We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tonquin Inn

TravelocityUS$173*
View Deal
18/06/2017 19/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Tonquin Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

969 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tonquin Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 868: English reviews
Edmonton, Alberta
Reviewed 9 September 2014

We had booked in March for a September one night stay. The suite we received was clean, albeit small, but well-equipped with a fridge, stove, microwave, coffee maker, television, kitchen table, chairs, Chesterfield, coffee table and two queen size beds, one of which was in the one bedroom, the second was in the main room with the Chesterfield and kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JetSetterJane
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely comments regarding your recent stay at the Tonquin Inn. We are thrilled you enjoyed the comfort and amenities of our family suite. We are especially delighted to read that Jasper's wildlife was there to greet you in the morning! We look forward to your next visit to Jasper National Park and the Tonquin Inn.

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 9 September 2014

Stayed here 2 nights recently. First of all, we had a room facing the road, and the noise from the trains and traffic was awful. The air conditioner was so loud, drowned out the tv. They charge way too much for the quality, the hotel is shabby, and needs refurbishment. They also overcharge on their pet fees. On a positive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SnowWhite1958
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you took to share your comments regarding the Tonquin Inn. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the family kitchen room and the amenities provided. The history of Jasper tells of its beginning as a railway town and trains still go through Jasper to this day making Jasper a unique destination. Pet fees are charged...

Newfoundland
Reviewed 9 September 2014

This is a very old place and way overpriced. I guess I expected more for $400+ a night. The bedrooms were very clean and comfortable. The living area was dingy and old. The breakfast was good. The location was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank conben
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Thank for sharing your comments on your stay at the Tonquin Inn. We are glad to hear that you found your room clean and comfortable. We consistently compare our rates with other hotels in Jasper to ensure that our guests are receiving the most competitive rate available. We look forward to seeing you return to the Tonquin Inn on your...

sydney
Reviewed 5 September 2014

This hotel is slightly out of town, about 15 minutes walk. The room we had, had two queen beds and there was still space. The bathroom was quite small, but adequate. A little renovation would go a long way. The beds were very comfortable. The hotel has a coin operated laundry. The restaurant on the premises offers great meals. You...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gitaSydney
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us at the Tonquin Inn. It is our top priority to provide our guests with a positive experience while visiting us. Renovating and upgrading our rooms is a ongoing process which we address on an annual basis. We thank you very much for sharing your experience and look forward...

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 5 September 2014

We stayed in a King room for one night while driving through the Icefields. Room was surprisingly large. The bathroom was small & dated but very clean, with large fluffy towels....not something you usually get in this type of hotel! The carpet was badly stained and could have used a good cleaning. The bed was great...very comfortable. The best surprise...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 91msp
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you were pleasantly surprised about the your accommodation and the breakfast. Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Tonquin Inn.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Even before getting to our room, we didn't like this place - shabby dirty carpets in the halls, some garbage/recycling storage in the basement facing the outdoor car parking... The room was tiny, with the beds taking up pretty much all the space. There was a table and a chair that a regular-sized adult couldn't get into, and if one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julia S
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

We offer our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your comments are being reviewed by our entire management team so as to rectify the mishaps encountered during your stay. We hope you had an enjoyable visit to Jasper National Park and a safe journey home. Thank you once again for sharing your comments.

Summerland, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We were just at the Tonquin one night over long weekend. Clean rooms, bed made with sheets over comforter (clean) and great hot tub at end of day. The breakfast was fabulous and had everything from cereal to eggs benny on it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angie Z
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Jasper and that we were given the opportunity to share this experience with you. We look forward to seeing you back at the Tonquin Inn on your next visit.

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Had the 2 bdr suite, nice room, furniture could use a bit of an update and the living room layout was odd for visiting and watching TV otherwise very comfortable. Definitely could use a TV in each of the bedrooms. Should extend the pool or at least hot tub hours, people usually would like to soak after dinner before bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Halls4hockey
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at the Tonquin Inn and that we were able to be a part of your 25th Anniversary celebrations. We have reviewed extending the hours of the indoor pool and outdoor hot tubs. Due to the close proximity of these amenities to other guest rooms, it becomes a...

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The room was really small but it was clean. I think it was priced too high but that is what you get for high season. The pool was good, need more towels. The breakfast tickets a nice feature. The breakfast was buffet style and it had a good variety and tastey. Overall it was ok jut overpriced.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tunde V
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay at the Tonquin Inn. All of the staff and management look forward to serving you again on your next visit to the Canadian Rockies and Jasper.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Average room that was overpriced but consistent with the prices in the area. Odd room configuration with toilet and sink in different rooms. Clean and comfortable but way too cramped and small given price paid for room.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank poltor
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your stay with us. We are happy to hear the positive aspects of your stay - clean and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Tonquin Inn on your next visit to Jasper.

539 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (206)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (66)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (325)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Hot Tub (5)
Viewed
Kitchen Two Twins One Queen (51)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Standard King Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Executive Suite (60)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Executive Suite with Dry Sauna (72)
Viewed
Two Queen (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
18/06/2017 19/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.6 km away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
341 reviews
0.1 km away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
849 reviews
2.0 km away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#14 of 17 in Jasper
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.9 km away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,436 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by majestic mountains and endless opportunities to appreciate the great outdoors, The Tonquin Inn provides a perfect getaway for adventure seeking families, friends and couples. Located in the heart of Jasper, this property features easy access to hiking trails, ski fields, rafting adventures and so much more! With its cozy sunken living rooms, convenient kitchenettes and "home away from home" charm, the Tonquin Inn is the ideal spot for an escape from the city! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tonquin Inn

Address: 100 Juniper St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Price Range: $134 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonquin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tonquin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonquin Hotel Jasper
Tonquin Inn Jasper, Alberta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tonquin Inn staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Tonquin Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best to get a room on the outside of the inner quad or you might get caught with parking difficulties.”
GregN456, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Try getting a room not on the 1st floor.”
Sunny_g1234567890, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms numbered in 300 series have a third floor patio open to sky. Excellent for star-gazing”
, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“See above.”
799tn, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a mountain view on an upper floor”
  • Family Kitchenette - Entry, TV stand & Table for 4
  • View outside Room entry
  • Family Kitchenette - Queen bed in bedroom 2
  • Family Kitchenette - Loveseat & Queen bed by entry
  • Family Kitchenette - desk & dresser in bedroom 2
  • Family Kitchenette - Full sized fridge and microwave
  • View from reception
  • Family Kitchenette - Kitchen stove sink coffee maker (toaster in cupboard)
mgI6736PC, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$173* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$384
Hotels.comUS$173
Hotwire.comUS$173
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates