We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
400 MacKenzie Beach Road PO Box 100, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0 Canada
Hotels.com
Priceline
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Algotels
eDreams
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (930)
Room & Suite (251)
Pool & Beach (66)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#12 of 16 hotels in Tofino
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

See why so many travellers make Middle Beach Lodge their hotel of choice when visiting Tofino. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Rooms at Middle Beach Lodge offer a kitchenette providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free internet access.

A gift shop, a sun terrace, and outdoor furniture are some of the conveniences offered at this hotel. Free breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Middle Beach Lodge, free parking is available.

While staying at Middle Beach Lodge, visitors can check out Raincoast Education Society (1.4 km) and Solart Glass Studio (1.5 km), some of Tofino's top attractions.

During your visit, be sure to check out one of Tofino's popular crab restaurants such as Shelter Restaurant, SoBo, and The Schooner Restaurant, all a short distance from Middle Beach Lodge Vancouver Island.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Tonquin Park (1.5 km) and Tofino Botanical Gardens (1.4 km), which are some popular Tofino attractions – all conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Middle Beach Lodge as you experience all of the things Tofino has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Beach
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
1306Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 669
  • 392
  • 143
  • 59
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
BelleNeigeSuites:Whistler wrote a review Nov. 2022
Whistler, Canada8 contributions6 helpful votes
Middle Beach Lodge is quintessential Tofino. We are never disappointed and always at awe with the lovely accommodation and wonderful staff. The breakfast experience is memorable - the croissants being a highlight along with a nice assortment of herbal teas. Thank you for offering a relaxing accommodation to relax and truly unwind. Myrna & Todd Belle Neige Suites: Whistler
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Of MBL, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your feedback, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michigan48158 wrote a review Oct. 2022
Manchester, Michigan86 contributions72 helpful votes
Second trip to Tofino, but this time traveling with our teenag(ish) son, so we chose Middle Beach Lodge instead. We are extremely happy we did. We chose one of the "Treehouses" and absolutely loved it. The structure was anchored to the ground but you certainly felt like you were in a tree house. Stunning view through the trees to Middle Beach (or Mackenzie beach on the other side of the property). Wonderful, tasteful room. Kitchen area, gas fireplace, and best of all the deck out the back where you can sit and enjoy. Breakfast at the lodge was much better than average although they did seem to run of items near the end of breakfast. I read another review somewhat critical of the front staff. I had seen similar comments from our previous Tofino stay at Wickkaninish. I disagree but can understand why some people may feel this way. Tofino is remote, The natural beauty (and surfing) draws a younger crowd of workers. The resort are certainly worth the money you pay and in general costs are high. One might expect more polished older staff members. But is not likely what you will get. Younger more energenic staff is the norm. I like this. I enjoy the vibrancy of the staff and absolutely loved the service we received. But I can see how at the much higher end resorts at Tofino, you may be expecting more polish. The sun deck around the main Lodge was also beautiful. You may get tired of words like stunning and beautiful but that is Tofino. Middle Beach Lodge fits the bill perfectly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: The driving / parking layout of the resort was a little confusing. Make sure you are heading to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Of MBL, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback, we are happy that you enjoyed us and appreciate the kind words about our staff. We hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
scratchcat wrote a review Oct. 2022
canada82 contributions91 helpful votes
We've been to Tofino many times over the last 20+ years and have always stayed out on either Cox Bay or Chesterman Beach. This time for a change, we opted to stay at Middle Beach Lodge and very glad that we did. Our room was one of the newer "Treehouse" units and it was superb. When we went to book our room, the website wasn't working 100%, but "Tyla" graciously helped us through the booking process, and the check-in staff ensured that we had a great room. We loved the quiet nature of the entire place, the breakfasts and most of all the location. Looking forward to our next visit, which we've already booked! Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Of MBL, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
short_scuba_diver wrote a review Oct. 2022
UK241 contributions128 helpful votes
The location is simply perfect with lovely long walks along the beach or following the various trails in the woods. Unfortunately, it’s a bit too far away from the nearest restaurants to walk so you’ll need a car. The rooms are big with a nice balcony to watch the setting sun and there are some (small) kitchen amenities. The only thing that spoiled it for us was the very average customer service. We had tried to contact the lodge before arriving to book dinner, but received no answer, so we weren’t able to eat. We were also ignored by the bar staff when we turned up 10 minutes before closing time as they talked amongst themselves. We found that ignoring the guests was a bit of a habit and was very frustrating. We know it’s a difficult time for the tourist industry right now, but a bit more effort would have been appreciated.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Of MBL, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We apologize for the shortcomings regarding the quality of customer service that you experienced. Please note that this is not our standard and we will be following up with the bar staff. Despite these shortcomings, we hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
loveshotsunnydays wrote a review Sep. 2022
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom106 contributions61 helpful votes
Middle beach lodge blew us away! We stayed for 4 nights in July with my parents and loved it so much that we have just booked a 10 night stay next year as a couple ( we have never returned anywhere before). We loved its relaxed feel, natural beauty and how it felt really secluded as it’s down the dirt track, yet it is in such a good location for walking or cycling into Tofino. The breakfasts were incredible, great cocktails and lovely dinners. It was the perfect location for our visit to Vancouver island- what an incredible island it is! We highly recommended the new cycle trail and our whale watching trips. The brewery and bars being so close by was an added bonus. We can’t wait to return from England next year!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Of MBL, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ash wrote a review Sep. 2022
