Holiday Inn Express Kamloops, an IHG Hotel

Traveller (77)
Below ground pet friendly room on the first floor. It looks ok in the photo but I found it to be dark and depressing.
Room & Suite (105)
Breakfast Area
Dining (19)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, Apr 25
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
C$135
Fully refundable before Thu, Apr 25
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
C$135
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#16 of 51 hotels in Kamloops
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Kamloops is furnished with our guests in mind. We invite you to experience our personalized service in stylish comfort. Whether you are traveling for business or during a British Columbia vacation, our award-winning Kamloops hotel's mission is to provide our guests with an unforgettable stay. Given Kamloops's location at the juncture of a few major highways, the town has become a business hot spot in the British Columbia Interior. Our Kamloops hotel's location provides business travelers with quick and easy access to downtown. The Holiday Inn Express Kamloops hotel is the perfect stop-off between the Rocky Mountains and Vancouver. The region offers a rich variety of geographical terrain, with mountains, lakes, rivers, and forests. Leisure guests will find no end to outdoor adventures near this British Columbia lodging.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Business Centre with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
454Reviews3Q+A69Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 155
  • 177
  • 54
  • 38
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ed D wrote a review Mar 2023
Winkler, Canada52 contributions23 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed two nights at this hotel in February. The check in staff was helpful. Our room was quiet and the beds were okay. We had to get help with the T.V. but the staff was very helpful. Unfortunately the hot tub was a cold tub. My husband informed the desk and we were told that it would be fixed the next day. It wasn't. We complained again and we were offered money off our bill. Breakfast was good and the breakfast lady was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Abdullah Tasin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kamloops, an IHG Hotel
Responded Mar 9, 2023
Hi Ed D, Thank you for the 4/5 review. We appreciate the time you take to leave a feedback for us. I apologize for the inconvenience with hot tub. We ended up needing a part that is not available and have to be ordered from an authorized vendor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will have our hot tub running when you visit Kamloops next time. Thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
karla L wrote a review Jul 2022
6 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here at the beginning and end of my vacation, as it is a halfway stop. Most hotels have returned back to lobby coffee, I usually look forward to this, they had none.
The following morning, I went to the lobby as it was still breakfast, and wanted a coffee. This is where I was supper annoyed, I’ve stayed at Holiday inn locations in many cities and this has been the ONLY location that DONES NOT offer coffee cream! That is such a morning staple! They only offer that crappy liquid CoffeeMate or milk. There was no regular coffee cream! What a joke! The also had really small paper cups and not even the “medium sized” cups with the holiday inn graphic.

The little amenities such as body cream, shower cap and tips were different brands both times I was there. Lol
In their little “snack shop” they also were selling the combs that you can request for Free! - the black Conair brand combs which I had once needed at a different location and received for free, this location was selling for $3.50.

The location here is great, right off the highway, we’ll lit, close to the mall etc.

Room was OK clean ( for a pet room). DEF needs the carpets washed, many stains but no smells.

This hotel needs to focus on the little things,
Please please, those of us who like a morning cup of
Coffee need real cream not the fake coffeemate!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Bring your own coffee cream. Hot tub was out of service at both the beginning and still at the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Abdullah Tasin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kamloops, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jul 29, 2022
Hi Karlalaperl, Thank you sharing your experience and feedback with us. Suggestions has been noted and management has been informed about it as well. We care about our guests and we will work on getting our guest experience better, thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PGtravellers2011 wrote a review Sep 2020
Prince George, Canada77 contributions49 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed one night in mid-sept 2020. Bed was very hard, the air conditioning was incredibly loud (necessary to have on given both the warm temps and smoke - it clicks on and off all night and as the compressor is super loud it would wake us up each time the AC kicked in) and the breakfast was not good. They have implemented Covid safety measures - so masks are needed in common areas and they serve you breakfast to take back to your room, so that’s ok, but the food for breakfast was not good (powdered eggs, turkey sausage patties, etc). Have stayed at many other hotels in the same area and would go to one of them in the future and avoid this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Kamloops, an IHG Hotel
Responded Oct 4, 2020
Hi PGtravellers2011, Thank you for leaving us a review for your recent stay. We are committed to providing an inspiring and refreshing experience. I am sorry that your stay was not reflective of this. We appreciate your honest feedback and for bringing this to our attention. Our team would like to assure you that your thoughts about our service lapses are heard and this has been liaised accordingly with our local management. We always challenge ourselves to be better and feedback like yours will serve as a constant reminder to enhance our Service Hospitality. Please stay with us again soon so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction and comfort. We look forward to having the opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Alice P​ Case Manager​ IHGService​
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Molly72 wrote a review Jul 2020
4 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We have tried contacting the hotel directly and the HIE head office regarding our stay in the Kamloops Holiday Inn Express 5 days ago. To date, we have not received a response.
We stayed for one night July 22-23rd and selected the hotel because of the positive experiences we had with the chain in other cities. However, this location was a complete disappointment. The first issue we encountered was with the carpet in our room. It was very damp/wet in some areas, to the point where we had to wear our shoes as our socks were soaked through. We assumed that because it was a pet friendly room, that the carpets had been steam cleaned after the previous guest.
The bigger issue was with what we found crawling in the bed and floor the next morning. My partner woke up and screamed that there was a bug crawling on her and flicked it out of her hair. We then found a different type of bug crawling on the floor next to the bed and another one, again a different type near the bathroom. When I spoke to the front desk clerk and showed him the pictures of the bugs, I was simply told to email the general manager directly. No apology, no offer to credit our stay, no attempt to repair the customer experience.
To say I am disappointed in the lack of customer service and cleanliness in the hotel would be a significant understatement. There are a lot of hotel choices in Kamloops, we will certainly be making a different choice on our next trip through.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Kamloops, an IHG Hotel
Responded Oct 1, 2020
Hi SMolly72, Thank you for writing to us about your experience and for your continued patronage. Our team strives to provide a simple yet rewarding stay. I reviewed your comments and was surprised by what you described. I’m sorry for the issues you had with the wet carpet, front desk and the lack of communication among others. I understand your disappointment. I assure you that these are isolated incidents and that they don't reflect what we consider as great quality of service. I forwarded your comments to our management and they are taking the proper steps to prevent this from happening again. I sent you a private message so we can discuss your stay. I invite you to visit us on your next travel journey. Oscar C. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brenda O wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Be careful when booking on the number on the hotel webpage. I even asked the person I spoke with where she was and her response was "we can book for you in Kamloops". When I filed a complaint, the company said they would refund $10 US which is about $40 US short and I have not rec'd the refund to date. My room was lovely, however, my brother was in a wheelchair room that barely had room for the wheelchair to move past the bed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Kamloops, an IHG Hotel
Responded Aug 28, 2020
Hello 502brendao, I only want comfortable accommodations for you, and I appreciate your taking the time to give us feedback. I am sorry to learn that your experience fell below expectations. I have shared your comments with the hotel management. I know they will use it to make improvements. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope you will allow us to serve you again in the future. Warm thoughts, Deborah R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
J A wrote a review May 2022
Salmon Arm, Canada2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ll start out but saying I am not a very picky person but this one made me feel like I was .
Checked in and they could not find me in their system . No problem I have them my confirmation number and explained I booked through Expedia .
All checked into my room and was sent on my way - went to the 4th floor and opened room only to see that they had checked me into someone else’s room —
Quickly left room embarrassed and went to check in and let them figure out the mix up . Got everything figured out and front desk was very apologetic.
Room that I was given had very stained carpets , a very strong scent that was not appealing and to top it off a stained duvet .
It was after 9pm when I realized the duvet was stained , I went to front desk to ask for a new duvet and they gave me a very over used fuzzy blanket .
The fuzzy blanket literally had blue tape stuck all over it .
Decided that I would just sleep without a blanket and thought to turn on the heat …. Nope the heating cooling system was broken and would not work.
To top the evening off I received a phone call at 11:17 pm from front desk asking me what room I was in as there was a system error —- uhhh couldn’t have waited until morning on my opinion .
All this left me feeling very uncomfortable and not very safe . I was happy to check out in the morning and I can say that I Won’t stay again especially with all the options in Kamloops.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Harmesh Borole, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Kamloops, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jun 16, 2022
Dear 887ja, Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Kamloops. We are glad that you chose to stay with us out of all the options available to you. Please accept my sincere apologies as we fell short on delivering the perfect product and excellent service we vouch for. We are already re-designing our check-in process to avoid mishaps as such. Our Executive Housekeeper has also been made aware of the issues you mentioned. We use PTAC systems in our guestrooms that are user friendly and can be switched from Cool to Heat by hitting one single button. I request you to contact me directly at H.Borole@MundiHotels.com to discuss the matter further. Looking forward to getting in touch with you so that I can Make it Right for you. Regards, Harmesh Borole
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karina wrote a review Aug 2022
Toronto, Canada61 contributions34 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Was unimpressed with the hotel from the start. Rooms were very small compared to the other IHG hotels I had stayed in this entire trip. Breakfast was supposed to start at 630, and I was advised they were "a little late". Full breakfast was not laid out until 0730, and even then they did not have the variety of foods I had experienced at other IHG hotels. Staff did not seem to care. As the eggs and bacon looked completely disgusting, I didn't try it. They didn't put out any cinnamon buns as well - in all honesty I could be cranky as this comes as the last stop at the end of a cross country move, but overall I felt the service at this hotel was severely lacking and I would definitely not stay here again. Way way way too expensive for what you get.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Definitely not worth it for any room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Harmesh Borole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kamloops, an IHG Hotel
Responded Sep 1, 2022
Dear themusicalwanderer, Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. Holiday Inn Express provides the best lodging experience for every guest, and I'm sorry for the issues during your stay. I will personally follow up with the team on your experience and ensure that it is not repeated. We hope you can give us a chance to regain your trust and confidence in our service. Stay Safe!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lloyd217 wrote a review Jul 2021
Saskatchewan, Canada39 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Everyone was busy, but friendly and ensured they did what they could to make our stay pleasant. Very clean hotel with many amenities. The location makes it easy to leave Kamloops and continue on their way to where they want to go.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Taker advantage of the breakfast!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael wrote a review Apr 2023
Prince George, Canada9 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We got there at 2pm and the parking lot was completely empty,. We thought "ohh good, our room should be ready by now". We went inside to check in and the front desk lady said our room won't be ready until 3pm. She didn't even check with any cleaning staff people to confirm that they had no rooms available. We find that very strange as I would think they would have cleaning staff on in the mornings and would have cleaned some rooms by that point, not everyone checks out late at noon. It was just every annoying to have to sit and wait in our car for 1 hour with a 5yr, after travelling for so many hours. We'll definitely think twice about staying with Holiday Inn Express in the our future. We travel a lot, both with our jobs and leisure and have never seen a hotel so strick with a 3pm check-in time.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Abdullah Tasin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kamloops, an IHG Hotel
Responded Apr 4, 2023
Hi MichaelaZ8145VG, please accept our sincere apology. We do have a late check out time of 12 pm and if the rooms are not fully ready with all the amenities then the front desk agents ask the guests to come back around check-in time. Housekeepers and front desk agents communicate via our communication app on the computer. We dont want our guests to walk into a room that is not properly ready. Empty parking lots usually means we had a lot of departures which leads us to having a little difficulty of early check ins. Again, We do apologies for the inconvenience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
J0hnusher wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the over priced HIE looking for a standard experience. Room was clean but they missed the mark on a few things that would have enhanced the experience. A did raise several issues as did other patrons and they had an excuse for everything. The hot tub was a cold tub and I was told there was no maintenance on duty ( tub was out for at least three days during the week). The parking lot had no lighting and was dark and did not feel safe( they said they were working on it). The side door would not accept the room key although the sign said use your card for entry.( employee said it was broken for awhile) Gate to the upstairs area was not working( front desk said it was broken and the patio was not open except you could go through the pool area to the patio. The room did not have enough towels so I had to track down the cleaning staff as no one answered the front desk phone.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: View the room first.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Kamloops, an IHG Hotel
Responded Oct 19, 2022
Hi J0hnusher, We appreciate you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Kamloops for your leisure stay. I would like to offer our sincere apology for the issues you encountered during your stay with us. Your honest review is very important, and I will share this with our appropriate hotel team to take necessary action to prevent any issues from reoccurring in the future. I hope we'll remain to be your dependable choice, as we promise to make your stay more memorable and exciting. Yours in hospitality, Melissa P Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Alvin C
Canada1,244 contribution209 helpful votes
Your question should be for the hotel management, not for regular travellers like myself. Sorry. Simply Google their phone number and email and then you'll get your question answered.
Answer from Elle009
Vancouver28 contributions38 helpful votes
Hi! I think you will find the walk fairly easy. The casino is pretty much right across the street, with sidewalks , I think, on both sides. If not, one side for certain. There is a bit of a hill, but not too bad at all. Hope you enjoy your time. Cheers!
Claire A wrote a tip Aug 2023
Vancouver, Canada2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay here!"
Read full review
K L wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"I’m not sure how this has a 4 star review? This hotel is very dirty and run down. It has not been cared for at all! "
Read full review
Kanchana F wrote a tip Jul 2023
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check reviews and stay elsewhere if they don’t improve cleanliness."
Read full review
J0hnusher wrote a tip Sep 2022
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"View the room first."
Read full review
Karina wrote a tip Aug 2022
Toronto, Canada61 contributions34 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definitely not worth it for any room."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kamloops area.
PRICE RANGE
C$150 - C$281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express - kamloops hotel kamloops, holiday inn kamloops
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaKamloopsAberdeen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
81
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Holiday Inn Express Kamloops, an IHG Hotel - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Kamloops, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Kamloops, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Cascades Casino Kamloops (0.2 km), Lil' Monkey's Treehouse Indoor Playground (1.1 km), and Aberdeen Mall (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Kamloops, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Kamloops, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Kamloops, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Kamloops, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Kamloops, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include ROMEOs Kitchen + Spirits, Gui Korean BBQ, and Arigato Sushi.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Kamloops, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Kamloops, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express Kamloops, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Holiday Inn Express Kamloops, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Kamloops HotelsKamloops Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KamloopsHotels near Holiday Inn Express Kamloops, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars