We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fox Hotel & Suites

461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8 Canada
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
Official HotelUS$159
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (862)
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (547)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 20-07-07 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20-07-07 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#21 of 35 hotels in Banff
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car park
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Canoeing offsite
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French
2541Reviews35Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,112
  • 917
  • 320
  • 128
  • 64
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
janeyecc wrote a review Jan. 1
Chorley, United Kingdom6 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed for new year as a family of six. We had a 2 bedroom suite with 2 doubles and a king size plus the sofa also 2 balconies. Really nice layout and facilities. The heating in one of the rooms wasn’t great and the bathroom was a little tired but all in all very nice. Car parking lot spaces are limited but there is street parking. Reception welcomed us really well and the staff were lovely. Breakfast buffet was great- the kids loved making their own waffles. We also had a chilys room service- excellent food and service. Ready and delivered in less than 30 minutes. The pools in the basement are lovely. They get busy so time it to arrive early afternoon or late evening. All in all a great place to stay- a reasonable price and good facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Street parking so can get cold for a winter stay. The suites have microwave, fridge, cutlery,...
See more room tips
Response from Sahil C, Guest Services / Front Office at Fox Hotel & Suites
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us Janeyecc. My apologies for any inconveniences due to the heating but I hope you notified us at the desk so we could promptly fix that for you. However I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we certainly appreciate you mentioning our staff. It is always wonderful to hear when our team members have aided in making the experience better for you.
Read more
Blaine K wrote a review Dec. 2021
Lacombe, Canada15 contributions10 helpful votes
We stayed at the Fox in October the hotel itself is a little dated along with the rooms, but it adds to the character of staying there. The Hot tub and Sauna were great after a long day of hiking and walking the streets
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Response from Sahil C, Guest Services / Front Office at Fox Hotel & Suites
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us Blaine. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
Read more
William T wrote a review Nov. 2021
Pattaya, Thailand113 contributions67 helpful votes
Stayed with my wife an 3 year old cockapoo for initially two nights and then extended for one night over a Friday. This hotel is exactly what is wrong with the accommodation industry in the mountain parks in Alberta at least. They have claimed to be a mediocre luxury hotel but are pricing themselves so that the average Albertan cannot experience our mountain parks. Whiles other hotel chains are offering up to a 20% discount to Alberta’s to promote them visiting the parks during a pandemic, this hotel chain is not. What is worse, the room rate from the Wednesday/Thursday rate went well up over 33% for the Friday night with no offer of extra towels, coffee, etc for the extra night and no one asking how our stay was when we checked out. Plus the extra aires attitude of the hotel staff with their fake accents to boot. Other items included a pile of ice in front of the door to our suite that they spread salt on but never came back to remove the ice in the 3 nights that we were there and had to step over each time we entered and/or exited the room, a dripping faucet in the kitchen, a kettle that wouldn’t turn off on its own and shabbily repaired wall paper in the eating area. A disappointing experience again for the price that we paid including a $25/night fee for the dog.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Unground parking but only first come first serve and very tight and narrow parking stalls with...
See more room tips
Response from Sahil C, Guest Services / Front Office at Fox Hotel & Suites
Responded Nov. 27, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review and provide valuable feedback for your recent stay with us Wilta888. I am so sorry to hear that you we were not able to provide the perfect stay we always strive for. As an experienced traveler like yourself, I am sure you're aware that the rates change daily based on demand and especially over the weekends. My apologies for the faucet and kettle, I do hope you notified front desk so we could have that fixed swiftly. I will certainly follow up with our maintenance team regarding the ice as well. Our housekeeping services are available upon request, as mentioned in the key package provided at check-in along with other important information relevant to the stay. Once again I apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay and that you felt it was disappointing for the price you paid.
Read more
viperfist wrote a review Nov. 2021
Kelowna, Canada930 contributions78 helpful votes
We were meeting some family in Banff, and decided to stay at this hotel. Not all of us were vaccinated, so we knew we would be having people over to the hotel room to visit. Not only was the suite spacious enough, it was very clean, and nicely decorated. The front room contained a kitchenette, complete with dinner and serviceware for four. It also had a kitchen table, and hide a bed couch. This was plenty enough room to entertain. The bedroom had a very comfortable, large king sized bed. Overall, this was a very nice place to stay for the price.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Just know that the restaurant will check vaccine status and identification. This is also required...
See more room tips
BC1994 wrote a review Sep. 2021
Ottawa, Canada5 contributions
We paid quite a bit for a room. As expected, in the town of Banff. The bath tub had specks of dried brown matter of some sort. The room was ok otherwise, but not as expected. It felt like everything needed some updating, the front desk staff were ok but not extremely welcoming. The best part was the hot pools, which were a cool concept. I wish there was some limiting of people, as it got crowded QUICK and we only enjoyed it for 10 minutes as we were not comfortable with how many people were coming in. I would recommend another hotel in town, prices are pretty comparable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Sleep Quality
US$136 - US$392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
fox hotel and suites, fox hotel suites banff, fox hotel banff
CanadaAlbertaCanadian RockiesBanff National ParkBanff
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fox Hotel & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Fox Hotel & Suites?
Nearby attractions include Banff Legacy Trail (0.04 km), C Level Cirque Trail (0.04 km), and Spray River Trail Loop (0.04 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fox Hotel & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Fox Hotel & Suites?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Fox Hotel & Suites?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Fox Hotel & Suites?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fox Hotel & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Toro, Chili's Grill and Bar, and Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fox Hotel & Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre, a heated pool, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Fox Hotel & Suites located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Banff.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fox Hotel & Suites?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Fox Hotel & Suites?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Fox Hotel & Suites offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and a banquet room during their stay.