We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pacific Sands Beach Resort

Save
Share
1421 Pacific Rim Hwy., Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0 Canada
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (1152)
Room & Suite (525)
Pool & Beach (225)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 22-04-06 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Updated 22-04-06 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 17 hotels in Tofino
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Pacific Sands Beach Resort is located on 41 pristine acres of property and 2500 feet of ocean front on Cox Bay. Adjacent to the Pacific Rim National Park all suites and Luxury Beach Houses offer spectacular ocean or beach front views, mesmerizing sunsets and breathtaking storm watching. A walk to Pettinger Point is a must. Enjoy unrivaled culinary splendors at one of Tofino's many restaurants. Adventure tours of the Clayoquot Sound, beach combing and surfing are the most popular activities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool / beach towels
Yoga classes
Coffee shop
Beach
Bicycle rental
Books, DVDs, music for children
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Sauna
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Bicycles available
Hiking
Water sport equipment rentals
Bicycle tours
Fishing
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Neck massage
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
Umbrella
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Seating area
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
iPod docking station
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
3173Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,446
  • 540
  • 122
  • 46
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Dîner wrote a review Yesterday
Oberrieden, Switzerland1 contribution1 helpful vote
The room that we had was very common, too simple for the price that we paid, it makes me think more to a youth hotel than to an hotel. There is not really space to eat breakfast or dinner inside! Our daughter couldn't sleep well in the living room on the sofa bed because of the noise from the kitchen and the light that came out from outside
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
mickey6409 wrote a review Aug. 5
surrey, b.c.112 contributions54 helpful votes
The suite that we had came with a full kitchen. It was nice a big and could sleep up to 4 people. we had a back door which let us get to the beach and the view was awesome. There is a place across the parking lot that rents out surf-boards and a great hamburger stand right next to it
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
245gary wrote a review Aug. 4
1 contribution
Great place, been staying here off and on for over 30 years. In my opinion it is the best place to stay in the Tofino area. Love the facilities and the beach (Cox Bay). I highly recommend Pacific /sands to everyone ( couples and families).
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alina von Hahn, Marketing at Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Responded 3 days ago
Dear 245gary, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with Pacific Sands and for your loyalty over the years! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and all of our facilities. Indeed, Pacific Sands is a great place for couples and families to stay! Thank you again for your great review, and we hope to welcome you back again soon! Sincerely, Alina von Hahn Marketing & Social Media Coordinator
Read more
drvanessa2022 wrote a review Aug. 4
Victoria, Canada1 contribution
Excellent resort to relax on the beach. The rooms are well maintained. The fire pits are fun to hang out in the evenings, although they are in short supply for all the guests. Yoga on the beach was fantastic! Too expensive for next year though!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alina von Hahn, Marketing at Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Drvanessa2022, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with Pacific Sands. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! That's also great to hear you enjoyed our complimentary beach yoga! Thank you for your feedback regarding our prices, and this is something we will pass on to our management team. Thank you again for the great review and feedback, and we hope to welcome you back again! Sincerely, Alina von Hahn Marketing & Social Media Coordinator
Read more
swagner29 wrote a review Jul. 2022
Kitchener, Canada1 contribution
I loved having a full kitchen and a complimentary bottle of white wine. Excellent accommodations in terms of cleanliness, service and comfort. Muskoka chairs, fire pits, barbecues and hammocks are wonderful features.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Markus McRurie, Marketing at Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Swagner29, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with Pacific Sands. I'm thrilled you had an excellent time on our property and took advantage of all the onsite beachfront amenities, such as the hammocks and firepits. Thank you again for the kind review and feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Markus McRurie Marketing Director
Read more
RDK wrote a review Jul. 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
My family and I had stayed at Pacific Sands last year, right after many local travel restrictions were lifted. We had stayed in an oceanside suite that was new, and although we experienced some service issues, these issues were understandable given many businesses were working hard to recruit and train staff. My children and I loved cox bay resort, so we returned this year. This time we had reserved a light house suite unit 154. Upon entering the suite, it looked suitable and clean, but upon entering the bedroom, it was carpeted and smelled musty. There was old carpet, room was not ventilated, there was a window that opens but it was right beside the entry for another suite, and stairs going up to an upper level. We couldn’t keep this window open at night due to noise from other guests coming and going/talking in the middle of the night, and for safety as we were on the ground level. During the day it was closed due to the construction noise from hammering and drilling. This made it impossible for my young children to nap/sleep. I have only stayed in Pacific Sands in Tofino as this was my second time in Tofino and having previously stayed in a newer suite that was better ventilated and clean, I had the same level of expectations. However, the light house suite does not come with a dishwasher (which I was aware of), but on the first day of arrival I prepared dinner and multiple dishes were visibly dirty including a non-stick frying pan that was covered in egg on edges. I immediately washed the pan before I had seen the other dirty dishes. However, after seeing the dirty plates I texted guest services inquiring about whether dishes are sanitized between guests or are previous guests washing dishes. To my surprise, no one responded to my text, which left me questioning the overall cleanliness of the suite including the sofas which are visibly stained, carpet, and bed linens. Luckily, a staff person came by to drop off something, and I was able to show her the dirty dishes and she replaced them. When I was clearing off the table, I noticed one of the glasses of water had some white stuff which I initially thought was sugar. However, as I swished the glass around the white stuff did not dissolve. See attached photo. I still wonder what this was, and I hope this resort will actually