We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rundlestone Lodge

537 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8 Canada
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (387)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (355)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#17 of 33 hotels in Banff
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, and swimming pool.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Vending machine
Hiking
Skiing
Kids stay free
Wifi
Indoor pool
Pool / beach towels
Canoeing offsite
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Green
Languages Spoken
English
1470Reviews25Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 552
  • 629
  • 195
  • 62
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
rfedd wrote a review Mar 2022
Calgary, United Kingdom3 contributions4 helpful votes
Wonderful hotel. My family of 5 have been coming here for many years. Once we find a hotel we like we stick with it. Have always found their staff to be kind, courteous and helpful. The Rundlestone Lodge has never disappointed us. We have enjoyed the many different rooms they have to offer my family. My kids especially enjoy their pool and jacuzzi area. Other friends and family have joined us there over the years and enjoyed their loft and jacuzzi suites as well. The restaurant in the hotel is Patrino’s and we found their food was terrific too. Would we go there again…have already booked our next trip. Hope you enjoy this hotel as much as we have.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Hall, General Manager at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded Mar 13, 2022
It was an absolute pleasure to see you and the family again, and especially so after the last few years of uncertainty. You are all such a delight to host and myself and the rest of the team here always appreciate your visits and enjoy our catch ups. Thanks also for taking the time to leave some feedback - such kind words mean a lot to the staff here. All the best for the coming year and here's to another twenty years of visits to the Rundlestone!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Yes2scotland wrote a review Mar 2022
Port Dover, Canada564 contributions212 helpful votes
Amazing hotel with lots to do in the area. Rooms are clean and spacious. Lobby is very inviting with real fireplace. Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Michael, I think the general manager is amazing to deal with. Bus to downtown picks up in front of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Hall, General Manager at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded Mar 13, 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave some feedback. It's always a pleasure to have you with us and we're looking forward to hosting you once again next year. All the best until then.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
worldwidegneiss wrote a review Dec 2021
Toronto, Canada91 contributions68 helpful votes
Ok. So. Yes an entire review just about the laundry machine. Why, you ask? Well, now that you’ve asked let me tell you. Firstly, kudos for even having laundry machines. So, there’s that. But, here’s where the twilight zone starts. You need coins for the laundry machine. Being like most people now, I don’t carry a kilo of metal coins in my pant’s pocket. So, front desk. Yes, they say! We have coins for you. Great, can I get some and charge it to my room? No, they say! Um, what? Again, no. No? No. Well, ah, how do I get the coins that the front desk clerk is now tantalizingly showing me in a little pouch? You get cash and we change it. She points to a little machine beside the counter. Ok, so, to be clear, I can get coins from the hotel for the hotel’s laundry machine but can’t
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Hall, General Manager at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded Dec 19, 2021
Dear worldwidegneiss, We are disappointed to hear that your stay with us was so negatively affected by the laundry and ATM services we are happy to provide to our guests. As with almost all such cash machines, ours is supplied by a third party provider who determines the amount charged for withdrawals. It's worth noting that even with the added cost of a cash withdrawal, the cost of our in house laundry service is still comparable with the cost of the main laundromat in downtown Banff. The added benefit of our in-house laundry facilities, of course, is that it's available 24 hours a day and you can do your washing and drying in the warmth and comfort of the hotel - a convenience many of our guests seem to appreciate. We do very much hope that your laundry escapades did not completely ruin your trip to Banff, and that you were able to enjoy the other aspects of your stay in beautiful Banff. Best regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Vanessa S wrote a review Dec 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
My boyfriend and I booked a 4 night stay at the Rundlestone Lodge. To fit our budget, we had originally booked the jacuzzi suite for 2 nights and a basic king room for 2 nights. When we arrived, the Rundlestone upgraded us to the jacuzzi room for all 4 nights which was awesome. The jacuzzi suite at the Rundlestone is perfect for a winter stay; with the high-vaulted cedar ceilings, a large window (which had a view of the mountains), a fireplace and jacuzzi tub. The hotel was quiet and clean. The rooms don't have super modern finishes, but that leaves a nice lodge-like atmosphere. The Rundlestone is at the north-west side of Banff ave. which can be a little too far to walk in the cold. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel and guests can take the #1 roamtransit bus to town
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lika Sotova, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded Dec 16, 2021
Dear Vanessa, Thank you for taking you time to leave this wonderful feedback! I am very happy to see that you have enjoyed Rundlestone and took advantage of our jetted tub suite. I hope we can welcome you back in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
rhino1179 wrote a review Sep 2021
Belleville, Canada6 contributions6 helpful votes
We had a multiple night stay and our room was not what we expected. We expressed our disappointment and were contacted by the front office manager Amelie. She was able quickly resolve and we changed rooms (for a very reasonable upcharge). They are located a 5-10 minute walk from downtown so in a quieter and less busy area of town. Directly call the desk as emails go to head office before being sent back to the hotel. I would stay here again if returning to Banff.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Amelie Plouffe, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded Oct 9, 2021
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Once more I'm sorry that your stay started with a disappointment but I'm glad we found a solution together and that you've enjoy the rest of your vacation. We are looking forward to welcoming you back during your next visit in Banff. Warm regards, Amelie P.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wherever1234 wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Great location, about 7 minute walk from downtown, so it's quiet with a lovely little park right next door great for relaxing in the shade of some beautiful trees. The rooms are simple, clean and comfortable. The staff are very friend and helpful. Ken and Line at the front counter were awesome. I would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amelie Plouffe, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded Sep 10, 2021
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We hope to see you again during your next stay in Banff and don't forget to use your returning guest discount. This park is also a great location to observe deer and elk. I'll make sure to pass along your good words to Line and Ken. Warm regards, Amelie P.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sean C wrote a review Aug 2021
Calgary, Canada1 contribution
EXTREMELY DISSAPOINTED with our whole experience. We opted for the King Jacuzzi Suite and found bugs all over the room, the jacuzzi tub was yellowed and when we turned the jets on there was a rank odor and algae coming out of the nozzles. The shower was only 2'6" square and the ceiling was at 6'6", as someone who is 6'2" tall I had to crouch down to even get below the shower head and had no room to even turn around in the shower without bumping into the shampoo dispensers and the temperature dial. Every faucet in the room leaked (sink flooded the top of the counter, tub faucet leaked to the ground and all over my phone on the edge of the tub, in the shower it even leaked). The pillows in the bed were about half length, extra thick and extremely firm so that our heads were
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Hall, General Manager at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded Sep 3, 2021
Dear Sean, We are always extremely disappointed to receive such negative feedback regarding stay here – we strive to provide all of our guests with a positive hotel experience that enhances their visit to Banff. As readers of the other reviews here will be able to see, we very often achieve that goal, but if and when things do go wrong we want to find out why and see what we can do to make things right. It is regretful that you saved this concerning list of issues for an online review instead of mentioning any of them to any of our staff or management in person, either during your stay or at check-out. Our Front Desk Agent did ask how your stay was at check-out, but whilst you indicated that you were not happy, you declined to tell us why even when she asked for further information. Unfortunately, that makes it very difficult for us to address your concerns or to seek a fair and amicable resolution that may help to make up for your disappointment. Since seeing your review here, we have investigated the issues you listed above and are content that the faucets and jetted tub in that room are working as they should, the pillows are regular size, and the amenities provided are exactly as advertised on the website you booked through. We do hope you were able to enjoy the other aspects of your visit to Banff National Park and if you wish to reach out to me directly to discuss these issues further I am always happy to have a chat. Kind regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Susan S wrote a review Aug 2021
40 contributions7 helpful votes
It was our 3rd stay here and the prices have gone way up. Our room was very mediocre with a view of a fence and the side of a building. I asked for something better that actually had a view of something and we had to pay an extra fee. So our room was 340 dollars per night! Insane. Banff has become too busy and touristy..we wont be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Hall, General Manager at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded Aug 30, 2021
Dear Susan, We are really sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit to Banff. It is worth noting that July and August are the very height of peak season in Banff and that does mean it is the busiest and most expensive time to visit. Mountain views rooms are also in very high demand and so they do sell at a premium compared to rooms without views. Hotel rates in the area have actually been a little lower this summer compared with previous summers, with many Canadians able to take advantage of the lack of international travelers compared to more normal years, but we do understand that the costs can add up quickly when making a trip. We hope you don't rule out Banff completely as a destination - the hotel rates here always fluctuate a great deal depending on the time of year, and there are some really great deals to be had when you avoid peak season. If you ever want any advice on the best times to visit to avoid the crowds, our front desk staff are available 24 hours a day and are always happy to help with trip planning. Best regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Josh B wrote a review Aug 2021
10 contributions2 helpful votes
One of the best places to stay in Banff. Very close to downtown (about a 15 minute walk) but out of the busy area which was refreshing. Beautiful hotel with amazing amenities. Also has AC which is more rare in the Banff area. Hotel staff was all very friendly and accommodating. Would stay here again for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Hall, General Manager at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded Sep 3, 2021
Dear Josh, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave some feedback. We're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future. All the best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Parham G wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
The staff was very polite and kind. We stayed for 2 nights and there was no room service for us. In all of my previous hotel experiences, the room had slippers, toothbrushes, and toothpaste. The pool and spa were not very clean since there was a mud-like substance on the bottom of the pool. The thing that annoyed me the most was that the pillows and the bedsheets were stained and were not very clean. All of the complimentary toiletries were good except the shampoo. The shampoo made our hair too stiff and hard. The toiletries were from a famous brand named Rocky Mountain Soup Co and smelled very nice.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Amelie Plouffe, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded Aug 5, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our housekeeping service is available upon request only to make everyone feel safe during this pandemic. Various amenities like toothbrushes and toothpaste are also available upon request with our front desk team available 24 hours. Our maintenance team is working ward trying to keep the pool and hot tub clean and they are doing multiple test a day to be able to control the quality of our water. I'm really sorry to hear about the stained sheet and we hope you shared that information with us during your stay. We hope to see you again! Warm regards, Amelie Plouffe
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Banff area.
PRICE RANGE
C$142 - C$274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rundlestone hotel banff
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCanadian RockiesBanff National ParkBanff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Rundlestone Lodge - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos (Banff, Alberta) - Hotel - Tripadvisor