Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary Chinook Station

Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary Chinook Station

Seitenansicht
Traveller (82)
Kitchenette
Room & Suite (45)
View from Room (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

2.0
#108 of 109 hotels in Calgary
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
2.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Hotel links
Special Price:5% Off Or More

Location

5307 Macleod Trail SW, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0J3 Canada
453Reviews6Q+A87Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 18
  • 62
  • 59
  • 54
  • 260
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Rany E wrote a review Sep 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
the hotel stole 55 dollars from the 400 damage deposit for cleaning, which is illogical, because the cleaning should be included in the reservation. the receptionist surprised my with her bad behavior when I asked for explanation and she kept shouting at me. I strongly advise adding extra 10 dollars and going to another place.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: avoid at all cost
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary Chinook Station
Responded Sep 16, 2022
Dear Ranye, Your feedback is important as we are always looking for ways that we can improve our guests' experience. We apologize that our policies failed to please you. The incidental deposit is used to cover any damages to the room. Sometimes, however, a deep cleaning may be needed depending on the condition the room is left in. Please know that any cleaning fee that is incurred by a guest is always thoroughly investigated prior to the fee being charged. If you have any questions regarding the fee, we would be happy to discuss it with you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Al L wrote a review Jul 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Digusting disgusting disgusting!!

Booked a room at Canadas Best Value Inn at 5307 Macleod Trail in Calgary for May 23/2023 and when I went to check in about 9:00 pm I was greeted by an angry couple in the office in a heated argument with the hotel manager over the condition of the room they had been given. After listening to this for 10 minutes or so the manager allowed me to check in and gave me my key. I went to the room #116 which I was assigned and went I opened the door I noticed a foul smell like old beer mixed with a musty odour which smelled like mold. I walked across the wood floor and noticed it was sticky and obviously hadn't been washed. I then pulled down the bed sheets and noticed soiled stains on the sheets. I immediately went back to the office and told the manager what I had found. She offered me another room but I said I wasn't interested to see another and I asked for a refund but she said I would need to contact GoSplitty the online booking agent that I booked the hotel with.
I left the hotel and managed to find a decent hotel several KMs down the road. Next morning I contacted GoSplitty and sent pictures of the soiled bed sheets and they basically said sorry we can't give you a refund.
BEWARE!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary Chinook Station
Responded Jul 7, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are disheartened to know that we were unable to meet your expectations. We strive to maintain high levels of cleanliness, and we apologize for not being able to represent this standard. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we will be sure to share it with our team for improvement purposes. As for concerns with a third-party booking site, we encourage you to continue to reach out to them for prompt assistance and a satisfactory resolution.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rick D wrote a review Jul 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Came here on July 10, 2023 and the hotel was filthy and run down we were almost afraid to enter the room. The stairwell and hallway leading to our room looked like something out of a horror movie. When we entered the room it was filthy and shocking. We went back to the front desk and asked if we could just check out and get a refund. She couldn't authorize it and gave us tee managers email. We re-entered the room that we booked online and it was hard to find one as we came to enjoy the Calgary stampede. I started checking the mattress and bedding for bed bugs, I noticed dark spots on the mattress cover, someones hair in the pillows, lots of crumbs/some garbage under bed, didn't see any bugs though. We ended up sleeping or laying awake in the old uncomfortable mattress, other guests were very noisy and the window air-conditioner in room was loud. Worst sleep of our lives! In the morning went to the front desk again and asked for a refund as the room was booked for 4 nights, she said again email the manager. We checked out right away. Here is the email I sent to the management, I've waited for a reply from them for two days and haven't heard back from them. I guess they don't care about there customers.

:Hello how are you

We checked in last night and had a terrible sleep. I spoke with the front desk about checking out early and she said to email the manager. The rooms air-conditioner is very noisy, some if the guests in the hallway very noisy and the bed is very uncomfortable. The kind receptionist mentioned the room is non refundable, but i was hoping maybe an exception could be made. We are going to check out soon and have found different accommodations because we just cant get a good sleep here.

Thankyou and we hope to here from you soon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Came here on July 10, 2023 and the hotel was filthy and run down we were almost afraid to enter...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary Chinook Station
Responded Jul 16, 2023
Thank you for taking a moment to share your concerns. We sincerely apologize that your stay was not satisfactory and for the ways in which we fell short of your expectations and our own. If you have not yet heard from our team, we kindly ask that you reach back out to us directly so we can connect with you and discuss this further. Guest satisfaction means everything to us, and we want to ensure we are putting our best foot forward.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Juleslangen wrote a review Oct 2021
Calgary, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Do not book here! I made a cancellable booking through booking.com for September 2021. My credit card was charged the full amount several days before the trip. I ended up cancelling the trip and based on the cancellation policy, I should have only been charged 50 euros, however no refund has been issued. They do not answer their phone and have not responded to any emails. Booking.com has also not been able to get a hold of them and I am out a significant amount of money!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary Chinook Station
Responded Oct 14, 2021
Dear Jules, We were very surprised to read your comments and apologize that you've had some trouble with your reservation. It's never our intention to leave any billing concerns unresolved. As you made your booking through a third-party site, we have limited control over this aspect of the stay, so we strongly encourage you to reach back out to them. That being said, it's unlike us to be difficult to reach, so we hope that you will reconsider giving us a call directly should you still need assistance. We'd be happy to clear up any misunderstanding.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharon D wrote a review Oct 2023
Langley City, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
5 stars for the worst hotel stay i ever had! This place is a scam go else where 100%
1st got there charged me $450 for a damage then when I got to the room it wasn’t even cleaned for me yet! Then on Saturday when I got back to the place my door was wide open, thankfully I was smart enough to not leave anything in the room! Monday comes and I am checking out, the lady goes and looks over my room and decides to charge me $194.25 for 1 sheet and a mattress protector because they was a little blood on it! I have worked in the resort industry for 6 years and never have this been a thing with guest that stay at the location and I have dealt 1st hand with blood on sheets! I am absolutely disgusted and disturbed by this place
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Avoid at all cost. Spend more money to go else where. I stay at the emerald inn before this 10...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary Chinook Station
Responded Oct 28, 2023
We're sorry to hear about any disappointment in the service received. We'll be sure to discuss your comments internally and make improvements for the future. In addition, should you wish to discuss this further, we encourage you to reach out to us offline so that we may better assist you. We wish you all the best.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KCD wrote a review Jul 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Please save yourself, all your family and all your friends from getting ripped off at this place!! They make up random charges and refuse to provide a receipt for any cash transactions! Quite convenient for tax time I’m sure.
I was charged $30/night +tax for “processing & handling fee” for a $400 potential incidental withdrawl… which I understand the incidental deposit and then refund upon check out because I only had a debit/visa. When I checked in I was surprised to be notified of the extra $98. She said I get a receipt at checkout Which 3 days later when I checked out they still would not give me a receipt …
So we went for the stampede. Costed $266/night. It looked kinda dingy on the pics and not good reviews but thought we would book anyways give it benefit of the doubt.
Upon our check in .. the lobby had a bad smell and there were rotten bananas on a plate and fruit flies..the counter was completely encase with metal bars. I would have backed out then if I wouldn’t lose $800. Going to our room was up a dingy staircase. In the room there was a broken chair, no fitted sheet on the bed and an old previously used soap bar in the shower with soap scum on tiles of shower still. The window had NO screen on it and there was a wasp nest close by as we had several wasps came into the room. Couldn’t even air the room out.
With all that during our stay,, upon checkout, the lady went to review the room for incidentals. Came back with a picture on her phone of the face cloth that I had used to wash my makeup off. I told her it’s my purple eyeshadow and eyeliner (which I always wear) … and she literally stood there and argued with me that it was not makeup and it was stained and therefore charged me $17 for the fricken facecloth!! Apparently faceclothes provided are not allowed to be used for your face 🤷‍♀️
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Not good business ethic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary Chinook Station
Responded Jul 25, 2023
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. Please know that if your reservation was made through a third-party agent, your receipt and payment details are handled by that site. You should've received a receipt in your email after your stay. Your comments have been passed along so we can improve our overall experience, and we hope for another chance to impress you the next time you're in our area.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharon S wrote a review Jul 2023
Kamloops, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stained dirty bed sheets, air conditioner blowing warm air, wifi didn’t work, the continental breakfast advertised was a granola bar no coffee or tea…. They charged me more than what the website quoted. The staff was not helpful at all. This was the worst hotel I have EVER stayed in. When I told them about all the issues they didn’t even extend an apology.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary Chinook Station
Responded Jul 15, 2023
Dear Sharon, The account from your recent stay has been helpful to us. It is our top priority to provide all the comforts of home for our guests, and it saddens us greatly that you felt dissatisfied during your visit. Our team members will use your comments as a training tool to ensure that we are consistently meeting the needs of our guests and addressing any concerns promptly should they arise. Please consider giving us another chance to host you the next time you're in the area so that we can offer you a stay that is more representative of our true value.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Uli K wrote a review Sep 2023
Edmonton, Canada
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hello

I spend the weekend at your Hotel on McCloud trail and i am not pleased with my stay.
First of all when i tried to book through your website it kept taking me to booking .com.
This made things difficult. I wanted to book through the hotel directly. After trying a few times i decided to call and make reservations. I did not get any confirmation email.
When i arrived I asked to be upgraded to a 2 queen room but was only moved to the lower level, which was fine but i wanted 2 queens.
Now, second of all the room was small and terribly arranged .I had to move the wardrobe just so i could see the TV. But it didn’t matter. I couldn’t see the screen from bed because the tv was so small.
Now my 3rd complaint is what really got me. The bugs. Flys,Cockroaches and all sorts of critters.
I also didn’t get housekeeping .After 2 days of asking for Pillows i finally got 2. But for towels, Toilet paper and soap etc. i had to chase housekeeping down to get it.
They only came once and they left a wet and dirty floor. I almost wiped out it was so wet. There were no services. I made my own bed.
In the following pictures you will see why i had a problem with this room. Btw privacy would have been nice. Being on the ground floor i would have liked my curtains to fully close.
Getting in the room was difficult. Because there are now windows in the outer door and no lights it was hard to see the room door to swipe my card.
So, with all that said i would like to politely ask you for a refund.
This was not a peaceful or restful stay. Neighbours upstairs were loud . I could go on and on. The ball is in your court now.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Sleep in your car or spend the extra few bucks and go somewhere else.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary Chinook Station
Responded Sep 30, 2023
Thank you so much for your feedback. We're sorry to hear about any disappointment in our accommodations during your visit, and our team will be sure to look into all your comments further. For all billing inquiries, please reach out to us offline so that we may better assist you. We hope to hear from you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RoxyDC69 wrote a review Aug 2022
Grande Prairie, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was a small 1 bed queen and smelt like mildew. Was unable to open window as there was no screen and the bright lights were attracting moths. Luckily the AC worked but cord was repaired with duct tape. They advertised a free breakfast and a balcony which we didn’t get either. I wouldn’t trust any food served at this establishment anyways.
There were small bugs in the bathroom and on the floor however the beds were clean and no bugs on mattress. Bed was uncomfortable and had a thin blanket and 2 pillows. TV wouldn’t change channels and there was very slo wifi. Honestly I don’t know how this cesspool of a business is still going. We waited too long to book a hotel and this was the only thing we could find that was near the area. Lesson learned and would like to warn others to stay away.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary Chinook Station
Responded Aug 30, 2022
Dear Roxy, While we're glad we could accommodate your last-minute reservation, it's disappointing to read that you had these concerns while on-site. We know how important it is to get a great night's sleep, so it's disappointing that our beds weren't to your preference. Your insights are invaluable, and they will help us pinpoint the areas where we have the most room for improvement, so thank you for sharing them. If your travels bring you back this way, we'd be grateful for the chance to deliver an experience that better represents our true value.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeanette R wrote a review Jul 2023
Invermere, Canada
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely the worst motel ever. What a rip off. Charged extra money because of paying with a debit card? Booked and pre paid for three nights. Too
Wasn’t cleaned and is in bad state. Gross actually!! Wanted refund after first night and they refused! Left anyway as we felt disgusted staying here. Manager is a very nasty lady with no care for people. Kept saying “ you signed the contract”. Co tract for staying at a hotel? Never ever stay at this crap hole. Better to sleep in your car for $300 a night!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary Chinook Station
Responded Jul 19, 2023
Dear Jeanette, Thank you for reaching out, though we're distressed to learn that you didn't have the comfortable visit we are known for. It is genuinely upsetting to hear this, as we work hard to impress. Nonetheless, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Our team will address them immediately and ensure we always present our property, services, accommodations, and all we offer in the best light. As your travels continue, we wish you well and hope you consider giving us another chance to change your perceptions someday.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hilda B asked a question Jul 2018
3 contributions
Good day, Is there a shuttle service from the Airport?
Answer from AndCatFL
Coral Gables, Florida234 contributions97 helpful votes
This is a budget motel, so no free shuttle service. It is about 20-25 minutes from the airport depending on traffic.
wend50 asked a question Jun 2017
Edmonton, Canada30 contributions9 helpful votes
Can you store your luggage there?
Answer from Vishal C
Calgary, Canada20 contributions5 helpful votes
Hello , Sorry no storage facilities on site . Although if it's for a few hours max 8 hours we can help provided you are booked with us .Regards , Shelly ( Manager)
wend50 asked a question Jun 2017
Edmonton, Canada30 contributions9 helpful votes
Are there lots of stairs to the floor above? How much is damage deposit for 5 or 6 nights in a suit?
Answer from Vishal C
Calgary, Canada20 contributions5 helpful votes
Hi Again, we have a max of 14 stairs . Sorry no elevators . Yes we do have SUITES ( two rooms separated by wall with a common washroom and mini kitchen here ( 2 QUEEN + KITCHEN) or (2 QUEEN NO KITCHEN) Appreciate Your Queries Regards Shelly (Manager)
Hollister H wrote a tip Jul 8
Calgary, Canada1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"TRAVELLERS. N o continental. breakfast . The place smells like mould and urine, Poor Managemnt. Racist and extremely rude. "
Read full review
Sharon D wrote a tip Oct 2023
Langley City, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid at all cost. Spend more money to go else where. I stay at the emerald inn before this 10 times better if u r looking to save"
Read full review
Uli K wrote a tip Sep 2023
Edmonton, Canada20 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sleep in your car or spend the extra few bucks and go somewhere else."
Read full review
KCD wrote a tip Jul 2023
15 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not good business ethic"
Read full review
Rick D wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Came here on July 10, 2023 and the hotel was filthy and run down we were almost afraid to enter the room"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Calgary area.
PRICE RANGE
C$54 - C$110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
howard johnson express calgary hotel calgary
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Howard Johnson Express Calgary
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCalgarySoutheast Calgary / Southwest Calgary / Alyth - Bonnybrook - Manchester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary Chinook Station - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary Chinook Station
Which popular attractions are close to Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary Chinook Station?
Nearby attractions include Alberta Boot Company - Calgary (0.4 km), Castle Toys - The BEST Toys (0.4 km), and Calgary Horticultural Society (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary Chinook Station?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary Chinook Station?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary Chinook Station?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary Chinook Station?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary Chinook Station?
Conveniently located restaurants include OMO Teppan and Kitchen, Taj Mahal Restaurant, and The Greek Corner.
Are there any historical sites close to Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary Chinook Station?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Heritage Park Historical Village (3.4 km), The Confluence Historic Site & Parkland (4.5 km), and Lougheed House (3.8 km).
All Calgary HotelsCalgary Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CalgaryHotels near Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary Chinook Station
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars