We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson by Wyndham Downtown Kamloops

Save
Share
530 Columbia St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2V1 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Stay Twice & Earn a Free Night
Booking.com
US$100
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-08-20
Wyndham
US$100
View deal
ZenHotels.com
US$99
View deal
Expedia.comUS$100
TravelocityUS$100
Hotels.comUS$100
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (58)
Room & Suite (55)
Pool & Beach (1)

About

#33 of 55 hotels in Kamloops
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are located downtown right besides the Denny's Restaurant , 2 blocks away from the Kamloops' Royal Inland Hospital and across the street from the Kamloops court house. Many stores and restaurant are within 3 to 10 minutes walking distance from.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Stay Twice & Earn a Free Night
419Reviews0Q+A30Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 84
  • 90
  • 103
  • 60
  • 82
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
nancydavey2811 wrote a review Jul. 2022
Chatham, Canada1 contribution
What's with walking into people's rooms when they're a sign to somebody when knocking you're entering my room what if I had stuff in my room and gone out and left my wallet at my purse I shouldn't have to worry about someone entering after I've already booked the room and on top of that bring your kid with you I found it very invasive when you walked in my room with a kid in front of you and I'm half naked
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
bgulmans wrote a review Jul. 2022
1 contribution
Great little hotel conveniently located close to the hospital. Hotel is older but has been updated to give a more modern aspect. Only 2 stories and as it being older, sound does travel but with the ac on, it cancelled the noise out. If you are looking for a room to get some sleep and refresh before continuing on, this is a great and affordable place.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Allan W wrote a review Jun. 2022
Dumfries, United Kingdom82 contributions69 helpful votes
The reception staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was on the ground floor and was a bit dark, could do with a brighter paint scheme or better lighting. It was a bit cramped with two beds. The air conditioner was effective but noisy. I would say good for a two or three night stay, but not so great for a week holiday type stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
kbourg644709 wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
The hotel itself is old and run down, however, the rooms were very clean, the staff was helpful and kind, and the breakfast was spot on! I honestly can’t say enough about the staff here. I’d stay again for that reason alone.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Paulajyvr wrote a review May 2022
Vancouver, Canada1 contribution
The staff were very friendly and helpful. They let us leave our car at the hotel for an extra day without charge. The location is walking distance to the downtown, so easy access to restaurants, cafes and the river.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
lvande959364 wrote a review May 2022
Mount Vernon, Washington1 contribution1 helpful vote
Very outdated, cigarette smelling, unhygienic rooms. I would never stay here again. The beds were uncomfortable and the linens were soiled. The room was very hot, unable to adjust the thermostat. The AC unit was temperamental and would shut on and off, very noisy. I would never recommend this place to anybody. The upgrades are poorly done, dust collected in every corner, greasy surfaces, and wiped light switch services toilet, bedside table etc.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Guanajuato Bob wrote a review May 2022
4 contributions
I booked the room through booking.com, and wrote in the comment that I would be arriving at midnight. I did indeed arrive at midnight. The office was locked. Rang the doorbell, and nobody answered. The was a phone number on the door. I called it several times. No answer. I banged on the door and the windows. No response. There was another hotel next door, the Sandman Inn. There was a no vacancy sign on the door, but since I didn't have any options, I knocked on the door. Fortunately, they actually had a room available.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Don't book a room there at all.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
pcogga282840 wrote a review Sep. 2021
1 contribution
The room smelled like cigarettes very strong. AC wasn’t cold and very loud. Recommend the air freshener before the guest check in . The location is good close to everything. The price is ok for the location
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Howard Johnson Inn, Owner at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Downtown Kamloops
Responded Oct. 22, 2021
Dear Pcogga282840, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for giving us a review. We are sorry for all the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Our rooms are always inspected before they are rented out to the guests, in your case we fell short of expectations, wish if we would have been informed after the check-in, our staff would have happily assisted you. Rest assured we will address this with the maintenance department. Sorry for all the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Hope you would give us another chance to serve you better for the next stay. Stay safe and have a great year ahead.
Read more
Tom F wrote a review Aug. 2021
1 contribution
A family illness prevented us from staying at the motel. Staff was understanding and issued a refund without any hassle. However, in driving around back, it appeared that very sketchy activity was occuring. I would say drug related. Also the people in the front of the hotel were questionable. I cant speak to the rooms or the breakfast, but would recommend you pay an extra amount for another place. Despite friendly staff, i would definitely NOT stay ar this hotel. Parking lot around 8 pm did not apppear close to being full, which shows other people have similar views as mine.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Howard Johnson Inn, Owner at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Downtown Kamloops
Responded Mar. 29, 2022
Dear Tom, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for giving us a review. Sorry for all the inconvenience you experienced, we would appreciate it if you shared your thought at the time of canceling your reservation, we would happily explain our motel policy as being a reputated brand we have a zero tolerance policy towards illegal activity and we always try our best to provide a comfortable stay to our guests. Hope you would give us another chance to serve you better. Stay safe and have a great year ahead.
Read more
njosep223028 wrote a review Aug. 2021
Coquitlam, Canada1 contribution
The beds were old and saggy. The breakfast was missing. All you got was a Granola bar and an apple or orange. The reception told me that this was due to COVID 19 which I refuse to believe as all other hotels provide a proper breakfast
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Howard Johnson Inn, Owner at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Downtown Kamloops
Responded Oct. 22, 2021
Dear Njosep223028, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for giving us a positive review. We are extremely sorry for all the disappointment in regard to the breakfast. During these tough times, each one of us is going through a lot of challenges when it comes to dealing with the COVID-19 situation. We are a motel and not a restaurant, so our business operates differently when it comes to serving breakfast to the guest, despite that, we are making sure our guests have decent items to grab and go to start their day with fruits, bars, juice, muffins, or coffee for the road. Sorry, we couldn't meet your expectations, in regard to accommodating you and providing you with the continental breakfast.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$78 - US$133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
howard johnson inn kamloops downtown hotel kamloops, howard johnson kamloops, kamloops howard johnson
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaKamloopsCity Center
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Howard Johnson by Wyndham Downtown Kamloops
Which popular attractions are close to Howard Johnson by Wyndham Downtown Kamloops?
Nearby attractions include Kamloops Farmer's Market (0.3 km), BIG Little Science Centre (0.4 km), and Kamloops Art Gallery (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Downtown Kamloops?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Downtown Kamloops?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Downtown Kamloops?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Downtown Kamloops?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Howard Johnson by Wyndham Downtown Kamloops?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jacob's Noodle & Cutlet, Cordo Resto + Bar, and Frick & Frack Tap House.
Is Howard Johnson by Wyndham Downtown Kamloops located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Kamloops.
Are pets allowed at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Downtown Kamloops?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Howard Johnson by Wyndham Downtown Kamloops accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.