We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown

Orbitz.comUS$74*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
Panoramas (23)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

608 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 563: English reviews
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewed 1 October 2014

I have never been so utterly disappointed in a hotel. This hotel is honestly the worst hotel to deal with as their customer service skills are awful. The hotel is dated and over priced and the rooms are noisy. I use this hotel for business only, and I will be pulling all of my business out of this hotel from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keltie G
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Keltie G, Thank you for your comments. We regret any time a guest experience is not a favorable one and we sincerely hope you will consider to return again. The reservations process is normally a smooth one and particularly with returning guests as the hotel is facilitated by a guest history and earlier stay preferences. Precise details of your...

Cardiff, Wales
Reviewed 30 September 2014

Very bad first impression upon arrival - even the lobby is rundown, and that's often the one part of a hotel they make sure looks nice! Very dated hotel BUT if you just want somewhere to lay your head for a night or 2 it's probably adequate. I stayed for 3 and am glad it was no longer. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_Watts-Peters
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review

sarah_r_watts, Thank you for including us in your travel itinerary while visiting Canada. Ours is a centrally controlled air conditioning which by design disengages when outdoor temperatures fall. During periods of significant change in outdoor temperatures, there may be a short period of adjustment but typically not days long as experienced during your stay. We are sorry your room was...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 29 September 2014

Just stayed here one night while travelling across Canada. Décor is in need of a little updating, but we only wanted a place to lay our heads for the night so it suited us just fine. We had a lovely dip in the pool the following morning, which was fab! (It was the beginning of June and slightly overcast so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SetSail07
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review

Dear SetSail07, We appreciate your comments and for choosing our property when visiting Calgary. We are happy the hotel served you well and that you enjoyed our outdoor pool, a hit with many visitors through months May-September. The Hotel is currently undergoing renovations to our Lobby and guest corridors and we look forward to sharing our updated look with visiting...

St Martins, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2014

We have just completed a seven night stay and I can't believe the negative reviews. The hotel is a little dated, however it is very clean and the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. The location is excellent, right in the heart of downtown and a five minute walk to the C-train. Overall I can't fault the hotel and we will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Ian M, It was a pleasure to read your comments and thank you for sharing your guest experience. We pride ourselves with our attentive and friendly staff and it is always warming to be able to relay that their contributions do not go unnoticed by visitors. We would be delighted to have you back on the occasion of your...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 26 September 2014

I tried out the downtown Ramada as they said that they had new rooms and the pictures looked good (I know do not be fooled by the pictures....). This is far below the Ramada standard, at least the Asian and Japan Ramada's. It is more like a Holiday Inn standard, an older Holiday Inn. I was asked if I wanted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jembury
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review

Dear jembury, Thank you for your comments. It would have been my pleasure to meet you personally while you were a guest at our hotel to properly address them all. Our 201 guest rooms were completed in the same décor, a true likeness of our images and the room allocated to you and our next visiting guests. We are pleased...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 23 September 2014

We were in Calgary for about 24 hours this last weekend, and stayed at the Ramada Calgary downtown. Booked on Hotwire so got a good deal but didn't know the hotel name until after it was prepaid. I was a little worried considering all of the bad reviews on-line. However, this hotel is not bad at all! It is definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MB6141
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Travelbug_2086, Thank you for your comments. We understand the inconvenience of having to secure parking away from the property in a new city when instead you would like to retreat to your room or explore the area. We regret the related inconvenience to you. Our underground parkade has a clearance of 6’4” and will accommodate standard cars and SUVs,...

Neath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2014

It's probably me but the Ramada Group hotels all seem to exhibit the same characteristics. The room we (my wife & I) had was a little tired and drab with depressing décor and the noise from the nearby roadworks was evident and annoying as was the early morning refuse lorry reversing c/w bleeper, although I can't blame the hotel for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Mike J, Thank you for taking the time to express your satisfaction with our downtown location, affordable room rate, very good Front Desk service, great bed and room cleanliness. To your comment about early morning staff noise, we apologize for the disturbance and have since reminded our room attendants to do their utmost to quietly tend to duties and...

Osoyoos, Canada
Reviewed 22 September 2014

We had a fabulous stay here! The parking area was small, but the valet managed to find room for our 3 vehicles, including a full size truck.(with a lift, just cleared the 6'4" clearance.) We had three rooms which were all maticulously clean and equiped with everything you could need. All the extras such as blankets, ice bucket, glasses and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Sandra S: Thank you for your kind review. We’re glad you found everything you needed, that our employees were attentive and the location great. While we always appreciate feedback, we especially like hearing that our guests were well looked after and will be returning. We look forward to sharing our hospitality with you again. Best regards,

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 21 September 2014

- You can even connect to WiFi to use it. Certainly, plan ahead or use another hotel if you need WiFi. - Parkade is awful. They call it valet, but you need to park yourself and give them the keys. Three cars are parked in a row! Hard to get a big SUV in. - Room did not have coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravellerCAUS
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review

Dear TravellerCAUS: Thank you for choosing our property during your recent stay. We are sorry you were inconvenienced in any way as a guest of the Hotel. There have been no widespread problems identified with our wireless Internet and we are hopeful our front office agents were able to troubleshoot with you and/or refer you to our hardwired business centre...

Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 21 September 2014

On August 26, I stayed for one night, in fact 14 h at Ramada Hotel in Calgary, following that in the next day to travel by train, Rocky Mounteneer up to Vancouver. I gave them my credit card mastercard forte. They blocked 122 cad, the next day I left early, I said that I did not consume anything and left....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anca-Rodica T
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Anca-Rodica T, Please be assured the Hotel is very diligent in its accounting processes and in the event an error in posting is reported, we endeavour to research and correct promptly. Matters of this nature should immediately brought to the attention of the Front Office Manager or Accounting and a turn-around response and correction (if necessary) as soon as...

266 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (158)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Executive King (38)
Viewed
Executive King Jacuzzi (27)
Viewed
Executive Queen (22)
Viewed
Executive Two Double Beds (18)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Beltline
Nuvo Hotel Suites
Nuvo Hotel Suites
#79 of 109 in Calgary
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown

Address: 708 8 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1H2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Price Range: $107 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Calgary
Ramada Calgary
Calgary Ramada
Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown Alberta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a suite - there were two bedrooms, dining table and living room space.”
super_draven, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The corner suites are quiet with a good layout”
  • Newly Renovated Bathroom
A5770TUjeffg, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a South facing room for a better view”
B2910NMchrisl, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a balcony”
lisasykes2014, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Walls are thin. You hear kids yelling. Balconies are disgustingly dirty. Nothing good about this hotel.”
  • Ice room
  • Ice room
VolunteerDirector, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$74* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$74
HotelQuicklyUS$111
Expedia.comUS$74
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates