We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

689 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 638: English reviews
Williams Lake, Canada
Reviewed 26 January 2017

We arrived without a reservation mid-week in January, we were greeted warmly by Rohan and informed that the dining room opened at 5 but if we wanted to eat earlier they would open when ever we wanted, we then learned that we were the only guests that particular day, everybody treated us with more warmth and friendliness than we have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ltm48
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear ltm48, Wow! I love the title of your review and I loved reading about your experience while staying with us. Thanks for sharing these positive comments on TripAdvisor for other potential guests to read. Thank you as well for choosing STIGR for a stay and I am absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed yourselves. Rohan will be happy that you...

Calgary
Reviewed 26 January 2017

My husband and I stayed at the South Thompson Inn & Conference Center recently. We were only there for one night. The reception was excellent - very helpful staff. Our room (King Romance) was beautiful with a balcony overlooking the river. There was a Jacuzzi tub and a beautiful big bed with a fireplace. We had dinner at the restaurant....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank c00kie14
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear c00kie14, Thank you for your 5 out of 5 review! Our whole team sure appreciates all of your very complimentary comments. Karen, our Executive Chef will appreciate you mentioning you enjoyed her food. I am thrilled you both enjoyed your time with us and equally thrilled you will be back for another visit. Thank you for saying that! David

Reviewed 16 January 2017

We were very pleased with our 4 night stay at the South Thompson Inn over the Christmas holiday season. We were especially impressed with the friendly people who run the hotel. They were very personable and willing to please. They went out of their way to accommodate some of our special needs. The room was very clean, the view of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lenora P
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Lenora P, thank you so very much for your complementary review! I am so happy you enjoyed your 4 night stay with us! We have a great team and they will appreciate you mentioning their personal attention. All we have is guest service and you have helped us stay #1 on TripAdvisor. So thank you. Would love to welcome...

Cloverdale, British Columbia
Reviewed 30 December 2016

This was our first trip to the South Thompson during the winter months. It was a true winter wonderland in the scenic hills east of Kamloops. The Inn was cozy and warm and offered the usual great hospitality as enjoyed during our spring and summer visits. Some recent changes have made the Inn even more enjoyable. The Bourbon Lounge has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theshelleyhepburn
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear theshelleyhepburn, How great is this! Thank you so much for your very detailed and very kind words about your stay with us. Love the “home away from home” comment. I love that you started out visiting us for your business planning and now return for a relaxing winter get-away. Thank you for being a very loyal guest! You know...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 19 December 2016

I have to say, we weren't expecting much when we arrived in Kamloops itself but after just spotting a beautiful black bear and then arriving in the parking lot of the South Thompson Inn, everything started looking up!! The Inn itself it out of this world, full of "Southern Charm" and the most romantic looking place I have ever been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CathyMo
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear CathyMo, “Just wow!!!” back! We all appreciate all of your very positive and flattering words about your experience while staying with us! Our team will appreciate you noticing their care as will Peyton, named after Peyton Manning. He’s the fabulous dog owned by our daughter. Thank you so much for taking your time to share your comments about your...

Reviewed 14 December 2016

Slightly outside of Kamloops along highway 1, this is an inn worth staying in! Comfortable, clean and beautiful, the service is fantastic! Very clean and comfortable, plenty of parking, gorgeous scenery. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rayden V
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Rayden V, Thank you for taking your time to write a short and very very sweet review about your experience with us. We all sure appreciate your comments and love that you highly recommend us! Thank you again. David

Maple Ridge, Canada
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Very nice pet friendly hotel, service was good. My only complaint is after reserving a dinner we were seated in the bar area instead of the dining room, where people were playing cards loudly. While the food was excellent, the experience was off putting for celebrating my husbands birthday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rsisvixen
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear rsisvixen, I appreciate your positive comments and want to apologize about your dining experience. I was told about this the next day and had no idea why you were set in the lounge for dinner. Our server made a mistake and compounded it by not asking the other guests to please be more considerate. It is totally unacceptable how...

Homer, Alaska
Reviewed 30 November 2016

A little out of the way when traveling north through Kamloops but worth the driving inconvenience. When you turn through their gate onto the property there is a peace and tranquility expressed in the pastures, horse barns, and corals as you navigate the lane that is winding its way leading you to the Hotel. Although not fancy, it is in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jimblaine53
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear jimblaine53, Wow what a great review! Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your positive comments. I really love your title and I thoroughly enjoyed reading your review. Best in Canada. How great is that! We were satisfied before being “Best in Kamloops”. Karen, our Executive Chef will love your lamb comments. Service is our focus...

Reviewed 16 November 2016

My family of 5 booked a room here on our way out to the Island. Right from the moment you drive it is a wonderful experience. The grounds are beautiful! We were helped by Cody at the check in and he was so pleasant and kind, offering us many options to make our stay better including asking if we needed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mommabear865
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Mommabear865, Wow! Thank you so very much for your very positive and detailed review about your stay with us! I enjoyed reading your review very much! Cody, Brody, the chef you met, and my daughter Debra will be thrilled to read your comments about their part in making your stay so great. I would like to thank you for...

Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

When I had arrived there was a wedding party going on, because I was not part of the wedding they had put me on the far side of the hotel and in he upper floor just so I would not be disturbed by the wedding. It was quite nice of them, the room was clean and the view from getting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tristan W
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Tristan W, thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. I am so happy you stayed with us and so very happy you would recommend us. I appreciate you mentioning our team looked after you and made sure you had a quiet room Thank you again! David

724 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (232)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (77)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (415)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
King Romance Room (52)
Viewed
King Room (51)
Viewed
Manor King Room (45)
Viewed
Queen Room (46)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Finley Room (47)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
900 reviews
Hotel 540
#8 of 55 in Kamloops
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The "Unique Boutique" Inn is situated on 55 beautifully landscaped acres right on the South Thompson River. Guest accommodations are all individually decorated and feature balconies overlooking the spectacular mountain or river views, luxurious bathrobes, soaker or jetted bathtubs & complimentary wireless internet service. Adjacent to Rivershore Golf Links."Kentucky style" Inn with Western Hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Address: 3438 Shuswap Rd East, Kamloops, British Columbia V2H 1T2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Price Range: $96 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Thompson Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your South Thompson Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Thompson Inn - Guest Ranch
South Thompson Conference Center
South Thompson Inn And Conference Center
South Thompson Hotel Kamloops
Thompson Inn Kamloops
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#1 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Family Hotel in Kamloops
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kamloops
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from South Thompson Inn & Conference Center staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
Chester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Castro Valley, California
over a year ago
Herzelia
11 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from South Thompson Inn & Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Both Mountain view or River view rooms are well appointed and cozy.”
 of 5 bubbles theshelleyhepburn, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Each room is unique and follows a theme. All have views and balconies!”
 of 5 bubbles jimblaine53, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I don't know if the upper floor had rooms facing away from the river (and railway tracks) -- worth enquiring if you are a light sleeper”
 of 5 bubbles Tansay, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“River view best”
 of 5 bubbles happytrippers20, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A view of the farm on one side with little traffic vs the river i with a highway on the other side of the river.”
 of 5 bubbles JoeNWUSA, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5