We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tonquin Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tonquin Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

937 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tonquin Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 839: English reviews
Calgary, Alberta
Reviewed 14 July 2014

In Jasper overnight, the two of us with two other adults. So the kitchen room with separate bedroom was perfect, as it had a full bed in the "living room" There was a sofa bed too if you had one other adult or child. The hotel was quite old, but fairly well kept. The bed was ok, kinda soft. But...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MarshBird
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Canadian Rockies and that we were given an opportunity to share this experience with you. We look forward to seeing you back at the Tonquin Inn on your next visit to Jasper.

Perth
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here for one night in room 150. Much bigger than I expected with separate TV area and fireplace. Good bedding. Newish bathroom with nice products. There was a big tour bus parked outside, but it didn't seem to busy or noisy for the night we stayed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Halfwayhome101
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments and feedback and we are delighted to see that your room exceeded your expectations. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Canadian Rockies.

British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our room was very small, but comfortable. The only window was facing the outdoor hallway, so we could not open the curtains due to privacy concerns. Unfortunately smoking is allowed in the outdoor hallway and every time we opened the window for fresh air, the cigaret smoke was filling up the room. The hotel offeres a $12 buffet breakfast voucher...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ThePickyQueen
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay at the Tonquin Inn. We are definitely located in the quiet area of Jasper but still within walking distance to downtown. As all of our rooms are non-smoking, smoking outside is a challenge to control and I apologize for you being inconvenienced by other smoking guests. We hope to have...

New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The good, Lemon-aid at the from desk upon your arrival. Pine furniture, clean sheet, a full size fridge/freezer, stove, pots & pans. You really need this feature as the restaurants here are horrible & horrible expensive. Great towels. Pool & exercise room. The bad, Location(right across the train tracks with trains going by often. It's ok if you don't need...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darius S
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay at the Tonquin Inn. We are glad to see that you enjoyed one of our family kitchen rooms and the other amenities that we offer. Unfortunately, as Jasper was founded as a railway town, trains do come through Jasper on a regular basis. Upgrading of our property is ongoing and...

Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location to explore Jasper National Park and walk to local restaurants after a day of touring. Rooms are adequate but a tad tired. Nothing special about furnishings and amenities are ho-hum. Breakfast was included and it was nothing to write home about. In fact, second day we skipped it altogether. Front desk personnel could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2hi2cu
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at the Tonquin Inn. We were glad to read that you enjoyed our location, however, we were very concerned about the service you received at the Front Desk. We have very strict policies regarding the issuing of keys. Please be assured that your comments have been...

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Bedding is clean, but forget trying to sleep. We were given a 2 queen bed suite on the second floor in the building facing the tracks. The unit was right by the stairs (no elevator) and we could hear people passing our suite to get to theirs well into the night. The train kept passing, at least every hour it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia E
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

We are truly sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay with us. Jasper was founded as railway town and the trains still pass through Jasper on a regular basis which can be disconcerting for some guests. The Tonquin Inn is one of the few hotels in Jasper that provide AC units, which may not always...

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here for 1 night at the end of June in room 358 (top floor) which contains a queen sized bed and has a large terrace. We seem to find ourselves at the Tonquin at least once a year as we pass through Jasper. The Tonquin Inn is a pretty good place to stay. It's motor inn style, so you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CowboyChris
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

It was a pleasure the read your comments on your experience at the Tonquin Inn and that we are your property of choice when visiting Jasper. Your comments regarding the breakfast have been forwarded to the Restaurant Manager for him to address the issues you had. Thank you for posting your comments. We look forward to your next to Jasper...

Hod Hasharon, Israel
Reviewed 2 July 2014

A basic accommodation with a great location in JAsper. The rooms are very large, with two rooms . They give a coupon to a breakfast , the cost is 12$cad. The hotel located 5 minutes from the center of the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Motty G
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Great location and comfortable rooms are just a few of our many selling points. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Tonquin Inn. All of the staff and management look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed 24 June 2014

we stayed in a double kitchenette unit. The seasonal price was reasonable. The hotel is dated, but very clean, and attempts have been made to modernize the rooms (portable air conditioning, while a little noisy through the night, was welcomed. The rooms were clean, and the beds were newer and very comfortable. The front desk staff were friendly, very helpful,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Terry L
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you took to share your comments regarding the Tonquin Inn. I am pleased to see that you felt we were a clean hotel with friendly, helpful staff. All of the staff and management hope you enjoyed your stay in Jasper and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is not a new hotel but it has been maintained. We were there with a tour group. Our room was small but the beds were super comfy with great linens. Our bathroom was small with the sink outside. We were on the second floor but there is an elevator. There are chairs outside the rooms and many in our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cherryames1949
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Tonquin Inn. Creating positive guest experiences is important to us. I was glad to read that my staff exceeded your expectations and that you would not hesitate to stay with us again. Hopefully you will be in the Jasper area again soon and we look forward to...

530 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (197)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (57)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (325)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Hot Tub (5)
Viewed
Kitchen Two Twins One Queen (51)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Standard King Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Executive Suite (60)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Executive Suite with Dry Sauna (72)
Viewed
Two Queen (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.5 km away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
311 reviews
0.2 km away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
822 reviews
2.0 km away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#12 of 16 in Jasper
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
1,364 reviews
0.3 km away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by majestic mountains and endless opportunities to appreciate the great outdoors, The Tonquin Inn provides a perfect getaway for adventure seeking families, friends and couples. Located in the heart of Jasper, this property features easy access to hiking trails, ski fields, rafting adventures and so much more! With its cozy sunken living rooms, convenient kitchenettes and "home away from home" charm, the Tonquin Inn is the ideal spot for an escape from the city! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tonquin Inn

Address: 100 Juniper St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Price Range: $107 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonquin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Tonquin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonquin Hotel Jasper
Tonquin Inn Jasper, Alberta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tonquin Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Tonquin Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a mountain view on an upper floor”
  • Family Kitchenette - Entry, TV stand & Table for 4
  • View outside Room entry
  • Family Kitchenette - Queen bed in bedroom 2
  • Family Kitchenette - Loveseat & Queen bed by entry
  • Family Kitchenette - desk & dresser in bedroom 2
  • Family Kitchenette - Full sized fridge and microwave
  • View from reception
  • Family Kitchenette - Kitchen stove sink coffee maker (toaster in cupboard)
 of 5 bubbles mgI6736PC, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Parking is terrible arriving early may help if you a lot of gear with you”
 of 5 bubbles Zaytajett, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms on the top floor may be quieter, as the hotel is close to the road”
 of 5 bubbles waisikmau, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms look over car park - check when booking if you can have room with mountain view”
 of 5 bubbles ctimes2, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request the top floor so as not to hear the footsteps of guest above.”
 of 5 bubbles kellyndave13, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5