The Dorian, Autograph Collection

The Dorian, Autograph Collection

Traveller (94)
King Suite Wetbar
Room & Suite (34)
Bistro Novelle
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Marriott Bonvoy member rate available
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
C$577
C$577
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#70 of 110 hotels in Calgary
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Conveniently located Downtown Calgary boutique style hotel ideal for business and leisure travelers. Luxurious and contemporary guest rooms include free WiFi, mini-fridge, premium coffee & signature in-room cocktails available for guests' delight.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Public wifi
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Free wifi in the business centre
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

525 5 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1P7 Canada
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 93 out of 100
93
Calgary Intl Airport
36Reviews0Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 30
  • 3
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Liesus W wrote a review Dec 2022
Vancouver, Canada71 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I redeemed my Suite Night Award and got upgraded to the one-bedroom suite on the 19th floor several days before check in.
The service was great. The room was great.
The only sad thing could be the view was not so good. (And perhaps no lounge? But Autograph Collections usually don't have a lounge so that's acceptable)
The welcome gift is 1000 points or a $10 F&B credit for Platinum Elites and above. To my surprise, there's also a second welcome gift:
750 points or free breakfast for two on Second
Floor's restaurant.
In the suite, my girlfriend loves the bed! It's so comfortable, soft and supportive. Another surprise we found is that the ICE Bottle is already filled with full of ICE! The ICE Bottle is the most heat-isolated one l've ever seen in a hotel. The ICE didn't melt literally after 12 hours! The mini bar was so good with lots of items. Even if I don't use the mini bar, I love to see it not being empty. The complimentary spring water is very cool, which is worth mentioning. It's a can shaped beautiful bottle that I will never think of it's just plain water but not some kind of premium soft drink if I don't look at the bottle carefully. The slippers are VERY comfortable. The coat stand is very artistic and beautiful. It's so great they also provided a wireless charging pad in the bedroom! The Charging Speed is good for an iPhone. I guess the pad is around 10-15W.
To my surprise, the sofa in the living is actually a sofa bed, even though it's not mentioned by the hotel as a room feature online/in the Bonvoy APP. No additional beddings for the sofa bed is provided, unfortunately, but I believe if you have the needs, the hotel will bring them to you upon request.
The breakfast is A La Carte style. We ordered tea, Benedict Egg, Pancake, and Orange Juice. They are delicious (and Free, which makes them more delicious haha).
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sunny Finnell, Owner at The Dorian, Autograph Collection
Responded Dec 29, 2022
Dear Liesus W, Wow! We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience. Our team understands and believes that our guests deserve a pleasant stay, and we continue to seek new ways to impress. I will be sure to share your nice comments with our associates; they work hard to deliver superior service. Thanks again, and we look forward to your next visit. Best, David Keam General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Uwem wrote a review Jan 2023
Hamilton, Canada14 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I and my family (2 adults and 2 kids aged under 10yrs) stopped over at this hotel for two nights on our return to Calgary from Banff. The ambience is very welcoming with modern design. We used the car valet service which was very convenient for us so we don't get to worry about where to park in the busy downtown area. We stayed in the corner room which was very spacious. The room was very modern with lots of attention to details like lighting under the bed, bedside drawer and even under the bathroom sink. Bathroom was very spacious. Rainfall shower was very nice for a refreshing bath. We had breakfast at the Bistro restaurant on the 2nd floor. Check-in and check-out process was very smooth with no delays. We enjoyed our stay and will be returning to this property when we visit downtown Calgary in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Owner at The Dorian, Autograph Collection
Responded Jan 24, 2023
Dear uwemudosen, We're happy to hear from you and glad you appreciated our modern, clean hotel. We appreciate you and your family choosing to stay with us. It is always delightful when a guest makes such an excellent review and recommendation for other travelers, and we thank you for your kind words. We look forward to your next visit to Calgary. Best, David Keam General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DanfromCan wrote a review Jan 2024
Spruce Grove, Canada60 contributions137 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at The Dorian for the first time last week, and it was incredible! The room was the most beautiful Marriott Bonvoy hotel room we’ve ever had, with numerous decor items, artwork, and furniture that was just stunning.

Service was amazing from every single person we encountered! Friendly, helpful, polite, and welcoming from every person.

As a Marriott Bonvoy Titanium Elite member we were entitled to free breakfast in their restaurant, and being an a la carte menu that was a real treat compared to buffets. The food was amazing.

We had a drink at the Wilde on 27 which was gorgeous and we were lucky enough to be seated on their outdoor patio that had heaters well suited for temperatures hovering around freezing. Delicious drinks, albeit high priced. Even though their website says Happy Hour 3-5pm weekdays, they did not honor Happy Hour prices during that time except for their posted P.O.E.T.S. Friday happy hour event. An unfortunate communication confusion on their part that was the only single blip on an otherwise outstanding getaway.

Would highly recommend this hotel, and it’s our new favorite in Calgary!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: $50/day parking, so you may find cheaper options through other parking services.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Owner at The Dorian, Autograph Collection
Responded Jan 3, 2024
Dear DanfromCan, Thank you very much for your kind words! As a part of the hospitality industry, we strive to offer our guests a stay that is just as enjoyable as the one you described in your review. Your comments are highly appreciated as they not only motivate our team but also inform other travelers that they can expect a great experience with us. We value your loyalty to Marriott and would love to have you back for another visit soon! Best, Ian Jones General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adrian L wrote a review Dec 2023
Los Angeles10,242 contributions575 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Honestly I decided to switch last minute to this Dorian after reading all the reviews here and I am sad to report that I am disappointed by the whole experience and will not return here again despite the good location and service. However if my Platinum benefits and "Confirmed" suite upgrades and Late checkouts cannot be honored, I will not return despite the excellent fitness center, cute rooms and good central location. There are other good options and I will not put up with Marriott central office not forcing its hotels to honor benefits.

I used my confirmed suite upgrade for my one night stay. The upgrade was confirmed a week prior to my stay, and everything looked good. I plan to have a good night of rest, take advantage of my 4pm late check out and then fly off to London. However when I arrived at the hotel, the check in receptionist told me that I could not have a late checkout if I wanted to stay in my upgraded suite because the hotel was full. But he could offer me a late checkout if I am willing to move to a normal room. To add insult to the situation, I had to contact Marriott to get my suite upgrade back. He was polite but firm. I was really upset about the situation but with a 6pm flight, I of course had to choose the later option. Suites are useless if I have only ten hours in the room. I also choose not to bother contacting Marriott about a suite upgrade that will expire at the end of the year. Given how Marriott sort of let their hotels choosing how to honor these suite upgrades, why will I bother to get a suite upgrade back just to get slap on my face!

My only advice is that if you are a Bonvoy elite, your benefits will only be selectively honors depend on how full the hotel is. I value the 4pm late check out and that is the only reason I choose to stay at a Marriott hotel. I will tell you only stay here if you only need to use your breakfast benefits, don't care about upgrades, and late checkout is optional, as the receptionist could not help to "remind" me. Being insulted is really not the way for Dorian Autograph Calgary to welcome me back in the future. Unless you enjoy being "abused," stay somewhere else!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Marketing at The Dorian, Autograph Collection
Responded Dec 14, 2023
Dear adrianl277, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your disappointment with your December stay at the Dorian Hotel. Firstly, allow me to personally apologize. We truly value our loyal Bonvoy guests, and we make every effort to ensure their benefits are delivered, and when possible, exceeded, because to be frank, you have earned these benefits. I would love to learn more about this incident. Could I trouble you to reach out to me directly, so I can make every effort to make things right? If you contact the hotel directly, they will connect you with my office. I look forward to connecting at your convenience. Kind Regards, Ian Jones General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Piga4life wrote a review Sep 2022
Calgary, Canada9,434 contributions109 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is brand new and absolutely gorgeous. The room was small, but so pretty and the bed absolutely sublime. Comfortable mattress and superior linens that were actually uncreased. There is a drinks cart, (not free but nicely done) good fridge plus coffee supplies and a KETTLE. So rare in north American hotels but if you are a tea drinker you know important that is. The staff were all so friendly and seemed to be genuinely excited to be opening and welcoming guests.
We did not try the restaurant because we had reservations elsewhere but will be back to see how it is.
Valet parking is $45 or there is paid public parking immediately adjacent. We chose valet because it was hot and we wanted underground parking - but there are other options.
Walkable to many good restaurants and just a couple of blocks from the C-train line.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Owner at The Dorian, Autograph Collection
Responded Sep 7, 2022
Dear PigaPiga60, Wow! Reviews just don't get any better than this one. Thank you so much for your support of The Dorian and your recognition of our spectacular guest offerings and service levels. Our goal is to provide comfort to all our guests who are away from home; your feedback allows us to monitor how we are doing. We loved having you as our guests and we can't wait to welcome you back! Best, David Keam General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SWAPPY wrote a review Nov 2022
Winnipeg, Canada58 contributions68 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent new hotel in downtown Calgary. The lobby is a little small on arrival, but nicely done.

The rooms are excellent, super clean, modern, interesting decor vs the boring run of the mill you get with business hotels. Washroom is fantastic, with a great shower.

Parking at $45 a night for Valet is a little expensive, but it is what it is.

We had breakfast at Wilde restaurant, and it was brilliant. We ran into a little snafu with our inclusive package and they went out of the way to fix it. A shoutout to Jenny at the Wilde, she provided exemplary service !

In all a great experience, and our new preferred choice of stay in Calgary.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Owner at The Dorian, Autograph Collection
Responded Nov 15, 2022
Dear swappy919, Calgary is a great city and we are thrilled that you had a nice time here while staying at The Dorian. We are proud of our hotel and the great team that runs it so it is wonderful to know that you enjoyed our offerings. We hope to host you again on another great trip in the future. Best, David Keam General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jess + Sedona wrote a review Feb 2024
Toronto, Canada11 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Travelling with a dog can definitely get tricky when you reach a city, however we had a friend recommend The Dorian Hotel and it did not disappoint. From our first step out of the car we were greeted with smiles and kindness and then enthusiasm when they saw we had our pup with us! Even the stress of checking in was made fun, sharing the story behind the hotel itself and explaining who this character Dorian was! Once we reached our room we were welcomed with dessert goodies and in-house made dog cookies for our doggo. Not to mention a dog bed, bowls, and a cute little doggy robe that matched ours!

The Dorian Hotel has made our short Calgary visit a memorable one, and we will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Owner at The Dorian, Autograph Collection
Responded Feb 11, 2024
Dear Sedona t, I wanted to take a moment to express my gratitude for sharing your experience at our hotel. Your positive feedback means a lot to us and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have shared your feedback with our entire team as a way of recognizing their hard work and dedication. It is always great to hear that our guests appreciate the efforts we put into making their stay with us comfortable and enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon. Best, Ian Jones General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ALE wrote a review Jan 2024
Vancouver, Canada15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is centrally located near my office so it was convenient to walk to the office. The boutique hotel meant better service and also a great cafe and restaurant in the hotel. The restaurant was fantastic as time was limited to go out for meals between meetings so it was convenient to have it all in one place. There is also valet parking or parking right next to the hotel so it is convenient to park and get around. Very reasonably priced if you are a Marriott member.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Check out time is busy so if you are in a rush in the morning for meetings, let the front desk...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Owner at The Dorian, Autograph Collection
Responded Jan 6, 2024
Dear Daydream55388357627, We are happy to hear from you and value your kind review. It is encouraging to know that your stay while traveling on business was enjoyable; we work hard to provide a pleasant experience. Your comments are welcomed, and we appreciate being a part of your trip! Best, Ian Jones General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GRM wrote a review Oct 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I valet parked my car when I stayed at the hotel. When it was returned, there was a strong burned smell around the car. The valet attendant could not drive a standard and burned out my clutch. When I spoke initially with management, they advised they would pay to have me bring the vehicle to a third party to determine what damage had been done. They also advised should any damage be done to the vehicle, they would process an insurance claim to help pay for the damages. A couple weeks later, they informed me they would not pay any expenses for the car. I think is is very dishonest and disappointing. I will be stuck with an expense repair bill.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: These people are very dishonest, not worthy of your trust.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Owner at The Dorian, Autograph Collection
Responded Oct 27, 2022
Dear macdougalls1986, Thank you for taking the time to share a review. I'm sorry for our breakdowns in communication regarding your experience. I can confirm that all of our valet team are able to drive a manual vehicle and do so on a daily basis. Due to the steep angle of the parkade ramp, it is necessary to approach with a higher revving of the engine which sometimes can result in an odor. We have encouraged you to have your car inspected at your cost if you have concerns about its operation. The vehicle was operating properly when you left the hotel and drove it home. Should any issues be found, we could be happy to continue the conversation. Once again, I regret any frustration or breakdowns in communication regarding your concerns. Sincerely, David Keam General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter wrote a review Aug 2023
47 contributions79 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall l highly recommend this hotel, and next time I travel to Calgary I will likely stay ehre again.