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania97 contributions49 helpful votes
Visit #6 was delayed because of pandemic and related border issues so we were thrilled to arrive. The dirt road was better than in 2018 but I don’t see why the lodge couldn’t pave it for the city. We lucked into meeting Bicycle Marc and rented e-bikes to enjoy the pitch perfect new bike trail. I highly recommend it. I agree with other reviewers that breakfast gets old after a few days even tho it’s good—variety is the spice of life! The setting and cabins were as wonderful as ever but the staff were either indifferent or poorly trained, especially the cleaning staff. We were in three rooms over the two lodges and a cabin and all of us noticed housekeeping shortcomings ranging from hair in tub upon arrival (Headlands lodge) to not making beds to burnt out bulbs to unfulfilled requests to replace empty shower gel container. It feels like there needs to be an attentive adult around. And, if I were asked which investment to make next—easy—thicker towels. Consider what we guests are paying you not just what towels cost you. Despite the gripes, this is a perfectly sited place in one of the most beautiful places I have been lucky enough to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Of MBL, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We apologize for the shortcomings regarding the quality of housekeeping that you experienced. Please note that this is not our standard and we will be following up with the housekeeping team. Despite these shortcomings, we hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
italianwannabe2005 wrote a review Sep. 2022
St. Catharines, Canada17 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
We found this beautiful spot through Booking .com and what a find it turned out to be. The location between the 2 beaches gives some choice for your morning or evening walk. The view from our balcony was spectacular and we could leave the window open all night and hear the surf on the sand. The staff were fun and helpful for the most part. Most of them are young, on the island for a while and very casual and outgoing. Only one CS person was particularly unhelpful. The room was small (180 sq. ft.) but we new this in advance. The amenities were basic but the bathroom was clean and there was hot water and wifi. I hate recommending places I like because I'm afraid I may not be able to get a reservation if I ever go back. I guess I'm taking my chances. The breakfast was fantastic and it offered a chance to speak with other gusts from other parts of the world.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: many options so make sure to check them all
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Of MBL, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your feedback, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Harriscoach wrote a review Sep. 2022
Montreal, Canada73 contributions47 helpful votes
Beautiful lodge in stunning setting. Friendly young staff. Great location. The only thing that could be improved is the food, which was pretty average. Good local bike hire shop to get around without a car.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Of MBL, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
VogtR wrote a review Aug. 2022
Munich, Germany44 contributions19 helpful votes
We spent three nights with the family in a beach house. The view and the location are wonderful. We enjoyed the breakfast on the patio of the main lodge and some drinks at night and sitting in the chairs on our front porch with the magnificent ocean in front of us. The rooms were clean and with enough space for the 4 of us. Kitchen was well equipped. The beach is very close and beautiful, especially during low tide you can explore the mussel beds and see hermit crabs. Close enough to Tofino but much quieter which we really enjoyed. The partially unpaved road is ok if you are in a car, I would not want to walk or ride my bike there during summer.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Of MBL, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge
Responded Aug. 29, 2022
Thank you for your feedback! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again in the near future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JDarlene wrote a review Aug. 2022
Victoria, Canada57 contributions51 helpful votes
Our family has been coming here since Chris opened MBL. Daughter and granddaughter honeymooned here. It remains well kept, well run and the dinners are great. Our family visited this summer (11 of us) and the staff complied with all our requests. Not easy. You know we love it because we keep returning. However, here are 2 requests. 1. Please bring back the home made granola and individual yogurts for breakfast AND vary the baked goods. Having the same 2 types of muffins every morning for 3 mornings is not something one looks forward to on day three. Same with the meats/cheeses. 2. Secondly, Chris, bite the bullet and pave that road. We brought our bikes to bike the fab new bike path. Never again. Can't stand the dust and gravel we had to eat. Poor trees roadside. Surely, for an Inn of this luxury (and price), guests deserve to arrive/leave in cleaner style. Ok, that's my improvement hopes .... but we are already booked for next summer.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Of MBL, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge
Responded Aug. 29, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and thank you for your continued loyalty! We greatly appreciate the kind words and look forward to welcoming you again next summer! With your feedback in mind we work towards pleasing everyone however easier said than done. Please note Mackenzie Beach Rd is owned by the town and is not a part of our property, although we would love to have it paved it is not up to us but the town of Tofino. Thank you again and we will see you soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$137 - US$354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
middle beach hotel tofino, middle beach lodge vancouver island
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandAlberni-Clayoquot Regional DistrictClayoquot SoundTofino
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Middle Beach Lodge - Reviews, Prices UPDATED 2022 - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Middle Beach Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Middle Beach Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Cox Bay Beach (3.6 km), Chesterman Beach (2.1 km), and Rainforest Trail (3.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Middle Beach Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Middle Beach Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Middle Beach Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Middle Beach Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chocolate Tofino, Shelter Restaurant, and Shed.
Are pets allowed at Middle Beach Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Middle Beach Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.