Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites

Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites

Traveller (121)
Well cleaned and sorted Washing basin with amenities and Hair Drier
Room & Suite (255)
Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#31 of 96 hotels in Edmonton
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
At the Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites you're sure to find that little something extra. With our modern amenities and thoughtful design, the Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites will stand out among other hotels in Edmonton,AB. For the business traveler, a spacious work desk and free internet access are included in all our guest rooms to ensure you don't miss a beat while you're away from the office. For extended stays, each room provides a convenient in-room mini fridge that is ideal for drinks and snacks. We also have an in-house fitness room, so you can keep up your workout routine while you're on the road. As always, the Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites will provide you with the superior customer service that you are used to at Best Western® Hotels & Resorts.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Sauna
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Kids club
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Now! Stay 3 Nights Get 10,000 Bonus Points!

Location

1204 101 St, Edmonton, Alberta T6X 0P1 Canada
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 47 out of 100
47
Edmonton Intl Airport
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,657 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites garners mixed reviews, with its location often lauded for being conveniently close to shops and restaurants. While some guests found their rooms clean and comfortable, others raised concerns over cleanliness, encountering mold and unkept conditions. Service quality appears inconsistent, with some staff members being praised for their helpfulness, whereas others are seen as unresponsive. Amenities also receive varied feedback; the cleanliness and breakfast options are sometimes appreciated, yet maintenance issues with pools and a shortage of towels are drawbacks, leading to concerns over the hotel's value.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Unkempt
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Underwhelming

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,657Review8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 897
  • 427
  • 155
  • 71
  • 107
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Norcree wrote a review Apr 2023
Tukuyu, Tanzania
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was a great place to.stay...
Hotel staff are very friendly, courteous and accomodating....Hotel is very clean. Quiet, comfortable rooms...
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the area......the location is great, many great amenities with lose proximity of hotel and walking...
I recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the area and it will be my hotel of choice when i return to the area...
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Muhammad Zulfiqar, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites
Responded Apr 25, 2023
Dear Norcree, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 7808013580. Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand. Sincerely, Sainath Nair General Manager Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maynardmc wrote a review Mar 2020
Fort McMurray, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We got a juice box and an apple and small cookie. Room was large and clean checking was fast and easy did not like them charging $250 on my card when room was paid in advance on reservations.com
Tv remote failed to work do had to get a new one at front desk
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lana G, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites
Responded Mar 20, 2020
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me. Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand. Sincerely, Rishu Singh General Manager Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Dena G wrote a review Aug 2020
Saskatoon, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Coming from a province with smaller covid-19 numbers we were impressed that the hotel was very clean and we often saw staff sanitizing, masks were required by all in common areas (95% of people followed), pool was restricted to a max of 8 people at a time through booking a slot, the free breakfast was bagged (muffin,drink,apple,granola bar) and taken to your room. The beds were super comfortable, there was some road noise but nothing to bother out sleep. The staff was very polite, friendly and helpful. We felt very safe and looked after during our visit and would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thilak Nandagopal, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites
Responded Oct 30, 2020
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me. Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kgwilkins wrote a review Aug 2021
Prince George, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We have had success with the other Best Western location in Leduc in the past but unfortunately it was not available for our stay this time. We assumed that our stay at this location would be similar but it has been massively disappointing.

On arrival the employee at the front desk was friendly and apologetic as what we had booked for my mother was not available. Nor would our rooms be side by side as requested - neither were a big deal, we understand the hotel was busy.

However not all information was provided to us upon check in. The tags to place on the door to have the room made over are not useful, you must request to have the room made over at the front desk but this was not told to us. Upon finding out it took multiple requests to have someone come to the room. No cleaning was done, fresh towels were dropped off and garbage taken. However no garbage bags were left in the bins, nor was any additional toilet paper left. These had to be requested from the front desk and picked up there.

We also booked this location due to the pool. Unfortunately were not told that the pool was out of service, disappointing to find out after promising our toddler we were going. They also did not tell us that we have to bring down the pool card each day to have it deactivated to use the pool - again, not that we could in the end.

The continental breakfast is incredibly slow, we sat for 25 minutes before being acknowledged. And at that point menus were provided but we were told we needed to wait additionally to place our order. Including ourselves there were only four people in the dining area. The breakfast is lack lustre, carton eggs and hash browns with far too much paprika, fruit that had not been looked over before being plated.

The curtains are short in the rooms which allow for a lot of light to creep in, not ideal for trying to nap toddlers or crawl into bed earlier in the evening if you need or prefer a dark room. There’s also a light in the hallway entrance that never goes off, we managed to pull a curtain over it and hold it down with a boot which did help.

Overall the hotel is clean but not exceptional otherwise. The staff are nice but largely untrained which unfortunately results in poor service. Hopefully management can attend to required training this location requires when time allows. But we will not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thilak Nandagopal, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites
Responded Aug 15, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize you did not encounter a superior experience. We strive every time to ensure all our guests are extremely satisfied with your stay. Your comments will be utilized to better improve and learn from our mistakes to better serve you in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AireenGorman wrote a review Aug 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Checked in on Friday for my wife’s volleyball tournament. Get into the room noticed that the bathroom tap was really loose but no big, still working. Took the kids to the pool then went to bed. Saturday, wife is at volleyball all day till 9:30pm i take the kids to West Ed all day and we get back at around 6pm shower and kids spend a few hours on their handhelds (phone and switch), while i do paperwork on the laptop, and then go to bed. Sunday wife finishes up volleyball around 5:00pm while me and the kids go to chuck’e cheese and shopping at south common. We get back around 4:00pm and go swimming then head up to the room. Decided to watch tv for the first time since we checked in, and once i turn on the tv i see that there is a crack on the side of the screen. So i go down to the front desk and tell the receptionist what i found, its the first time ive used the tv since we arrived and you cant see the crack when the tv is off. She says thank you and that she will make a note of it. I go back up to the room and we just watch shows on our handhelds instead. We check out the next morning. Two day later my wife gets a call blaming us for the crack in the tv! She tells them that what i had already told the receptionist and asked if they seen her note. They tell her that they will call us back. Instead of a phone call we get a $525 damage charge on our stay and an email saying that we broke it. My wife then phones the hotel and leaves a msg for the. Manager. He finally calls a day later and doesn’t even listen to her over the phone and just keeps saying that they check everything in the room after each guest so it has to be us.
Really, then why was there a crack in the tv and a loose tap in the bathroom?! We reported it to you! Why you didn’t sent someone to the room to check on the tv after we report it. The crack wasn’t visible while the tv was off or i would have reported it the first night we were there!
Morale of the story make sure you check all of the amenities in your room as soon as you check in so you dont get charged for someone else damaging the room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thilak Nandagopal, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites
Responded Aug 15, 2021
Dear Aireen, Thank you for posting your comments. I had called a day later to ensure with the our department head that the TV was turned on as part of our inspection process. I had diligently explained the process to you. Instead you were in constant denial and had raised your voice at me. It is when I had mentioned that I do not want further get to in to the conversation. As part of the check in process, you have signed and acknowledged the terms and conditions on the damages incurred. For the 3 nights you had stayed with us, it was brought to our notice the night before the check out. We reserve the right to charge the applicable damages as stated in the agreement.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ajbuyer wrote a review Jul 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and two daughters and I chose the best western plus south in Edmonton for a night away from home to have some special family time. I had called prior to our stay to confirm that the pool would be open.

Upon arrival, the line was backed up to the door for check in.
Our room was clean, but smelled like smoke which was bothersome, considering it is supposed to be a smoke-free facility.
I decided to just try to deal with it as the line up was so long at the front desk and the phones were ringing without being answered.

We got our kids ready for the pool and I was surprised to see how dirty the pool was.
There was hair clumps all over the pool deck, the water was murky, and the pool tile in the pool had a ring of dirt all around the edge.

We went to be early and around 12:40 the fire alarm rang. We woke our babe and toddler and went outside, where we smelled smoke. After fire trucks came and checked things out we were told it was a cigarette fire and that we could go back inside.

We had just settled our girls back in when we heard our door open. Someone had used a key to open our door (which was locked) and just the lock at the top of the door that can only be secured from the inside was keeping whoever it was from getting into our room. There was banging as the person tried a few more times to get in and then all was quiet.

A bit shook up, we called the front desk and told them about our experience. We were told that “they didn’t give our key to anyone.” My husband explained that his more pressing concern was that we didn’t feel safe. The front desk said they would send someone to check the halls - but we weren’t followed up with. We debated whether or not to pack up and go home, but knew our toddler would be really disappointed about not being able to swim in the morning and decided to try to get some sleep so we could use the pool.

After a very restless night, we got up and got breakfast, which was very unsatisfactory. Potatoes, eggs, and sausages - which were cold and not appetizing. We were told there was no cream for coffee.
When my husband took our toddler to go to the pool, they were told it was closed because it was "too dirty and unsafe for kids to use." (Why wasn't it cleaned in the hours it was closed?)
My toddler was very disappointed. We left before 8:30am.
Not worth staying here. I hope we can be compensated for such a disappointing stay!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thilak Nandagopal, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites
Responded Aug 15, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We will be utilizing your comments to better enhance our service. We apologize for the unsatisfactory experience and we hope you will give us another opportunity to better serve you in the near future
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Curious96608 wrote a review Aug 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Very clean hotel and clean hotel room. The hotel is conveniently located close to restaurants, shopping and parks. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The jacuzzi tub in the room was very enjoyable. Bed was uncomfortable, worn out and very old. The air conditioner was very noisy and kept us awake all night. Also the traffic from the freeway was very loud, and could be heard over the noise of A/C. Complimentary "take away" breakfasts were provided as the hotel restaurant that usually provides free continental breakfast was closed due to COVID 19. These breakfast bags were a big disappointment. I requested gluten-free breakfast bags for my 2 night stay, 7 days prior to arrival, with a reminder the same day of our arrival. One morning, I received 2 oranges and 1 apple for breakfast; second morning 3 oranges for breakfast. That is not a meal. How about some yogurt or a GF breakfast bar GF granola bar. My husband's regular breakfast bag wasn't much better. Little or no effort was put into these breakfast bags. Not even close to normal complimentary continental breakfast options listed on hotel website. We still had to purchase breakfast outside the hotel both mornings or we would have gone hungry. Instead of providing these breakfast bags it would be better not to provide any breakfast at all during restaurant closure or give to gift cards to McDonald's to avoid customer disappointment. Edmonton is a lovely city, and we enjoyed our brief visit over all.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thilak Nandagopal, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites
Responded Oct 30, 2020
Thank you for your positive comments and I am pleased that you had a good stay overall. However, I apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay and don't hesitate to call me to share more information and I will try my best to rectify the situation.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
W2217MMamy wrote a review Jan 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Super loud. Despite complaints they let people run the halls, screaming, and jumping. The noise went on for two nights in a row until after 1am. The gentleman on night shift agreed for us to not pay for 2 of our 3 nights stay which did not happen. I asked after the 2nd night stay that a manager call me because if they weren't going to be committed to this that we would be switching hotels for our third night. They said someone would call, and only the staff called who could "do nothing" and I'd have to wait until Monday. They did not say this under the evening (we were out of the hotel all day but made numerous calls to them). The door lock was broken in my sister in laws room, which meant anyone could walk into their room. They called and said they couldn't fix it, and said we would need to come back from what we were doing to move our items. Then we called to say we would not be coming back to do this as we were on a vacation, and then after being put on hold many times they all of a sudden fixed the lock.

I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy! The manager is rude and has no idea how to even work a computer system to give a discount (I got 1 nights stay free) or to book people in. She spoke down to me saying things like "would you like 50% off two nights, or 1 night free?"...ummm THATS THE SAME THING! I called her on it, and all she said was "I know."

The pool is freezing, so don't make the mistake that we did and stay there for the waterslide.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: January 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amy L wrote a review Jan 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
If I could leave zero I would. Horrible customer service. Had a ringette team team staying during our stay and it was SO LOUD. After numerous complaints, after 10pm they did NOTHING! Noise went on until after 1:30am. This happened 2 nights in a row. Was told I would be I would be credited 2 nights, but no. I asked them to pull the video or recording of their staff promising this. They told me I could call a manager at my check out time, after they said she would be there at 7am. I questioned the location of the manager, and she was in the back. Yet...they wantes me to call her when I was off site. Ridiculous. The manager offered me 2 nights at 50% off or a free night stay....which is exactly the same thing. She talked to me as if I were stupid!! Such a joke. She was rude, didn't know how to work the computer system and tried to not let me pay with the form of payment I requested. I took her card and picture after she told me to "do what you gotta do". Ill be reporting to head office and never staying with a Best Western again.

Dirty linens, no pillow cases on pillows, asked for extra pillows 2 times and we finally went and got them ourselves. If you have little people and are excited for the waterslides, go somewhere else. The pool area is freezing, the pool is cold and if you're unlucky like us you will be stuck with sports teams with drunk parents in the pool area who are loud and don't have control of their kids and the hotel does nothing to protect your stay. Also, my sister in laws door didn't lock and they didn't care. After multiple calls interrupting our trip, it was finally fixed but not until after someone accidentally walked into the room.

Stay away. Lots of hotels in the area that have waterslides.

The gentleman said we would get 2 free night stays and they didn't hold up to that. I'll be calling head office when I'm home. I don't want anyone going through what we did. Ruined our weekend away.

Ill be writing reviews on every website so no one else has to experience this! Especially with kiddos.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lana G, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites
Responded Jan 21, 2020
We apologize your stay with us was less than satisfactory and your family was unable to enjoy the facility. We will definitely bring your concerns to the attention of our team members to ensure proper policies and procedures are followed in the future. We are sorry the compensation offered to you was not satisfactory and hope you will consider reaching out to us directly in hopes we can come up with a solution. Thank you for letting us know of these issues so we can work on implementing improvements.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Queenbirdy79 wrote a review Mar 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Only a couple issues, if a guest want to check in early and not access the room, let them.
Do not have housekeeping knock on guests doors at 10 am, when check out is noon. Should have a system in place that lets the front desk contact housekeeping and keeps them updated on vacant and checked out rooms.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lana G, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites
Responded Mar 12, 2020
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me. Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand. Sincerely, Rishu Singh General Manager Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KateW468 asked a question Jan 2019
Prince Albert, Canada3 contributions
Is it possible to have conjoining rooms?
Answer from Bolutife O
Calgary, Canada9 contributions1 helpful vote
I am not sure.
Tanya Y asked a question Aug 2017
Truro, Canada3 contributions
Are you dog friendly?
Answer from Muhammad Zulfiqar
Edmonton, Canada
The hotel is not yet dog friendly. The TownePlace Suites by Marriott, across the road is however. They are a beautiful new property that also has a pool, hot tub, fitness centre, breakfast and wifi.
MC2324 asked a question May 2016
1 contribution1 helpful vote
How far is Rexall place from this particular BW property?
Answer from nojo_13
Lethbridge, Canada193 contributions59 helpful votes
15-20 minutes up Henday.
Meander50138587421 wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask if the pool and hot tub are in service before you book your stay."
Read full review
Trish K wrote a tip Jan 2024
Edmonton, Canada11 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"The boys couldn’t even use the pool the y had so many kids in there "
Read full review
tracymD7856HK wrote a tip Dec 2023
Kitscoty2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book somewhere else"
Read full review
Debbie B wrote a tip Aug 2023
19 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Save your money. It’s overpriced for an old run down hotel "
Read full review
Luke W wrote a tip Dec 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay here!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Edmonton area.
PRICE RANGE
C$142 - C$176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western south edmonton hotel edmonton, best western south edmonton inn and suites
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaEdmonton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
105
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites?
Nearby attractions include Escape Emporium (0.8 km), Allstars Indoor Playland (0.6 km), and Made In Cannabis (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Canadian Brewhouse, Chop Steakhouse & Bar, and Workshop Eatery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort Edmonton Park (10.4 km), Rutherford House Provincial Historic Site (11.7 km), and John Walter Museum (11.5 km).
Is Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Edmonton HotelsEdmonton Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in EdmontonHotels near Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars