We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ocean Gate Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ocean Gate Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

332 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ocean Gate Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 326: English reviews
New Hampshire
Reviewed 9 August 2013

When you first drive into Ocean Gate, past the swinging bridge, you drive through the "woods" on a dirt driveway and aren't really sure what to expect. The grounds are well-kept and boast bright blue hydrangeas. Check-in on a Sunday afternoon was painless. The desk manager, Georgina, let us know where the Waterfront building was and let us know that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krystng
Hertfordshire
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights with a 4 and 2 year old and cannot recommend this resort highly enough. It was our second visit to the resort travelling from the UK and we planned this trip to New England around 3 days at the resort. Rooms are great and the view out on to the water is fantastic. We took...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hitchintraveller
OceanGate, General Manager at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this review

THANK YOU! We can't wait for you to come back as well. Thank you for comments that I think are typical of our guest experience here at Ocean Gate. We're glad that enjoyed your visit! Frank

Gladwin, Michigan
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is our third time to stay at this place. The rooms are older but very clean and comfortable. We travel with a small dog and find this to be a very good place to stay. Nice views. The only negative is that the towels are very small and thin. They do serve a good breakfast. All of the workers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
Herndon, Virginia
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Visited in late July for a anniversary celebration. Three generations plus cousins all found comfortable rooms, plenty of activities and beautiful views. The various buildings provided different price points for different sized wallets. Staff was very helpful and always seemed to be busy keeping the place in good order. The pool was clean and a pleasant temperature. Rooms in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RogersVA
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Just came back from 4 days at the Ocean Gate Resort... and this is by NO means, a resort. It is 1 step up from camping in a tent. It's old, run down and definitely not handicapped accessible for those that need it. The rooms are straight out of 70s. They smell damp and woodsy. The water in our bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trahanrta
OceanGate, Owner at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this review

First of all, I hope that you were able to unwind properly after your vacation. Although I am sorry that you were disappointed in your stay I do feel that some of your observations were mis-characterized. The property was originally built in the late 1950's with additions in 1974 and 1984. It has undergone significant capital improvements with over $500,000...

Cape Cod, MA
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The view is beautiful and the dining staff were very pleasant. The accomodations however were less than pleasant. Our 3 night stay in a cement wall room felt somewhat like a cell. There was one semi comfortable chair and one unsteady plastic chair on the deck. There was a constant hum from a drain pipe of some sort and a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MAH777
OceanGate, General Manager at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Although I'm certainly happy to hear that you were pleased with the spectacular view and courteous staff, I am disappointed that we were not given an opportunity to address your other concerns during your visit. I'm quite certain that we could have resolved them to your satisfaction. Our many repeat guests...

Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We were so impressed with Ocean Gate. Our entire family had a great time! The staff was very friendly. We really liked the breakfast at the resort, miniature golf, swimming pool, kayaks, view from our room, and family atmosphere. I would recommend anyone to stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
Woodstock, VT
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This property itself is very nice. Clean, spacious rooms. Great views of the water and plenty of on-site activities. My one gripe was a very weak and intermittent Wi-Fi signal. We brought this issue to the attention of management but they didn't seem overly concerned. There is a signal in various locations on the property; just not our room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank topchef52
Clifton Park, New York
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Ocean Gate has been my resort of choice for the last 3 years now. I absolutely love this place. I love the free kayaking/canoeing, breakfast, fitness room, and the other activities that they have to offer. I would recommend this place to anyone looking to have a blast.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rob M
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This was our second visit to Ocean Gate Resort, where we vacationed last year. This time we selected a different pet-friendly room in one of their two Overlook Buildings. We were pleasantly surprised and pleased by our choice. Room 202 was a small, comfortably-sized apartment with full kitchen, separate living room, bedroom and large deck. The flooring throughout appeared to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Junior119

184 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (176)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
1.8 km away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
344 reviews
6.5 km away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
202 reviews
2.8 km away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
457 reviews
3.4 km away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
482 reviews
3.2 km away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#9 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ocean Gate Resort is a 45-acre oceanfront resort surrounded on 3 sides by tidal inlet and less than 3 miles from Boothbay Harbor. The nine buildings are nestled among the majestic pines and perched on the rocky coast line of Maine. All rooms include a full breakfast, refrigerator, coffee maker, A/C, cable TV. On-site free amenities include a heated pool, canoes, kayaks, fitness room, mini-golf course, tennis and basketball court, playground, and stocked fishing pond. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Gate Resort

Address: 70 Ocean Gate Rd, Southport Island, Southport, ME 04576-3053
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Southport
Price Range: $162 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Gate Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Ocean Gate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Gate Hotel Southport
Ocean Gate Boothbay Harbor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Gate Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 201 has a fire place wood burning,”
 of 5 bubbles LanceB570, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were in building 1, and very satisfied. The building just below the building where breakfast is served, was also desirable..”
 of 5 bubbles DrNoah, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Cedar Building rooms are less busy”
 of 5 bubbles jamesn241, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Many rooms directly bay front, but no beach per say.”
 of 5 bubbles cat53052, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“End unit we stayed in was where water heater was located choose an inside room.”
 of 5 bubbles ShirleyGirl2014, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5