We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
96 Geikie St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Trip.com
US$104
View deal
Free cancellation until 23-02-18
Official Site
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (239)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (254)

About

#10 of 17 hotels in Jasper
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Your Mountain Getaway Awaits From romantic mountain escapes to backcountry adventures, the Chateau Jasper is the perfect place to relax and recharge while exploring the wonders of Jasper National Park. Our recently renovated 119-room alpine lodge is conveniently located just beyond downtown Jasper, allowing guests to kick back in peace and quiet while being just a 10-minute walk from everything the mountain town has to offer. Plus, with amenities like heated underground parking, onsite breakfast, an indoor pool and much more, the Chateau Jasper has everything you need to feel right at home.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast available
Hiking
Skiing
Children's television networks
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Vending machine
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English
1163Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 236
  • 511
  • 292
  • 78
  • 46
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Alex wrote a review Dec. 2022
London, United Kingdom54 contributions24 helpful votes
The hotel itself can be classed as OK, with the rooms clean enough, but the drawers for example, had crumbs and other dirt in them. The rooms felt quite dated, and cheap, especially since they were equipped with popcorn ceilings - the absolute pinnacle of ‘80s engineering and hotel building! Otherwise the rooms were fine, nothing special. The only other thing to note is how cold the rooms get. We stayed during a period of -40 degrees Celsius and it was clear some corners were cut on the insulation front, leading to a cold draft and therefore a cold room, even with heating. Lastly, the bathrooms were also small and the ceilings were very low. The food at the hotel was frankly sub-par and I would recommend not eating any meals except breakfast here if given the opportunity.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pavel Myska, Guest Services / Front Office at Chateau Jasper
Responded Dec. 22, 2022
Dear ReviewerAlex, Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback. I truly regret that your stay with us was not optimal, you found our rooms dated, and that we missed the mark on the drawers' cleanliness. I sincerely apologize if your room was cold during the extremely low weather conditions. Our front desk is available at any time and we would be happy to provide you with a space heater to make your room warmer and more comfortable. In regards to our Silverwater restaurant, unfortunately, it is open for breakfast service only. There are several restaurants for dinner service just a couple of minutes' walking distance. Thank you again for choosing Chateau Jasper as your place to stay and we appreciate your business. Kind regards, Pavel Myska Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
IS T wrote a review Dec. 2022
Ely, United Kingdom366 contributions86 helpful votes
Lovely hotel with a nice room and facilities of fridge and microwave for convenience. Good free parking and friendly helpful staff. Shame the restaurant was closed but some very nice restaurants close by as well as an easy walk into the centre of town.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pavel Myska, Guest Services / Front Office at Chateau Jasper
Responded Dec. 18, 2022
Dear ist26, Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback. I am pleased to read you had a great stay with us and found the hotel lovely, and the room facilities convenient. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of our restaurant being closed. I hope you had an amazing time in Jasper and beautiful Canada. Best regards, Pavel Myska Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tamtam B wrote a review Oct. 2022
5 contributions
My daughter and I stayed here in late October. The staff was great, the room and pool, and hot tub were spotless. Deer came right to the back parking lot to visit. The beds were super comfy. Would def stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pavel Myska, Guest Services / Front Office at Chateau Jasper
Responded Oct. 30, 2022
Hello tamtamb2022, Thank you for your recent visit to Chateau Jasper and such an excellent rating. I am pleased to read we met all your expectations and you had a great time in beautiful Jasper. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Pavel Myska Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne E wrote a review Oct. 2022
chicago16 contributions31 helpful votes
The staff was good but the buffet breakfast for $22.00 was ridiculous. No cold cereal, no hot cereal. Eggs were lukewarm at best and potatoes were cold. No bananas but a nice fruit salad that had grapes on the stem mixed in to it. I've had better buffets at motels where breakfast if free.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pavel Myska, Guest Services / Front Office at Chateau Jasper
Responded Oct. 30, 2022
Dear Anne E, Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your review. I truly regret that your experience during the breakfast was not optimal and I sincerely apologize for the issues you faced. I will address your feedback with the appropriate department to ensure our standards are being met. Thank you again for such a great rating and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Best regards, Pavel Myska Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bev R wrote a review Oct. 2022
Edmonton, Canada57 contributions20 helpful votes
we always stay here and we stayed here again, , in September with our pup . When we arrived they had us on a second floor , after my request for a first floor( due to my pups surgery on his leg. )The girl at front desk , was helpful but the manager was exceptional and changed our second room to first floor. Thanks so much for that!! when breakfast , the dining room is only open for breakfast.. and so preceded to go down and ask for take our as my pup was in the room, the lady that approached me at the dining room was very rude! stating that the dining room is for dine in only I explained that I have a pup in my room .. so after showing her our voucher , she shrugged and goes and gets me a desert take out , not big enough for even a child to have! and walks away . this is NOT great service.. very disappointed with this lady , and she has been for awhile as I have seen her there before..
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Royal suite - or PM suite..
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pavel Myska, Guest Services / Front Office at Chateau Jasper
Responded Oct. 9, 2022
Hello Bev R, Thank you for your recent visit to Chateau Jasper. I am pleased to read that you always stay with us and am happy that your stay was great. I sincerely apologize for the issue regarding the breakfast and a take-out option. The is an option of take out if our guests are not able to enjoy their meal in the restaurant. I will be addressing your concern with the appropriate department to ensure the quality of our service is being met. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again! Kind regards, Pavel Myska Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RobinHood24 wrote a review Sep. 2022
Nottingham100 contributions110 helpful votes
Stayed for a couple of nights during our tour of western Canada - hotel is ok. It’s clean and the room (with dated decor) was comfy which is the main thing. Didn’t find the staff particularly helpful when we had a question about Jasper perhaps caught the girl on the front desk was having a bad day. However our tour guide was able to help. Ok if your staying a couple of nights but any longer might be a bit grim.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pavel Myska, Guest Services / Front Office at Chateau Jasper
Responded Oct. 9, 2022
Dear RobinHood24, Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your review. I sincerely apologize and deeply regret that your stay with us was not optimal. I hope you had a wonderful time in Canada and that you enjoyed Jasper. Best regards, Pavel Myska Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NewFran wrote a review Sep. 2022
Brill, United Kingdom42 contributions17 helpful votes
Arrived fairly late and we’re new to Jasper. So we decided to eat in for the first night. I knew we were in trouble when the young man at reception put a call through to an extension. His colleague in the back office told him there was no-one in. He merely shrugged and said “stuff happens”, not thinking for one second that he was showing appalling customer service. This was so unlike the usual excellent service we’d received all the way across Canada, I was surprised. So he turned to us. When we asked about the restaurant we were told it was open for breakfast only. And that was what it states on their website. We checked there and then. It doesn’t mention it! So I asked about the bar - was that at least open. “Yes”, he said. “At breakfast”. (I never actually tested that.) He continued to insist that the restaurant was not closed - it was merely only open for breakfast. In the end he shrugged again and said (with no sense of empathy) “Sorry, what can I say?” This was such a shame that this surly, uncaring man is the first face of the hotel, because the service we received from other staff members was much better. They don’t service the rooms, but a request for coffee, etc, was acted on in 5 minutes. I would have preferred real coffee mugs and glasses, but it’s a small point. The rooms themselves are large and comfortable, if a little dated. The hotel is situated about a 10 minute flat walk to the centre to town. And the town has a friendly welcoming feel to it. People would say hello as you walked in. So, sorry, Chateau Jasper, you need to train your reception staff. Or suggest they find a calling outside the hospitality industry.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pavel Myska, Guest Services / Front Office at Chateau Jasper
Responded Oct. 10, 2022
Dear Fran N, Thank you for joining us at Chateau Jasper. I was disappointed to read your stay with us was not optimal. I am very sorry for the experience regarding our service and that our restaurant is closed for dinner service. I addressed your concerns with our Front Desk Manager to ensure our standards are being met. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the issues you faced and I hope you had a wonderful journey around Canada. Kind regards, Pavel Myska Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dave C wrote a review Sep. 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
We did arrive when Jasper had issues knocking out the towns main electric and they were running on generators, which we appreciated this was beyond there control so the pool and lifts where all taken out of service, however after a long day of driving they had closed the restaurant not even with a small menu to offer and said to go into town however most of the restaurants were closed too so found this to be of no help, eventually we found one that was open but extremely busy. The rooms themselves were ok but dated with carpet coming up in the corners you can tell its seen better days and with vending machines outside our door this could be heard during the night too, however the room was at least clean and i would say the staff were friendly enough. Overall i think there is likely better hotels in the same area for similar prices.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pavel Myska, Guest Services / Front Office at Chateau Jasper
Responded Oct. 1, 2022
Dear I530RVdavid_c, Thank you for joining us at Chateau Jasper on your recent visit to the national park. Your feedback is important to us and I appreciate the time you took to leave us with a review. I am pleased that our staff was friendly. I am very sorry and deeply regret that our services did not meet your expectations on your visit. Unfortunately, at this time our restaurant is available for breakfast service only. I was disappointed that you found our rooms dated and that you could hear the vending machine during the night. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the issues you faced and we appreciate your feedback. Kind regards, Pavel Myska Guest Services manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James W wrote a review Sep. 2022
LondonJames2050278 contributions95 helpful votes
Staff very helpful with where to find things in Jasper. Also had booked a visit to Glacier but company sent no details and address. Staff at front desk phoned the company and gave us directions. Thankfully had read the reviews and so went with a low expectation. The room huge had a comfortable bed and enormous tv. But dull depressing and had no day light because of shrubs. Even if we had a room at the front the views in Jasper are not stunning like other resorts. The room needed updating maybe a feature wall of bright wall paper. Yes some colour was needed. It is on the route for long cargo trains and so you may hear these at night. Jaspers tourist accommodation is all at one end of the village. So this is the nearest place to stay and about a half a 10-15 minute walk to the shops, restaurants and grocery shops. Parking in the centre is not free. The buffet looked good value and busy. Did use the gym which was a cross trainer and a bike.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pavel Myska, Guest Services / Front Office at Chateau Jasper
Responded Oct. 1, 2022
Dear LondonJames2050, Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your review. I am pleased to read our staff was very helpful and helped you regarding your trip directions. I truly regret that we missed the mark on your stay and you found the room dull with not enough daylight. I sincerely apologize for the issues you faced during your visit. We appreciate your business and hope that you had a wonderful time in Canada. Kind regards, Pavel Myska Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ceri J wrote a review Sep. 2022
9 contributions5 helpful votes
Arrived in Chateau Jasper to be told the was no bar or restaurant available unless you are booked on a bus tour. Booking for independent travellers are second class citizens in this hotel. We were told we could get breakfast in their restaurant. That evening the whole of Jasper lost power for our entire two day stay. On waking up we found the hotel only served breakfast to residents on a bus tour. We were told by a I'll mannered reception manager that they only cater for food for bus tours and therefore we could not even get a cup of tea/coffee (being served to people on the bus tours) and basically we had to find the our own food and drink. They knew this as essentially impossible in the town. A offer of juice/water and perhaps a biscuit would have helped but this hotel abandoned their guest responsibilities. Walking around the town I estimate 15% of the private housing had generators but this so called superior hotel had no backup except for their phone and credit card machine. Advice avoid this hotel if not travelling by a bus tour, you are definitely a second class guest otherwise. Such a poor service backed up by terrible customer relations.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$85 - US$115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chateau jasper hotel jasper, chateau hotel jasper, jasper chateau hotel
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCanadian RockiesJasper National ParkJasper
NUMBER OF ROOMS
119
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Chateau Jasper (C̶$̶1̶3̶9̶) C$107 - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos (Alberta) - Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Chateau Jasper
Which popular attractions are close to Chateau Jasper?
Nearby attractions include Mount Edith Cavell Trail (1.0 km), Medicine Lake (1.0 km), and Jasper-Yellowhead Museum & Archives (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Chateau Jasper?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Chateau Jasper?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Chateau Jasper?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chateau Jasper?
Conveniently located restaurants include SnowDome Coffee Bar, The Raven Bistro, and Syrahs of Jasper.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chateau Jasper?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Chateau Jasper located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Jasper.
Are any cleaning services offered at Chateau Jasper?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Chateau Jasper?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Chateau Jasper offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Chateau Jasper?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Vieille Caserne De Pompiers De Jasper (0.9 km) and Gare Ferroviaire De La Canadien National (1.1 km).