We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0 Canada
E-mail hotel
8 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!$75 Off Last Minute Sale
Booking.com
US$409
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-08-19
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official Site
US$329
View deal
Expedia.com
US$370
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-08-19
TravelocityUS$370
Hotels.comUS$370
Trip.comUS$370
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (283)
360
Panoramas (5)
Videos (8)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Updated 22-03-03 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Mountaineer Lodge
Updated 22-03-03 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 5 hotels in Lake Louise
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Super comfy rooms and suites free breakfast, and an indoor hot tub, make a great home base for your Lake Louise adventure. Mountaineer Lodge guests love the location in downtown Lake Louise, close to shopping, restaurants, and easy access to all area attractions. All rooms are equipped with the conveniences of a microwave, mini-fridge, fast fiber-optic Wifi, and in-room coffee/tea stations. There are also family suites with bunk beds and fireplaces, plus that extra space to stretch out. The complimentary breakfast (hot & cold menu), indoor hot tubs, and onsite walking trails with great mountain views make the Mountaineer Lodge a popular choice in Lake Louise. Your Lake Louise adventure starts here with a great stay experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Ski rentals
Ski school
Skiing
Canoeing offsite
Walking tours
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Rate:$75 Off Last Minute Sale
2089Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 518
  • 730
  • 495
  • 233
  • 113
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
I3014VZvt wrote a review Aug. 5
Clearwater, Minnesota1 contribution
No aircon made the stay uncomfortable in summer. Hotel geared up for winter stays. Lake beautiful and park and ride we’ll managed but very little else in the town behind the lakes. Only a few places to eat and bare minimum shopping.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mountaineer Lodge, General Manager at Mountaineer Lodge
Responded 2 days ago
Dear I3014VZvt, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are sorry your stay was uncomfortable due to no AC in your room, we currently have only 16 rooms that have AC and our hope is to have more AC room after the renovations. Lake Louise is a very small village/community best suited for all those looking to explore the mountains. Our location certainly offers easy access to the few shops and restaurants, as well as the most popular and scenic hikes and 2 unique Tea Houses by Lake Agnes and Plain of Six Glaciers. You can also go canoeing, biking or sightseeing to take all the views in and get away from the crowds. We thank you for your business and we hope your next getaway is a memorable one. Sincerely, Mario Martinez
Read more
mstone811 wrote a review Oct. 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
Loved this property as a base for exploring the many natural wonders of Banff National Park. Very convenient location. Walking distance to visitor center, market, & other stores. Spacious & comfortable room with excellent customer service.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mountaineer Lodge, General Manager at Mountaineer Lodge
Responded Oct. 6, 2021
Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I was pleased to learn that you had enjoyed both your accommodations and amenities during your recent visit to Lake Louise. We all trust you had a wonderful experience while exploring all that Banff National Park has to offer and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Traveler689992 wrote a review Aug. 4
12 contributions2 helpful votes
Beautiful area. Right near the town. We could walk to the grocery or across the street to gas station. Lovely breakfast. I expected continental breakfast but it was full on. The people who checked us in and interacted with us were friendly and helpful! Highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mountaineer Lodge, General Manager at Mountaineer Lodge
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Traveler689992, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. Our location is certainly one of the most centric and accessible, is easy to park your vehicle and walk to the mall, restaurants, shuttles or hiking trails. We appreciate your comments about our complimentary breakfast, it certainly offers our guest a variety of items and much more than what you would expect from a regular continental option. A Great added value with no extra cost to our guest. Thank you for your business and we hope we can host you again on your next Mountaineer Getaway. Sincerely, Mario Martinez
Read more
Tanako75 wrote a review Aug. 3
Edmonton, Canada2 contributions
Location may be great, but there's no air conditioning. If you keep the windows open to try to let air circulate, then you have to pull back the blinds and can't sleep due to the light coming from the gas station across the way. If you keep the blinds shut, then it's stifling during the summer heat. Might be all right in the shoulder season or in the winter, but I definitely wouldn't come here in summer again (until, as the staff were saying, renovations were done so each room had air conditioning).
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mountaineer Lodge, General Manager at Mountaineer Lodge
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Tanako75, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are disappointed that your stay did not go as planned due to the lack of AC. Our hotel has 16 rooms with AC and they are all available on our website, we are sorry the room you chose did not have that feature. We are certainly looking forward to the renovations and having more room options with AC for our guest. Thank you for your business, we hope your next getaway is a memorable one. Sincerely, Mario Martinez
Read more
Urvashi P wrote a review Aug. 3
Virginia Beach, Virginia1 contribution
Very friendly staff and service. Hotel condition is good and very close to lake louise area and baneff area. Good restaurant on the area. They don't provide room service everyday unless you stay longetr which is the only -ve
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mountaineer Lodge, General Manager at Mountaineer Lodge
Responded 4 days ago
Dear UvashiP38, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are happy that your stay was good, and that our friendly staff as well as our renovated rooms met your expectations. Our housekeeping team does stay over service every 3 days, but we can also accommodate anyone who need the room cleaned after 1 night of use. Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Sincerely, Mario Martinez
Read more
frolando03 wrote a review Aug. 2
1 contribution
Very clean and breakfast was awesome and the view were just amazing. The hotel is near park n ride which I would highly recommend when you wanna go visit Louise and Morraine Lake, cheap and it will save you the hustle of searching for a parking spot. This should be 4star hotel or even 5.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mountaineer Lodge, General Manager at Mountaineer Lodge
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Frolando03, Thank you for such a wonderful review and for taking the time to share it with us. We are happy that you had a wonderful stay with us. Our location is certainly one of the best around this little town, you can simply park your vehicle and go exploring without having to worry about overcrowded parking lots. Our aim is to remain competitive with the hotels nearby, we are happy to read that our services and amenities were a good balance for the price paid. Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Sincerely, Mario Martinez
Read more
Kerri Cutler wrote a review Aug. 2
5 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel would have been a solid 5/5 if they had AC, other than that it was amazing. Hotel location is spot on and rooms and hotel were spotless. Room was spacious with a very comfortable bed and the free breakfast was DELISH!! Hotel staff were so helpful and friendly. Will definitely stay again and recommend to friends. Thanks Mountanieer :)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mountaineer Lodge, General Manager at Mountaineer Lodge
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Kerri832, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are happy to learn that your stay was amazing, our staff work really hard to provide our guest with a clean, comfortable, friendly and welcoming environment and they will be thrilled to know they achieved their goal. On the note about AC, a portion of our hotel is scheduled for renovations later this fall. Part of the new room amenities will be AC and we cannot wait to have that option for our guests. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to hosting you again on your next Mountaineer Getaway! Sincerely, Mario Martinez
Read more
andy wrote a review Jul. 2022
Edmonton, Canada1 contribution
Overall it’s an average 2 star hotel/lodge The parking lot is spacious, reception is professional and friendly. The room: Clean, tidy, shower is great, the bathroom is small, if you need to help you do kids to shower there is no space to turn. That’s why they put the hair dryer in the room instead of bathroom Hot tub and steam room is nice. The only disappointment is it states AC when booked online but AC is only available on the suites. At night the room is cool but they need to update they site to indicate clearly to avoid confusion People who can’t handle heat needs to book their suite or book somewhere else that has AC if this is crucial to you The room is clean but you can tell it needs renovations. Location is great! Walking distance to the shops and restaurants
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mountaineer Lodge, General Manager at Mountaineer Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Journey63400840660, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad that you found the room clean and tidy, our aim is to provide our guest with a clean and comfortable room during their stay. The room you describe is one of our lodge non renovated room, the 32 rooms in the main side of the hotel are scheduled for renovations later this fall. We also have a second building with 48 rooms fully renovated and as you mentioned, 16 of them have AC. We are hoping to offer more rooms with AC after the renovations are completed. Our room inventory is listed online and guests can choose the room that suits their needs best, we checked our website and we couldn't find the discrepancy you mention about the non AC rooms. Please reach out to us at 403-522-3844 so we can learn more about the site you used for your booking. We thank you for your business and we hope to host you again in the future so you can experience one of our renovated rooms with AC. Sincerely, Mario Martinez.
Read more
Natasha P wrote a review Jul. 2022
1 contribution
They left out stuff sitting out all day because they said they would bring it to our room and they didn’t, bed not made properly OR wash the bathroom properly, wake up knock at 830 instead of checking if we were there… just DONT GO GROSS ALL THE WAY AROUND
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mountaineer Lodge, General Manager at Mountaineer Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Dear U365XXnatashap, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are a little surprised by your comments and we would like to have more context about the challenges you experienced. Please reach out to us at 403-522-3844 and we will be happy to address your concerns. Sincerely, Mario Martinez
Read more
Trip15054256847 wrote a review Jul. 2022
Toronto, Canada2 contributions
This was conveniently located within the small “town” of Lake Louise. Rooms look like they we recently remodeled… everything was in very good condition and nicely decorated. When we were there it was hot (30 C) and the rooms don’t have air conditioning, just a fan. Included breakfast was pretty good. Would have been nice to have restaurant on site for other meals as some other hotels restrict access to their guests only.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mountaineer Lodge, General Manager at Mountaineer Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Trip15054256847, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are happy to read your comments about our location, the room you stayed in and our complimentary breakfast. Our staff works really hard to provide guest with clean, comfortable and welcoming atmosphere, they will be overjoyed to know their efforts are being noticed. Our hotel has 80 rooms, 48 of them are fully renovated and 16 of them have AC. Some of the rooms in the older side of the hotel are scheduled for renovations later this fall, we can't wait to share the final product with our guest. We appreciate your business and hope to host you again on your next Mountaineer Getaway! Sincerely, Mario Martinez.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$198 - US$474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mountaineer hotel lake louise, mountaineer lake louise
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCanadian RockiesBanff National ParkLake Louise
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mountaineer Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Mountaineer Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Bow Glacier Falls Trail (1.1 km), Fairview Lookout (1.2 km), and Wilsons Mountain Sports (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mountaineer Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Mountaineer Lodge?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Mountaineer Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Mountaineer Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mountaineer Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Post Hotel & Spa, Bill Peyto's Cafe, and The Station Restaurant.
Is Mountaineer Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Lake Louise.
Does Mountaineer Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Mountaineer Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.