Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary South-Macleod Trail S, an IHG Hotel

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary South-Macleod Trail S, an IHG Hotel

Traveller (100)
Two Queen Beds
Room & Suite (64)
You can't have breakfast without sausage and fresh cooked bacon!
Dining (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#93 of 110 hotels in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Macleod Trail South just 30 KM from Calgary International Airport (YYC) and 20 minutes from Downtown Calgary, featuring spacious well appointed guest rooms and suites including Family Suites, Executive Suites, and Jacuzzi Suites. You will enjoy our indoor heated swimming pool, waterslide, whirlpool, fitness centre, guest laundry, and 24 hr Business Centre.

Savour our new and refreshed complimentary Express Start SMART breakfast every morning including our signature cinnamon rolls and pancake machine, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, cheese omelets, cereal, and more.

Corporate travelers will value our free reliable Fibre Optik High Speed Internet. Near by companies include; Nutrien, Altalink, Alberta Health Services, and General Electric. We are just minutes away from industrial areas such as Quarry Park and Deerfoot Meadows.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Video game console
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Bath / shower
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Portuguese
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards

Location

12025 Lake Fraser Drive, Calgary, Alberta T2J 7G5 Canada
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 56 out of 100
56
Calgary Intl Airport
310Reviews0Q+A66Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 93
  • 89
  • 34
  • 27
  • 67
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
alcd_85 wrote a review Feb 2022
Victoria, Canada50 contributions44 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Our experience was fine, just fine. It’s a very dated hotel, the rooms are in dire need of refreshing, outlets are loose, there are no “modern” amenities such as USB ports in the rooms. Soundproofing is horrible and the people in the halls sound like they’re in your bedroom. The bed sheets weren’t clean, there were dark brown hairs in the bed so we didn’t use that bed. We had booked pool time but it was so busy there was no room in the hot tub and the pool was full of kids being kids, so we didn’t get to try it out. With so many other options in the area it is extremely doubtful we will be back, especially at the price we paid for the room.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary South-Macleod Trail S, an IHG Hotel
Responded Mar 11, 2022
Hi alcd_85, Thanks for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We're determined to provide a space where guests could have a pleasant lodging experience. I am sorry to learn about your disappointment with the general upkeep of our facility. I have alerted the hotel management about your comments which will also be used as a reference for periodic evaluation of the property. I am confident that steps will be taken to improve your lodging experience. Again, thanks for staying with us. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to provide you with a better stay. Sincerely, Connie D Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
xxhermxx wrote a review Oct 2022
Medicine Hat, Canada238 contributions128 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I was prepared to be disappointed given recent reviews. I booked this hotel due to its proximity to an early morning medical appointment. (I live out of town). I booked a suite with a separate bedroom, balcony and fireplace. The fireplace did not work. I didn’t contact anyone about it because I didn’t want the bother of someone coming to my suite. One of the lights didn’t work. The decor is a bit outdated.

But the bed was comfortable and the room was well laid out. There is a lot of wasted space in the front entrance — not sure what could be done about that. I loved having a balcony. The checkin was a bit slow. The room was clean and there were no bed bugs!!!! I did not use the pool.

There are lots of places nearby to eat — even in walking distance.

The toiletries provided were a decent quality but the tiny bottles were only half to 3/4 full.

All in all a decent place. Certainly not luxurious but it was fine.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sportymom4 wrote a review Nov 2020
Edmonton, Canada14 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room was very spacious; living space separated by two french doors into the bedroom space. It was very comfortable, nice to have a couch and table to sit and watch TV rather than sitting on a bed. (there was a second tv in the bedroom as well) The hotel looked older than the photos on the website showed, but was still clean and comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: I'm not sure if all of the rooms had french doors leading to a king bed - but I would ask for...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karina wrote a review Aug 2022
Toronto, Canada66 contributions34 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I thought the rooms were huge and the staff were very friendly and accommodating at check in. Beds were really comfortable and the AC worked well. The hotel isn't near downtown at all but there are several shopping plazas nearby, plus a mall, so lots of variety for food and such. I had a pleasant experience and would stay again. Great breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MunchkinMommy0913 wrote a review Jun 2021
Sparwood, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
For $90 my son and I were able to stay in their King Suite, featuring a separate sitting area and bedroom. The room had a fridge and microwave which was awesome as we did Skip the Dishes for our meals with restaurants still being closed for dine in.

The room was clean and very comfortable. The bagged to go breakfast was a nice feature- as their buffet breakfast is not available due to Covid protocols.
The staff were friendly and helpful with check in and any concerns we had.
Hotel is quiet with minimal white noise coming off from MacLeod Trail.

We would stay here again if the opportunity arises.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: East side of the hotel is undergoing renovations - we were placed on the West wing. No noise from...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shaye L wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited the hotel for only one night. When I got there to check in there was only one man working the front desk and about 40 people waiting in the lobby, many had checked in but there rooms were not ready.

When we finally got to our room which was a 2 queen suite, I let my baby crawl around because he’d been travelling all morning and needed some freedom. His hands, knees and feet were completely black from the dirty floor. I had to ask for a new duvet cover because the one on one bed had blood on it. They passed me a duvet cover and I spent about 10 minutes trying to change it myself. When I grabbed an additional duvet from The closet for the sofa bed it also had spilled juice on it’s cover. I’m curious….Are these see covers even cleaned/changed between stays?

Fast forward to our swim time….no towels at the pool and the water was freezing. The hot tub was also so cold my kids had goosebumps even in there.

In the morning I went to check out breakfast at 7:30am. The grab and go bags (still no buffet breakfast due to covid) were not yet filled even though they told me I could grab breakfast between 6-10am. I was told they would call my room when the bags were ready. I went to grab Tim Hortons because the kids were hungry. We finally left at 9:30am because we had things we wanted to do in Calgary. As I was leaving the breakfast bags were just being filled up. I grabbed a couple so the kids could snack….only a muffin and yogurt inside….not even a piece of fruit.

Overall the stay was horrible. Understaffed, dirty and disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kendra N wrote a review Feb 2020
Sherwood Park, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Woke in the morning, got up to have a shower and there was no hot water. Went to talk to the clerk and apparently this hotel does not have enough boilers to heat water for all the guests. It can only manage to heat water for a group at a time. So if you want hot water you have to either get up really early or sleep late. The hotel also refused to compensate for or whole family being unable to shower in the morning, as we were unable to wait around for hot water. I would definitely find another hotel if you like to shower in the morning.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pamela P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary South-Macleod Trail S, an IHG Hotel
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Our team does apologize for not meeting the expectations during your stay and we are currently working on alternative solutions for full house capacities.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trip n wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Every corner of the room was dusty: the entire leather sofa, lampshade, ice bucket, toilet dispenser, microwave, keurig, refrigerator. There was a bag of bread full of molds left inside a cabinet, crumbs inside the microwave, and some stains inside the refrigerator. Water was dripping from the airconditioner and the carpet was of course wet. Intercom wasn’t working at all. Shower curtain was filthy. The sofa bed had stain underneath and some hair on the chair. We didn’t know if they touched the room to clean. We arrived at 2 am anticipating that our room was ready and tidy but needed to wait half an hour for an available room but still we got the worst room ever in our entire lives. The only solution they can have is to give us a complimentary stay on our next visit to the hotel. Who would go back with such horrible room?
Up until now the management has not responded to our complaints despite several calls and voice mails we made a letter of complaint sent to IHG.
If you want to see the entire story, you can visit this video in Youtube channel
Trip ni Mike
title: Holiday Inn Express Calgary
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary South-Macleod Trail S, an IHG Hotel
Responded Oct 24, 2021
Dear 962tripn, I appreciate you for sharing your review about your recent stay. I am very sorry that you did not experience an exemplary hotel stay because of the level of service you have received. On behalf of our hotel, I apologize for the cleanliness of our room and that the air conditioning was dripping. This is not what we want any of our guests to experience. I have sent you a private message to reaffirm my apologies. I very much hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AlbertaFamily wrote a review Aug 2021
Edmonton, Canada5 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Would not stay here again if you paid me. Where do I even begin? Hopelessly understaffed, which means it was impossible to even address any of the following. 1) The suite with kitchen we booked was “unavailable” so we were given a kitchenette instead - what is the point of reservations when you don’t get what you reserved? Furthermore, we have medical needs that require the full kitchen, so this complicated what should have been a short, fun trip. 2) Then there were blood stains on the fitted sheet on our bed. Housekeeping nowhere to be found so we had to go down to the front desk and get clean sheets ourselves, then change the bedding. Our dirty bedding sat outside in the hallway for at least 16 hours. 3) Two towels in the bathroom when the suite was booked for four people. 4) Elevators constantly out of service. 5) Pool area dirty and run down, also pool numbers limited “due to covid” even though covid restrictions aren’t even a thing anymore. I could list more but needless to say, do you self a favor and skip this location. We usually have good luck with Holiday Inns, and we were extremely disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary South-Macleod Trail S, an IHG Hotel
Responded Dec 6, 2021
Dear BlondeAmbitions, I appreciate you for sharing your review about your recent stay. I am very sorry that you did not experience an exemplary hotel stay because of the level of service you have received. On behalf of our hotel, I apologize for the cleanliness in our hotel the elevators being out of service and that you did not receive the room category you booked. This is not what we want any of our guests to experience. I have sent you a private message to reaffirm my apologies. I very much hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael T wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We are shocked by this hotel! Dirty, smelly and very unfriendly. It started with the registration. When we wanted to pay the manager said that the colleague is taking a break and we should come back later. It should be possible for a hotel manager to greet a guest and enable them to check-in. After an hour of waiting we were allowed to check in but when we opened the door to the room it smelled so bad that we couldn't even get into the room and wanted to check out immediately. We had to pay cad 300 because we had opened the room and so dirty ?! We weren't even in the room and after opening the door we fell backwards because of the smell and left immediately. After my husband tried to sort it out, the manager got rude and kicked him out. His friend at the reception also added hers. Beware of these criminal people. Their hotline cannot help you with this either and there is just a long queue.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Mark D wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good location friendly staff. Newly renovated rooms well appointed and super comfy beds/pillows."
Read full review
Albertabound wrote a tip Feb 2023
Spruce Grove, Canada181 contributions80 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Highest room possible, request ear plugs"
Read full review
ALD wrote a tip Oct 2022
Alberta, Canada26 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hotel"
Read full review
John H wrote a tip Sep 2022
Ontario, Canada11 contributions27 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Find a different hotel not worth the aggravation"
Read full review
SableBosco wrote a tip Aug 2022
24 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this place. Read reviews , do not rely on the pictures on the website."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Calgary area.
PRICE RANGE
C$136 - C$225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express hotel and suites calgary south, holiday inn calgary, holiday inn express calgary, calgary holiday inn
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCalgarySoutheast Calgary
NUMBER OF ROOMS
106
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary South-Macleod Trail S, an IHG Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary South-Macleod Trail S, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary South-Macleod Trail S, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Southcentre Mall (0.8 km), Avenida Food Hall and Fresh Market (0.5 km), and Trico Centre For Family Wellness (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary South-Macleod Trail S, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary South-Macleod Trail S, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary South-Macleod Trail S, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary South-Macleod Trail S, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary South-Macleod Trail S, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Willow Park Wines & Spirits, Piccola Napoli Ristorante, and Sushi Ginza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary South-Macleod Trail S, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary South-Macleod Trail S, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary South-Macleod Trail S, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary South-Macleod Trail S, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary South-Macleod Trail S, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Heritage Park Historical Village (4.6 km).
All Calgary HotelsCalgary Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CalgaryHotels near Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary South-Macleod Trail S, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars