We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

689 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 638: English reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We're traveling from Seattle to Jasper and stopped here for the nite. Ask for a river view room. King bed was very comfortable and room was recently remodeled. Dinner was superb and prices reasonable. Had the continental breakfast which is really a full breakfast and Pauline's service was superb.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wishware
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Wishware, I am happy you chose STIGR for a stopover between Seattle and Jasper. I am also happy you enjoyed your time with us. Pauline will love reading your comments about her service. I want to thank you for your mention of our continental breakfast as we have been listening to our guests and have added to our breakfast...

Seattle
Reviewed 1 October 2016

The center is about 10 miles east of the city but its location on the river as a previous horse ranch makes it special. We have the hot tub and pool overlooking the river to ourselves. We shared the property with a few European tour groups but did not know they were even there as dinners were in separate rooms....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoeNWUSA
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear JoeNWUSA, thank you so much for your very kind words! I am thrilled that we exceeded your expectations and love to hear you would return for another stay. My favorite meal is the local Kamloops Trout. Glad you joined us after your 5 days of camping. Glad we have tons of hot water. We would love to welcome you...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

nice looking hotel but a long way from anywhere Room was a good size with a comfortable bed. There was no safe in the room although the hotel advises that you out your valuables in the safety deposit boxes at reception.There are no deposit boxes only a hotel safe which staffbmembers have access to. there was bo fridge in roon....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Christine F, we are about 15 to 20 minutes outside of downtown Kamloops and we do feel that this is part of our charm. If any of our guests want a mini fridge in their room we are happy to provide one, just ask the front desk and it will be available upon check-in. Have not previously heard of...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 30 September 2016

This was my 5th stay here (we come here every year for a golf tournament) and I am really looking forward to it each time and STIGR never disappoints. I was so happy to see the expanded breakfast buffet this year. Loved it! The staff is so nice, thank you for you patience with us (our nights tend to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bubbelbine
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear bubbelbine, Wow! Thank you so much for being such a loyal guest! 5 years, how great is this. We do enjoy having you and your group here each year. I appreciate you mentioning the continental breakfasts. We have struggled with this and feel we now have the solution. Our guests will tell us if we do. Feedback so far,...

Blackpool, Lancashire
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We stayed for 1 night en route to Jasper. The property is set in fantastic grounds with beautiful scenery all around. We had a room overlooking the river and the views were just incredible. Room very spacious and bed huge and really comfortable. We enjoyed the use of the hot tub and made the most of the view! We ate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JP1
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear JP1, thank you choosing STIGR to stay en route to Jasper. Thank you as well for your very lovely review about your experience with us. Happy you found you bed comfortable as the main reason for the visit is a great nights sleep. Karen, our Executive chef will sure appreciate the great food comment. Love that you would recommend...

Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

I chose this hotel because of the positive reviews and the beautiful scenery shown on the pictures through Trip Advisor. And what we've experienced is far beyond our expectations. Besides the gorgeous scenery and the cozy clean room, we were impressed by the staff's extra help. As we would take grey hound in the midnight on the check-out day, we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Apple M
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Apple M, WOW I am thrilled that we exceeded your expectations! Thank you for all of your compliments about your time with us. I know Rocky will be thrilled that you mentioned him in your review and he was more than happy to take you to the greyhound station. We have a great team. Karen, our Executive chef will...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 September 2016

a lovely picturesque hotel about 5km off the main highway. Property backs onto the south thompson river and has lots of land previously used for orchards and paddocks still occupied by horses. Rooms nice and spacious and a nice breakfast available as well as a pool and hot tub. Recommend stopping at Kamloops wildlife park 5 minutes from the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tourleaderAuckland
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear tourleaderAuckland, I sure appreciate you staying with us and taking your time to share you experience with us on Tripadvisor. Most potential guests go onto Tripadvisor to read comments about where they are interested in staying so we are happy that they can read your comments to help them decide to come to stay with us. Great recommendation for...

Reviewed 28 September 2016

Very charming hotel with lots of character. I definitely recommend a stay. The hotel is located on a lovely parcel of land overlooking the river. The rooms are large, very clean; and the bathroom is bright and stocked with quality amenities. The clean bathrobes are a nice touch. My room overlooked the river and had a very nice patio with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandra L
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Sandra L, Wow! What great comments. Thank you so much for your review about your stay with us. I sure enjoyed reading your comments and thank you for sharing them on Tripadvisor. Thank you for recommending us and we would all love to welcome you back for another stay in the future.

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Third time we've stayed at this lovely property. Had a beautiful king room on the river. Sat on the balcony and had a glass of wine. Salmon coming up the river. Evening meal at the restaurant was again outstanding. It is very nice to know that you can count on quality

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barney M
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Barney M, I am thrilled to hear we are one of your favourite spots. We love when our guests return, three times and you still like us. To me this is the best compliment we can get. Thank you so much for saying that! Our team appreciates the time you have taken to write a review on Tripadvisor so...

Barrie, Canada
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Excellent location. Super friendly people. Comfortable rooms. Restaurant was good along with the breakfast buffet. Free coffee 24/7. Golf course next door. Horses and lama's on property to see and pet. Good location for Kamloops site seeing and golfing

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank majordakota
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear majordakota, thank you so much for your 5 out of 5 review! We all love reading such positive comments so thank you so much for those as well. We do have a great friendly team. Many of them read all our reviews and appreciate being mentioned. Hope you will return. Thanks David

724 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (232)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (77)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (415)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
King Romance Room (52)
Viewed
King Room (51)
Viewed
Manor King Room (45)
Viewed
Queen Room (46)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Finley Room (47)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
901 reviews
Hotel 540
#8 of 55 in Kamloops
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The "Unique Boutique" Inn is situated on 55 beautifully landscaped acres right on the South Thompson River. Guest accommodations are all individually decorated and feature balconies overlooking the spectacular mountain or river views, luxurious bathrobes, soaker or jetted bathtubs & complimentary wireless internet service. Adjacent to Rivershore Golf Links."Kentucky style" Inn with Western Hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Address: 3438 Shuswap Rd East, Kamloops, British Columbia V2H 1T2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Price Range: $96 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Thompson Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your South Thompson Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Thompson Inn - Guest Ranch
South Thompson Conference Center
South Thompson Inn And Conference Center
South Thompson Hotel Kamloops
Thompson Inn Kamloops
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#1 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Family Hotel in Kamloops
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kamloops
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from South Thompson Inn & Conference Center staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
Chester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Castro Valley, California
over a year ago
Herzelia
11 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from South Thompson Inn & Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Both Mountain view or River view rooms are well appointed and cozy.”
 of 5 bubbles theshelleyhepburn, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Each room is unique and follows a theme. All have views and balconies!”
 of 5 bubbles jimblaine53, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I don't know if the upper floor had rooms facing away from the river (and railway tracks) -- worth enquiring if you are a light sleeper”
 of 5 bubbles Tansay, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“River view best”
 of 5 bubbles happytrippers20, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A view of the farm on one side with little traffic vs the river i with a highway on the other side of the river.”
 of 5 bubbles JoeNWUSA, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5