We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

732 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 703: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2016

The staff are young, friendly and energetic. Always a smile and willing to assist. The room was clean and spacious. The location is right downtown and close to excellent restaurants and shops. I would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Marianne B
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Marianne B, Thank you for reviewing The Thompson Hotel . I am pleased that you found our hotel clean and our team members friendly. We try hard to make every guest feel at home every day. We hope to see you in the future. Kind Regard, Jocelyn Bennett Hotel Manager More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Very friendly and accommodating staff! Rooms are clean, plenty of restaurants and activities within walking distance. Pool, games room are awesome. Had a great time here! Would definitely recommend! We'll be back! One word of caution - the Italian restaurant (Vittorios?) beside/in this hotel is horrible. Avoid.

Helpful?
Thank Christy B
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Christy B, I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete the review of the Thompson Hotel as we appreciate the input and the business. We are so happy you had a chance to really enjoy team. We are sorry about the meal you had at Vittorio's Restaurant and we will certainly pass the information on.... More 

Langley
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2016

We have had to make many trips through and to Kamloops this past 18 months. We always stay at the Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre. The cleanng staff go above and beyond (picked up all my boys stuffed animals and displayed them on a bed like it was at home), and always friendly. WE love that there is not only... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 426jillianc
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear426Jillianc, I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete the review of the Thompson Hotel as we appreciate the input and the business. We are so happy you had a chance to really enjoy team Thompson hospitality. We hope to see you back. Kind Regards, Jocelyn Bennett Hotel Manager More 

Courtney
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2016

We decided to stay at The Thompson Hotel on our driving trip to Calgary based on the Trivago recommendations. They were right on! The service was amazing and the manager Jocelyn Bennett obviously knows how to treat both her staff and guests. We immediately decided to stay at The Thompson on our way back from Calgary and have since, recommended... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank terryf686
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Terruf686, Many thanks for sharing such great feedback on Trip Advisor! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Hospitality & Service. It is our responsibility to assist you in any way we can, and it's great to see we were able to go above and beyond for you. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your... More 

Norley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2016

An overnight stop from the Rocky Mountaineer train in this centrally located hotel. Very clean and a good nights sleep was had. We did not eat here so cannot comment but there are plent of eateries within walking distance

Helpful?
Thank Woooodentop
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Woooodentop, Many Thanks for sharing your review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate all the great feedback. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your Rocky Mountaineer holiday. Kind Regards, Jocelyn Bennett Hotel Manager More 

Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

We overnighted here from the Rocky Mountaineer train and it is a lovely hotel with very welcoming staff.m nice big room, clean and our luggage was already there. Only drawback for us was that we had a neon sign right outside the window and the curtains didn't quite meet. Had decent sleep though. Plenty of hot water and OH enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Coffdrop60
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Coffdrop60, Many Thanks for sharing your review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate all the great feedback. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff, location and hospitality. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your Rocky Mountaineer Adventure. Kind Regards, Jocelyn Bennett Hotel Manager More 

Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2016

Wonderful friendly and helpful staff. The bed and bedding were 5 star quality. Breakfast was more than we expected with both hot and cold selection. The location was close to quaint down town area and for great cycling along the river. We also enjoyed an early morning swim in their lovely pool. The staff put us on a quiet floor... More 

Helpful?
Thank nonamecanucks
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Nonamecanucks, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your feedback. Glad to hear you enjoyed our great downtown location and hospitality. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future. Kind Regards, Jocelyn Bennett Hotel Manager More 

New City, New York
Level Contributor
191 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2016

The staff at this place is so polite, it was incredible. They come and greet you outside, when you arrive. The building is bigger than it looks, once you get inside. I had to hike a little bit to get to my room because it's a conference center as well as a hotel. It is probably one of the better... More 

Helpful?
Thank oatografia
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear oatografia, Many thanks for sharing such great feedback on Trip Advisor! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Hospitality & Service. It is our responsibility to assist you in any way we can so you feel like you are at home. Kind Regards, Jocelyn Hotel Manager More 

Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

Everything was just perfect to host a group of 25 MBA students for an educational trip. There was no room for any type of complaints. The staff was super courteous and professional. The rooms were spic and span. It was very well located in the downtown area with lots of options to eat and shop around in the hood. Everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rohan V
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Rohan V, I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete the review of the Thompson Hotel as we appreciate the input and the business. We are so happy you had a chance to really enjoy team Thompson hospitality. We hope to see you back. Kind Regards, Jocelyn Hotel Manager More 

.
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Great amenities, very clean, great location, and very friendly staff . We were there for a girls softball tournament, so the entertainment room was awesome for the kids and families to get together and hang out.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank D1310ZQheatherg
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear D1310zheatherg, Many Thanks for sharing your review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate all the great feedback. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff, location and hospitality. Kind Regards, Jocelyn Bennett More 

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Hotel 540
#8 of 55 in Kamloops
1,237 reviews
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kamloops
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Thompson Hotel is located downtown close to Interior Saving Centre, Kamloops Curling Club, Lake City Casino. Hotel amenities include; indoor pool, hot tub, fitness centre, business centre, games room and free breakfast. Two on-site restaurant; The Noble Pig Brewhouse &Vittorio's Downtown. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: 650 Victoria Street, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Price Range: $99 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Hotel Kamloops
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#10 Family Hotel in Kamloops
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room far away from ventilators !”
 of 5 bubbles ton39, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Back rooms have the view of far mountains.”
 of 5 bubbles caiom835, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher level with mountain views would be my pick.”
  • Robes, iron, ironing board.
  • Two large comfy beds with side tables and lamps.
  • Good selection of toiletries with writing large enough to read in the shower.
  • Chair and coffee table. Bar fridge with crisper and ice box
  • View towards the mountains.
 of 5 bubbles Sally-1309, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Have the breakfast. It is great”
 of 5 bubbles ELLRAY, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms to the north get noise from trains, to the south you get traffic noise, but if you keep the window closed the noise is not unpleasant.”
 of 5 bubbles kelownakid, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay