We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Colonial Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Colonial Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Colonial Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 44: English reviews
Nanaimo BC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

I have stayed here several times and always had a good time - none of the problems mentioned by some of the reviewers. The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. The motel is near the road so can be noisy when traffic is heavy. The upstairs rooms are quieter than the kitchenettes. It getting more popular and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KOontheroad
London
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We arrived in Nanaimo and went straight to the Visitor Centre as we had no idea where to stay. They had just recently been to visit this motel and commented that it had newly been redecorated and was a fantastic price for what you got. They kindly rang and booked in for us and we met Jane when we arrived....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aliben68
jchiNanaimo, owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Many thanks. We have had some false statements posted with no retractions and so we appreciate you taking the time to put something genuine out there for us.

Vancouver, BC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Since the entire experience with this motel was horrendous, I don't know where to start. First off, the reservation process is difficult. You cannot get a confirmed booking online, and the front desk doesn't answer their phone. When the lady finally answered my call, she was extremely rude, short, arrogant and unprofessional. Her name is Jane, I think she is...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank jayshneigh
jchiNanaimo, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your common. In order to keep our high standard as a clean and comfy place. Jane's honorable character always gives those who smoking in rooms, or whoever creating a disturbance a hard time. I will ask her and make sure she improves her skills about handling "special cases". All our rooms are paid in front, I don't know...

Canada
Reviewed 10 March 2009

When I called the lady who answered seemed to be bothered by my call or something. But when I got there she didn't seem so rude. She even gave me an upgrade on the room with no extra charge which was great! But at check out time, we where a little late getting out (forgetfull of the time change, oops!)...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank 3,171
jchiNanaimo, owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about the hotel. We appreciate the feedback and continue to use this to help us provide better service and accommodation to our guests. Our check out time is 11:00am. If you could let us know you need late check out in advance, I believe we will do our best to reach your request. Please accept...

Comox Valley
Reviewed 24 August 2008

When we first called to book the room, the lady that picked up seemed to be so inconvienced to answer to our questions!!!! (Since when is it the customers fault if the owners having a bad day) I hope you also dont want to sleep past eight in the morning either because that's when they decide its laundry time!!!!$%&*! Dont...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank pumpyComoxValley
jchiNanaimo, owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment. Unfortunately, we do not have guest laundry facility. You must posted your common to wrong motel. We are located at 950 Terminal Ave. Thanks.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 16 September 2007

To start out our stay, the front desk lady was rude and irritated that we disturbed her to book our rooms (3:30 in the AFTERNOON). We book 3 rooms in the hotel and left for the day. The next morning the woman barged into our room, without knocking and started threatening us. She then cut the power to our room...

 Report
Helpful?
21Thank munchkin969
jchiNanaimo, owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment. We always do our best to provide best service to our guests. If any guest disturbs other guests or ignore no-smoking, no-drug policy. Sorry we have to have actions to protect other guest. We appology that you did not have a good experience with your stay. Thank you

AB
Reviewed 12 August 2007

This has been a great stay. The motel is very comfortable with a very reasonable price. We were here for a week, and would recommend it highly, upgrades are being make starting with the beds, VERY comfortable. Great managers, friendly, helpful 10 out of 10. Try it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smallwoodAb
PoppyPoppy
Reviewed 11 August 2007

Just like to update my review of Colonial Motel - I had correspondence from owner and he has refunded one nights stay as we checked out one day early. This was very good for customer relations and also he explained the smell was shellfish from his customers, so that explains that and it probably wont always be there.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lesley T
Vancouver
Reviewed 12 March 2007

Phoned for reservation -- motel was full but reservation female was very unfriendlyand abrupt. .

 Report
Helpful?
15Thank BabsMeadows
Santa Cruz, CA
Reviewed 19 September 2006

Really really liked this place. The operators were fantastic. Mike continually went out of his way to make sure we had a great stay not only in this motel, but in Nanaimo as well. The room (203) was newly remodeled, and was extrememly clean. Everything was brand new: the bathroom fixtures, the refrigerator, the remote-controlled air conditioner, the microwave... everything....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank edgpaul

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
1.9 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,213 reviews
3.9 km away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#7 of 19 in Nanaimo
447 reviews
0.6 km away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
300 reviews
1.2 km away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
0.6 km away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#4 of 19 in Nanaimo
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our friendly, comfortable and affordable motel is located in a walking distance from Terminal Park Shopping Plaza and the Sea walk trail; and only few minutes' drive from Downtown Nanaimo and the Nanaimo Golf Club. We have been fully upgraded in 2005. High quality Sealy Posturpedic king and queen sized beds in all rooms. Acrylic one piece Tub/Shower Surrounds. All rooms come with fridges, microwaves, hairdryer and kettles. Non-smoking property. Cable TV with full cable. Wireless telephones with voicemail. Free high-speed wireless internet access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Colonial Motel

Address: 950 Terminal Ave N, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9S 4K4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Price Range: $79 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Colonial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Motel Nanaimo
Colonial Hotel Nanaimo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Colonial Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on the back of the motel, away from the busy road.”
 of 5 bubbles pecal, 28 Nov 2013 | Read review
“Ground floor (obviously) if you want the deck and garden.”
 of 5 bubbles andrewmark333, 13 Aug 2013 | Read review
“Try to get a room on the west side of the motel away from the road. At least one of the upstairs rooms in the locked corridor has a strong mold smell.”
 of 5 bubbles 753MarkL753, 30 Jul 2012 | Read review
“Upstairs rooom would be more insulated from road noise than downstairs rooms. Downstairs rooms have small courtyard outside in the garden - would be nice for a drink”
 of 5 bubbles MicknOlga, 24 May 2012 | Read review
“Rooms on the back are probably the quietest, although that part of town seemed pretty quiet late at night and early in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles jcboss, 21 May 2012 | Read review
5 of 5