We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4420 Red Mountain Rd Red Mountain ski resort, Rossland, British Columbia V0G 1Y0 Canada
Hotels.com
Priceline
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Rossland
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Red Shutter Inn is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Rossland, offering a quaint environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Rooms at Red Shutter Inn provide a flat screen TV, a view of the mountains, and a refrigerator, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

In addition, Red Shutter Inn offers a hot tub, which will help make your Rossland trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

During your visit, be sure to check out a popular Rossland tempura restaurant such as Aka Dake, which is a short distance from Red Shutter Inn.

There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular history museums such as Rossland Museum & Discovery Centre.

Enjoy your stay in Rossland!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Sauna
Ski rentals
Skiing
Ski In / Ski Out
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Tennis court
Show more
Room features
Dining area
Fireplace
Seating area
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
13Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 8
  • 3
  • 0
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kelly K wrote a review Jan. 2020
20 contributions42 helpful votes
We stayed at the Inn over Christmas with our son and his girlfriend for 4 nights. The cabin is so quaint ,rustic and also comfortable. Loved the wood fired stove which kept the place very warm. The bedrooms are small but clean and warm and cosy and accessed by a crazy set of stairs. The kitchen could with a few more pans and utensils but overall the place was charming and we loved staying there. Brandon was very accommodating and the location is brilliant and very reasonably priced for the mountain in the winter. Would definitely go back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Christian R wrote a review Jul. 2018
Spokane, Washington6 contributions
First time in Canada driving north and ran in to Rossland. No ida what to expect and had a good time in this beautiful place. We were looking at disc golfs in the store in the way to town when we started talking to one of the locals in town about courses and places to stay. Super nice guy. He pointed us to this place and we had a great stay. The sauna, Jacuzzi, fire, fantastic first night up here in Canada. The cat that was in the house with us was such a cool cat. He was playful and loved pettings. Just a delight. Well worth the price!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Nice place!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Bob H wrote a review Feb. 2018
Grand Rapids, Michigan17 contributions13 helpful votes
Loved the location and price was great. The hosts Meg and Brandon were awesome. The walk to the slopes isn't bad....maybe 150 yards to the lifts. By the 2nd day, i figured out how to ski all the way back to RSI. Took a bit of creativity but it's possible (and NOT down the road either). They're part of Big Red Cats snow cat skiing operation, but you don't need to ski with them to use the lodge. I'm thinking of returning just for the value lift tickets at Red Mt. and this place and save the cat skiing for another trip. Can't beat the value. Oh, and the bed was confy as well. Just returned from Cancun where the bed was TERRIBLE!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Max F wrote a review Feb. 2018
Crewkerne, United Kingdom22 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed as a group at the Red Shutter Inn for two nights to ski Big Red Cats and Red Mountain. Brandon, Megs and Red (the cat) made us feel very welcome. The common room was a great place for the group to lounge and chat. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the description of the Inn on the website is exactly what you get. The Inn is unique, the walls are thin but there is a charm to the place.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Douglas B wrote a review Jul. 2017
2 contributions
We had a great stay here. It is a cool little place and the owners were very accommodating and welcoming. It is a lot more chilled out here in the summer than in the winter but we were charmed by the common room, hot tub, and the nearby Rossland main street with neat little shops, a pool, and a local brewery, The Rossland Beer Co.!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lisa G wrote a review Jun. 2017
1 contribution
We stayed at the Red Shutter Cabin for 2 nights at the end of our road trip. What a cool place. The beds were very comfy and the Cabin was super clean. We felt very comfortable there, thanks to Brandon and Megs, who were wonderful hosts and spent some time with us around the outdoor firepit one evening. I loved the laid back vibe that you just can't get with a traditional hotel. We will 100% be back and have already recommended it to friends. Amazing spot, great hosts and accommodations unlike anywhere we've been before! 10/10!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paula G, Owner at Red Shutter Inn
Responded Jun. 29, 2017
Brandon and Megs are fantastic! I'm so glad they made your stay enjoyable
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Samantha S wrote a review Mar. 2017
Owen Sound, Canada5 contributions5 helpful votes
We visited here recently. Very comfortable and spotless room. We really enjoyed Brandon and Megs- they were wonderful hosts. Both very friendly and helpful. They spent time planning the next leg of our trip with us. We will visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Shawna R wrote a review Oct. 2015
Calgary, Canada1 contribution
Stayed at the old run down Inn. They stated, just 2 rooms left, I was the only one there. Horrible customer service, owners are running this place from Australia, they have problems with their staff, all around a bad experience. Don't waste your money here!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from gaulfamily, Owner at Red Shutter Inn
Responded Nov. 23, 2015
Sorry you had a bad time during the week when the old managers moved out and the new ones were moving in, while we were away, but we did NOT lie about there being 2 rooms available, and we NEVER lie about anything, and are in fact quite offended that you would slander us in such a way. Perhaps you booked online via Booking.com or Expedia, where we only added 2 rooms to their inventory, and THEIR automated system said that there were only 2 rooms available? I expect that is probably the case. Had you emailed us or phoned us, we would certainly have told you the situation. We have had the same managers for 12 years, and they decided to move on, and the new managers moved in within a couple of weeks, during which time you were one of the few guests. In the meantime, we reduced the number of rooms available to rent online to two, to make the transition easier, as there were a few days with nobody living on-site. Yes, the lodge was built in the 1960's, and the rooms are neither large or modern, nor do they purport to be, and for $69/night, that probably isn't unusual. If you are looking for a modern hotel, that's not easy to find in this area, but the Prestige has some rooms for about twice that price which might suit you, and there are some luxury condos nearby starting at around $150/night in the off-season. We've just fixed up the outdoor decks, replaced all of the in-room sinks and vanities, and are in the process of fitting the brand new wood stove today. The building will never be new, but is in a constant state of renewal.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Greg Droder wrote a review Jun. 2015
Kamloops, Canada298 contributions89 helpful votes
My girlfriend and I rented the cabin for the weekend in May. We both really enjoyed it and loved everything about the cabin. Loved how rustic it was. We both wished we could have stayed longer. We really enjoyed our time there. I would highly suggest you try this place.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from gaulfamily, Owner at Red Shutter Inn
Responded Nov. 23, 2015
Thanks so much for your review! Some people are surprised when the "rustic cabin" actually ends up being a bit rustic. It doesn't pretend to be more than a simple place, and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We fixed up the deck railing since your stay - I know you didn't mention it, but it might be nice to know.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JudyMrr wrote a review Jul. 2013
Portland, Oregon25 contributions23 helpful votes
The lobby was more like a funky sort of walk-in closet for snowboarders and skiers. The service and ambiance was more like a good hostel. Nice sense of community, includng a large and very friendly cat. The common area is very nice - fireplace, stone hearth, comfy leather sofas and a computer desk. The rooms are small and the beds are big, and comfortable. Our room had an ensuite toilet and sink. The shared shower was right next door. The inn is wedged into a small development at the base of a ski slope. Seems like an ideal location for winter sports, but we were there on a beautiful summer day so I don't really know.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2013
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from gaulfamily, Owner at Red Shutter Inn
Responded Nov. 23, 2015
Thanks for your review. Yes, I think you're right, the inn is more like a club-style ski lodge, or a small hostel, than it is a hotel. The rooms are smaller, but you get to know your lodge-mates in the lounge area, so it is suitable for people who want to talk to other people, or cuddle with the cat.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$68 - US$84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaKootenay RockiesRossland
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Red Shutter Inn - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos (Rossland, British Columbia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Red Shutter Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Red Shutter Inn?
Nearby attractions include RED Mountain Resort (0.2 km), Big Red Cats (1.0 km), and Rossland Museum & Discovery Centre, Visitor Centre (2.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Red Shutter Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at Red Shutter Inn?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a dining area.
Is parking available at Red Shutter Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Red Shutter Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Alpine Grind, The Flying Steamshovel Gastropub & Inn, and Idgies Fine Food.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Red Shutter Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.