We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lavender House Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Westminster
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Lavender House Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Lavender House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 88: English reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2015 via mobile

My wife and I have just spent a fortnight here. It is beautifully appointed with antique furniture, fluffy towels, a very comfortable bed and a fridge for my insulin - nothing is too much for Johanna in her quest to make this a home from home, including lending us two fleeces for our trip to the Rockies. I happen to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cathyde70
lavenderjoh, Owner at Lavender House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

How does one respond to such a glowing review? Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am pleased that you had such a wonderful stay and hope that we may meet again one day.

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 17 February 2015

I'm a repeater when it comes to the Lavender House... it's impossible not to be! Owner Johanna has it all covered to ensure her guests are most comfortable: the best beds, peaceful atmosphere, great conversation and oh so delicious breakfasts. I visit Vancouver every year to see friends, and found the Lavender House a few years ago. Leaving the Lavender...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JudyField
lavenderjoh, Owner at Lavender House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

You are always welcome in my home - sometimes I feel as if I shouldn't be charging you for your stay as we enjoy your company so much. This job is great when we make true friends with our guests. We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Delta, Canada
Reviewed 4 January 2015

We are quite use to staying in B&Bs and this one really reminded us of enjoyable stays in England. A beautiful heritage home with modern bathrooms. We enjoyed our stay in the Haven Room for 5 nights and felt very comfortable coming and going through their quiet peaceful home. We would definitely come again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
lavenderjoh, Owner at Lavender House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a nice review. We get to meet some lovely people doing this job and we look forward to possibly meeting you both again.

Brampton
Reviewed 2 January 2015

I just had a wonderful 10 night stay at Lavender House. Johanna is a warm, helpful, friendly hostess who is also a great cook!. The cleanliness is A+. The Serenity and Tranquility rooms have a private entrance so coming and going is easy and you don't feel you are intruding on anyone. They are actually part of an apartment type...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marceline L
lavenderjoh, Owner at Lavender House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

many thanks for the wonderful review. It was lovely to share our home with you over the Christmas holidays. We look forward to meeting you again later this year.

Kitchener
Reviewed 22 October 2014

My mother and I spent 3 quiet nights at Lavender House in the Serenity and Tranquility rooms. They were faithful to their names. Johanna is a lovely hostess who provided us with copious breakfasts each morning that allowed us to tour well into the afternoons. The neighbourhood is very safe and an easy walk through a park takes you to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rtkKitchener
lavenderjoh, Owner at Lavender House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks for the kind comments. We enjoyed meeting you both and are glad that you had a wonderful visit with your family.

Chilliwack, Canada
Reviewed 12 October 2014 via mobile

I stayed a few nights here for business and to be honest, rarely stay at B&Bs. I wanted to venture out of my corporate hotel rooms and support local businesses instead of chains. The home is very nice with modern amenities on what could be classified as a heritage home. I stayed in a room in the basement that offered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crystal81Pro
lavenderjoh, Manager at Lavender House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place a review. We are pleased that you found your bed comfortable and that the room was cosy. We are however a little puzzled by the comment about kitty litter as our cat doesn't have an indoor litter box due to the fact that I hate them. Her feeding station is near the...

Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 6 October 2014

I reserved king bed, ended up with the queen room. Was assigned the inconvenient bathroom so that the other guest checking in wouldn't wake up the owner's husband because the other guest was checking in in the middle of the night. I was woken up when other guest checked in at midnight and I had the inconvenient bathroom! I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachael P
lavenderjoh, Owner at Lavender House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

My sincere apologies for an error made upon your arrival. I accidentally placed you in the wrong room because I got a bit mixed up that day. It did not affect the rate as a single occupancy rate is the same in any room, but certainly it was not the room that you booked. I only realized the error at...

Sandy, Utah
Reviewed 6 October 2014

We wanted to stay in the Vancouver area for a couple of days without staying in the city, which is why we chose the New Westminster area. The house was in a nice location, and she provided a great set-up. My husband and I are novices in the B & B world. Johanna gave us some great tips for using...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susanluvs2travel
The Netherlands
Reviewed 28 September 2014

We have used this B en B for the second time as a stopover. The hostess is businesslike, but also has a warm heart and tries to help you with your trip where ever she can. She serves a nice breakfast, beds are very well and everything is clean. Marleen van Heusden, The Netherlands

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarleenvanHeusden
Leamington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 6 September 2014

Central location - quiet rooms, nice breakfast. The bathroom for our room was located though the living room location, then into the private den of the home owners, and down a hall. The bathroom was very nice but the location was not good. Also, the cat spends a great deal of time in the den and bathroom area. With allergies...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joy C
lavenderjoh, Owner at Lavender House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing Lavender House - it is always good to have feedback whether positive or negative. I believe that we chatted briefly about my having a cat in the house although I may be mistaken? Usually I explain that she is never allowed into the guest rooms nor the sitting area provided for my guests although occasionally a guest...

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Westminster
2.1 km away
The Met Hotel
The Met Hotel
#2 of 2 in New Westminster
159 reviews
2.0 km away
Inn at the Quay
Inn at the Quay
#1 of 2 in New Westminster
434 reviews
1.5 km away
Happy Day Inn Hotel
Happy Day Inn Hotel
#8 of 10 in Burnaby
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Executive Plaza Hotel Coquitlam
5.6 km away
Hilton Vancouver Metrotown
7.3 km away
Delta Burnaby Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Your home-away-from-home is situated on a quiet street within walking distance to all amenities. Your heritage style home is almost 100 years old and has been extensively renovated, but is still a work in progress. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lavender House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 816 Tenth St, New Westminster, British Columbia V3M 4A1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > New Westminster
Price Range: $73 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lavender House Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The 2 rooms on the lower floor would be ideal for 2 couples or a family requiring 2 bedrooms. Together, they offer a private apartment.”
 of 5 bubbles metromole, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Serenity Suite..have own bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles kirkfrew, 19 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Serenity room was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles LeahM27, 16 Aug 2015 | Read review
“We had a downstairs room which also included a large kitchen and leisure area”
 of 5 bubbles roberthB6468UG, 17 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Just book it, you won't be sorry!”
 of 5 bubbles Heloise68, 19 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5