or even motel experience that we have ever had, even after paying more than double of the most we have previously spent. This actually put a huge damper on our anniversary that was supposed to be a special night (First year!!) We told the hotel staff about this while checking out and she did not give a care in the world at all. I wish to just forget this night and experience and we will be recommending every single person we know against this hotel and hotel chain.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Hall, General Manager at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Sean, We are always extremely disappointed to receive such negative feedback regarding stay here – we strive to provide all of our guests with a positive hotel experience that enhances their visit to Banff. As readers of the other reviews here will be able to see, we very often achieve that goal, but if and when things do go wrong we want to find out why and see what we can do to make things right. It is regretful that you saved this concerning list of issues for an online review instead of mentioning any of them to any of our staff or management in person, either during your stay or at check-out. Our Front Desk Agent did ask how your stay was at check-out, but whilst you indicated that you were not happy, you declined to tell us why even when she asked for further information. Unfortunately, that makes it very difficult for us to address your concerns or to seek a fair and amicable resolution that may help to make up for your disappointment. Since seeing your review here, we have investigated the issues you listed above and are content that the faucets and jetted tub in that room are working as they should, the pillows are regular size, and the amenities provided are exactly as advertised on the website you booked through. We do hope you were able to enjoy the other aspects of your visit to Banff National Park and if you wish to reach out to me directly to discuss these issues further I am always happy to have a chat. Kind regards.
Read more
Susan S wrote a review Aug. 2021
40 contributions5 helpful votes
It was our 3rd stay here and the prices have gone way up. Our room was very mediocre with a view of a fence and the side of a building. I asked for something better that actually had a view of something and we had to pay an extra fee. So our room was 340 dollars per night! Insane. Banff has become too busy and touristy..we wont be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Hall, General Manager at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Susan, We are really sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit to Banff. It is worth noting that July and August are the very height of peak season in Banff and that does mean it is the busiest and most expensive time to visit. Mountain views rooms are also in very high demand and so they do sell at a premium compared to rooms without views. Hotel rates in the area have actually been a little lower this summer compared with previous summers, with many Canadians able to take advantage of the lack of international travelers compared to more normal years, but we do understand that the costs can add up quickly when making a trip. We hope you don't rule out Banff completely as a destination - the hotel rates here always fluctuate a great deal depending on the time of year, and there are some really great deals to be had when you avoid peak season. If you ever want any advice on the best times to visit to avoid the crowds, our front desk staff are available 24 hours a day and are always happy to help with trip planning. Best regards.
Read more
Josh B wrote a review Aug. 2021
10 contributions
One of the best places to stay in Banff. Very close to downtown (about a 15 minute walk) but out of the busy area which was refreshing. Beautiful hotel with amazing amenities. Also has AC which is more rare in the Banff area. Hotel staff was all very friendly and accommodating. Would stay here again for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: This place has A/C. Close to downtown. Laundry in the hotel as well! Beautiful pool/hot tub
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Hall, General Manager at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Josh, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave some feedback. We're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future. All the best.
Read more
Parham G wrote a review Aug. 2021
2 contributions
The staff was very polite and kind. We stayed for 2 nights and there was no room service for us. In all of my previous hotel experiences, the room had slippers, toothbrushes, and toothpaste. The pool and spa were not very clean since there was a mud-like substance on the bottom of the pool. The thing that annoyed me the most was that the pillows and the bedsheets were stained and were not very clean. All of the complimentary toiletries were good except the shampoo. The shampoo made our hair too stiff and hard. The toiletries were from a famous brand named Rocky Mountain Soup Co and smelled very nice.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Amelie Plouffe, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded Aug. 5, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our housekeeping service is available upon request only to make everyone feel safe during this pandemic. Various amenities like toothbrushes and toothpaste are also available upon request with our front desk team available 24 hours. Our maintenance team is working ward trying to keep the pool and hot tub clean and they are doing multiple test a day to be able to control the quality of our water. I'm really sorry to hear about the stained sheet and we hope you shared that information with us during your stay. We hope to see you again! Warm regards, Amelie Plouffe
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCanadian RockiesBanff National ParkBanff
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Rundlestone Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to The Rundlestone Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Tunnel Mountain Trail (0.9 km), Banff Legacy Trail (0.4 km), and C Level Cirque Trail (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Rundlestone Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Rundlestone Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Rundlestone Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Rundlestone Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Rundlestone Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Masala Authentic Indian Cuisine, Farm and Fire, and Ramen Arashi.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Rundlestone Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Rundlestone Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Rundlestone Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Rundlestone Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cave and Basin National Historic Site (2.7 km).