sanitize dishes professionally rather than expect prior guests to handwash dishes. After having a sleepless night, and not wanting to have another due to the poorly ventilated room and musty smell, I had booked a flight back to Vancouver with my young child as she was unable to sleep there as well. My husband would stay behind with my daughter. However, by Thursday my youngest developed a cough and fever and we had to instead visit the ER and cancel our flight and unfortunately stay for the remainder of the trip. This was extremely difficult given it was warmer this time and we weren't able to keep the bedroom window open. There are a lot of family activities to do in Tofino and the resort is located on the best part of the beach, but I would highly recommend not staying in a lighthouse suite. The feel at the resort this time was much different than last year. There were a lot of staff on the grounds and a lot of construction noise. It would have been nice for the resort to warn guests about the construction noise, or at least book guests with young children away from the construction noise. It’s disappointing how this stay turned out, but it really goes to show how initial negative experiences can set the tone for a stay. Staff were courteous and helpful, but not very responsive over text.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: avoid lighthouse suites, choose oceanside/or a newer room with good ventilation
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Markus McRurie, Marketing at Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Responded 4 days ago
Dear FamilyTravels0504, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with Pacific Sands. I wanted to start by sincerely apologizing that, once again, we fell short of your expectations and that you did not have an enjoyable stay at our property. I find it very unfortunate that we could not resolve these issues for you while you were on-site, as I see you specifically created this TripAdvisor account to leave this review. I won't attempt to answer all of your concerns on here, as you've also contacted us internally, and I will respond in-depth via email. As it stands, I do apologize again that this was your experience, as this is not the first and second impression we would ever want our guests to have. I will follow up accordingly. My hope would be that should you return to Pacific Sands again, to give us another chance, we would go out of our way to exceed all your expectations. Thank you! Sincerely, Markus McRurie Marketing Director
Read more
Asif P wrote a review Jul. 2022
Calgary, Canada245 contributions99 helpful votes
Our overall experience with Pacific sands was very positive. The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed and furnished. The beach was just steps away and was nice to experience when the sun was out. Experiencing the sunset was gorgeous. Walking the rocks and having waves crash was beautiful. While restaurant choices is very limited, it’s a good idea to pick up groceries for the room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Markus McRurie, Marketing at Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Asifpremji, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with Pacific Sands. It's great to hear all aspects of your stay were positive and that you got to experience some fantastic sunny weather while exploring Cox Bay. That's what Summer is all about! Thank you again for the great review. Sincerely, Markus McRurie Marketing Director
Read more
Uytterhj wrote a review Jul. 2022
Turnhout, Belgium16 contributions4 helpful votes
The bag with s'mores says it all. You are welcome to stay from the moment you arrive. The fact that you are at the edge of Cox beach with its fantastic landscape is such a plus. They have BBQ facilities to use, they have fire pits which are super fun to use with kids. Just a great escape from the busy world.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Markus McRurie, Marketing at Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Utterhj, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with Pacific Sands. I love that we were your escape from the busy world, as we've always taken pride in being a magical spot for our guests to "get away from it all". I'm very happy to hear we achieved this with you. Thank you again for the great feedback and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Markus McRurie Marketing Director
Read more
Theresa I wrote a review Jul. 2022
Victoria, Canada1 contribution
This resort really have the details dialled in. So thoughtful in everything they do - the stay was effortless and the team were friendly and kind. Pet amenities in the room, ample hooks, raincoats to borrow in the room, fire pits, picnic tables for dinner and games, environmentally friendly choices of items in the room. Milk, wine and smores kit at no extra charge on arrival.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Markus McRurie, Marketing at Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Theresambs, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with Pacific Sands. It's great to hear that your stay was seamless and that you noticed all the little details - we truly appreciate it! Thank you again for the kind words, and we do hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Markus McRurie Marketing Director
Read more
briansheila1999 wrote a review Jul. 2022
2 contributions
Location✅ Falling asleep listening to the crashing waves in a super comfortable bed✅ On site amenities ✅ Complimentary bottle of wine and s’mores kit⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Customer service⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Fire pits, free beach yoga ✅ This resort checked all the boxes and we can’t wait to go back again
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Markus McRurie, Marketing at Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Briansheila1999, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with Pacific Sands. I'm thrilled to hear every aspect of your stay was phenomenal, as that is always our goal. Thank you again for the fantastic review, and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Markus McRurie Marketing Director
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$251 - US$367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pacific sands beach hotel tofino, pacific sands beach tofino
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandAlberni-Clayoquot Regional DistrictClayoquot SoundTofino
NUMBER OF ROOMS
122
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Pacific Sands Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Chesterman Beach (1.9 km), Cox Bay Beach (0.5 km), and Pacific Rim National Park (7.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pacific Sands Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Pacific Sands Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Pacific Sands Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Pacific Sands Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pacific Sands Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chocolate Tofino, Shelter Restaurant, and RedCan Gourmet.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pacific Sands Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna and yoga classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Pacific Sands Beach Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Pacific Sands Beach Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Pacific Sands Beach Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Pacific Sands Beach Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.