The Downtown, a Coast Hotel

The Downtown, a Coast Hotel

1026 Second Avenue, Dawson City, Yukon Y0B 1G0 Canada
Entrance to the bar
Traveller (63)
Room & Suite (34)
Breakfast
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#7 of 8 hotels in Dawson City
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Downtown, a Coast Hotel is located in the heart of Dawson City, combining turn-of-the century atmosphere with modern, newly renovated rooms. We are open year round. Be sure to try the world famous "Sourtoe Cocktail" in the Sourdough Saloon! The Downtown, a Coast Hotel is only a block away from the Palace Grand Theatre, Diamond Tooth Gerties and other historic sites. •34 guest rooms in main building with an additional 25 including pet rooms in the neighboring annex . •80 person Conference Room •Complimentary airport shuttle service •Free high-speed internet access •Business services for hotel guests •Jack London Dining Room full service restaurant with summer patio •Sourdough Saloon - Home of the World Famous "Sourtoe Cocktail" •Air conditioning in main building and fridges and microwaves in all rooms.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Restaurant
Darts
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Street parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Family
Languages Spoken
English

Location

1026 Second Avenue, Dawson City, Yukon Y0B 1G0 Canada
173Reviews2Q+A33Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 39
  • 65
  • 39
  • 18
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
JJToron2 wrote a review Aug 2020
Toronto, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
While the room was small once 2 Queen sized beds, a desk, air/con fan unit, bar fridge, microwave, coffee maker, kettle and 2 chairs were squeezed in, we were very grateful to have all of these amenities.
The beds were comfortable although covered with far too many pillows, all of which were so thick they would give you neck strain and headaches. We ended up using the 2 throw cushions as pillows, although it is possible they would have brought us thin pillows had we asked for them. Staff were both nice and efficient.
The walls are pretty thin and you can hear what is going on in the street, but we turned the fan on, and the white noise drowned out the other noises and we slept well. There is a restaurant with decent food in the hotel, as well as a good bar which is the home to the famous Sour Toe cocktail.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adam Gerle, Owner at The Downtown, a Coast Hotel
Responded May 15, 2021
Thank you for staying at the Downtown Hotel and for your kind words about the staff. We are proud of their efforts. And we appreciate your business and your feedback. It will help us impove the guest experience. The old buildings in Dawson do create sound proofing issues so we are happy to hear you devised a creative solution as we investigate options. Thanks again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanne J wrote a review Jul 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
They charge your credit card the full rate plus the deposit it takes days for the "refund" to be put back on your cc. Not a good policy in my opinion. Than we were told that there was only one night available instead of the two we asked for that they were booked solid for the Sunday night. When about to check out they asked if we wanted to extend our stay. We felt like we were a burden to the young man when we checked in. He was rude in my opinion and didnt have time or want to help us out so that we had a room for the 2 nights as we planned. The A/C had a bug cap of open air for insect to fly in
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Scemoore Williams, General Manager at The Downtown, a Coast Hotel
Responded Dec 7, 2022
Hello Joan, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate this. On the other hand, I am very sorry to hear about these inconveniences during your stay. When it come to the credit card pre-authorization this is only policy to secure the total charge plus $100 for the security about. We could have certainly made other arrangements to avoid holding the amount on your credit card. I also sorry about the maintenance issues you faced we would have asked our maintenance team to resolve this right away. Finally, I have to apologize for the poor customer service you experienced. We are constantly providing training for our staff to meet and exceed expectation. What you experienced is certainly not a standard of our and we will work on keeping every staff up to date on how to interact with our guests. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your feedback, Sincerely, Scemoore
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tiffany W wrote a review Aug 2022
Vancouver Island, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A bit disappointed in the cleanliness of the rooms . The carpets are very stained and dirty but room was clean. Comfortable beds but for the price and coast standard (I realize they are transitioning to coast recently), I'd expect higher quality cleaner rooms. Hot tub also permanently closed which was not noted on booking. The restaurant was decent and fit the experience of the klondike life. The sourtoe cocktail is worth it. Very unique. They let kids in until 9pm so they were able to get us in early on the list as we had babies. Registration for the toe is at 7pm. Something you just have to do while I'm Dawson.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid long weekends. There is laundry in building for guests and Cheaper than most places. There...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Scemoore Williams, General Manager at The Downtown, a Coast Hotel
Responded Dec 5, 2022
Hello Tiffany, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am sorry to hear about your disappointments with the carpets and the hot tub not being available. We were certainly going through a transition during our peak season. We anticipate more changes over the years as we continue to make the Downtown, a Coast Hotel the hotel to rest while experiencing everything Dawson has to offer. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to the city. Sincerely, Scemoore
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Denise F wrote a review Jun 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cenrally located in downtown Dawson City, the downtown hotel offers nice, clean rooms with complimentary coffee, toiletries and a fridge. The downstairs bar is famous for their sour toe cocktail - a must have as a tourist!
Very friendly and helpful staff. Would absolutely recommend it!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicole Horlbeck, Owner at The Downtown, a Coast Hotel
Responded Jun 22, 2021
Hello F9446SBdenisef , Thank you for choosing the Downtown Hotel for your most recent trip to Dawson City. Our entire team will appreciate the praise. And yes, our famous cocktail is certainly an unforgettable experience… guaranteed to keep you on your “toes”!! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AbCanada wrote a review Sep 2020
Kelowna, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is an older hotel that has seen better days. Rooms are small, dark and very dated - in fact this is the only hotel room that we have ever had in all our travels that only had a window into a lobby area - no outside light at all!

We were on the main floor and could hear every footstep and sound from the rooms above us. The walls are also thin and we could hear the TV in the neighbouring room.

Location is right downtown so handy for walking around the town.

Over-all, we expected the building to fit with the gold rush decor and image of the town but we did not expect the rooms to be so small, noisy, dark and just old, especially at the rates charged.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adam Gerle, Owner at The Downtown, a Coast Hotel
Responded May 25, 2021
Thank your taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your business and your honest comments. You stayed in our Annex where the rooms face a common courtyard area and atrium which is popular with some guests. Next visit we would be happy to book you into the main building which provides a more traditonal hotel experience. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back to Dawson in the near future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bryansargeantjr wrote a review May 2021
Kelowna
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Had to say here in lockdown for 14 days due to pandemic.
Hotel offers isolation rooms. Yet does not tell you no food available until noon. Only 2 dinner choices to choose from. No housekeeping to speak of.
When booking was told feeding isolation guests was a non issue. .Mmmmk
Prisoners in Canada literally have it better than what that hotel offered paying guests
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adam Gerle, Owner at The Downtown, a Coast Hotel
Responded May 15, 2021
Sorry to hear about your experince with us. Isolation stays are challenging and we appreicate you going through the process for eveyone's safety. The safety of our guests, staff and community is our numer one priroity and we strictly follow the Yukon Government health guidelines based on the recommendations of the Chief Medical Officer of Health. And part of their isolation policy is no housekeeping is allowed in the room during a stay. So we give isolation guests a care package upon check in. More items can be requested at any time from the front desk which will be delivered to outside the door. Food delivery options from other restaurants are available when our facilites are closed or if you are seeking variety. Our front desk staff will be happy to help anyone make arranagements if you call them. We understand your frustration so will work on getting people better information of how isolation works before they check in so they are better prepared for the experience. Thanks again for doing your part for the saftey of Yukon residents and we hope your next hotel stay is under more pleasant circumstances.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenny G wrote a review Jul 2021
Whitehorse, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The experience from the one night we stayed is very pleasant. The staff were friendly and helpful. We got a room with two queen beds which were very well made and clean. The bathroom was filled with the important amenities. The Hotel has restaurant and bar. The restaurant offers a wide variety of food at reasonable prices. The quality of food we had there was good.
Overall, my family and I had a great stay at the Downtown Hotel in Dawson City. We will be back, for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicole Horlbeck, Owner at The Downtown, a Coast Hotel
Responded Jul 27, 2021
Hello Jenny G, it was a pleasure to host you at the Downtown Hotel. The aspects of your experience you covered (clean room, important amenities, helpful friendly staff, and hotel services) are what we always strive to provide for our guests. I will share your comments with our teams, to help celebrate their successes. Thank you for sharing your experience with future travelers, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David wrote a review Jul 2021
Whitehorse, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel is aptly located to experience all that Dawson has to offer, with great service by friendly staff. Our room was located at the back of the Hotel, and was quite and clean with a king size bed and view of the Historic buildings backing onto the Alley. The Hotel has a Restaurant and Bar that recreate the historic Gold Rush period which puts you in a Nostalgic stance to continue exploring the rest of Dawson. The staff, also dressed in period pieces, provided direction and set up tours to explore the area during our stay. Overall a Great Vacation had by our family.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicole Horlbeck, Owner at The Downtown, a Coast Hotel
Responded Jul 14, 2021
Hello DueNorthThenSouth, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our location and the room you stayed in along with the services provided. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert U wrote a review Aug 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dawson City is a no-miss Canadian town of around 2500 residents. The Downtown Hotel has a lot of character. The rooms are small but in very good shape with comfortable beds and a nice bathroom. The Sourdough Saloon at the hotel has a great atmosphere and good food. It was disappointing that the hotel's restaurant was closed but such is the nature of staff shortages everywhere these days.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kristen Algar, General Manager at The Downtown, a Coast Hotel
Responded Aug 31, 2022
Thank you so much for such a positive review!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DRFree wrote a review Aug 2023
Lethbridge, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
On a very hot afternoon we stopped in for a cold beer and a burger. The food was as expected for a bar, the beer was nice and cold. The problem we had was with whom we presumed was the owner/manager/supervisor. This loud buffoon sat at his little Reserved table in the middle of the dinning room and loudly spoke, for all to hear, at the staff, his friends and customers. If you see someone sitting at the reserved table in the middle of the restaurant, seat yourself as far from him as you can.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kyle McKinnon, Owner at The Downtown, a Coast Hotel
Responded Aug 29, 2023
We’re sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with one of our regular patrons. We strive to create a comfortable and enjoyable atmosphere for all of our guests, and it's disappointing to learn that this wasn't the case for you. We take disruptive behavior seriously and will definitely address the situation. Our staff is trained to manage such incidents promptly and effectively, ensuring that all guests can have a pleasant time without any disturbances. Please know that your feedback is invaluable to us. We use it to improve our services and ensure that every visit to our bar is a positive one. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and hope that you'll give us another chance to provide you with a better experience in the future. If you have any further concerns or information to share, please don't hesitate to reach out to us directly. Sincerely, Kyle Director, Public Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert S asked a question Aug 2018
Wasilla, Alaska10 contributions1 helpful vote
are pets allowed in the rooms?
Answer from Downtown H
9 contributions
Hello Robert, We do have very few pet friendly rooms and only those accommodate pets
Robert S asked a question Aug 2018
Wasilla, Alaska10 contributions1 helpful vote
Are pets allowed
Answer from CatchBooker
New Mills, United Kingdom287 contributions94 helpful votes
I didn’t travel from England with a pet, “YOU” are why trump is president, big kiss :)
RK6606 wrote a tip Sep 2022
Mississauga, Canada6 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Downtown hotel is place to avoid. Restaurant is great, but stay away from the hotel"
Read full review
Tiffany W wrote a tip Aug 2022
Vancouver Island, Canada120 contributions56 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid long weekends. There is laundry in building for guests and Cheaper than most places. There is no wheelchair ramp but there is an outdoor lift "
Read full review
TravelGal011070 wrote a tip Aug 2021
Ponoka, Canada74 contributions36 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy the eggs Benedict in the restaurant with great service. Try the famous Sour Toe cocktail in the bar. The hotel staff are awesome!"
Read full review
IsobelandDick wrote a tip Sep 2019
Launceston, Australia147 contributions51 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms are all quite as no one much is around. Crime well forget it I don't think it happens in this town."
Read full review
Lynn G wrote a tip Aug 2019
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose another Hotel with friendlier staff"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dawson City area.
PRICE RANGE
C$211 - C$253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
downtown hotel dawson city
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Downtown Hotel
LOCATION
CanadaYukonDawson City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
57
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Downtown, a Coast Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Downtown, a Coast Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Downtown, a Coast Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Diamond Tooth Gerties Gambling Hall (0.2 km), Dänojà Zho Cultural Centre (0.2 km), and Robert Service Cabin (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Downtown, a Coast Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Downtown, a Coast Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Downtown, a Coast Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Downtown, a Coast Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Downtown, a Coast Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Drunken Goat Taverna, Aurora Inn Restaurant, and Triple J Hotel Restaurant.
Is The Downtown, a Coast Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Dawson City.
Does The Downtown, a Coast Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Downtown, a Coast Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Robert Service Cabin (0.2 km), Klondike National Historic Site (0.3 km), and Jack London Museum (0.8 km).
Does The Downtown, a Coast Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Dawson City HotelsDawson City Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Dawson CityHotels near The Downtown, a Coast Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars