We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

HI Edmonton

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
HI Edmonton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for HI Edmonton
See the most recent reviews
Showing 55: English reviews
Wolfville, Canada
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stayed at HI Edmonton for 12 days while in town for work. Very clean, super helpful staff, and amazing location. A more working than traveling crowd than most hostels, but still a great stay overall. I was in a six-bed dorm and found it very spacious and clean. My bed was comfortable as well. The kitchen was well organized...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alishott
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

In brief: Pros Staff were very helpful Rooms were ready before expected which was ideal as we arrived earlier than expected Rooms were very clean and tidy We were impressed by the space this hostel boasts in all aspects - games room, tv room was cool too Location was fine Locker space was excellent!! Cons The whole place felt a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JonCartwright1992
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The lady who checked us in was very welcoming and friendly. We had chosen a private double room as we are a couple. We were disappointed that it was a double on the bottom, single on top bunk bed in the room as it made it very dark on the bottom bed for reading e.t.c. Also the room was not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pixie354
HIAlberta, Manager at HI Edmonton, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. I'm pleased to hear our staff was welcoming and friendly. However, I'm sorry to hear about the situation of our maintenance person entering the room that day. I have spoken to him about this. And I have reminded our housekeepers of our high cleanliness standards and to be checking all lockers for discarded items. We have...

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Airport shuttle can get you there in around 30mins. Good location, 1-2 miles from University of Alberta. Staff are friendly and always willing to help! Everything is clean! Really good for solo travel. Will come back again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phishinghan
liverpool
Reviewed 24 March 2014

A hostel with a bland feel in a bland city. The city only has one hostel and that is for the main reason, Edmonton is not a place to visit unless you are searching for work, which most of the people are. Or, people want to explore the vast and publicised West Edmonton Mall. Hostel: Check in was smooth, there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 849lizzie_loo849
HIAlberta, Manager at HI Edmonton, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. I'm pleased to hear you found our staff friendly and all areas of our hostel clean. However, I'm sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations. I have spoken to staff and reminded them to be sure they are quickly addressing any kitchen cleanliness issue. If you're looking for a quiet space in the hostel, we...

Guangzhou, China
Reviewed 6 March 2014

During the last six months I have been travelling around China , but have stayed at the Edmonton HI many times for the simple reason the staff are so good . Always friendly , knowledgeable and more than willing to help . Many thanks to Rory , Shelley and the rest of the staff .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross W
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 21 February 2014

If you are new in town this is a great place to stay. Reasonable price, great location, friendly staff and great manager. But keep in mind this is hostel. Yes, they have shared bathrooms, but you'll survive. Cleaning staff are trying their best to keep the place in order (bathrooms, kitchen, hallways), and if you find something dirty trust me,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 213MPe
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2014

It took awhile to find this hostel, we walked to it from the centre of town which was quite far sand we got lost. Although on the plus side we did find Wendy's... The area around the hostel is nice and quirky. We found some good shops and felt safe. The room in the hostel was basic but clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alice R
HIAlberta, Manager at HI Edmonton, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. I'm glad you found the hostel clean, comfortable, safe, and in a nice area. If you are coming from Downtown, there are a number of buses that will drop you off one block from the hostel. And it's only a 10 minute bus ride. If you need directions, please give us a call, and we'll happily...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed there only one night but overall it was not bad at all. I had a single room. It was on the women floor so I had to go on the 3rd floor to use the men washroom. This was not a problem per say but being quite sick, it was a little challenge. Regardless of that everything was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank quilmana
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights in a private room and couldn't wait to leave. It's dark and kinda creepy. Although it's probably clean the dark decor make it feel old and dirty. If your in desperate need of a place to stay, one night is okay. The only good points - Our bed was comfy, the mattress felt new and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gemsicles
HIAlberta, Manager at HI Edmonton, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. I'm glad you had a good sleep, however, I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations. I agree, our colour scheme is a bit dated at the moment, however, we are in the process of being approved for a painting capital project, so we should at least have all our hallways and common areas freshly painted this...

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
0.4 km away
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#4 of 93 in Edmonton
1,109 reviews
0.2 km away
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
#6 of 93 in Edmonton
861 reviews
1.1 km away
Campus Tower Suite Hotel
Campus Tower Suite Hotel
#12 of 93 in Edmonton
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Days Inn Edmonton South
Days Inn Edmonton South
#25 of 93 in Edmonton
309 reviews
2.5 km away
Matrix Hotel
Matrix Hotel
#9 of 93 in Edmonton
2,090 reviews
2.8 km away
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#16 of 93 in Edmonton
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A great urban hostel located right near the action in Edmonton’s historic Old Strathcona area, including Whyte Avenue, the coolest spot for shopping, pubbing, clubbing, live music, live theatre, improv, comedy, indie films, and the Saturday year-round Farmers' Market. Only a few blocks from the beautiful River Valley with its relaxing hiking and biking trail system & we rent bikes. Our private courtyard is complete with BBQ and picnic tables. ... more   less 

Additional Information about HI Edmonton

Address: 10647 81 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6E 1Y1, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Queen Alexandra
Price Range: $28 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your HI Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HI Edmonton Alberta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from HI Edmonton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for the top bunk, esp if you're tall because the bottom bunk is way too low”
 of 5 bubbles L2015M, 29 Oct 2015 | Read review
“private rooms with a bathroom are great if you need it for medical or privacy”
 of 5 bubbles rlmptl, 4 Jun 2015 | Read review
“For a better nights sleep, pay a few dollars more for a smaller room (less people = less disturbance at night)”
 of 5 bubbles richardhS3411JV, 19 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Take a private or you'll regret.”
 of 5 bubbles WaguinhoAraujo, 3 Sep 2014 | Read review
“When you book/online, over the phone or even when you arrive at the hostel ask for a top bunk!”
 of 5 bubbles 849lizzie_loo849, 24 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay