We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Deer Lodge

Expedia.comUS$108*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$118*
US$108*
US$112*
US$118*
US$108*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,537 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Deer Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,388: English reviews
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Make no mistake, the staff at Deer Lodge could not be more friendly and welcoming but the fabric of the building does not convey the same atmosphere. Although the hotel blends in with the surrounding countryside, my feeling is that it could do with brightening up or smartening up as all the rooms and passageways are so dark and dismal....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rochesterrambler
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It's great to hear that you received a warm welcome from our staff, and I will pass your kind compliments on to the team. I apologize that you were less satisfied with the property overall, and that there were some oversights in the maintenance of your guest room. I will ensure that these...

Port Saint Lucie
Reviewed 13 August 2015

great food, clean room, access to Lake Louise is excellent, kind staff, two problems no tv's in room,and I do not believe the quilt used on the bed was cleaned each type the room was rented, it did not appear dirty but based on my coughing in the second day, I think it should have been alternated, However the view...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your room, and were happy with our dining options as well as the service you received. Our linens are clean, but we do use feather pillows and comforters, which can trigger allergies in some people. Hypoallergenic alternatives are available upon request. Whatever the cause of your cough,...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 August 2015

This chalet is exceptionally well located close to Lake Louise and given the massive parking problems at Lake Louise its a bonus to be within walking distance of the lake. The chalet is full of yesteryear charm and has a number of relaxing public spaces. The downside is the rooms are small and not really appealing to spend much time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichaelR3162
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you found our location convenient for visiting Lake Louise, and enjoyed the charm of our common areas. I apologize that the wifi service was lacking during your visit. We have experienced some issues with our service due to high usage during busy season, and are looking into upgrade options...

Edmonton
Reviewed 12 August 2015

The hotel has a nice ambiance but needs improvement. The hot tub wasn't working on the day that we were there. Cleanliness could be improved and make up of the rooms didn't occur until later in the afternoon. On a positive note, the food in the restaurant is delicious.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sisterstrip2015
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I am glad that you enjoyed the historic atmosphere of the Lodge and the menu in our dining room. I apologize that there were some shortcomings in the housekeeping service, and will share your comments with our housekeeping team so that this can be improved going forward. I am sorry also that you...

Highlands, Texas
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Booked ground floor room more than a year in advance due to medical needs, confirmed 2 months prior, arrived to be told no ground floor request was noted, that central reservations does not know what is available on the property, and the only room available for us was on 3rd floor with no possibility of a change. A VERY PAINFUL...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear that errors made during the booking process meant you did not enjoy your stay. This will be addressed with our reservations and guest services team, to make sure all requests are communicated clearly to prevent any disappointment. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Our management...

Riverside
Reviewed 10 August 2015

from poor to average, needs lots of upgrade as a facility competing with other hotels, the only thing going for the deer lodge is the ;ocation, it is walking distance to lake louise, Personally I would not stay at the Deer lodge again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dominicjoe2004
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. I am glad that the location of the Lodge proved convenient for your trip, but sorry to hear that the facility itself did not live up to expectations. We understand that the historic style of our building is not suited to everyone's tastes, and will bear your comments...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 9 August 2015

This lodge is old, rustic, and a perfect little gem on Lake Louise drive. It is literally located next to the Chateau- where we were initially going to stay but decided against it due to the ridiculous prices-- and because deer lodge is next door and overall a better value. It was awesome being able to park right in their...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank atravelinggirl3988
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Deer Lodge, and were impressed with our food as well as the convenient location. As noted, the rooms in the original part of the building have a much smaller floor plan than the average modern hotel room. We do have...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 6 August 2015

Deer Lodge is in a beautiful location and if you want to be steps away from Lake Louise without paying for the Fairmont, this is a great option. Sure the place is a bit dated (but this is slowly changing) and there aren't many tv's (why are you going here to watch TV... you are in a pristine wilderness), but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Grant H
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased that you continue to enjoy visiting Deer Lodge, and that your most recent trup was a great experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 6 August 2015

The location was great and the $200/night price tag was high but not as high as other accommodations in the area. The hotel was outdated, which made for some uncomfortable sleeping and staying conditions. The corner room we stayed in was hot (~26C, 80F), even though outside temperatures were cool (~18C, 65F). There was no option to cool the room...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I7644PBalanb
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I apologize that you were disappointed with your room; our historic building does have some limitations, which prevents us from offering amenities such as A/C. We will bear your helpful comments in mind as we plan future improvements. If there is anything that you would like to discuss further, I would be very...

Red Deer, Canada
Reviewed 4 August 2015

We arrived at Deer Lodge today after travelling from Australia with 5 year old and a 9 month old baby. After a long drive from Red Deer our baby had what is known as. "Poo explosion" and was covered to her neck in poop 😓 we rushed in hoping to quickly get a key so we could clean her up...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kirsty N
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the experience, At Deer Lodge we care deeply about our guests, and I am very sorry that our check in policies caused you and your baby such distress. Whilst we cannot simply hand out room keys prior...

792 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (348)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (92)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
0:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (117)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (422)
Viewed
Amenities (56)
Viewed
Heritage Room One King Bed (38)
Viewed
Heritage Room Two Double Bed (53)
Viewed
Hot Tub (11)
Viewed
Lodge Family Room (50)
Viewed
Lodge Room One Double Bed (41)
Viewed
Lodge Room Two Twin Beds (28)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)
Viewed
Tower Room One Queen Bed (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
2.4 km away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,237 reviews
0.6 km away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
2.3 km away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
680 reviews
12.4 km away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
717 reviews
2.2 km away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
Cuisines: Canadian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Price Range: $143 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise, Alberta
Lake Louise Deer Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Deer Lodge staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Jacksonville, Arkansas
10 months ago
Exeter, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Hong Kong, China

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Deer Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book Ahead.”
Griz22, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“choose from the new wing, as the old hotel rooms are tired, but great showers”
pauljohntanner, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Family Rooms are large and sunny.”
  • Lovely old door with antique fixtures.
  • Deer Lodge - Family Room, big and bright and clean (plus a sofa)
  • Deer Lodge - Family Room, the corner with the single bed
475cindyw, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room that doesnt face the road”
happytraveller413, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not sure where best rooms would be it was so quiet where we were”
JoanneM4848, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$108* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$112
TripAdvisorUS$108
HotelQuicklyUS$118
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates