We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 195: English reviews
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff were friendly, although it often seemed there was only 1 person at the desk and so it didn't take much for the front desk to be very busy. Rooms were nice, all the staff were very helpful and friendly. Exercise room was good but missing a few items that would be helpful (large elastics, exercise ball, mats). Pool appeared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
Pamela P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South, responded to this review

WOW, thank you for taking the time to give us a thorough review. We definitely appreciate the feedback more than you know. Without honest feedback we could not move forward and improve to meet our Guest service goals to provide the hospitality our guests expect. Looking forward to your next stay with us. -Hotel Management

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

One time of our go to places to stay in Calgary. The staff is great, and the rooms never disappoint. We have family to stay with in cowtown, but sometimes it's good to have our own place when we visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colin L
Pamela P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South, responded to this review

We are so pleased that once again we could provide the hospitality you expect. Looking forward to continue to impress with our service on your next stay. -Hotel Management

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

We are always pleased at this HIE. It is always clean, quiet and most of the staff is great. They do everything to make it a great stay. The only drawback this time was there was a wedding party and they took all the breakfast seats...we found two but there were many that were standing and trying to find a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Uts58
Hiexgm H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time and giving us your feedback about your recent stay with us and breakfast but also for being understanding of the situation. This is a great way for us to improve our service. Weekends are particularly but we do our best to service all our guests equally well. We sure hope to have...

Reviewed 17 October 2016

I accidentally book my nights on the holiday inn hotel in downtown Calgary. On Sunday July 10th, I showed up on the Hotel at Lake Fraser Dr with my family for my stay. There, I was informed that my reservation was done at downtown hotel, my mistake. So I decide to call the reservation number to move my reservation from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leonardo K
Hiexgm H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments and for taking the time to share your experience about our hotel.\We are deeply sorry to hear that your most recent stay with us was not very pleasant and that you also ran into billing issues with our property. Unfortunately, the dates that you selected to stay with us had a different cancellation...

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently placed near 2 transit stations making it cheap and easy to get into the city centre and the Holiday Inn provided us with a mostly quiet, pleasant stay. Room 431 was on the top floor, end of corridor and furthest away from highway, so was fairly peaceful. The room was of a good size, nice furniture...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dilly4472
Hiexgm H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South, responded to this review

We at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Calgary South would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in our property so hearing that your room was nice and spacious, and came with all the amenities...

victoria
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Our entire experience with this hotel was absolutely terrible. From booking to stay to checking in to our rooms everything was bad. Without hesitation it was the worst hotel experience I have had in Canada in a very, very long time. Simple stuff that hotels like this just need to get right they could not. The booking which was done...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jumpinhorsedad
Hiexgm H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South, responded to this review

We are so sorry to hear that your experience with us was not to your liking. Hotels are very limited in what they can do when rooms are booked via Online Travel Agencies as you are booking through them and subject to the terms at time of booking. this generally is not a strict when you book directly with the...

Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Stayed at this hotel for two nights in a queen room which was near to the lift. It was not a problem and didn't hear any noise from it. The desk manager was very good and did offer another room if we wanted to change. He even came into breakfast to see if our stay was ok. Nice pool and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wwfc1877
Hiexgm H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South, responded to this review

The Holiday Inn Express and Suites Calgary South would like to say thank you for this fantastic review! We love to hear that our efforts are appreciated and that you were able to enjoy what our hotel has to offer. We have noted your preference for our Breakfast bar and will pass this information along to the appropriate departments for...

Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Won't be back. Arrived at 5:00 and told room wouldn't be ready for another hour. Room smelt like smoke but we were told they just cleaned the carpet because there was a service dog. Didn't have towels replaced one day and had to ask. Location was good but won't be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tara K
Hiexgm H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South, responded to this review

Please allow us to apologize for your recent experience with our hotel. This is not the type of stay our guests expect to have, and your concerns addressed here have been noted. If you wish to discuss this in more detail please feel free to contact us. Once again, we apologize for the problems you encountered and hope you will...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We stayed for 1 night. The room had not been properly serviced before we checked in. There was only 1 bath sheet, the TV didn't work properly and the remote's battery was almost flat and there was a box with a quarter of a pizza on the top shelf of the closet. We complained about these things when we checked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kenjenw
Hiexgm H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was not at all to your liking. Management has previously spoken with you about your concerns and we are sorry we were not able to locate your item. If you wish to revisit this conversation we are more than willing to talk again.

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We stayed in this hotel as our son was competing in soccer provincials in Calgary with his team and my husband is a coach. Although I felt the room was a bit high in price ($160 for queen suite) compared to other hotels with better amenities ($187 Hyatt Downtown with concierge room that includes breakfast and dinner as well as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clharder
Hiexgm H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to hear that you did enjoy your time at our property. We are sorry to hear that our hotels' amenities did not meet your expectations. We hope this will not dissuade you from staying with us again.

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#38 of 109 in Calgary
477 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#84 of 109 in Calgary
34 reviews
Hotel Blackfoot
#27 of 109 in Calgary
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy A Smart Stay At This Calgary, Alberta Hotel Both leisure and business travelers will benefit from the prime location and amenities found at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in South Calgary. Our hotel's location is 30 km from the Calgary International Airport (YYC) and .05 km from the C-Train at Canyon Meadows Station. From the 24-hour fitness centre with elliptical trainer, treadmill and life cycle to the indoor pool with a water slide and a hot tub to the complimentary hot breakfast with warm cinnamon rolls, bacon, sausage, cheddar cheese omelets, yogurt, juice and coffee, we go beyond other hotels in Calgary to give you the amenities you need. Each room features cable TV, a microwave, a refrigerator, a workspace with two phones and free high-speed Internet access. You'll enjoy being in close proximity to Heritage Park, Spruce Meadows Equestrian Park and the major attractions throughout Calgary, Alberta. Our hotel is just a shopping trip away from SouthCentre Mall or Chinatown, and we're a short drive from outdoor fun at the Calgary Zoo, Canada Olympic Park or the world-renowned Calgary Stampede. Lodging here puts business travelers within minutes of Daimler Chrysler, Agrium, Earth Tech, Graham Construction, Reimer Express Lines, Fluor Daniel and other major businesses in South Calgary. Our hotel's amenities include a meeting room and a 24-hour business centre with copy, fax and print services. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South

Address: 12025 Lake Fraser Dr SE, Calgary, Alberta T2J 7G5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Price Range: $110 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Calgary South
Holiday Inn Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South Alberta
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Calgary
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on North side would likely be a bit quieter because of the traffic from the strip mall on the South side.”
 of 5 bubbles 376matthewl, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“check the room - and ask to be away from Macleod trail.”
 of 5 bubbles jumpinhorsedad, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“only stayed one night but room was quite.”
 of 5 bubbles Robbin8888, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“It's worth it to pay a little more for the king suite.”
 of 5 bubbles travelqueen066, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
“They will give you a ground floor room if you travel with your dog. Very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles simonsage, 8 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay