We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Alma

Hotels.comUS$75*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Alma
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

311 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alma
See the most recent reviews
Showing 291: English reviews
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewed 10 September 2015

We were hosted at this hotel as my husband worked at the University Children's Hospital for a few days. Nice lobby, a buzzling university campus surrounding the hotel. It is a 10 minute walk to the light rail which takes you almost anywhere in Calgary. We got a room that was a suite with two rooms. It was a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gmw0713
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Hello gmw0713, thank you for sharing your Hotel Alma experience on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that the bathtub drain did not get fixed when it was brought up to our attention and we are looking into this to see why it was not completed. We apologize again for this letdown and we hope that everything else with your...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

We showed up Friday night for a weekend stay, after having booked the hotel on Hotwire.com. We were assured not to pay for parking in the parkade and that once we give the hotel our license number that we would be validated. Great! I thought, parking is covered. We go to check out and are told we need to pay...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Heidi D
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Dear Heidi D, thank you for your review of Hotel Alma on TripAdvisor. It is disheartening to hear about the miscommunication that happened regarding your parking situation. Although our confirmation letters do state that parking is available at an additional fee, we do try our best to be very clear with guests at check in regarding the services that we...

Eugene, Oregon
Reviewed 26 August 2015

This is the worst trip advisor presentation I have ever been suckered in to. It should not have cute references. Most of the 7 story building is a student dormitory. The service began with my request for a luggage cart that was simply left in the lobby without telling me it was there, a hello or help loading. From reviews...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Treepster
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Hello Treepster, thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Alma. Hotel Alma occupies the top three floors of the building while the bottom three floors is students’ apartment style accommodation. Hotel Alma does not offer some service such as bell service, valet service and in room dining service. While we do not offer these services, our staff try their...

Vancouver
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Night stay at the hotel was lovely, Rooms reminded of being back in the dorms at University. Beds super comfortable and sufficient amenities for the stay. The rooms however are pretty small since the hotel used to be Dorm rooms for students before. This hotel is connected to the University of Calgary and you see students all along the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ajaz_K007
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Hello Ajaz_K007, thank you very much for taking the time to review Hotel Alma and we are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time with us. Just as a clarification, while size of the standard Euro-Style rooms may give the impression of a dorm room, Hotel Alma is a newly constructed building and was never a dorm residence....

North Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Located in an updated concrete high-rise right on the campus of the University of Calgary, the Hotel Alma is spotlessly stylish, in an IKEA way (literally, since many fixtures came from there). Fortunately, I love this type of unpretentious, functional aesthetic. Along with a subtle but still cheeky attitude exuded by the printed material found on the premises, the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bcbloke
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Dear bcbloke, we appreciate you taking the time to review Hotel Alma and we are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and found the amenities, furniture, décor and our staff to be pleasant. We look forward to seeing you again at Hotel Alma on your next visit to Calgary. Team Alma

Elk Valley, B. C.
Reviewed 3 August 2015

One night in Calgary. Hotel is part of the University of Calgary conference accommodation. Room was small but well appointed. A bit noisy due to a athletic competition being housed there. Got woken up at 3 am from revelers returning from a night out. Parking is in a parking garage a fair distance away and cost $10 per night. Good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EastKootenayVisitor
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Hello EastKootenayVisitor, thank you for your review of Hotel Alma. Hotel Alma and Seasonal Residence at the University of Calgary was hosting multiple athletic teams in the past couple of weeks who were competing at the University of Calgary’s facilities and Foothills athletic park. Some teams like to celebrate their victories and achievements in their own ways and while we...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom suite and loved having a place to put the two toddlers so we could stay up past their bedtime! Complimentary breakfast and a quick 10 minute drive to the zoo in the morning! Lovely setting! Would definitely recommend to anyone making a quick trip through yyc with not enough time to really enjoy downtown!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MelCarv
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Hello MelCarv, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review of Hotel Alma on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay in our One Bedroom Suites. Although Hotel Alma is not located in the active area of downtown Calgary, being on the well-connected University of Calgary’s campus allows our guests to have...

Guelph, Canada
Reviewed 2 August 2015

NOTE The building houses the Hotel Alma on the top two floors and the Seasonal Residence at Alma on the lower floors. The Seasonal Residence is only available in the summer and the Hotel Alma year-round. The Hotel Alma is definitely a hotel, which the residence is definitely a dormitory. Be very careful when booking!Atmosphere: Right in the heart of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B_and_N_and_5_kids
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Dear B_and_N_and_5…, thank you very much for sharing your experience of your stay at Seasonal Residence at Alma. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were delighted to learn how well informed you were with the services of Hotel Alma as well as Seasonal Residence at Alma which as you indicated are two...

Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed 26 July 2015

I stayed for five nights and was in the hotel a lot given our professional workshop was held in the hotel, so I was able to see the amenities, staff, facilities, etc. in depth. I have no complaints. It is a clean, friendly, quiet place that is great for a small business or professional workshop right on site, as they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scm709
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Dear scm709, thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Alma and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and found the amenities, service and location to be great and convenient. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to seeing you again at Hotel Alma on your next visit...

Jasper, Canada
Reviewed 20 July 2015

I liked my stay at the Hotel Alma, very clean , very organized. When i checked in my room wasnt ready but they checked my bags and i was on with my day. I got back to the hotel later, my room was ready and they had upgraded my room from a one bedroom to a two bedroom. Which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessalyn K
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Dear Jessalyn K, we appreciate you taking the time to review Hotel Alma and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. The apartment type you booked was a Global Village room which is not part of Hotel Alma but resides in the same building. Those are student apartments during the school year and are...

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#44 of 109 in Calgary
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#39 of 109 in Calgary
267 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the vibrant heart of the University of Calgary campus, Hotel Alma treats guests to gracious service, friendly rates, and a host of accommodating spaces. Alma features 96 rooms and suites, a stylish bistro, and conference facilities for up to 125 people. Rates include continental breakfast, access to campus fitness facilities, wireless internet, local calls and long distance calls in Canada and the USA (excluding Alaska and Hawaii). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Alma

Address: 169 University Gate NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 1N4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Price Range: $89 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alma 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alma Calgary, Alberta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Alma staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Alma staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are good - book early to get access to the most options in terms of room type.”
weeblackbear, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“See if you can get a room with a normal sink!”
DawgOnTheRoad, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room closer to the elevator if you want to minimize walking. Hallways are quite long.”
DreamyOwl, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“cheapest dorm style room is good value queen suite is recommended if you can afford; I choose north sided rooms”
drdavidl2014, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I had heard that some of the rooms were quiet or at least didn't have paper thin walls. I was not in one of those.”
keetcanada, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$75* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$140
PricelineUS$75
Hotwire.comUS$75
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates