Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre

Traveller (86)
Room & Suite (39)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
C$129
Fully refundable before Sat, Mar 9
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
C$159
Breakfast included
No fees just great deals
C$117
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#16 of 111 hotels in Calgary
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre located in Calgary, Alberta, Canada, where guests enjoy contemporary accommodations in our newly renovated guestrooms and exceptional amenities with our year-round, outdoor heated pool, complimentary parking, Wi-Fi & Breakfast. We have something to suit every appetite with four memorable dining options; THÉ Restaurant, Dudley’s Gaming Lounge, Peanuts Public House & Patio, or enjoy a fine dining experience in our 9030 Dining Lounge. Centrally located on Macleod Trail South, the The Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre is in the midst of the city’s vibrant shopping, dining and entertainment districts and is also within walking distance of the nearby light rail system and minutes from downtown Calgary. Located minutes away from Chinook and Southcentre shopping centres, as well as close to Heritage Park, Spruce Meadows, Calgary Zoo and the Calgary Stampede. When it comes to comfort, value and easy access to everything the vibrant city of Calgary the The Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre has it all!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Street parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Deal:Free breakfast with your stay
4.0
2,007 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
The Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre garners appreciation for its prime location, nestled conveniently close to dining, shopping, and public transit. Guest reviews often highlight the comfortable and clean accommodations, though some have mentioned issues with noise and lighting. While the service is generally praised for its friendliness and efficiency, there are occasional mentions of inconsistencies. Cleanliness is a strong suit for the hotel, and the value for money is recognized by many guests. The atmosphere is deemed welcoming, and amenities such as the hot tub and outdoor pool are popular, despite some reports of maintenance needs.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
2007Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 987
  • 651
  • 228
  • 77
  • 66
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Pauline S wrote a review Jan 2024
7 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
We stayed for a week and were very impressed with the friendliness and efficiency of all the staff, from the warm welcome at the reception desk, the flexibility of the cleaning personnel and the prompt and friendly service from the dining staff. While there, we required a wheelchair, which was always available with a staff member to assist us. There are several dining options (and room service was very quick), freshly baked goods for sale in the foyer all day and a small convenience store onsite. There are many shops within easy walking distance. Our standard room was large with plenty of storage space, and the bed was very comfortable. The food was first class (our favourite was the excellent salmon dinner) and there is a complimentary hot breakfast buffet with ample choices. Taxis are often parked right outside the hotel, and booked cabs arrived promptly. The greatest impression I have of this hotel is the total ambience of guest satisfaction. The staff made us feel “at home”. I would highly recommend the Carriage House.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Travis Maier, Sales at Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded Jan 19, 2024
Hi F2808HBpaulines, What an amazing review & recommendation! Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a detailed review. We will be sure to share your review with all of our colleagues throughout the hotel so they are also aware of the wonderful job they do at making our guests happy. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your week-long stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
giddles2 wrote a review Nov 2020
Lethbridge, Canada159 contributions71 helpful votes
Stayed 4 days at the Carriage House due to a hospital visit in Calgary. We had a premium renovated room which was clean and modern with firm beds. Just wish they had sealed drinking glasses in the rooms. The rooms are not that large but functional. Front desk staff are friendly and very helpful as you pick up fresh towels etc. from them. Room prices were reasonable which also included a delicious sit down breakfast in the hotel restaurant. The hotel maintains safety protocols including wearing masks and social distancing in the restaurant. Would definitely return to the Carriage House.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Travis Maier, Sales at Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded Nov 24, 2020
Hi giddles2, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt safe and comfortable with our new sanitization standards that we implemented in March when we entered the pandemic. We are going to go ahead and share your great comments with our colleagues so they are also aware of the impact their great service makes on all of our guests. We also hope that everything went well with your hospital visit and we hope to welcome you back in the future for a more leisurely stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
LisaT1969 wrote a review May 2021
Radium Hot Springs, Canada52 contributions85 helpful votes
We needed to go to Calgary for some errands, and decided to stay here since it’s close to where we used to live. What a pleasant surprise! We were in a beautifully renovated room with a very comfortable bed, the front desk staff were friendly and efficient, and the included breakfast was the best we’ve had anywhere since the start of the pandemic. Most hotels will just give you a granola bar and a juice box, but we actually got to pick from a menu of proper meals. The food was fresh, tasty, and actually more than either of us could finish. Due to the current tight restrictions, we couldn’t use the pool or other amenities, but I actually received a courtesy call after booking the room to let us know these wouldn’t be available. I’ve never had another hotel bother to do that, and we’ve had to stay in a few different places over the past year while taking care of family business. We will definitely stay here again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Travis Maier, Sales at Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded May 23, 2021
Hi LisaT1969, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and that we were able to exceed your expectations in regards to service, even prior to you arriving at the hotel. We do hope that the next you stay with us, government restrictions will be loosened and you will have an opportunity to use our year-round, heated outdoor pool and hot tub. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charms wrote a review Aug 2020
Red Deer, Canada94 contributions31 helpful votes
We enjoyed our family stay in a renovated room. Beds were super comfy and the breakfast was great. Hotel staff were also very friendly.

The hallways were extremely noisy. This isn’t the hotel’s fault, but rather, other inconsiderate guests who just don’t stop to think how loud their slamming doors, stomping feet and voices are when there’s a young child sleeping next door/underneath them. I sleep with earplugs my child uses a white noise machine. Even with those, the slamming doors woke us up. Why don’t hotels invest in actual, effective soundproofing? And if a hotel could invent a slam-proof/soft close door that met all safety requirements, I think they would do well with it!

We would probably stay here again if travelling without a young child. If a sound sleep is a requirement of your trip, be aware that noise is the only downfall of this hotel. If that won’t bother you, this hotel is otherwise perfect!

The location is also handy for activities in the south side of the city.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Travis Maier, Sales at Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded Aug 19, 2020
Hi D6436NUsharonh, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do want to apologize for the less than considerate guest(s) that may have been around your room. If that ever happens again, please call the Front Desk and we will send security up to speak with the other guests. After all, we do want all guests to enjoy their stay with us. We hope that you will give us another try the next time you are in Calgary.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KristenG94 wrote a review Aug 2022
Airdrie, Canada4 contributions
For some reason, for my entire stay, it was very confusing to the staff that there were five people staying in the room and not four. I had to explain this over and over again (including at check in, when requesting bedding, at the buffet breakfast, and when checking out). It was always five people from the time of booking a month in advance. We had several issues and I would never hold an event at the Carriage House Inn again in the future. We were booked in the Schmidt Suite (1057) from Aug 5-7, 2022, to celebrate a bachelorette party. We showed up expecting to check in at 3pm as indicated on every confirmation email I received (and I even called the morning of to ensure that the room would be ready). We did not get our room until 3:30pm. This was a huge inconvenience as we needed to decorate the suite before the bride was to arrive at the hotel for 4pm. The doors to the king bedroom were broken and did not stay closed. The shower head also did not work properly and could not be moved so that it didn't spray absolutely everywhere when the water was turned on. The pull out bed was so uncomfortable that we had members of our party that preferred to sleep on the floor. We only had a single roll of toilet paper in the room (for a two night stay with 5 guests). This is such a disappointment considering I spent close $700 to stay here. Later, we realized that night around 10pm that we had no pillows or blankets for the pullout and cot. When I called down to the front desk for some, we were told that none could be brought to our room because "there are none" and "the housekeeping staff are gone". Umm... you don't have extra bedding or staff to attend to guests in a hotel with TEN FLOORS? When I went downstairs, the woman at the front desk completely gaslit me and pretended she didn't say any of the things that she did on the phone (probably because there was now a manager there). The next day, the front door to the suite broke multiple times and Carlos had to assist us. He was lovely but again, for the money I paid, why was the handle mechanism on the door so old that it stopped working and prevented us from entering the suite on multiple occasions (forcing us to go from the tenth floor to the lobby for assistance each time)? The only redeeming quality about the hotel is the outdoor pool and hottub. Please hire competent staff and update/fix the issues in your suites.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Travis Maier, Sales at Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded Aug 14, 2022
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, KristenG94. Thank you for bringing these items to our attention. We certainly do appreciate your feedback and will be digging into the items you have mentioned to find out what went wrong and how we can get better. We do sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations, or ours...
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mcleanamanda wrote a review May 2021
Calgary, Canada1 contribution
What a beautiful hotel that's close to literally everything you could need. My stay May 2021 during a covid lockdown was truly wonderful. My room was exceptionally clean and newly renovated. The beds were really comfortable and the bathroom has dispensers for body wash, shampoo and conditioner. I use 2 bottles of each at least on my hair so it's great for us ladies. I highly recommend you stay here when your visiting Calgary and when you just need a great place to stay no matter what your up too. Thanks to the very pleasant and helpful staff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Travis Maier, Sales at Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded May 31, 2021
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently, mcleanamanda. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, felt safe, and would recommend us to others. This is the greatest feedback that we could receive. Thank you for taking the time to share and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rodmac33 wrote a review Sep 2022
Spruce Grove, Canada1 contribution
We enjoyed the outdoor hot tub and pool. The fresh baked goods from hotel bakery was a wonderful treat as well as the meals from the Peanuts bar. Rooms were well kept with a Kuerig coffee machine which allows for a better morning coffee
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Travis Maier, Sales at Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded Sep 19, 2022
Hi Rodmac33, Thanks for taking the time to post your online recommendation and review of your recent say with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our in=house bakery items sold in our lobby. Did you know that all of the bread, pastries, pie, etc. are all freshly baked in our bakery? Thanks for staying with us, Rodmac33!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amy wrote a review May 2022
Medicine Hat, Canada2 contributions
Reasonable rates for a clean, updated and spacious room. Overall hotel property is really nice too and has great facilities and potential for weddings, conferences, workshops, etc. Amenities are great such as the pool, a few restaurants to select from and the location near many business on a main road such as Macleod Trail is ideal. Despite being located on a busy road the noise is minimal in the rooms. The free breakfast buffet is delicious - the bacon is crispy and well cooked with a good selection of regular breakfast essentials such as sausage, scrambled eggs, hash browns, etc.. The food has always been delicious and good quality. Great place to stay with family or on your own.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Travis Maier, Sales at Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded May 12, 2022
Hi Aurajem, We want to thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed online review & recommendation. We are beyond happy that you found such great value in staying with us previously, that you returned again. We most certainly look forward to hosting & serving you again on your next trip north. Thank you for posting!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fofofenix wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
I think they have some kind of bed bug issue or the like. I felt like something was biting me and was itchy while sleeping. There were a few crumbs under my bed sheets. Coffee cup stain on my bed’s side table. The hair dryer didn’t work. Not enough toilet paper for my 2 nights stay. I resorted to using Kleenex on my last day. I couldn’t sleep. When I finally did fall asleep, I was woken up by the AC or the toilet running. The elevators close too quickly and it was an inconvenience for guests waiting with a lot of baggage. A few of us missed the elevator because it closed too fast.

The location was good. Breakfast was ok. Service at the front was ok. However, when I tried calling both guest and room services, no one picked up the phone. On the morning of my check out, one cleaning staff approached me and asked when I’m leaving bc she can’t clean my room until I check out. I told her I’m still packing so she can come back in an hour and I still technically have time (2 hours) til check out. I felt this was inappropriate. I told front desk that I tried calling them about my issues but no one picked up the phone when I checked out and got an apology.

I’m not coming back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Travis Maier, Sales at Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded Aug 15, 2021
fofofenix, We are so sorry to hear of your experience with us. We are doing a deep dive into the numerous items you have mentioned. Our guests health and safety is our absolute top priority. Following our hotel protocols, we have confirmed through an outside professional company that the room you were in was cleared. This does not excuse the remainder of challenges you experienced and we are looking into each item carefully. We want to thank you for bring these things to our attention.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Derrick wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
I have stayed here twice now. The rooms are decently sized, the floors are quiet, I hear no noise from above and only a little next door. Breakfast is included and while it is a simple eggs and meat buffet the food is consistent and good. The front desk service has been excellent. Did I mention the warm pool?! Warmer than any pool I have been in in Mexico (over a dozen times).
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Travis Maier, Sales at Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded Jun 20, 2022
Thank you so much for posting such a detailed review, d_vdbe! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed both of your stays with us. We are also happy to hear how much you enjoy our year-round, heated outdoor pool & hot tub. We definitely look forward to hosting you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
whyme424 wrote a tip Jan 2024
Saskatoon, Canada109 contributions65 helpful votes
"Higher floors are likely quieter and the view of the mountains is nice from high floors."
Read full review
Terry L wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
"The pool gets busy around 1-2pm so best to arrive earlier to get a seat. Make reservations for the Sunday buffet ($34/adult). Well worth it."
Read full review
Amanda M wrote a tip Aug 2023
4 contributions
"Pool is full of people on sunny days so don't come solely for that! "
Read full review
BrianB wrote a tip May 2023
Regina, Canada226 contributions60 helpful votes
"Free breakfast"
Read full review
Anthony W wrote a tip May 2023
Seattle, Washington3 contributions
"The food was just a little above average and wifi was hella slow so just use your data if you're staying here"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Calgary area.
PRICE RANGE
C$132 - C$191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
carriage house hotel calgary, carriage hotel calgary
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCalgarySoutheast Calgary
NUMBER OF ROOMS
157
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Calgary, Alberta) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre
Which popular attractions are close to Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre?
Nearby attractions include Sue Higgins Park (0.8 km), Laser Quest (1.2 km), and Ranchman’s Cookhouse & Dancehall Inc. (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hearts Choices Thai Vegan Cafe, Bolsa Restaurant, and Big Catch.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Carriage House Hotel & Conference Centre?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Heritage Park Historical Village (2.4 km), Lougheed House (7.5 km), and Southern Alberta Pioneers' Memorial Building (5.5 km).