Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort

Traveller (609)
Room & Suite (387)
Pool & Beach (73)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, Mar 14
Get rewarded with One Key
C$269
Fully refundable before Thu, Mar 14
C$269
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#2 of 3 resorts in Kelowna
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Relax at Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort at our urban resort located on scenic Okanagan Lake. Immerse yourself in the lakeside ambiance amid British ColumbiColumbia'sountry at Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort. Set on Okanagan Lake and surrounded by picturesque mountains, our urban resort offers stylish hotel rooms and suites with deluxe amenities. Dine at our popular hotel restaurant and sip cocktails or wine on our lakefront patio. Stay fit in our fitness center or dip in our sparkling indoor and outdoor pools. Enjoy kayaking or skiing on Okanagan Lake, biking, hike or exploring local wineries in BC's premierBC'spe-growing region. An exciting getaway awaits you at our resort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Boating
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Paid private parking on-site
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Hiking
Water sport equipment rentals
Bowling offsite
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

1310 Water Street, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 9P3 Canada
1462Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 740
  • 436
  • 147
  • 76
  • 63
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
heidiplusfive wrote a review Jun 2021
Calgary, Canada46 contributions52 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
big shout out to the team at the delta okanangan ! our suite was spacious , clean and updated. excellent mattress and quality linens . cleaning staff did a very thourough job. front desk staff were helpful and thanks to andrew for assisting us with the overloaded luggage cart. the pool side is beatiful and well manged by a sanatizing team, and reservation desk offering complimentry water when you sign in (nice touch). the bar staff were helpful and courteous and never "hounded " us for more orders. there is a 20 dollar resort fee which is totally worth it. we used the bikes daily , along with the kayak. thanks to lydia for always making us feel welcome and accomadating our requests. also a drop in wine tasting from 2 - 5 daily hosted by some of the local wineries. very informative and fun! the resort fees also include coupons that can be used at the onsite restaurant and the coffee/sandwich bar. we dined twice at the restaurant"oak and cru" and had delicious meals ,and great service situated on a patio overlooking the lagoon. we had fabulous hot weather , so lots of pool time. but also enjoyed the great location of the hotel and its proximity to many walking paths. highly recommend for a local staycation and a great jumping off point for exploring the many beautiful attractons of the okanangan. keep up the good work !
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: we enjoyed the lagoon side
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort
Responded Jun 8, 2021
Dear heidiplusfive, Thank you for the generous rating of Delta Hotels Grand Okanagan Resort. We are delighted you enjoyed so much about your stay, most notably our friendly and helpful staff. Situated in the heart of the wine country and on the shores of the beautiful Okanagan Lake, our waterfront resort, we love providing our guests with an array of amenities for every traveler. Once again, thank you for being our guest. We hope you will come back to see us soon! Take care and safe travels. Matt Koenig Senior Manager, Rooms
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelly K wrote a review Jan 2020
25 contributions44 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 2 nights on our way home from Rossland. The staff are lovely and very helpful,the place is clean and we had a nice view. But it lacked the thoughtful touches that would make it a great place to stay
No extra towels,no bathrobes, no extra blankets or pillows. The coffee cups are disposable and were not replaced neither was the milk.
The air conditioner was unbelievably noisy and took a long time to heat up.
Great location as we walked everywhere. But would not go back
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort
Responded Jan 10, 2020
Dear Kelly K, Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel while recently visiting Kelowna and for sharing your helpful observations. While we are glad to see that some aspects of your visit were enjoyable, we regret knowing your experience was anything less than perfect. Please accept our apologies for the oversights in preparing your guest room, as we have routine procedures in place to ensure our accommodations are not only perfectly refreshed, but also well-stocked with essential items. Be assured that your feedback will be reviewed with our housekeeping team so that these mistakes are not repeated in the future. We do hope to welcome you again during a future visit so we can show you our dedication to excellence. Curtis Potter Director of Rooms
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thom F wrote a review Jan 2020
Wayzata, Minnesota11 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a one day layover before starting our family ski vacation and this was the perfect hotel to stay from the Kelowna airport. We used the free shuttle from the hotel (about a 15-20 minute ride. The room was spacious and since it was Christmas day, we used the hotel restaurant for dinner -- I rate the food very good. The wine selection was OK. The dessert was A+. The location of the hotel is right next to the lake. I'd rate the staff super A++ and very helpful. We used the indoor / outdoor pool in the evening and our daughter (12 year old) was able to enjoy it. (they even offer a "SPA" which we didn't have time to enjoy. Our room was spacious and clean and we slept well. The WiFi and TV selection was perfect for a one night stay. We enjoy a walk in the early morning and I can see why it would be a good location for a summer holiday stay. The location is also ideal. We could walk to a grocery store even though most places were closed for "Boxing Day". I most likely will book again on our next trip to Kelowna. Thank you Delta Hotel staff.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort
Responded Jan 8, 2020
Dear Thom F, Thank you for making the Delta Hotels Grand Okanagan Resort a part of your travel plans and for taking the time to let us know you and your family had a memorable stay with us. Our goal is to provide every guest with an outstanding experience through our passionate team, and we love knowing we exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your generous comments about our ideal location, pool, graciously appointed accommodations, the quality food at our restaurant, OAK + CRU Social Kitchen & Wine Bar, and our cordial associates. Evaluations like these inspire and motivate our team to continue delivering exceptional service. We look forward to hosting you every time your travels bring you to Kelowna! Curtis Potter Director of Rooms
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eldon D wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Delta Hotels asked how I enjoyed my stay, here is my answer.

My wife and I were looking for a break and since we love Kelowna, and to do things right we chose the Delta Hotel. We have medical exemptions for wearing masks and instead practice social distancing, we made the hotel aware of our situation so there would be no confusion.
When we first arrived we were harassed by the mask door guard, he said "you must wear a mask", when I said we have medical exemptions he demanded to know what our condition was. The nerve of this youngster, I said "this information is confidential" as he gave us a critical stare of disgust. We were again harassed by the janitor, a bald older German gentleman said to us in rude manner while we were waiting for the elevator, "where is your mask"? Not hello or excuse me but where is your mask. When we provided the same response as given to the mask door guard, and he also gave a rude stare with disgust. Then the restaurant waitress said to us "I seen you sneaked in without a mask, I will have you know that when you leave a mask is required". We answered we did not sneak in, why do you think this way of us? And we gave the same reason once again and this happened every day for 3 days every time we left our room. A very nice hotel and setting but our trip was full of tension, it was like being in a prison, although I don’t know how a prison feels but this was dam close and we absolutely hated our trip because of the very rude hotel staff. Just writing this aggravates me, how dare they treat people so rudely. In addition we booked our trip through Expedia, and they marked this on our room key envelope, I asked why they said you booked it on points and not through Delta, so it appeared we were discounted and marginalized because how we booked our stay. We were first put in a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the the air conditioning units, noisy and with no view probably because we booked with Expedia, after complaining we were moved to the 9th floor which was better.
As for services everything is on your own, the rooms are not cleaned on a daily basis, the coffee is not in the room and when requested it comes in a large plastic bag and left in front of the door, you may as well bring your own from home and consider yourself as camping in a 5 star hotel that feels like a 2 star hotel.
If you have any sort of medical condition I would strongly advise not staying with Delta hotels or any of the Marriott hotels for we were told they would all treat us the same.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Stay Stay Away
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort
Responded Nov 17, 2020
Dear eldond271, Thank you for evaluating your stay. The safety and security of our guests is always our utmost priority. We want to share that we are closely following and monitoring all applicable state, county, and federal mandates regarding COVID-19 and reacting appropriately in this fluid environment. We understand your situation and regret the inconvenience you experienced. We also apologize for the issues you encountered with your accommodations. We care about the satisfaction of our guests so we appreciate you letting us know what we can do to make your next stay perfect. We value your feedback and hope you will give us an opportunity to restore your confidence in us. Curtis Potter Director of Rooms
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nomad697698 wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Worst Marriot we have ever stayed. We paid almost $700 for one night. We checked in a little later after 6pm. They were packed. Nothing fancy about the hotel, not even their customers service, not much attention to guest. We tried and went to the dining and see if we could have dinner using the welcome voucher that was given but sadly they were full and we were not properly attended. We left and scooted downtown instead. Paying this much money for a resort, they should atleast have bottles of water as complimentary or an ice tea would be a good treat. Some guests checks in at a later time so there should be night activities not just days but nothing. They have a pool session thing and when we came in we no longer could book it as one session is from 6-9pm which is the last one for the day. We were back at around 12mn and was tired from scootering nearby places. Nothing extraordinary in the rooms, not a bar even or a microwave. At 4.30am, we woke up to loud alarm caused by fire and we had to walk the emergency exist from the 8th floor to downstairs. We were so disturbed by it that continuing sleep was hard considering we got back again to the room thru the 8th floor levels of emergency exit. Damn. I know its healthy good to get these walks done but I never wanted to get into a hotel in some place expecting to do this. Anyway at around 11.05am, some housekeeping lady opened the room and asked what time we were checking out. I think that was very rude and unbecoming for a Marriot. The hotel didnt compensate us for the inconvenience including the fire incident as they claimed it was not their fault. Was it ours then? I wouldn’t recommend this hotel for anybody and mostly for first time guest. Not good. Waste of money and time. Never again a Delta Marriot for Kelowna!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort
Responded Jul 23, 2021
Dear Nomad697698, We cannot thank you enough for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your detailed and insightful feedback. We were disappointed to learn we fell short of providing you with an outstanding experience. Please accept our apologies as well as assurance that your concerns have been noted and will be addressed. We want to be known for our excellent customer service and comfortable accommodations, so we hope to be given the chance to make your next trip to the area a total success. Thank you for being our valued guest. Please travel safely. Matt Koenig Senior Manager, Rooms
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Living A Good Life wrote a review Aug 2021
Edmonton, Canada4 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is way overpriced for what you get. The service is the worst I have seen when paying $600 per night. I understand some of the issue is Covid related but it is really unacceptable. The rooms are nothing great. You are forced to pay an additional $20 per day for kayaks and paddle boards that are old and run down. You can not swim without booking a day in advance and you can only swim in one time spot per day. The hotel does not even tell you this upon check in you find out when you try to take your child to go swim. The restaurant Oak and Cru is absolutely the worst service a restaurant can give. It seems who ever is running this hotel and restaurant is in over their head. They give you $20 a day to use in the Oak and Cru but it is impossible to use the credit because you can not get in to the restaurant to use it, they have no staff and a very unorganized way to accommodate hotel guests wanting to dine on site. This hotel should be half the price with the lack of service the are offering, they should not be able to ask these rates. It was a very disappointing vacation and I do not recommend you make the same mistake we did thinking the view was everything.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The restaurants away from the hotels are your best bet.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heather Cardone, Guest Services / Front Office at Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort
Responded Aug 7, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing us for your recent visit. We are genuinely sorry for the issues you had with our service and amenities. We strive to provide excellent service from each team member, and we are grateful for feedback that helps us improve our guest experience. We have shared your concerns with the appropriate teams to ensure this does not happen again. We appreciate your patience and hope you will consider staying with us again. Matt Koenig Senior Manager, Rooms
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah B wrote a review Jun 2020
Edmonton, Canada19 contributions65 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We unfortunately had to travel for work during covid and staying at this hotel was incredibly inconvenient from the time we checked in. Keeping in mind that this is the third hotel in a week and we completely understand the lack of some amenities (housekeeping) and the attempts to keep a sterile environment (masks and hand sanitizer). This particular hotel had a host of bizarre covid procedures that contradict each other. They won’t make a highball at the bar but they will open their pool? They also wouldn’t let a courier driver up to my room but it was fine that an hour earlier a neighbouring room had 3 different types of food delivered to their room?

Bizarre policies everywhere that are completely inconvenient to the guest. You are better off staying at a more moderate hotel since all of the amenities and services aren’t available.

I WOULD NOT recommend this place for business travel, at any time. The internet connection is unbelievably poor. To the point where I was unable to do my work, unable to Skype my son and unable to hold a connection long enough to keep calls. Honestly, it has not been great. I would definitely recommend waiting until covid is over.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort
Responded Jun 27, 2020
Dear O1164VWsarahb, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback concerning your recent stay. We take comments such as yours very seriously as we are continually striving to better our guest experience, especially while trying to implement new procedures and precautions due to COVID-19. We hope you will accept our apologies for any inconvenience or dissatisfaction with our efforts. Thank you for your honest feedback, and we hope you will consider giving us another chance to provide you with the hospitality and accommodations you deserve every time you choose us. Curtis Potter Director of Rooms
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laticia M wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I just stayed this past long weekend, the hotel was extremely mediocre for the cost we payed. Rooms were very basic. Bathroom door doesn’t even close all the way, the toilet paper handle is half broken? We had a dog bark in the room next to us morning and night our entire stay then the last night we had people fighting and yelling outside our room, staff did nothing about either issue.
The restaurant shut down while we were there and there weren’t many alternatives even though we had complimentary breakfast included in our room we now had to get wraps from the little store in the hotel? And staff at the cannery was extremely rude and SLOW. All the hotel staff seem young and new like they don’t know what they are doing. Indoor pool was dirty and the whole ceiling had spider webs ? Or baby spiders so gross. Everytime we ordered room service our food came to us wrong - servere nut allergy? Food came with nuts which wasn’t on the menu. On top of everything else we got home and realized money had been taken from our room in my PURSE which was on the bed. Housekeeping came into the room while we swam which we didn’t ask them to do? As I got back from swimming a housekeeper was in our room making the bed I asked her not to. All of my bags and purses were thrown onto the floor which before they were on the bed. Over $1000 was taken from
My bag and now the hotel is “investigating” I really wonder if it will be handled in a timely matter.

All in all would NOT stay again super disappointed with the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heather Cardone, Guest Services / Front Office at Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort
Responded Aug 4, 2021
Dear 891laticiam, Thank you for taking the time to provide honest feedback through an online review. I am troubled to hear about the numerous inconveniences you faced throughout your stay. With the uprise of COVID-19 cases throughout the Interior, we chose to listen to the recommendations from Interior Health to close the OAK+CRU restaurant. I apologize that you did not find the value in the options offered at the Cannery Marketplace, however we had limited resources. Please accept my apologies regarding the housekeeping services that were performed when you chose to not have them done, we normally ask for guests to hang the “Do Not Disturb” sign to opt out of services, and I apologize if this was not followed. As mentioned, we are performing an investigation regarding the suspected theft and we will contact you as soon as it is complete.We always appreciate the feedback we receive from our guests as it helps us with the coaching and development of our teams and operations. Thank you again for choosing to share your feedback and for staying with us through these unprecedented times. All the Best, Brooklyn Richard Assistant Rooms Operations Manager Brooklyn.Richard@deltahotels.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve V wrote a review Aug 2020
Calgary, Canada54 contributions48 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked 2 nights at the end of our trip to the Okanagan, and we were looking forward to taking advantage of some of the Marriott Platinum perks that should have been available.

The room was average with a very noisy air conditioner. The main (only) restaurant was always busy and although we were told that they are not accepting reservations for the patio, every time we tried to get in we were told that they were fully booked and that the empty tables were reserved.... in the end on our last night we just bought a bottle of wine and sat in the lobby on the couches. I am starting to think that some of these places are using the excuse of "Covid Rules" to cover up the fact that they are just poorly organized.

One of our Marriott "perks" is that we can either have extra points or free Breakfast every morning. We always choose the breakfast option and have enjoyed wonderful meals at many great properties. Unfortunately at this this Delta, we were only offered continental breakfast and didn't find out about this until we had already ordered.

Its an OK property in a great location but don't expect any special treatment if you are a Elite or Platinum status member.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort
Responded Oct 8, 2020
Dear stevev858, Thank you for staying with us and for being a valued Marriott Bonvoy Platinum Elite member. We regret we missed several opportunities to show you the hospitality we are typically known for. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. On a positive note, we are glad you liked our ideal location. We would love for you to revisit so we can provide you with the visit you deserve. Curtis Potter Director of Rooms
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marty911 wrote a review Jul 2020
Palm Desert, California1,056 contribution344 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
we visited Kelowna for a week and stayed at the Delta Grand Okanagan Resort. The setting is pretty. The hotel is close to the lake and there is a nice park next door. This was our first hotel visit since covid shutdown so I am not sure if these practices are the same at other hotels. There was no housekeeping service ... at all. No towels or sheets were ever changed. We made our own bed and had to ask for anything we wanted. They took all of the cups out of the room. We could ask for coffee and cardboard cups and so soon did so. Odd that for the price of the room they could not automatically do that. They also cancelled all room service. The only way you could eat was to get pastries at the coffee shop in the lobby and book at the hotel's restaurant. Restaurants were hard to come by as some were closed odd days so that became a challenge the whole trip ... to find a place for a gluten free dairy free meal for breakfast, lunch and dinner. On the second day we arrived the hotel instituted a face mask policy so we had to mask up from then. You had to reserve to get a time to use the pool. The room had a couch but we found it quite uncomfortable to sit in. Fire alarms went off twice in evenings while we were there. Later in the evening it becomes apparent that the hotel is in an area of down town known for drugs. There were a lot of young people around spaced out on drugs in the area outside the hotel in evenings. That just adds to the street people sleeping outside in city down town area. Unfortunately the hotel is in the downtown area where this unpleasant behaviour is going on. Overall or impression of the hotel was not positive. We would not come again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a lake view. Higher floors will not hear the fire trucks and street noise.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lindy J asked a question Sep 2019
Scottsdale, Arizona7 contributions3 helpful votes
What are the names of the restaurants?
Answer from endokendo
Anaheim, California16 contributions33 helpful votes
Oak and Cru
Show all answers
Tracy S asked a question Feb 2019
Lake Macquarie, Australia111 contributions66 helpful votes
Hi how much is the resort fee per day please
Answer from ekcSookeBC
Sooke Bc10 contributions13 helpful votes
The resort fee was $20 per night. I think there are taxes on that as well
Show all answers
Answer from Paul B
Vancouver Island, Canada416 contributions248 helpful votes
Definitely a question for the hotel staff
Show all answers
Sandra M wrote a tip Sep 2023
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Place is not luxury, especially pool area, rundown with crumbling tile and stained pools. Disappointing for a 4/5 supposedly!!"
Read full review
Seaside22567524642 wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Worth every penny"
Read full review
BoardingPass554508 wrote a tip Apr 2023
St. Catharines, Canada187 contributions52 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"$30 a day for parking."
Read full review
Enrique Contreras wrote a tip Jan 2023
Mexico City, Mexico70 contributions32 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just go somewhere else, one of the worst Delta Hotels I’ve been to and I’ve done 10 average per year."
Read full review
Martha T wrote a tip Nov 2022
Edmonton, Canada86 contributions44 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Two Bedroom Residence for families"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kelowna area.
PRICE RANGE
C$271 - C$317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
delta grand okanagan resort & conference centre hotel kelowna, delta grand okanagan resort and conference centre, delta grand okanagan lakefront hotel, grand hotel kelowna
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaOkanagan ValleyKelownaCentral City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
262
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Kelowna, Okanagan Valley) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort?
Nearby attractions include Waterfront Park (0.3 km), Kelowna Actors Studio (0.4 km), and Okanagan Wine & Orchard Museum (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Waterfront Wines Restaurant & Bar, Bouchons Bistro, and Central Kitchen + Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Kelowna.
Are any cleaning services offered at Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.