Coast Calgary Downtown Hotel & Suites By APA

Traveller (95)
2 Bedroom Suite Kitchen and Dining room
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

C$137
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#47 of 111 hotels in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Comfort, style and a great location await you at Coast Calgary Downtown Hotel & Suites by APA in Alberta’s biggest city. You’ll be a just a hop, skip and a jump away from iconic landmarks such as the Scotiabank Saddledome, Calgary Tower and the Peace Bridge. You’ll find that it’s easy to get where you need using the CTrain, Calgary’s light rail rapid transit system just two blocks from our hotel. Our modern suites feature welcoming origami cranes unique to APA’s Urban-style Hotel concept. We’re dedicated to making you feel right at home, in our fully equipped all-suite hotel, where you’ll find full kitchens, triple-sheeted bedding, Keurig coffee machines, free wi-fi, and flat screen TVs. Many rooms are pet friendly too! Get your day started right with a free continental breakfast or break a sweat in the fitness centre. In case you forgot anything at home stop by the sundry shop located in the hotel lobby. Coming by car? We have parking at our Calgary hotel with in and out privileges for $20 per night. Throughout your visit, you’ll experience the fantastic service for which our hotel is known. Plus, thanks to our Refreshingly Green™ commitment to environmental responsibility, you can feel good knowing that we’re as kind do the planet as we are to our guests.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Parking
Wifi
Vending machine
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
24-hour security
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Family
Languages Spoken
English
417Reviews2Q+A50Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 143
  • 186
  • 58
  • 20
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mal-Nutrition wrote a review Feb 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom124 contributions38 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is an adequate hotel in an uninspiring area of the city. Breakfast is included and is OK, if you do not mind paper plates and polystyrene cearal bowls. We did not use the kitchenette and were very disapointed that the housekeeper put on the dishwasher for a full cycle for two glasses only.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CanadianTraveller159 wrote a review Sep 2021
Vaughan, Canada89 contributions84 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very convenient location, walking distance to all downtown attractions. We didn't use the car at all. A suite we stayed had a bedroom with a queen bed which was comfortable, sofa in the living room, kitchen, and lots of closets. Very spacious suite. Kitchen has a lot of stuff including a dishwashing machine and a Keurig machine, what was really appreciated.

Out of things I didn't like: in the kitchen is the table it is very small. Sofa was uncomfortable for sleeping. Windows are old and let all the sound from the street in. Considering that this is a downtown hotel, the street is quite noisy even at night. If you don’t have a sleeping problem, it will not bother you.

Breakfast was great, omelets every day, sausages one day and bacon the other day. Yogurt, bagels, muffins and other stuff.

Very involved manager, who talks to clients and working on the improvement of hotel. Overall, I liked the hotel a lot and if I go to Calgary again this will be my choice for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Keri Perreault, Revenue Management at Coast Calgary Downtown Hotel & Suites By APA
Responded Feb 24, 2022
Thank you for your feedback as it helps us improve services to all our guests. We're glad to hear you will be coming back and will do our best to secure you a rear facing room near the top floor for maximum noise reduction!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Raj wrote a review Aug 2021
Red Deer, Canada55 contributions22 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in this property with my family. Sounds like this is a family-run business. The staff was very polite. They don't have much authority to take any decision. I requested a 2hour late check-out, they allowed one hour. Very spacious, but the washroom is one of the smallest I have ever seen. The windows are dusty with lots of dead flies at the bottom frame. I could not sleep well as the refrigerator was too noisy from the beginning of the stay. I reported this matter of rattle noise to the front desk, but again, it sounds like they don't have any power to move the guests to a different room or arrange a repair. I sent an email to the property manager and received a response that sounds like a generic one with some apologies. If they can do proper maintenance on this property, it will help guests to have a peaceful sleep. I have the video and photos related to these two issues, Breakfast is not that great, a crowded breakfast area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Make sure the refrigerators are not noisy in your room. I'm not the first one complaining....
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pym200 wrote a review Aug 2022
Livingston, New Jersey83 contributions15 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a two bedroom suite for 4 nights and to be honest for the price we get I should not really complain. The room is big with a kitchen and plenty of space to move around. The hotel is a bit old as some reviewers have mentioned and the elevators are small and slow. We opted to take the stairs most of the time on the way down. The free breakfast is so-so with very limited selection, but again for a 2-star hotel it is to be expected. The location of the hotel is also very convenient and it is within walking distance to many places. House keeping also checked on us daily to see if we needed supplies or make up room.

Parking is very limited on site and we always have to worry not able to find parking if we return late. Another thing I do not like is that the front desk people seem to be pretty indifferent and pretty much brushed off concerns and questions from us, especially regarding parking. The other thing I do not like is that there are some seedy characters walking around at night and we even bumped into one walked into the hotel and started asking weird questions. There was also someone on our floor having a party or something one night late into the night. So given this, I believe next time we are in town we probably we will opt to stay somewhere else instead.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steve White, General Manager at Coast Calgary Downtown Hotel & Suites By APA
Responded Aug 10, 2022
Thank you very much for your balanced and fair review of our property during your recent visit to Calgary. I’m glad you felt some what satisfied, however, it looked like we could have done much better. Thank you for your constructive criticism and feedback. Our team has taken note of your suggestions and we will discuss internally how we can improve these areas of concern. We do strive to ensure every guest has a memorable stay. My team and I look forward to welcoming you again on a future visit as we appreciate your patronage. Sincerely, Steve White
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kelwez wrote a review Jul 2022
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom909 contributions174 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a standard studio King bed room for 4 nights from 21st June, we were allocated room 1404 on the 14th floor. The lifts are small and slow, luckily, we were on the top floor, because if you were on the floors in-between you would have to wait a while as they were already full. The bathroom in this room was tiny, you could only get 1 person in there at a time. The room itself was OK, the bed was comfortable, however the noise from outside was quite loud even on the top floor. The complimentary breakfast was OK, but as I am gluten and dairy free there was not a lot of options, you can ask for gluten free bread, and there were boiled eggs in the fridge and bacon was available every other day. The location was good, you could walk to 8th avenue in 5 minutes. The city is small, you only need 2 days to explore, so the 4 nights for us was really too long.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steve White, General Manager at Coast Calgary Downtown Hotel & Suites By APA
Responded Jul 29, 2022
Dear Kelwez: Your thoughtful and detailed review has been greatly appreciated. This is incredibly helpful. It's my pleasure to let you know that we value the positive and negative aspects you highlighted in your review. We will take this opportunity to review with our team. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re grateful for guests like you as your feedback helps us to improve our service even further. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barb and Sheil wrote a review Oct 2022
British Columbia, Canada7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The best service we have ever encountered at any hotel ever. All the way from the cleaning staff, the reception clerks to the manager who everyday over our 4 night stay made us feel so welcome. When we were unsure how to work the Kuerig coffee maker, a lovely gal from housekeeping came up immediately and not only showed us how it worked, she also with ensured that we were familiar with the tv remote and stations. The manager came over one day while I was sitting in the lobby and asked how I was. I mentioned that I was going to where my sister was having a hip replacement and he installed GPS on my iPhone so I could easily get there by walking. The reception greeted us each day, helping us with directions for downtown destinations. The 2 BR suite was immaculate with 2 large bedrooms, a/c, fridge dishwasher, toaster, microwave, stove, living room etc. Excellent value and a perfect location for exploring the downtown, Bow River walkway, funky Kensington area but the thing that we appreciated most was the lovely staff. We would definitely come back to that hotel on our next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Excellent gourmet restaurant 2 doors up from hotel as well as a delicious reasonably priced...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steve White, General Manager at Coast Calgary Downtown Hotel & Suites By APA
Responded Oct 20, 2022
Wow! Thank you for taking time to write such a wonderful review of your time at the property. We will be sure to share your compliments with our staff. We pride ourselves on creating a warm and welcoming environment for both our employees and our guests. I look forward to personally welcoming you back on your next visit to the destination!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Crossbow0106 wrote a review Oct 2022
Brooklyn, New York, USA109 contributions38 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is pretty much in the middle of downtown. The room I had had a bedroom and a separate living room. It was clean and, while not modern per se, was much more than adequate for my needs. The refrigerator was large and there was a separate small table to eat. The breakfast in the morning was very good, various muffins, bagels but also eggs, pancakes or sausage and bacon. The person in charge of the kitchen was very nice (one person actually told her she was the nicest person he met in Calgary). Across the street was a Circle K convenience store and a 7-11 was less than 3 blocks away. I had no noise issues and was on the top floor. The elevators were small but fine. All in all, a pleasant stay with everything exceeding my expectations. Given the fairly low price for a downtown hotel, it was a great bargain. I would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: I stayed in a high floor.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steve White, General Manager at Coast Calgary Downtown Hotel & Suites By APA
Responded Oct 20, 2022
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your time at the property. We will be sure to share your compliments with our staff. We pride ourselves on creating a warm and welcoming environment for both our employees and our guests. I look forward to personally welcoming you back on your next visit to the destination!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Colton E wrote a review Oct 2021
Calgary, Canada2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
At point of check-in the hotel did not/could not accept the CC and indicated they would issue a refund. Subsequently they emailed indicating that a refund of deposit would be issued.

The assistant manager intervened and reverted or prevented the refund from being issued. All staff had excellent professional demeanor. I feel that the assistant manager undermining her excellent staff is disgusting and unprofessional. I live a block away and often referred my relatives to this hotel. Fortunately another hotel has opened next door and I will no longer make the mistake of supporting this organization.

I genuinely believed the issue to be on the end of the booking agency as I had received multiple confirmations from the hotel that the booking was refunded and no charge had been issued. Unfortunately, after attempting to get documentation to provide to my CC company to dispute the charge the assistant manager admitted to intervening and ensuring the charge was processed.

Honestly, I feel embarrassed more than anything. I can afford to cover the $200 but, but it's embarrassing that a location I recommended didn't honour my friends reservation and is keeping the money.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Keri Perreault, Revenue Management at Coast Calgary Downtown Hotel & Suites By APA
Responded Feb 18, 2022
Thank you for your comments and please allow the hotel to clarify as the issue is not with us, but with the booking agency you used and the policies attached with them. The guest arrived without a credit card as per hotel policy and was charged a cancellation fee in accordance with the agreement you had with the 3rd party; at no point did the hotel offer a refund. We understand dealing with 3rd party vendors seems easy when booking; however they can be frustrating to deal with if there is an issue which is why we recommend booking direct and paying direct with the hotel to avoid being disappointed. Thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travelchic77 wrote a review Feb 2020
Grande Prairie, Canada349 contributions40 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for one night on business. Location is very close to some great restaurants. We walked from the hotel to State & Main (only about an 8 mins walk) for a lovely steak dinner (see pic). Once back at the hotel, we noticed near the lobby is a little convenience/snack area where you can purchase items. They even have ice cream for purchase, in case you have a sweet tooth. Once in the suite, I was super impressed with the size of the room! And all the amenities they have in the kitchen for you, including a Kuerig coffee pot, and wine glasses to dish towels. Lots of closet space as well for those long stays. You’ll also find a safe to lock away any valuables. I found the bed to be very comfy, and the free breakfast in the morning was great. For you bagel lovers, there is a toaster for your bagels and they do have cream cheese as well. There is also hot items like bacon, pancakes, eggs. Cereals, fruits, oatmeal, yogurt & hardboiled eggs. Juice machine and tea & coffee. They also have coffee creamers in addition to regular cream & milk. The staff was super friendly & helpful. I was very pleased with my stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Walter S wrote a review Sep 2022
Eugene, Oregon1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
When we checked in, our carpets and floors were very dirty, with visible debris and hair. Once I notified the front desk they immediately sent someone up to vacuum the floors. The front desk staff was friendly. Location is great, but a bit noisy since our room was right on the street. Breakfast was standard for similar hotels, though this one was a bit more limited than I've seen. Coffee was good. Aside from the initial dirty floors, this was overall a good place to stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Date of stay: September 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steve White, General Manager at Coast Calgary Downtown Hotel & Suites By APA
Responded Sep 14, 2022
Dear Walter S Your thoughtful and detailed review has been greatly appreciated. This is incredibly helpful. It's my pleasure to let you know that we value the positive and negative aspects you highlighted in your review. We will take this opportunity to review the issue with our housekeeping team. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re grateful for guests like you as your feedback helps us to improve our service even further. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy J asked a question Feb 2020
Mold, United Kingdom39 contributions41 helpful votes
Hi, is it possible to store luggage at the hotel for a few hours after check out ?
Answer from Diosdado D
2 contributions
I dont think so, they have only small vault in each room. If you’re not given a slot within the hotel premises then you have to take the risk. Those thieves can target your glove compartment even if there’s nothing in there. If I were you I look for hotels outside downtown area.
Bill T asked a question Jul 2015
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada44 contributions14 helpful votes
parking on site? how much if extra?
Answer from Robert R
Edmonton, Canada4 contributions1 helpful vote
There is a $15 fee per night parking. If their lot is full however they indicate that there is ample offsite complementary parking.
Ricky333 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Kitchener, Canada46 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Reservations are a must in the summertime."
Read full review
AmandaKIndia wrote a tip Jul 2023
Wellington, New Zealand242 contributions99 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bit noisy as older style hotel so bring earplugs for sleeping There is a small supermarket across the street 2 blocks from the C Train"
Read full review
44MVTraveler wrote a tip Jun 2023
Mount Vernon, Washington29 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Made the right choice staying here. Calagry tours drop off, so we just lucked by finding this great location. The rooms were Huge."
Read full review
Rhona M wrote a tip Apr 2023
Glasgow, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not stay there - it is unsafe. Someone was able to walk into our room off the street and sleep in our bed. Staff incompetent. "
Read full review
Barb and Sheil wrote a tip Oct 2022
British Columbia, Canada7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Excellent gourmet restaurant 2 doors up from hotel as well as a delicious reasonably priced Japanese restaurant 2 blocks away. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Calgary area.
PRICE RANGE
C$144 - C$192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
regency suites calgary hotel calgary, regency hotel calgary
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Regency Suites Hotel Calgary
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCalgaryDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
120
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Coast Calgary Downtown Hotel & Suites By APA - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Coast Calgary Downtown Hotel & Suites By APA
Which popular attractions are close to Coast Calgary Downtown Hotel & Suites By APA?
Nearby attractions include Calgary Pathway System (0.2 km), Prince's Island Park (0.5 km), and Knox United Church (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Coast Calgary Downtown Hotel & Suites By APA?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Coast Calgary Downtown Hotel & Suites By APA?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Coast Calgary Downtown Hotel & Suites By APA?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Coast Calgary Downtown Hotel & Suites By APA?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Coast Calgary Downtown Hotel & Suites By APA?
Conveniently located restaurants include Caesar's Steak House & Lounge, The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - 4th Ave, and JOEY Eau Claire.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Coast Calgary Downtown Hotel & Suites By APA?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Coast Calgary Downtown Hotel & Suites By APA located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Calgary.
Are any cleaning services offered at Coast Calgary Downtown Hotel & Suites By APA?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Coast Calgary Downtown Hotel & Suites By APA?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Coast Calgary Downtown Hotel & Suites By APA?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Heritage Park Historical Village (7.7 km), Fort Calgary (2.1 km), and Lougheed House (1.0 km).
All Calgary HotelsCalgary Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CalgaryHotels near Coast Calgary Downtown Hotel & Suites By APA
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars