We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
#12 Folding Mountain Village, Jasper National Park, Alberta T7V 1Y2 Canada
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (63)
Room & Suite (24)
Pool & Beach (6)

About

#6 of 60 in Jasper National Park
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Platinum level
If you want to stay at Jasper area's finest and only 4.5 Star, drive to the east side of JNP and enjoy our lovely B&B. A full hot cooked breakfast is served to you daily in our dining room that overlooks the panoramic mountain view you see here. Big B&B rooms, king bed, sat TV, refreshment centers, all the amenities plus more, all private full en-suites/bathrooms. Glenda and Bob are extremely knowledgeable of the area. If you want to beat the hustle and bustle of tourists towns Wyndswept is awesome!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Breakfast available
Laundry service
Room features
Flatscreen TV

Location

Full view
225Reviews4Q+A39Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 199
  • 18
  • 6
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
wixford66 wrote a review Jul. 2019
27 contributions21 helpful votes
An instantly forgettable bungalow off a main highway. The Pansy Suite is dark, dated with furniture looking like it's from a 1970’s garage sale complete with brown plastic sofa, noisy old fridge & luxury “tea station” consisting of a jar containing a few economy bags. It’s like staying at your Nan’s! The website implied bears strolling past the window, but on arrival you'll realise the photo depicting this wasn’t even taken at “Luxury Bob’s” place. Wall mounted dispensers dribble no frills soap under the veiled pre-text of environmental credentials, refreshments not replenished during our stay & the absence of conditioner, body lotion, etc, penny pinching. The sink leaks, the bath drains only when the plug is manually help up, lamps don’t work & you get one cheap hollow fibre pillow. Sadly Bob’s enthusiasm isn't matched by culinary skill, this combined with economy ingredients makes breakfast an endurance test best avoided. "Rules" some of which feel threatening are everywhere - there's 30 do's and don'ts. We felt controlled & observed - the knock at 8.22 summoning us for breakfast was totally unnecessary, intrusive and offensive. There's nothing about Wyndswept that could be considered luxurious, the website & owners eagerness to “gild a very ordinary lily” misleading. It's overpriced even before factoring in the hosts need to control. Extensive roadworks make Jasper an hour away. Wyndswept is decidedly odd to the point of being disconcerting. Avoid our expensive mistake.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Helpful
Share
leeandjo wrote a review Jun. 2019
Reading, United Kingdom18 contributions11 helpful votes
Really enjoyed our recent 3 night stay. Bob was a gracious and helpful host, giving us pointers as to where we might find wildlife and good places to visit. Breakfast was great. Others have said there is no choice, but Bob provides such a large and varied breakfast that there is something most will be able to eat. If not, I’m sure Bob would accommodate specific requests as well. We stayed in the Pansy room and it had pretty much everything we needed including a very large and comfortable bed, which for me is the key in any accommodation I stay in. This is a B&B property, not a five star hotel with all mod cons. It’s Bob and Glenda’s house at the end of the day. Lots of small things were provided such as towels to take to the hot springs at Miette and Bob lent us some bear spray for our adventures. We had interesting conversations over breakfast with fellow guests. Embrace it for what it is. Yes, it is 45 mins from Jasper but that’s very obvious if you do some research, read the website and look at a map. As for a previous comment about paying in advance, pretty much every hotel or Air BNB does that these days. Why is it a surprise? Bob, thanks for sharing your home with us. We actually didn’t spend as much time in the property as we thought as we were out exploring so much but it was great, nonetheless.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
david r wrote a review Jun. 2019
9 contributions
+1
Clean, comfortable but not ‘luxury’; an ordinary property in a cul-de-sac off a busy highway. Parking space is taken up by the owner’s very large caravan & cars. The garage door is a tarpaulin, the pathway lined by tat & whimsy. The garden is a tiny border planted with pansies. A CCTV camera greets you at the door. The ‘Pansy Suite’ is dark; the furniture cheap & miss-matched with a plastic sofa, a noisy fridge & an TV cabinet that threatened to fall over if touched. The bathroom contained the ‘rules’ blue-tacked to the wall, strip lighting & wall-mounted dispensers of dubious quality soap. Breakfast at 08:30 whether convenient or not; the 08:23 knock at the bedroom door was a surprise & imposition. We'd been asked about dietary requirements but offered no choice thereafter. The ‘Chef’ (Bob - out of respect for whom this time was set) provided lukewarm: bullet-hard poached eggs, tough ham, chewy muffins, sautéed radish & pickled asparagus. We chose not to indulge thereafter & felt so unwelcome by the 'rules' & a feeling of being watched that we spent as little time there as possible. Fooled by the ‘luxury' marketing, we elected not to spoil our holiday further by argument. In hindsight, the unusual pay up-front and in-full stipulation should have told us that all was not as it seemed. Jasper is an hour’s drive away so there is little option but to accept what you find. In short, accommodation akin to a budget motel; not worth $245 CAN per night. We felt mislead and exploited.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Helpful
Share
Annika P wrote a review Jun. 2018
Skurup, Sweden1 contribution
Stayed here for two nights, highly recommended. Bob makes the most fantastic breakfast, and is a great start off for the day, where you can discuss todays plans and meet other visitors. We stayed in chickadeeroom, it is more than a room, it is like an appartment😊. Very clean and good coffee.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Jhkit wrote a review Jul. 2017
Metuchen, New Jersey26 contributions5 helpful votes
Wyndswept was just what we were looking for! Out of the bustle of Jasper, a drive through the wildlife rich area just east of mountains, and gorgeous views! Our beds were amazingly comfortable and we had a double recliner in our room. The whole house is impeccably clean and all our needs were taken care of. Breakfast both days was delectable. Bob is a wonderful host, cook, and guide. He knew all the places to go and even gave us some non-touristy places to see. At the bottom of the hill is a new micro brewery which we really enjoyed. Our only complaints about Wyndswept are the mosquitoes and the fact that we didn't meet Glenda, who is still recovering from surgery.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from wyndswept-bb, Owner at Wyndswept Bed and Breakfast
Responded Aug. 10, 2017
Ohhh I know this year was a horrible year for mosquitos. We figure it was due to wet snowy long spring and lots of water on the ground then sudden heat!! Guests often want the name of our mattress brand as they are so comfortable. I'm glad you enjoyed it. I'm know Bob will appreciate your positive comments. Thank you! He does such an awesome job of creating breakfast I can no longer compare👍 Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate that as we know everyone has a busy life!
Read more
Damehelen wrote a review Jul. 2017
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom4 contributions5 helpful votes
We were greeted on our arrival (when we eventually found Wyndswept) by Dan, Bob and Glenda's son. We had an enjoyable 3 night stay once we had got accustomed to the Wyndswept environment and we were given lots of helpful information on places to visit where we could walk/hike. Unfortunately there are extensive roadworks on the road into Jasper which will go into next year to complete and as Wyndswept is just outside the National Park it took us almost an hour and a half to reach Jasper each morning. Our journeys to places past Jasper were therefore long. Our time there was enjoyable - if you don't mind bottles of shower gel, shampoo and handsoap secured to the wall and enjoy hand painted bird pictures on the wall (albeit skillfully done) with bird boxes as part of the decor and a large bear occupying a chair in the lounge area etc. then this is the place for you. If you like modern, minimalist design/surroundings as we do then we'd suggest you perhaps consider other places to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Only one room has a mountain view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from wyndswept-bb, Owner at Wyndswept Bed and Breakfast
Responded Aug. 10, 2017
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to do a review. You were our first guests of 2017 so we appreciate that👍 We are a rural country B&B thus our home, decor and furniture reflect that. Sorry, we don't decorate according to what our guests like in their home, that's humanly impossible....guests typically are looking for an experience different from home. Most ( probably 95%) the construction on the highway has been completed. Due to safety the Cdn government has been doing big time construction and bridge work in almost all the national parks so that's great. The trips to Jasper are taking people an extra 4-11 minutes, I've been timing it and we ask guests. No one else took as long as your trip so thinking it might have been on a day they were moving big bridge parts. That was a complicated move in the mountains. But it's done now so it's good for decades. That's a good thing! Yes, we do have a green policy, for over 20 + yrs, we purposely chose to use environmentally friendly methods of delivering soap and shampoo rather than abuse our landfill with thousands of packages. That was a planned purposeful move as part of our plan "For a greener tomorrow." Wyndy, our stuffed bear has had his picture taken with guests thousands of times. Guests even have made videos with him. Most guests love him and have fun with him. He has even received Christmas cards! Our bird house was given to us by a guest who saw it in USA at a farmers market. It made them remember me and my joy in chickadees. So they purchased it specifically for this room, wrapped it up carefully and shipped it to me to put in that room. I greatly appreciated their kind attitude, the efforts they made to send it to me and when I dust it down I always recall them fondly. The directions for Wyndswept are on the confirmation so when guests travel with their confirmation they find us easyily. The big directional signs on the highway also direct people to us. Again thank you for taking time to do a review.
Read more
Nancy V wrote a review Jun. 2017
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We decided on the spur of the moment to drive to Jasper and since we had been there a few times, were looking for a nice quiet place to stay. We were a bit surprised that the B&B was really close to other houses on a residential street, but it was quiet. Bob was very helpful with tips on wildlife viewing and his breakfasts were excellent. The "rules" of the house were not difficult to accept, other than the breakfast schedule being at 8:30 AM. Our room was well appointed with all we needed. Loved the reclining chairs!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from wyndswept-bb, Owner at Wyndswept Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jul. 14, 2017
Hi there, thank you for the 5 star rating. Yes Our village has homes on half an acreage each so it's not crowded and very pretty. To ensure we didn't disturb a lot of the surrounding forrest it was decided one road in with a cul du sac at the top of the hill. That's where we've been located for 27 yrs.At the top of the hill with the million dollar view! I've no idea how guests presumed we were in a remote location all alone. Actually many Europeans say..."oh you are so remote".... so I guess it's all in the eye of the beholder. Yes, to serve at hot cooked breakfast we have to follow the Public Health Act and need to serve food while it's hot, we cannot use warmers or reheat food. We cannot have guests eat then leave a mess on the table for the next guest sitting down. There are many policies we have to follow and we're inspected regularly without warning👍 Some B&B's serving just a continetial self serve breakfast can do say from 7:30-9:30... unfortunately for us it doesn't work.Sorry but thanks for coming and thanks for your time in doing a review👍
Read more
WildRover007 wrote a review Jan. 2017
36 contributions31 helpful votes
We loved our two night stay in this particular B&B as part of our anniversary trip across the Canadian Rockies. Our hosts were wonderful in making everything perfect for our special time. We stayed in the Pocohontas Room which was very comfortable and well equipped with beautiful views. Bob's bespoke mega breakfasts were hearty and set us up for the days ahead. Our vegetarian needs were well catered for. Apart from the wonderful scenery, there isn't a huge amount going on in the environment of the B&B and when we visited (early May 2016) the few local attractions were still closed from the Winter season. Nevertheless, for what we were looking for (a comfy bolt-hole from which to sight-see), it was great. We loved the experience of staying in someone's home too. Thank you Bob and Glenda.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: The Pocahontas views were spectacular
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from wyndswept-bb, Owner at Wyndswept Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jun. 29, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to do a review. I am happy we met your needs to celebrate your anniversary. It's great you enjoyed your breakfasts. That's what we strive for👍 Thanks again for the nice review and your time!
Read more
LadyChat2014 wrote a review Sep. 2016
Belfast, United Kingdom13 contributions3 helpful votes
This B and B is on the outskirts of Jasper National Park and with the name 'Wyndswept' we expected it to be set on its own surrounded by the wilds of nature. As we pulled into the driveway at the end of a cul-de-sac , we thought surely the sat nav must be wrong??? But no, this was Wyndswept B and B! We were very happy with our room and we had a pleasant stay in spite of the weather being a bit wet. Bob and Glenda have been doing this B and B business for a long time - make sure you read all their conditions and are happy to abide by them before you agree to stay! It's their home and you stay very much on their terms, which i guess is fair enough. If we were planning our trip again we would probably stay closer to Jasper as we spent more time than we would have liked in the car - although the drive was pleasant and scenic.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Pocahontus room is the best.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from wyndswept-bb, Owner at Wyndswept Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jun. 29, 2017
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to do a review. We appreciate that. We inform all of our guests at the time of making their booking as to our location. We have "terms" for exactly this reason. It's so people are aware and can make an informed decision. We ask you to read, review and accept the info prior to the booking so you are informed and aware. I am sorry you didn't get that and made the wrong decision. We try hard to spell things out clearly for guests to avoid these exact situations. Again, thanks for taking time out to write a review👍
Read more
Pat F wrote a review Sep. 2016
Bend, Oregon101 contributions50 helpful votes
Stayed in the Pocohantas Room for 6 nights. Largest room of the B&B, jacuzzi, access from our room to the shared deck for watching sunsets. Glenda and Bob are very accommodating hosts and Bob's breakfasts will keep you going throughout the day. Each morning we sat down to freshly baked pastries, fruit and yogurt and a cooked breakfast. As mentioned on the website the drive to Windswept is a good 35 - 40 minutes from Jasper village so if you are planning most of your activities close in you may want to consider staying closer in as you will spend a lot of time in your car going and coming. Having said that, we enjoyed our room, the bountiful breakfasts and the hospitality of our hosts. We also enjoyed 2 very good meals the Poco Cafe at the Pocohantas Bungalows just down the road from Wyndswept.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Pocohantas, definitely.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from wyndswept-bb, Owner at Wyndswept Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jun. 29, 2017
Hi there, Thank you for the great review and for taking time to sit and write it. Yes everyone tells us after breakfast they don't need to eat again till dinner! Good thing most people walk all day👍 Glad you got to enjoy some of our famous sunsets! Again, thanks for the review👍
Read more
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
wyndswept hotel jasper east, wyndswept b&b
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCanadian RockiesJasper National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Wyndswept Bed and Breakfast
What are some of the property amenities at Wyndswept Bed and Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Wyndswept Bed and Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Wyndswept Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does Wyndswept Bed and Breakfast have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.