I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel's chic asthetic. It's modern and bold, but impressively it works! It's rare to see interior design like this, it reminds me of the Bellagio in Las Vegas.

The hotel gym is new and spacious, and was definitely one of the best features of the hotel.

The Bed was comfortable, quality that is typical for a Marriott.

The only negative is that the rooms do not have places for two suitcases, so if you were travelling with a partner, you might be cramped for space.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Marketing at The Dorian, Autograph Collection
Responded Aug 14, 2023
Dear NaslundTravels, While it wasn't without some flaws, I am glad to hear that your stay was pleasant and worthy of a return trip. Thank you so much for taking the time to share these kind words with other potential travelers and us. We enjoyed hosting you during your time in Calgary and look forward to welcoming you back should you return to the area. Best, Ian Jones General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
ShawnaCanuck wrote a tip May 25
Vancouver, Canada315 contributions97 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the rooftop bar unless you are okay with one tab. The lobby bar doesn’t have the same issue and is happy to split tabs."
Read full review
Ned L wrote a tip Feb 2024
Calgary, Canada97 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Valet parking is pricey @$50…then again parking in downtown Calgary is an arm and a leg."
Read full review
T S wrote a tip Jan 2024
7 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure if you are booking a group that the hotel asks you for the names of those going to be in each room."
Read full review
ALE wrote a tip Jan 2024
Vancouver, Canada15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check out time is busy so if you are in a rush in the morning for meetings, let the front desk know the night before for early checkout."
Read full review
DanfromCan wrote a tip Jan 2024
Spruce Grove, Canada60 contributions137 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"$50/day parking, so you may find cheaper options through other parking services."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Calgary area.
PRICE RANGE
C$266 - C$463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCalgary
NUMBER OF ROOMS
136
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Dorian, Autograph Collection - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Dorian, Autograph Collection
Which popular attractions are close to The Dorian, Autograph Collection?
Nearby attractions include Calgary Pathway System (0.1 km), Calgary's +15 Skywalk (0.4 km), and Knox United Church (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Dorian, Autograph Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at The Dorian, Autograph Collection?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Dorian, Autograph Collection?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Dorian, Autograph Collection?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Dorian, Autograph Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Caesar's Steak House & Lounge, The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - 4th Ave, and JOEY Eau Claire.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Dorian, Autograph Collection?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is The Dorian, Autograph Collection located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Calgary.
Does The Dorian, Autograph Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Dorian, Autograph Collection?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Heritage Park Historical Village (7.6 km), Fort Calgary (2.0 km), and Lougheed House (0.9 km).
Is The Dorian, Autograph Collection accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Calgary HotelsCalgary Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CalgaryHotels near The Dorian, Autograph Collection
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars