Long Beach Golf Course & Campground

Long Beach Golf Course & Campground

1850 Pacific Rim Hwy, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0 Canada
Traveller (9)
Dining (3)
Room & Suite (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.0
#6 of 6 campsites in Tofino
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
2.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Long Beach Campground is the perfect spot for a family vacation, a surfing adventure, or a laid-back getaway. Nestled in the ancient rainforest, the Long Beach Golf Course Campground offers 88 RV and campsites in a wilderness setting and is only a few minutes drive from the waves of the world famous Long Beach in Pacific Rim National Park. Ideally situated between Tofino and Ucluelet, the Long Beach Golf Course and Campground's central location allows quick access to all the local attractions. Combine a stay at our campground with one of the many unique amenities that the Long Beach Golf Course and Campground has to offer. * 18 Hole Mini Putt * Driving Range * Championship 9 hole par 36 Golf Course * Restaurant * Cold Beer * Ice cream / snacks
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Golf course
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget

Location

1850 Pacific Rim Hwy, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0 Canada
Getting there
Tofino-Long Beach Airport
38.4 km
See all flights
Alberni Valley Regional Airport
30.9 km
See all flights
1 Attraction
within 10 kilometers
78Reviews1Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 17
  • 12
  • 16
  • 9
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lyn N wrote a review Nov 2020
Ontario, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Convenient campground in between Tofino and Ucluelet. Easy access when visiting either city with this campground in the middle and on an easy access highway. Campground was basic, there certainly are other nicer places to stay. Website advertised amenities during covid yet once checked in to campground discovered no showers available. Unlike most other campgrounds where there is no pet fee this place charges a fee ($5.00 for pets). NOTE there is an airport right beside the campground so noise can be an issue. Wouldn't stay again
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Campground of course has a variety of sites, more secluded/treed
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keith B wrote a review Aug 2021
Manitoba, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I golfed Longbeach golf course this past week. To start with, it’s a par 36 and I shot 41. The course is not one for a high handicap player. It is really tight, greens are small and the fairways slope towards the bush. If your ball goes in the bush, forget about it unless you want to see a bear. It is an interesting track, but not one that I would want to play again.
Now for the bad, when I walked into the clubhouse, there was a sign, “Members Only”. I wasn’t sure what that mean as it seemed to be the entrance into the lounge and bathrooms. I found out what the meant when our round was over and my wife wanted to use the washroom, she was told she couldn’t use the one in the clubhouse and needed to go to the campground. This is soo far from being a private golf course yet their attitude is that they are. They had no interests in selling me a thing within their clubhouse. When I asked about the prices, I was told, what do you want to buy, I have all the prices here on the list.
I realize that their are water issues this year and accepted the dead fairways. All of their watering is on the greens, I totally understand that. When in the clubhouse, I commented on the dead fairways and the reply was that they are being watered. Sorry but they are not. If they would of, I probably would of played 18 holes rather than the 9 I did.
After playing here, I soon understood all the comments on Trip Advisor.
My advise for someone wanting to golf here, stick to the mini golf. It will cost you less and is in better condition.
For this course to improve, they really need to address the poor staffing issues. They are not very welcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cory Brent, General Manager at Long Beach Golf Course & Campground
Responded Oct 7, 2021
Hi Keith, just for the record our clubhouse washrooms were for our members only due to covid and keeping their safety. I'm sure you can understand that. Our new campground facilities were just a short walk around the building as you were told. We definitely were playing firm and fast this year. Not to mention how narrow the course is! Golf can be hard so we always suggest playing from the shorter tees for most amateurs like yourself. We just had our Long Beach Open tournament the weekend prior to you playing with players from all over the island. They loved it! It’s amazing what our great crew can do with a limited budget and ancient irrigation system during one of the most dry years on record! Also, thanks Keith for commenting on the condition of our mini putt! It's much easier to keep synthetic turf green year round!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elizabeth G wrote a review Jul 2022
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It’s been three years since we last visited. Down to Covid restrictions, travelling around BC, our clubs follow us. We played nine holes three days in a row, we love our golf. The course was impressive, greens are slow, but you have to know what you are doing. Can be walked, but if you want to keep your swing, it’s a great nine hole course.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Tee times can be booked on line
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cory Brent, General Manager at Long Beach Golf Course & Campground
Responded Aug 11, 2022
Happy you enjoyed the course! We hope to have you back again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dano12210 wrote a review Aug 2020
Calgary, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked 2 nights at Longbeach campground but will never return. Showers are closed for Covid but explain to me why they are closed when the whole idea of Covid is better hygiene to lessen risk of infection. Also main washrooms did not open until 10 AM and had to use smaller outhouse toilets. Toilets have small light on to enter but as soon as you close the door light goes out, now your sitting there in the dark as you evacuate. Stayed only 1 night after paying for 2 never go back
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cory Brent, General Manager at Long Beach Golf Course & Campground
Responded Aug 28, 2020
Thanks for your critique! But it is concerning that you needed more of an explanation as to why our showers were closed due to Covid 19? If you would like more information as to why they were closed feel free to go to the British Columbia Lodging and Camping Association's website and read their recommendations regarding showers during this pandemic. Yes! our main washrooms do not open until 10am as you were told at check in but the flush toilets and outhouses are open for use. How many more toilet options should we have? In regards to the lighting in the bathrooms you should have told a staff member that the lights were dim. They are battery operated motion sensor lights (because there is no power available in the campground itself) that could have needed new batteries. Also, motion sensor lights work with motion and you would have only had to wave your arm to get them to turn back on. One star for value, cleanliness and service? You may need to adjust the scale you evaluate on when camping. I suggest that next time you stay in a hotel. That way you can have all the comforts of home while travelling during a global pandemic!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wildcoastrosie wrote a review Sep 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Not sure why all the negative reviews. This is a laid back Tofino style campground, not fancy but we have always had a great time here.

We camped in RV 4 with our friends in RV 3 for 5 nights in Sept/20 and had an unbelievable time.
The sites are comfortable & the staff were very friendly & accommodating.
We enjoyed golf during the day (on a fantastic course) & fire pits @ night.
The icing on the cake was Tacofino was open for business in the restaurant right next to the pro shop & us! We lucked out...no line ups & the best tacos on the planet.
Exceptional trip...our 2nd year there & already planning for next year.
Thanks Cory & staff...you guys ROCK!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cory Brent, General Manager at Long Beach Golf Course & Campground
Responded Sep 18, 2020
Thanks for your review! Always great seeing friendly faces especially during these uncertain times. We looking forward to hosting you again next year!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matt wrote a review Mar 2013
Kelowna, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I've been on a lot of camping trips in my life and this was by far the worst. I booked 2 camp sites for 3 nights over the Canada Day long weekend. It was busy and loud (to be expected on Canada Day). On the second night a fight broke out between a couple guys in front of the outhouse next to our camp site. I was sleeping so I didn't hear anything but apparently it was loud. Well, someone complained and said it was our campsite creating the noise. The next morning the manager and security came by and told us we had to leave because of the noise complaint! We tried to reason with them, explaining there was a fight outside the outhouse located right beside our site. The manager said he believed us but had made his decision so we had to leave. Unbelievable! So we had to pack up and find another campground for a final day. It was a huge inconvenience. Stay away from this campground!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2012
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CyclingTheWorld wrote a review Aug 2014
Vancouver, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Where to start?
We arrived there after doing all other campground (I was not convince by what I saw online that this would be our first choice); this is our first trip to Tofino where all other campgrounds were full. At our arrival we had a very poor Customer Service. The guys at the reception was very rude and was putting pressure one people coming in that wanted to take a look at the sites before paying. When we view the first allocated spot it was HORRIBLE; there were no spot for our tent as the lot was on a slop and the ground was mix rock and pot holes. We went back to tell him that it was not appropriate for a tent, the guy was trying to argue... really! We seen are share of campground haven't been camping all our life, in good part in the backcountry. He finally gave us a second lot where we found one little spot possible for our tent. The ground was very used; no maintenance is done. We didn't want to sit on the scary looking picnic table. The fire pit had been move so many time that the ground was covered by ash here and there.

The campground is accommodated with Portable toilet everywhere. Some may like that more than outhouse... I don't. Not to mention that most of them are full. You have to walk back at the entrance to have flush toilettes and showers. The washroom are beaten up and seem to be a collection of material they found in the dumpster. The SHOWER was a SAFETY HASARD and the designed is awkward. There's two (2) set of two (2) showers together. If you lock the room then you are taken 2 showers. The worst is the light! The light (electricity) runs above the shower (less than 2 feet above the shower head) and is not protected. The showers are facing the little "wanna-be mini-putt" (read more about the mini-putt below) and the restaurant's patio, making it a little awkward for both the campers and the customer of restaurant and the "mini-putt".

In the office they have all the poster that tell you that you HAVE to keep your site "bear proof" but no staff go around to make sure that it's done. Our direct neighbor was the anti-example of a "bear proof" site. Their garbage was left under their table all day and all night. We luckily didn't get any bears around (this summer we saw more bear on our hikes then any other years before in BC). But we had the pleasure of being wakened up by crows visiting our neighbors and during the day we tried to nap and the whole time we had crows in the background noise. In the rules they was mention that you can't use a generator... well with the lack of staff, we had a neighbor that used it multiple time a day (for those that don't know, it's very noisy and is ruining the experience for everyone around that are actually CAMPING).

We saw a total of 3 staff, only one at the time (two guys that worked sitting at the reception and one security guard, at the entrance). We didn’t see any staff on the campground. It’s minimum work and minimum maintenance.

I don't recommend this place!
Tofino need more campgrounds. If you were looking to start a business, this would be a great moneymaker.... but PLEASE make it right!

Oh and the “wanna-be mini-putt” is ridiculous. It’s a after though that was not put well together. There’s better thing to do!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Just don't go!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Devorah D, Manager at Long Beach Golf Course & Campground
Responded Mar 27, 2015
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay. We are saddened to hear your comments about our hospitality, amenities, and service. We are usually known for our friendly & attentive staff that make a point to go out of their way to be helpful and fair. We are truly sorry that you felt differently and would like to apologize. As you may have observed from your time in our area, July & August are considered our prime months and with that our region sees approx 10,000 visitors daily. Most campgrounds in the region - including the Long Beach Campground run at 100% capacity. This can mean up to 300 - 400 visitors on a nightly basis. So -On a positive note, we are happy to hear that we were able to offer you another site that was more suitable for your needs. In order to provide more convenient services for our guests and save them the quick walk back to the campground office we have do have Portable Toilets set up around the campground. These are checked and maintained daily and are dumped 3x a week. We agree - outhouses and porte potties are not for everyone but many do appreciate that there are there in the middle of the night. These flush toilets are open 24 hours a day for those who do not like the porte potte experience. Some exciting news to share with you- we are giving our Campground office, flush toilets and free showers a face lift. And it is exciting! We know a shower is a great treat when camping and we appreciate being able to offer this service to our guests. Unfortunately, this may be the last year for the FREE Showers as we have been faced with paying for water for 2015. In regards to your feedback regarding having a more visible presence out in the campground to help enforce our Bear Aware Program, deal with unkempt sites, and noise. We have listened to your feedback and we agree - there are always ways to improve. We will be increasing our daily patrols in the campground area, we have re worked our website to clearly define our rules & regulations, we have added some new restrictions, we have added a very clear Bear Aware Page, we are working with Parks Canada to access important information about Bear Aware Practices and have will have those readily available for people during their check in. We are working hard very hard to be able to provide a very welcoming campground that can be enjoyed by many and hopefully we can enjoy respectful guests that are stoked to come and enjoy the beauty that surrounds them. We are sorry your experience wasn't a positive one. Oh and the “wanna-be mini-putt” is ridiculous. It’s a after though that was not put well together. There’s better thing to do!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mobydick20152015 wrote a review Jul 2015
Ottawa, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This campground was terrible. It was dirty and badly managed. The restaurant is now closed at the golf club so obviously on its last legs. The RV sites are right next to the airport with little/no landscaping. The two showers for everyone on site were filthy and limited bathrooms were run down. Despite an almost full campsite, not enough staff being hired to clean and care for the facilities. Felt sorry for the few people working there, who had too much work to accomplish for all the campers. Several international visitors arrived, totally dismayed at their barren campsites and being next to the airport/helicopter pad. Could be brilliant with better management and more staff.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HappyCamperrx7 wrote a review Jul 2018
Vancouver, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
From start to finish my trip to Tofino and the Pacific Rim national park was hindered by this facilities staff and campground conditions. To start, the staff sent us to the wrong campsite without us being aware. When the young man that worked there came to tell us there had been a mistake, he stated that it was a “mistake on both our parts” and had corrected the situation by putting another party in our nicer, cleaner, originally booked campsite. Which left us in a small lot in the sun from morning till sundown.

Being someone that works on jobsites with portables as bathrooms. The ones at this campsite were the worst I have seen, disgusting... So bad in fact that I needed to take a photo. They remained overflowing from the start to finish of our stay even after letting the staff know daily of theyre condition with no attempt to change anything.

This is the first review I have ever written. Will never come back. Glad i spent most my time at the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cory B, General Manager at Long Beach Golf Course & Campground
Responded Dec 5, 2018
Happy camper? You may want to change your name to "trying out camping for the first time" Sorry the portables were used. That's what happens, people go to the bathroom in them. It was the busiest season ever in this area and porta potties do fill up on long weekends with no companies available to empty them until the next business day. We have addressed the issue and installed flush toilets throughout the campground. Great photo! You should have showed a manager or staff member that so we could have taken care of that mess. A mess that was created by one of your fellow campers, I'd like to add, not us. There are many resorts in Tofino for $300 a night and they come with your own toilet to do your business in or on! Thanks for your support.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DFNDJN wrote a review Aug 2015
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I planned a trip to the Island with my parents. We decided to camp starting at Tofino for 3 nights. We reserved and prepaid for a site at this campsite. We regretted it almost immediately. The sites were so small that our tent and truck and my parent's camper barely fit, even though when the site was booked we were told there would be lots of room. The site was so low and ill-conceived that when it poured rain, the rain pooled into the area of the site where our tent was, despite our best efforts. We noticed almost every site was like that, no drainage or strategic place for tents to escape rain pools. It's rains a lot there I would imagine, so I'm not sure why the sites don't reflect that. A lot of people were in tents!! My mom and I walked around with boots on and some sites were a few inches deep!
Now that wasn't even the worst of it unfortunately. The boy who welcomed us seemed more interested in pre-scolding us for every little thing than making us feel welcome. Threatening a $50 fine for garbage left out (because of bears which is fine) and going over rules in a manner that felt like you were already in trouble not merely being informed. The bathrooms (flush) were dirty and the sink only had cold water and only a trickle came out anyway. The porta-potties were ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING!! they were ALL (as I walked around hoping to get a good one) pretty much full for the WHOLE time we were there! That's three nights and four days! Gross! The shower left much to be desired as well. It was dirty and not much better than the rain would have been to wash in. I would gladly have paid for pay showers if they were better quality.
As for the general environment, two of our three nights were spent listening to extremely loud and obnoxious (and I'd wager drunk) people a few sites away until 1-2am or so. Considering the pre-scolding we got upon check-in and remembering the "quiet after 11pm", I'm unsure why this was allowed for not only one but TWO nights. I know others were annoyed as well. We were going to complain but quite frankly the boy at the desk looked like he could have cared less about anything and we figured it'd be a waste of time.
Also, although advertised, there is no restaurant on site, so that should be changed on all advertisements for the place.
In conclusion, find somewhere else, especially if it's meant to be a special trip like ours was. This put a sour taste in my mouth for the beginning of our vacation. I was happy to leave and make the whole thing a distant, bad memory.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Luanne W asked a question Aug 2020
Kelowna, Canada35 contributions10 helpful votes
Can you walk to long beach from the campground?
Answer from 250cory
Hi there, You can access the beach by walking through a trail near the end of the campground(it is on our map you receive at check in and on our website). It takes you to the new multi use path on the highway which goes right to Long Beach. The walk is about 20-30 minutes.
Elizabeth G wrote a tip Jul 2022
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom260 contributions106 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Tee times can be booked on line"
Read full review
Tanya B wrote a tip Jul 2021
28 contributions22 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the campground all together!"
Read full review
Lyn N wrote a tip Nov 2020
Ontario, Canada133 contributions17 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Campground of course has a variety of sites, more secluded/treed"
Read full review
richlew1 wrote a tip Mar 2018
Vancouver, Canada1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"sides are clean"
Read full review
JohnGR2014 wrote a tip Jul 2017
Ottawa, Canada12 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"do not book the RV site behind the bathrooms"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tofino area.
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandAlberni-Clayoquot Regional DistrictClayoquot SoundTofino
NUMBER OF ROOMS
88
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Long Beach Golf Course & Campground - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Long Beach Golf Course & Campground
Which popular attractions are close to Long Beach Golf Course & Campground?
Nearby attractions include Clayoquot Plateau Provincial Park (7.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Long Beach Golf Course & Campground?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, a golf course, and a banquet room.
Is parking available at Long Beach Golf Course & Campground?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are pets allowed at Long Beach Golf Course & Campground?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Long Beach Golf Course & Campground offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a banquet room and conference facilities during their stay.
All Tofino HotelsTofino Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TofinoHotels near Long Beach Golf Course & Campground
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars