We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Alma at the University of Calgary

Save
Traveller (62)
Room & Suite (38)
Storyboard
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good44%
  • Average17%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“olympic oval”(5 reviews)
“minute walk”(19 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Fitness centre
Kitchenette
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (359)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alma at the University of Calgary
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
81
135
62
42
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
81
135
62
42
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstudent residenceolympic ovalminute walkcontinental breakfastone bedroom suiteboiled eggsbar fridgeyogurtper dayfree wifidoing businessparking garagesmall kitchenmini fridgefront desk staffc trainflat screen tv
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
101 - 105 of 336 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2016

Quiet rooms which are clean and comfortable. Room is a little small but well equipped. Breakfast was okay, a continental that had cereal, yoghurt, some fruit, bread and pastries and boiled eggs. Have to park in multi-story about 400 yards from hotel. For the price...More

Thank welshman1955
Response from AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma at the University of CalgaryResponded August 8, 2016

Hello welshman1955, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to appreciate all that campus has to offer. The University campus is a beautiful...More

Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

Negative points: Wifi internet is only provided up to the afternoon of your last night. Why? I stayed for four night and I was cut off in the afternoon of the last day!! Over priced parking. There are cheaper parkings around. Friendly staff, clean rooms.More

2  Thank Ali D
Response from AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma at the University of CalgaryResponded August 8, 2016

Hello Ali D, We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Alma. I do apologize that your Wifi was cut off on your last day. Our internet is complimentary for all guests right through until check out so I am sorry...More

Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

Picked based on location and price but wasn't disappointed. Very clean. Simple buffet breakfast. Good value. Very pleasant helpful staff throughout. Would definitely stay again. Used the university pool and gym included in the price and right next door. Very close to hospitals, malls, bike...More

Thank Hello166
Response from AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma at the University of CalgaryResponded July 6, 2016

Good Afternoon Hello166 Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent visit to Hotel Alma. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are proud to offer our guests access to the University fitness facilities and...More

Reviewed June 16, 2016

I had a very enjoyable stay here. A small problem with the heat in my room the first night was rectified to my satisfaction. The breakfast is plentiful and healthy and the staff are very pleasant and go out of their way to help. Well...More

1  Thank Ricklion
Response from AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma at the University of CalgaryResponded June 20, 2016

Hello Ricklion, We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Alma and that our staff were able to efficiently assist you. It is wonderful to hear that...More

Reviewed June 7, 2016

We were going to be at a conference for a week at the University of Calgary and chose to stay here for the convenience. The fiasco started with check-in. Arrived with all our luggage from the airport, conference volunteers confirmed we were on the list,...More

Thank CanProf
Response from AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma at the University of CalgaryResponded June 13, 2016

Hello CanProf, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on Campus during your conference. We are very sorry that there was confusion with your arrival and wrong information was provided. We will certainly address this error with our team...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Calgary
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Amenities
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Details
Price range
US$69 - US$149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#10 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$69 - US$149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#10 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (62)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (5)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Yaxinlou
September 10, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from TeamAlma | Property representative |
Hello, Unfortunately we do not allow pets at Hotel Alma. However, we do allow service dogs.
0
Votes
290carol
February 8, 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from TeamAlma | Property representative |
Hello 290carol, Thank you for your question. Our Two bedroom student accommodations are equipped with two double beds. These beds have dormitory style mattresses so can be quite cozy with two people. If you are worried... More
0
Votes
November 29, 2014|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from TeamAlma | Property representative |
Good Morning, Typically Hotel Alma does require a credit card to book a reservation as well as at check in. However, if you are able to put down a 50% deposit at the time of booking we would certainly be able to make an... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"If you use a wheelchair make sure that your chair will fit through the doorway"
Read review
"Ask about the deals on the rooms they have check trip advisor or kayak to get the best deal on a room as they..."
Read review
"Ask for top floors. It is more quiet."
Read review
"just call or book online, the staff is so warm and accommodating"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing