We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Merit Hotel & Suites

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Merit Hotel & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 205: English reviews
Start your review of Merit Hotel & Suites
 Click to rate
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Enjoyed our stay here...was difficult to rate amenities as some things were still closed due to the fire. Enjoyed the continental breakfast and rooms were clean. Beds were comfy and it's nice to have a fridge and microwave in the room! Location is excellent!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank puravida309
Edmonton
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

No hot tub, no lounge, no bar, it can only get better opening these . I realize it will take time and I am looking forward to staying there again, the staff was friendly enough , I did see dog hair in our unit , but other than that it was clean, cheers!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z1054RKrobertj
Edmonton
Reviewed 1 week ago

Well located hotel with comfortable rooms and attentive sales & meeting staff. The rooms are big and have sufficient features to make a long-term stay quite comfortable. The proximity to restaurants and convenience stores is also very good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
Audra M, Manager at Merit Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Merit Hotel and Suites Cheryl R! We are pleased to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again soon. All the best, Audra M.

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Friendly service . Large modern clean room ,comfortable bed and pillows. There is no restaurant in the hotel. But the refrigerator works well ( cold). Microwave in room as well. Fast food and convenience stores across the street. Have stayed here 4 times. Convenient location to downtown.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikeanddo
Audra M, Manager at Merit Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Merit Hotel and Suites mikeanddo! We are so happy that you found our rooms to be comfortable and our staff friendly. We look forward to hosting you again soon. All the best, Audra M.

Duncan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stay at the Merit for business. The convenient exits to the side streets are great and the back door swipe re-entry is great too after a long days work. The staff is pleasant and rooms are clean. I enjoy staying at the Merit.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank C4229ZAsusanp
Audra M, Manager at Merit Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Merit Hotel and Suites C4229ZAsusanp! We are so happy that you find our staff pleasant and our rooms clean. We look forward to hosting you again soon. All the best, Audra M.

Lacombe, Alberta
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at the Merit Hotel for a few years now while on business! The staff are always friendly and very helpful no matter what I have asked for! Thank you for being there for me while I'm away from home!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank crhunter
Audra M, Manager at Merit Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review crhunter! It is always a pleasure to serve you and we look forward to hosting you again! All the best, Audra M.

Sherwood Park
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Business trip to Fort Mac. Tried staying at the best western but wanted way to much money for one night. Have stayed at the Merit before. Rooms not bad, could use some needed renos. Complimentary breakfast is not thrilling.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 905codyc
Audra M, Manager at Merit Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Hi 905codyc, Thank you for taking the time to review the Merit Hotel and Suites. We appreciate your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the complimentary continental breakfast. We provide the continental breakfast as an option for a light meal before guests head out in the morning. We understand that it might be too light for...

Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our check-in was seamless and our room was clean and had everything we needed. Loved having the underground parking available. The hotel is in a good location. The staff were helpful and friendly. Too bad the restaurant is still closed, would have been nice to have a place for breakfast. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl16041
Audra M, Manager at Merit Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Hi Cheryl, thank you for taking the time to review the Merit Hotel and Suites. Our team was really happy to read your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again. All the best, Audra M.

Smith
Reviewed 17 February 2017

This hotel is one of the quietest ones to stay in. Friendly and pleasant staff. Too bad the restaurant is still closed since the fire. Room was very clean and had everything anyone would need. We will return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathyL9299VX
Audra M, Manager at Merit Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Hi Cathy, Thank you for your review, we always appreciate getting feedback from our guests. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed you enjoyed your stay and we cant wait to welcome you back! All the best, Audra M

Stony Plain
Reviewed 30 January 2017

When you book a room the front desk should honor the confirmation that was given instead of charging more, this really disappointed me as we have been staying with this group of hotels for a while now!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 938gregj
Audra M, Manager at Merit Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Hi 938gregj, Thank you for choosing the Merit hotel and Suites. We appreciate your feedback. I am sorry to hear that there was confusion regarding your rate. I had a look at our records and I see that someone from your office booked your room at the weekly rate for your company. As per your company's rate agreement with us,...

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort McMurray hotels
8.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sawridge Suites
3.0 km away
Franklin Suite Hotel
Franklin Suite Hotel
#4 of 19 in Fort McMurray
113 reviews
3.3 km away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fort McMurray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Clearwater Suite Hotel
Clearwater Suite Hotel
#5 of 19 in Fort McMurray
180 reviews
0.6 km away
Platinum Hotels
Platinum Hotels
#11 of 19 in Fort McMurray
49 reviews
2.8 km away
Podollan Inn
Podollan Inn
#6 of 19 in Fort McMurray
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Merit Hotel & Suites, Fort Murray full service downtown hotel offers comfort, convenience, style and always helpful service. EXTENDED stay suites available offering suites with kitchen and living room combinations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Merit Hotel & Suites

Address: 8200 Franklin Ave, Fort McMurray, Alberta T9H 2H9, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Fort McMurray
Price Range: $132 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merit Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Merit Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merit Hotel Fort Mcmurray
Merit Hotel & Suites Fort McMurray, Alberta
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Fort McMurray
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Merit Hotel & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Kitchenette suites are great. Lots of room.”
 of 5 bubbles 747gparker, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Away from Manning ave”
 of 5 bubbles , 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Kitchenettes for extended stays were a great find”
 of 5 bubbles br00k123, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Well higher floors are always more quiet but all this hotel is.Nice view on North and South side. . Big rooms Spacious”
 of 5 bubbles 444suzannec, 30 Sep 2015 | Read review
“I like the rooms with kitchenette not looking to Main Street.”
 of 5 bubbles S436, 9 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5