We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Red Shutter Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Shutter Inn
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

6 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 6: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Stayed at the old run down Inn. They stated, just 2 rooms left, I was the only one there. Horrible customer service, owners are running this place from Australia, they have problems with their staff, all around a bad experience. Don't waste your money here!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shawna R
gaulfamily, Owner at Red Shutter Inn, responded to this review

Sorry you had a bad time during the week when the old managers moved out and the new ones were moving in, while we were away, but we did NOT lie about there being 2 rooms available, and we NEVER lie about anything, and are in fact quite offended that you would slander us in such a way. Perhaps you...

Kamloops, Canada
Reviewed 11 June 2015 via mobile

My girlfriend and I rented the cabin for the weekend in May. We both really enjoyed it and loved everything about the cabin. Loved how rustic it was. We both wished we could have stayed longer. We really enjoyed our time there. I would highly suggest you try this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg D
gaulfamily, Owner at Red Shutter Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review! Some people are surprised when the "rustic cabin" actually ends up being a bit rustic. It doesn't pretend to be more than a simple place, and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We fixed up the deck railing since your stay - I know you didn't mention it, but it might be nice to...

Newberg, Oregon
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The lobby was more like a funky sort of walk-in closet for snowboarders and skiers. The service and ambiance was more like a good hostel. Nice sense of community, includng a large and very friendly cat. The common area is very nice - fireplace, stone hearth, comfy leather sofas and a computer desk. The rooms are small and the beds...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JudyMrr
gaulfamily, Owner at Red Shutter Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Yes, I think you're right, the inn is more like a club-style ski lodge, or a small hostel, than it is a hotel. The rooms are smaller, but you get to know your lodge-mates in the lounge area, so it is suitable for people who want to talk to other people, or cuddle with the cat.

Delta, Canada
Reviewed 1 March 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here and really enjoy the casual "Ski Patrol Cabin" ambiance. The Red Shutter has been around for quite some time and is definitely stuck in the 60's...which is totally it's charm. If you are here for some very enjoyable skiing with Big Red Cats or the neighbouring ski hill....this is the place...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Augrabes
gaulfamily, Owner at Red Shutter Inn, responded to this review

Good point about bringing a splitter or power cord if you want to plug lots of things in, and that's a pretty good description of the place. Since then, the managers have changed over from Ian & Tash (who were there 12 years!) to Jacinta & Steve, and Big Red Cat the First has moved on as well, and been...

Wellington
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed in the A frame at Red Shutter Inn. On arrival we were surprised at how small the accommodation was, very cramped. Only 3 lounge chairs for 4 of us they seemed to have been rejected from the second hand shop. No snow shovelling done and the paths were treacherous. This is a holiday so unless you are really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lennyjr89
gaulfamily, Owner at Red Shutter Inn, responded to this review

Yes, it is a small cabin. We've replaced the sofa, but there isn't a lot of space in there for more lounge chairs, or they'd be in the kitchen. Hopefully the photos reflect what the cabin is. It is also notable that though there are two bedrooms upstairs, there really is no proper privacy door separating them - so if...

Idaho
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We were made to feel right at home, right away. Big Red Cat owns the low-key lounge, but Ian from Aukland is control of the kitchen. Breakfast is served at 7:30 (or later), and waking up at the base of incomparable Red Mountain to the smell of fresh bacon and coffee was the best official opening to a vacation I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mgames
redshutterrossland, Owner at Red Shutter Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review - I'm glad you had a good time at the Shutter. As you say, it isn't Club Med, and the building is far from new, but it has good beds, a good hot tub, good breakfast, good location, and a friendly atmosphere.

2 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rossland
3.3 km away
Prestige Mountain Resort Rossland
0.2 km away
Red Mountain Village
Red Mountain Village
#2 of 4 in Rossland
22 reviews
3.0 km away
Casa Alpina
Casa Alpina
#3 of 4 in Rossland
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Hotel
10.2 km away
Glenwood Inn & Suites
0.5 km away
Ram's Head Inn
Ram's Head Inn
#3 of 6 in Rossland
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Red Shutter Inn

Address: 4420 Red Mountain Rd | Red Mountain ski resort, Rossland, British Columbia V0G 1Y0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Rossland
Price Range: $77 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Shutter Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Red Shutter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Shutter Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“AC Plugs in the rooms for charging phones, cameras, etc are limited. Bring a multi-outlet extension cord if you need to charge lots of gadgets.”
 of 5 bubbles Augrabes, 1 Mar 2013 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay