We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
537 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8 Canada
4 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$109
Hotels.comUS$109
PricelineUS$109
TravelocityUS$109
Trip.comUS$109
AlgotelsUS$165
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (379)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (354)

About

#13 of 34 hotels in Banff
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Patrinos Family Restaurant.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Skiing
Kids stay free
Wifi
Indoor pool
Pool / beach towels
Restaurant
Vending machine
Canoeing offsite
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Green
Languages Spoken
English
1443Reviews25Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 542
  • 620
  • 192
  • 59
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Wherever1234 wrote a review Aug. 2021
1 contribution
Great location, about 7 minute walk from downtown, so it's quiet with a lovely little park right next door great for relaxing in the shade of some beautiful trees. The rooms are simple, clean and comfortable. The staff are very friend and helpful. Ken and Line at the front counter were awesome. I would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amelie Plouffe, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded Sep. 10, 2021
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We hope to see you again during your next stay in Banff and don't forget to use your returning guest discount. This park is also a great location to observe deer and elk. I'll make sure to pass along your good words to Line and Ken. Warm regards, Amelie P.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sean C wrote a review Aug. 2021
Calgary, Canada1 contribution
EXTREMELY DISSAPOINTED with our whole experience. We opted for the King Jacuzzi Suite and found bugs all over the room, the jacuzzi tub was yellowed and when we turned the jets on there was a rank odor and algae coming out of the nozzles. The shower was only 2'6" square and the ceiling was at 6'6", as someone who is 6'2" tall I had to crouch down to even get below the shower head and had no room to even turn around in the shower without bumping into the shampoo dispensers and the temperature dial. Every faucet in the room leaked (sink flooded the top of the counter, tub faucet leaked to the ground and all over my phone on the edge of the tub, in the shower it even leaked). The pillows in the bed were about half length, extra thick and extremely firm so that our heads were
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Hall, General Manager at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded Sep. 3, 2021
Dear Sean, We are always extremely disappointed to receive such negative feedback regarding stay here – we strive to provide all of our guests with a positive hotel experience that enhances their visit to Banff. As readers of the other reviews here will be able to see, we very often achieve that goal, but if and when things do go wrong we want to find out why and see what we can do to make things right. It is regretful that you saved this concerning list of issues for an online review instead of mentioning any of them to any of our staff or management in person, either during your stay or at check-out. Our Front Desk Agent did ask how your stay was at check-out, but whilst you indicated that you were not happy, you declined to tell us why even when she asked for further information. Unfortunately, that makes it very difficult for us to address your concerns or to seek a fair and amicable resolution that may help to make up for your disappointment. Since seeing your review here, we have investigated the issues you listed above and are content that the faucets and jetted tub in that room are working as they should, the pillows are regular size, and the amenities provided are exactly as advertised on the website you booked through. We do hope you were able to enjoy the other aspects of your visit to Banff National Park and if you wish to reach out to me directly to discuss these issues further I am always happy to have a chat. Kind regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan S wrote a review Aug. 2021
40 contributions6 helpful votes
It was our 3rd stay here and the prices have gone way up. Our room was very mediocre with a view of a fence and the side of a building. I asked for something better that actually had a view of something and we had to pay an extra fee. So our room was 340 dollars per night! Insane. Banff has become too busy and touristy..we wont be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Hall, General Manager at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded Aug. 30, 2021
Dear Susan, We are really sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit to Banff. It is worth noting that July and August are the very height of peak season in Banff and that does mean it is the busiest and most expensive time to visit. Mountain views rooms are also in very high demand and so they do sell at a premium compared to rooms without views. Hotel rates in the area have actually been a little lower this summer compared with previous summers, with many Canadians able to take advantage of the lack of international travelers compared to more normal years, but we do understand that the costs can add up quickly when making a trip. We hope you don't rule out Banff completely as a destination - the hotel rates here always fluctuate a great deal depending on the time of year, and there are some really great deals to be had when you avoid peak season. If you ever want any advice on the best times to visit to avoid the crowds, our front desk staff are available 24 hours a day and are always happy to help with trip planning. Best regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Josh B wrote a review Aug. 2021
10 contributions1 helpful vote
One of the best places to stay in Banff. Very close to downtown (about a 15 minute walk) but out of the busy area which was refreshing. Beautiful hotel with amazing amenities. Also has AC which is more rare in the Banff area. Hotel staff was all very friendly and accommodating. Would stay here again for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Hall, General Manager at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded Sep. 3, 2021
Dear Josh, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave some feedback. We're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future. All the best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Parham G wrote a review Aug. 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
The staff was very polite and kind. We stayed for 2 nights and there was no room service for us. In all of my previous hotel experiences, the room had slippers, toothbrushes, and toothpaste. The pool and spa were not very clean since there was a mud-like substance on the bottom of the pool. The thing that annoyed me the most was that the pillows and the bedsheets were stained and were not very clean. All of the complimentary toiletries were good except the shampoo. The shampoo made our hair too stiff and hard. The toiletries were from a famous brand named Rocky Mountain Soup Co and smelled very nice.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Amelie Plouffe, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded Aug. 5, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our housekeeping service is available upon request only to make everyone feel safe during this pandemic. Various amenities like toothbrushes and toothpaste are also available upon request with our front desk team available 24 hours. Our maintenance team is working ward trying to keep the pool and hot tub clean and they are doing multiple test a day to be able to control the quality of our water. I'm really sorry to hear about the stained sheet and we hope you shared that information with us during your stay. We hope to see you again! Warm regards, Amelie Plouffe
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lindavdk wrote a review Jul. 2021
Victoria, Canada18 contributions8 helpful votes
The hotel itself has a nice appearance, the rooms are clean and the staff super friendly and helpful. They had a big selection of free DVDs to chill with and a nice swim /hot tub area. Lots of free parking. The downside was the halls and elevator were not very clean, the bedding (mattresses and pillows) were super uncomfortable and it was strangely loud (heard doors slamming all night). We stayed a week and I don’t use housekeeping services but tried to trade my towels for clean ones and was told i had to get special permission from the front desk as they don’t provide clean towels to existing guests, only at check in/out. I thought that was weird. Location was not ideal but it was ok if you don't mind a walk. I thought it was fine but others might prefer to be a little
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amelie Plouffe, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded Aug. 5, 2021
Good day Linda, We appreciate your feedback and we're happy to see that you've enjoyed our amenities. Our current housekeeping service is available upon request only but we are please to exchange towels anytime during your stay. I'm sorry if a different information have been provided to you by one of our staff member. Coffee and tea are also available directly in your room and can be refilled upon request. Our front desk team is available 24 hours for any noise concern or to assist you with any request. Warm regards, Amelie P.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joey wrote a review Jul. 2021
35 contributions35 helpful votes
We enjoyed our stay here! The room was a good size. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to downtown. Staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms/bathroom aren’t overly modern but it was clean and comfortable. We chose this hotel for the price and location.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amelie Plouffe, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded Aug. 5, 2021
Dear Joeythepup, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Rundlestone lodge. We are please to see that you've enjoyed our quiet location and our friendly staff. We hope to seeing you during your next stay in Banff! Warm regards, Amelie P.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nomad827 wrote a review Jul. 2021
Vancouver, Canada47 contributions17 helpful votes
This is one of the best values in Banff. Yes, this hotel is dated and a 15-minute walk from downtown but it still deserves a five-star review. I stayed here on the night before my hike to Mount Assiniboine and again on my return. Both times I was greeted by very friendly, professional and extremely helpful staff. The rooms were clean and the bed was nice and comfortable. Most importantly, I had a great sleep. The toiletries from Rocky Mountain Soap Co. was a nice touch. I would stay at The Rundlestone Lodge again as it was clean, convenient, comfortable, and the staff was welcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amelie Plouffe, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded Aug. 5, 2021
We are happy that you've enjoyed the Rocky Mountain Soap product since we like to encourage local businesses, and we are doing our best to be as sustainable as possible. We hope to see you again on your next hiking adventure in Banff! Warm regards, Amelie P.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PlatinumStar wrote a review Jul. 2021
Saskatchewan55 contributions11 helpful votes
Stayed here for 4 nights at the end of June. I am a bit surprised by all the 5 star reviews. The hotel is just average. We had an ok stay, but there were a few places in the same price range that we would check out if we ever come back to Banff. The hotel has a nice charm to it and the rooms were ok but definitely need some updating. I think this place is more geared towards winter stays. Pros: The location is nice if you're looking for someplace that is away from the bustle of downtown, however it is a long walk (15-20mins). The Roam bus passes are complimentary and are highly convenient and easy to use. The balcony was very nice to have. We were on the back side of the building so had nice mountain views, and the street below was quiet. The room was comfortable with a nice
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amelie Plouffe, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded Aug. 5, 2021
Thank you for your constructive feedback, our guest experience is really important and we do appreciate knowing how we can improve. The Rundlestone Lodge offers all sorts of free amenities which are all explained in the information package that each guest received at check in to avoid taking too much time during your arrival. I'm sorry to hear that our bed wasn't to your preferences and that you've encountered some cleanliness issue. We hope that you've shared those concerns during your stay. We did put in place extra procedures during the difficult time of covid to ensure the protection of our guests and staff. Housekeeping was limited but we are always happy to assist our guests by changing garbage and towels upon request. Our underground heated parking can accommodate vehicles up to 6 foot 4 or alternative parking is available in the back of our hotel. Due to our location, free street parking is also available when needed. The pandemic did bring a lot of sudden changes and we hope you will be able to come back in a more regular time. Warm regards, Amelie P.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nikstravels123 wrote a review Jul. 2021
Calgary, Canada179 contributions104 helpful votes
After a great stay in June 2020, I went back for a couple of nights in June 2021. I was again very happy with the hotel. The staff was all very pleasant. The room was clean and quiet. There were still Covid restrictions at the time and I felt very safe during my stay. The pool and gym facilities were open and were able to be booked each morning for an hour per group. I was so happy to get back in to a pool after everything being closed for so long. The pool was large enough to do laps in which was great. The mini fridge in the room was perfect for storing my groceries and leftover pizza from the onsite restaurant. I look forward to staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amelie Plouffe, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded Aug. 5, 2021
Thank you so much for your review and we are please to have you as a repeat customer. We are thrilled that you felt safe and had an amazing stay during that difficult time. We can't wait to see you next year and don't forget your returning guest discount by contacting us directly. Warm regards, Amelie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PRICE RANGE
US$105 - US$203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rundlestone hotel banff
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCanadian RockiesBanff National ParkBanff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Rundlestone Lodge (C̶$̶1̶5̶1̶) C$125 - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos (Banff, Alberta) - Hotel - Tripadvisor