We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Alma at the University of Calgary

Is this your business?
Save
Traveller (44)
Room & Suite (32)
Storyboard
Membership_Interstitial_for_Hotel_Review_Returners
We can monitor prices for you!
Sign up to receive alerts.
Sign up
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good43%
  • Average18%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“olympic oval”(5 reviews)
“minute walk”(19 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Fitness centre
Kitchenette
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (352)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alma at the University of Calgary
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveller rating
81
131
62
40
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
81
131
62
40
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstudent residenceolympic ovalminute walkcontinental breakfastone bedroom suiteboiled eggsbar fridgeper dayyogurtfree wifidoing businessparking garagesmall kitchenmini fridgefront desk staffc trainflat screen tv
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
91 - 95 of 329 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Hotel Alma was a nice surprise! Although the room was small, it was very clean and well thought out use of the space. Breakfast was included and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Gym access was through the university. Really enjoyed walking around the...More

Thank Jan T
Response from AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma at the University of CalgaryResponded 8 August 2016

Hello Jan T We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and tok advantage of some of our wonderful amenities. Hotel guests are provided complimentary access to the...More

Reviewed 16 July 2016

The hotel is fresh and appointed nicely with a modern décor. Rooms are small - small bathroom, armoire that can't take a full length coat, ironing board that isn't free-standing and a small TV fixed to the wall. An average sized arm chair beside the...More

Thank DMMEdmonton
Reviewed 15 July 2016

I travel lots for work, during Stampede all the hotels that I usually stay at were booked, Decided to book at the Hotel Alma, since the pictures looked amazing. The hotel is very modern, for the rate that I payed it was amazing. The service...More

Thank Christian14789
Response from AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma at the University of CalgaryResponded 8 August 2016

Hello Christian14879 Thank you for commenting on your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that your visit did not meet your expectations and that you experienced issues. We do offer our guests a complimentary continental breakfast and have passed your comments along to our...More

Reviewed 15 July 2016

Quiet rooms which are clean and comfortable. Room is a little small but well equipped. Breakfast was okay, a continental that had cereal, yoghurt, some fruit, bread and pastries and boiled eggs. Have to park in multi-story about 400 yards from hotel. For the price...More

Thank welshman1955
Response from AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma at the University of CalgaryResponded 8 August 2016

Hello welshman1955, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to appreciate all that campus has to offer. The University campus is a beautiful...More

Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Negative points: Wifi internet is only provided up to the afternoon of your last night. Why? I stayed for four night and I was cut off in the afternoon of the last day!! Over priced parking. There are cheaper parkings around. Friendly staff, clean rooms.More

2  Thank Ali D
Response from AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma at the University of CalgaryResponded 8 August 2016

Hello Ali D, We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Alma. I do apologize that your Wifi was cut off on your last day. Our internet is complimentary for all guests right through until check out so I am sorry...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Amenities
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Tennis Court
Details
Price range
US$54 - US$133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$54 - US$133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (44)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (2)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Yaxinlou
10 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from TeamAlma | Property representative |
Hello, Unfortunately we do not allow pets at Hotel Alma. However, we do allow service dogs.
0
Votes
290carol
8 February 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from TeamAlma | Property representative |
Hello 290carol, Thank you for your question. Our Two bedroom student accommodations are equipped with two double beds. These beds have dormitory style mattresses so can be quite cozy with two people. If you are worried... More
0
Votes
29 November 2014|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from TeamAlma | Property representative |
Good Morning, Typically Hotel Alma does require a credit card to book a reservation as well as at check in. However, if you are able to put down a 50% deposit at the time of booking we would certainly be able to make an... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Ask for top floors. It is more quiet."
Read review
"just call or book online, the staff is so warm and accommodating"
Read review
"Higher floors have bigger rooms"
Read review
"Depends what ur needs are, so take a TOUR first and then book ."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing