We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Inn on Long Lake

4700 Island Hwy N, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 1W6 Canada
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (134)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (241)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#4 of 17 hotels in Nanaimo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Private Lake front balcony or patio on every room. Beautiful view over Long Lake. All rooms also feature fridge/freezer, microwave, and Keurig coffeemaker. Continental breakfast & wi-fi included for all of our guests. Sit and enjoy the sunrise from your private balcony. Pet Friendly. Watch the wildlife, or the model sailboat club.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Boating
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Sauna
Vending machine
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Green
Languages Spoken
English
455Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 210
  • 188
  • 31
  • 16
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
MDF wrote a review Oct 2023
Canada28 contributions5 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed here July 2022 (yes it was 2022 but I'm behind writing my reviews and I couldn't select that far back) - was a GREAT hotel. Excellent service, good breakfast and VERY clean & comfortable room. A great little peaceful place right in the midst of a busy town. Used this for a few nights as our base while we did various day trips around the island during our stay. Would stay again if in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jim S wrote a review Aug 2023
Vancouver24 contributions17 helpful votes
Have stayed here before and was planning to do so again but that has now changed. Despite having paid in full months in advance I found a $10 charge on my credit card after I checked out. When I questioned this and requested a refund the reply came back that this was a fee for parking and it was not going to be refunded! Note that the parking lot is wide open and was never more than half full while we were there. This just leaves a bad taste in the mouth and if this reflects on the attitude of management then future trips to Nanaimo will be spent in different accomodation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Beware of the parking fee!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Catherine Audet, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake
Responded Aug 21, 2023
Dear jimsZ7034AA, thank you very much for taking the time to write to us. I would gladly look into the parking charge on your invoice, as I did not have the privilege to speak with you. The team and management would like the opportunity to make this right. I look forward to hearing from you, Kindest Regards, Catherine Audet General Manager Inn on Long Lake Nanaimo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Getaway68557350812 wrote a review Jul 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Kind, accommodating, clean, pet friendly safe accommodations . Great location to ferries and mid Vsncouver island . Has nice places to walk dogs right out of rooms . In the city but very quiet and beautiful lake side stay . Great winter rates. Highly recommend this place
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Great winter rates !
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Catherine Audet, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake
Responded Aug 16, 2023
Dear Getaway68557350812, thank you for your kind words! We are thrilled you and your treasured pet has a wonderful stay by the lake! We are indeed conveniently located near countless amenities, and offer great seasonal discounts, including weekly and monthly room rates. We hope to have the privilege to welcoming you again very soon. Warm Regards, Catherine Audet General Manager Inn on Long Lake Nanaimo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CherryTree wrote a review Jul 2023
Brussels, Belgium88 contributions63 helpful votes
Very good! The view on the lake is beautiful, you can see the sunrise. Lots of restaurants & supermarkets in neighborhood. Breakfast is okay, bit basic. Room was very big. We also used the guest laundry services, was very convenient. Would definitely book again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Catherine Audet, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake
Responded Aug 16, 2023
Dear 273kristienv, thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review! We are delighted you enjoyed our convenient location and beautiful lake view! We have recently made some changes in our breakfast offerings to include more vegan and dairy free options, as well as omelets selection, fresh fruit salad, fresh fruits, etc. We hope to have the pleasure to be your hosts again. Kindest Regards, Catherine Audet General Manager Inn on Long Lake Nanaimo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BlissfulLavenderTraveller wrote a review Mar 2023
Victoria, Canada2 contributions3 helpful votes
Was part of a Basketball Tournament at the hotel and it was exceptional from start to finish. From the friendly faces checking us in and checking us out, I believe it was Catherine and Crystal?, to the amazing hot tub after a long day of games, we were totally satisfied with our stay. I had an amazing connection with the breakfast attendant who had just moved from the Ukraine! I forgot her name however, but truly an amazing woman!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Catherine Audet, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake
Responded Apr 6, 2023
Dear Blisstracel1991, thank you for your kind words. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Inn on Long Lake. We thrive on providing the best experience to our valued guests while in charming Nanaimo; from perfectly cleaned and well-maintained classic rooms and suites, to outstanding customer service. I will make sure to pass on your lovely comment to Crystal and Inna! We hope to have the privilege to welcoming you back again very soon. Regards, Catherine Audet General Manager Inn on Long Lake Nanaimo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Island2010 wrote a review Mar 2023
Sidney, Canada5 contributions12 helpful votes
We had JANT basketball tournament in Nanaimo last week and booked the Long Lake Inn. Friendly service at the front desk by Brianna and Cathrine the manager. The room was clean and spacious. They have the best house coats! The morning breakfast has a lot of options for teenagers, the waffles and chocolate pastries were a hit with the kids. The cook in the breakfast room took the time to chat with our group. You can tell the staff is happy there. We will be back soon, great spot, and great view.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Catherine Audet, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake
Responded Apr 6, 2023
Dear Viisland2010, thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback. It was an absolute pleasure to welcome JANT athletes and families at the Inn! I will make sure to pass along your lovely feedback about Breanna and our Café team; they work very hard to make the best experience for our guests! We look forward to having the pleasure to be your hosts again very soon. Warm Regards, Catherine Audet General Manager Inn on Long Lake Nanaimo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lara D wrote a review Oct 2022
Courtenay, Canada3 contributions3 helpful votes
Catherine Audet is the worst General Manager I have ever experienced. Her customer service skills are incredibly poor. Worst service ever!! Room was dirty and outdated. I was charged for parking when I didn't stay the night! Check in took over 45mins! Honestly I have never experienced such poor customers service ever and I have been in the industry a long time! I do not recommend!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Catherine Audet, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake
Responded Oct 13, 2022
Dear F2367CUIarad, I was saddened to read your review of our property as we do not feel it fairly reflects the interactions that you had with our hardworking team members. The core values of our hotel are built around hospitality for all our guests, to create a memorable and comfortable stay. I can certainly understand the stressful situation of travelling, however, extreme disturbance and using foul language towards our team members will not be tolerated. We understand that you do not wish to return, and we wholeheartedly accept this decision and wish you the best in your future travels. Warm Regards, Catherine Audet General Manager Inn on Long Lake Nanaimo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
saberus wrote a review Sep 2022
Edmonton, Canada169 contributions54 helpful votes
+1
Rooms were extremely spacious and well equipped. Staff were friendly. Rooms had great views onto well-maintained common green space and out across Long Lake. It’s a bit out of the way, and a good 15 minute drive away from the amenities of the downtown core, but overall quite easy to drive in and out of town.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Catherine Audet, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake
Responded Sep 14, 2022
Dear saberus, thank you for your kind words. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Inn on Long Lake. We thrive on providing the best experience to our valued guests while in charming Nanaimo; from perfectly cleaned and well-maintained classic rooms and suites, to outstanding customer service. We hope to have the privilege to welcoming you back again very soon. Regards, Catherine Audet General Manager Inn on Long Lake Nanaimo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ally_zheng wrote a review Aug 2022
Vancouver, Canada27 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
We stayed two nights in a room with two Queen beds. The hotel is dated and hallway’s carpet stained and dirty. Balcony has a nice lake view but there are some ants running when we open the door. The balcony door wasn’t lock properly so we have to call the front desk to have a technician to fix it. The beds are too soft for my family , the individual A/C unit is quite noisy when it runs, so we felt hard to sleep well. The second night we heard clearly the above unit someone constantly walk across the room back and forward during 1-3 am and really affected our sleep. 1) Room is spacious, come with fridge & microwave, & coffee machine. The washroom clean & updated. Generally speaking, room is clean, except one of the bed sheet has a little color stained ( maybe need bleach to remove it?) 2) free breakfast: cold & limited choices. Quite disappointed. Service from 6:30-10am. 3) service is good and responsive, front desk staffs are helpful. 4) parking is not free since I booked it from Booking.com. $9 one time charged. 5) very convenient location, lots of restaurant around! 6) considered I got a get away deal & paid less than $500 for two nights I would say I can’t complain too much.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Catherine Audet, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake
Responded Aug 18, 2022
Dear ally-zheng, Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for sharing your comments and concerns. Your room should have been perfectly cleaned upon your arrival; we will use this opportunity to better train our team and use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future. If I may be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to connect with me at 250-758-1144. We want to make this right, and hope you will consider us again, on your next visit to charming Nanaimo. Kind Regards, Catherine Audet General Manager Inn on Long Lake Nanaimo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
POLLYANNA57 wrote a review Jul 2022
Brisbane, Australia520 contributions212 helpful votes
Ended a long Holiday with 7 nights in Nanaimo and could not have had better accommodation. At Check-Inn warmly greeted by very pleasant lady. Always helpful. Our room was comfy, clean and looked out to the beautiful Lake complete with Goslings and baby hares walking around the lawns under the verandah. Very photogenic. The Kitchenette was amazing. Frig. Microwave, Hob, Pots, Pans, Crockery, Cutlery and good supply of detergent etc., The bedroom/Living/Dining area spacious and efficient bathroom. The Hotel encourages Enviro friendly practices and we happily ditched unnecessary daily Housekeeping visits but if I ever needed anything (Bin bag, something minor) Housekeeping Staff were visible and happy to provide it. The Guest Laundry was fantastic. Elevators in the various Wings. Parking effortless and safe immediately outside the building. We grocery shopped nearby in a huge complex and never ate out but the area is surrounded by Restaurants and Fast Food Chains. Close to the various Ferries, which we used easily to get over to the islands. It was always bliss to get home and sit out on the verandah and watch kayakers and Paddle Boarders out on the Lake. The Spa Pavilion looked amazing. Optional Breakfasts were Continental style. Basic but OK. Surprised the juice was in tetra packs, but plenty of fresh fruit, Muffins and breads, able to be enjoyed out on the lakefront Terrace as well as inside. We highly recommend this wonderful Hotel as an alternative to Hotels in the busy and often unattractive CBD.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Catherine Audet, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake
Responded Jul 30, 2022
Dear POLLYANNA57, thank you for your wonderful review and your kind words. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Inn on Long Lake in charming Nanaimo. We thrive on providing the best experience to our valued guests; from perfectly cleaned and well-maintained classic rooms and suites, to outstanding customer service and fabulous amenities. We hope to have the privilege to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind Regards, Catherine Audet General Manager Inn on Long Lake Nanaimo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nanaimo area.
PRICE RANGE
C$213 - C$270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the inn on long lake hotel nanaimo, hotel on long lake
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandNanaimo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
62
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Inn on Long Lake - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos (Nanaimo, British Columbia) - Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Inn on Long Lake
Which popular attractions are close to The Inn on Long Lake?
Nearby attractions include Buttertubs Marsh Park (0.7 km), Exit Nanaimo (0.3 km), and Nanaimo North Town Centre (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Inn on Long Lake?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at The Inn on Long Lake?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Inn on Long Lake?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Inn on Long Lake?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Inn on Long Lake?
Conveniently located restaurants include Smokin' George's BBQ, Umai Sushi, and Saigon Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Inn on Long Lake?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Are pets allowed at The Inn on Long Lake?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Inn on Long Lake offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Inn on Long Lake?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Bastion (8.2 km).
Does The Inn on Long Lake have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.