We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (71)
Room & Suite (58)
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#35 of 111 hotels in Calgary
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This property has identified as Asian-Owned.
Tripadvisor does not verify the accuracy of this information.
The Hampton Inn & Suites Calgary-Northwest hotel is conveniently located in Motel Village near the University of Calgary, the Foothills Hospital, McMahon Stadium and SAIT. There are numerous restaurants and shopping centers within easy walking distance. Some nearby attractions include Canada Olympic Park and our local Zoo. The Light Rail Transit (LRT) Station is just up the street and will take you directly into the Calgary downtown area or to the Stampede Grounds in less than 10 minutes. Our Calgary Hampton Inn & Suites hotel offers a variety of complimentary amenities such as our deluxe hot breakfast buffet, coffee and tea 24 hours a day, a newspaper Monday through Saturday, cable TV with movie channel, local phone calls, high-speed or wireless internet access throughout the hotel and heated underground parking. We love having you here in Alberta at the Hampton Inn Calgary-Northwest hotel!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Waterslide
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Car hire
Car park
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Filipino, Hindi and 2 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee

Location

2231 Banff Trail, N.W., Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2 Canada
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
960Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 506
  • 306
  • 81
  • 33
  • 34
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Kat Slater wrote a review Mar 2024
Alberta, Canada95 contributions65 helpful votes
The hotel rooms were clean & comfortable enough for one night. Staff were friendly. The main cons I have were that the room states smart tv but it really isn’t and couldn’t connect to the wifi to even watch YouTube. Also, the pool area needs a little more care. The scum lines were very dark in colour. Other than that, If you’re just looking for somewhere to sleep for the night. I would recommend it here. Also, the bathroom products smelt amazing!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
wavelength2014 wrote a review Feb 2023
Vancouver Island, Canada79 contributions80 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
The front desk staff at this hotel are excellent and go over and beyond! The free breakfast was surprisingly very good with a wide variety of hot and cold food, there is not much that they missed on the breakfast front. The only thing I did not like was the coffee, it was very very weak. The lobby is warm and inviting with a fireplace and its nice they have underground free parking as it was very cold and snowy upon our visit. The rooms are clean and have everything you need. My only suggestion is to change the carpets and drapes in the rooms as they are clearly very old and in desperate need of changing. The hotel itself is very clean. The location is also excellent and is very central to everything. For the price point this is very good value for the money.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Martha B wrote a review Oct 2023
Kanata, Canada1 contribution
I had an issue using my Hilton Honour points. I booked two nights, one night using 30,000 points, the other night paid for. The price of the room was similar for the two nights, around $175. When I checked out, the 30,000 points only reduced the charge for the first night by about $20, even though it was mid week and the room rate for each of the 2 nights when I booked online were the same. SO BEWARE OF USING HAMPTON INN POINTS - THEY AREN'T WORTH MUCH . When I called Hampton customer service they were not helpful at all.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Cocothecat2023 wrote a review Aug 2023
Calgary, Canada1 contribution
It was a great stay. The kids loved the pool with waterslide. The breakfast has many items to choose from. The service was excellent. Would choose this hotel again for another stay in Calgary. Fun for the family.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paulyn Pinano, Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Responded Sep 6, 2023
We appreciate your feedback. We're glad you had a wonderful stay at the Hampton inn and Suites University NW. I can't wait to share this good news with our team. We hope to see again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GilP P wrote a review Jul 2023
London, United Kingdom52 contributions65 helpful votes
Great accommodation with spacious suites. Good breakfast. Underground free secure parking, needs room card. McDonalds and Denny walking distance. Good heated pool. Staff were very friendly. Vey convenient for Trans Canadian
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Breakfast gets a bit crowded and very short timings 7am -9am only, should be longer
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paulyn Pinano, Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Responded Aug 3, 2023
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you have a great stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites University NW. I will definitely pass on the message to out team. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Linda B wrote a review Jul 2023
Louisville, Kentucky53 contributions42 helpful votes
A very disappointing stay. As long time Hilton Honors members (Diamond), this property is at the bottom of the many that we have experienced. Where do I begin? 1) Furnishings in the lobby are "threadbare" and very worn. 2). The window cooling/heating unit in our room died on the second day. Despite 2 requests to have the issue solved. the hotel staff's use of their "in house maintenance person" was useless. Fiddling with the thermostat would not solve a problem when the unit was failing. Avoid 217 unless one wants to sleep in the heat. One can open the window, but there is traffic noise. 3) The breakfast serving area is too small for the size of the hotel and the offerings are very limited. No fruit other than apples and bananas. Not up to par with other Hampton Inns.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: An hour or so to Banff.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paulyn Pinano, Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Responded Aug 1, 2023
We appreciate your feedback. We apologize your stay was not up to your satisfaction. Our maintenance and housekeeping team immediately taken care of the issue to make sure the room is back to its normal condition. We hope that you will give us another chance and look forward to see again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
OKfamilyof4 wrote a review Jun 2023
Kelowna, Canada88 contributions133 helpful votes
This hotel is a great option when visiting the University of Calgary. It’s a very short walk to the light rail train station and the University is right over the overpass. The University is huge! The rooms are very spacious. We had a one bedroom suite which had a large fridge, stove, microwave, dishwasher, toaster, coffee maker, sink, bar table, couches, hideabed alone with a bedroom with a king size bed and bathroom. It was a bit outdated in style, but it appeared everything was in working order and it was fairly clean. The only complaint, which is minor, is that the elevator and halls sometimes smelled like sweaty socks. Breakfast was included which had a variety of cereals, bread, bagels, oatmeal, yogurt, waffles, omelets, sausage, fruit juices, milk, coffee and muffins. I would give them 3.5 star but the option is not available. I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Try the Claypot Asian Kitchen nearby! Excellent food.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Paulyn Pinano, Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Responded Aug 1, 2023
Thank you for your kind feedback. We glad that our team did an awesome job again and one guest left with satisfaction. I will definitely pass on the good news to my team. We cannot wait to see you again soon..
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DavidBSavage wrote a review May 2023
Cranbrook, Canada15 contributions12 helpful votes
We have had a terrible experience with this hotel and it's General Manager. The chemical levels in the swimming pool were extremely and unsafely high. We had our daughter and grandchildren with us. Our swimsuits turned from black to gray, and we had skin rashes. After we and another family reported this, they adjusted the chemicals. Now, 11 weeks later, the General Manager has been hostile and still refuses to reimburse us $195 for the damaged swimsuits. We travel a lot and are very disappointed in this Hilton hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paulyn Pinano, Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Responded Aug 1, 2023
Than you for your feedback. We apologize that this happened during your stay with us. We have taken cared of this situations the minute we received the complains and the information. If yours was not look after yet, kindly give us a call and our manager will definitely look into it.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kyle t wrote a review May 2023
1 contribution
Don’t give these people your CC they raked up charges without us ever staying there. Called the manager to sort it out she hung up on me. Buyer be ware will never stay at one of these chains again. Unfortunate cause I liked the hotels they have in other cities.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Don’t share your CC with them
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paulyn Pinano, Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Responded Aug 1, 2023
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that your experience was not up to your satisfaction. This is not the typical way we handled our billings and complains. We cannot search for you profile and stay. please kindly give us a call back and we can help you with the issue you had with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
0Chris8016 wrote a review May 2023
Coaldale, Canada1 contribution
This was a poor experience. All of the elevators needed keycards which is fine but also the stair wells one you left you could not get back in even with a key card and had to go all the way to main and then take the elevator back up. This is a major safety concern because there would be now way to get back to a floor in power outage since all floors would be locked. I would never recommend this location to anyone ever.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paulyn Pinano, Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Responded May 10, 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey. At Hampton Inn, we prioritize the cleanliness, happiness and safety of our guests. We sincerely apologize for any negative experience you may had during your stay. regarding the doors you mentioned, they are designed to function as emergency exits in the event of a fire or natural disaster. Once you have exited through the door, it will automatically lock for safety purposes. In order to ensure the security of our guests, we require keys for access to all areas of the hotel, and only registered guests are given access. Our commitment to guest safety has led to a property that has experienced very few serious crimes over the years. We sincerely hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to exceed your expectations and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Calgary area.
PRICE RANGE
C$112 - C$174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hampton inn & suites by hilton calgary- university northwest hotel calgary, hampton inn and suites by hilton calgary- university northwest, hampton inn calgary, calgary hampton inn
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCalgaryNorthwest Calgary
NUMBER OF ROOMS
96
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Which popular attractions are close to Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest?
Nearby attractions include McMahon Stadium (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest?
Conveniently located restaurants include Big T's BBQ, Nick's Steak House & Pizza, and Juree's Thai Place Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Hindi, Filipino, Ukrainian, and Swahili.
Are there any historical sites close to Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort Calgary (5.5 km), Lougheed House (4.0 km), and Southern Alberta Pioneers' Memorial Building (5.9 km).