Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging

Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging

215 Campbell Street, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0 Canada
Traveller (210)
Ocean Front Studios
Room & Suite (87)
Pool & Beach (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
C$399
Go to your Happy Price
C$399
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#3 of 5 resorts in Tofino
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Duffin Cove, completely redeveloped in 2018, boasts Ocean Front views from every room. Our property is nestled in a remote rainforest setting, yet only one block from downtown Tofino. The unique character setting and location allows the quiet solitude to relax, explore the shoreline and enjoy West Coast living. Get away from it all and relax into the quiet lifestyle of West Coast island living. You will find us at "The end of the road!"
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Yoga classes
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Beach
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Hiking
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Room features
Private beach
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

215 Campbell Street, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0 Canada
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 83 out of 100
83
Tofino-Long Beach Airport
12.9 km
See all flights
Alberni Valley Regional Airport
73.7 km
See all flights
335Reviews4Q+A50Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 263
  • 43
  • 21
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
tek_rice wrote a review Oct 2021
Calgary, Canada149 contributions175 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
There are many things about Duffin Cove, and the A Frame Cabin we stayed in, that are great. The cabin #2 comes with a great view and is just a few steps from a quiet little cove, it has a nice kitchen that is stocked with essential kitchen ware and a larger than normal bar fridge that we needed (esp when we had to eat in bc many, if not all, the restaurants in Tofino are closed on Monday & Tuesday nights!!) plus it was handy to have food for breakfast right there too, the fireplace was a lovely touch on the cold wet rainy days & nights, the location of the hotel is within a few minutes walk of most everything in town. Note the hotel does not have a restaurant attached to it or any means of room service.
The staff made sure to text us prior to our stay and the day after we arrived. It was an easy way of communicating with them when we needed kitchen towels etc.
A few things that could be improved upon are the lights down to the cabins. Every third stair is lit up which during the very dark and stormy nights made for poor visibility. In our opinion every stair should be lit for maximum visibility and safety.
We were told the locks on the French doors were “intuitive” - whatever that was supposed to mean?! All we know is that it took my husband a few days to full figure them out. We could never figure out the windows beside the doors.
Would I suggest you stay here? Sure I would. It was pricey but for us to have the little cabin and the space in the room, it was worth the extra money.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be aware that many, if not all of the restaurants in Tofino are closed Monday and Tuesday because...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amanda Fuchs, Guest Services / Front Office at Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging
Responded Oct 31, 2021
Thanks for taking the time to write such a kind and detailed review. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the views in the cabin. With regards to the lighting on the steps, We take the reviews and comments from our guests very seriously and are always trying to improve. Be sure to let us know when you return to get your special returning guest discount!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TomCulb wrote a review Oct 2021
Spokane, Washington51 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I’m finding Duffin Cove Lodging to be somewhat difficult to review because it is a little bit of a mixed bag. Positives are i) an amazing location, sensational scenery that feels remote but is easy walking distance from most of the town, ii) nice bathrooms, and iii) staff that goes out of its way to please. Negatives are i) tiny rooms by North American standards (but reasonably sized bathrooms) and ii) views from building 3 (rooms numbered in the 300s) are much better than from the other two buildings because they look out the length of the small cove rather than merely across it. Since we paid for what was called a “premier” king suite, we were disappointed to have a room in building 2, and after one of four nights there we asked if we could be moved to building 1. They cheerfully and quickly accommodated us, and they followed up throughout the rest of our stay to be sure we were happy (we were).

The furnishings are attractive but minimalist, and they appear to vary quite a bit from room to room. The room we started in had a couple of small shelves and a very small hanging space, but no drawers, closet, desk or luggage racks. The room we moved into had none of those things either, but had maybe 10 cabinets on either side of, and above, the head of the bed. Oddly about half of them couldn’t be reached other than by standing on the bed, and then only by stretching farther than a short person could reach. Bottom line though is once we moved to the better room we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and we appreciated both the view and the anxious-to-please attitude of the staff (even though we pretty much lived out of our suitcases).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Get a room numbered in the 300s for the best view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scott F wrote a review Sep 2020
Victoria, Canada2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great room in an ideal setting walking distance for the entire town of Tofino. They are just up and running and are working out some kinks. The room rates are a bit high to lack 24h service, ice machine (ice available during service hours), etc.

The on site proprietors are very responsive and go above and beyond to satisfy. The bed is comfortable, room very stylish and well appointed, the deck and view from the room amazing. We look forward to returning.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kim and Mike Evans, General Manager at Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging
Responded Sep 25, 2020
Thanks for the review B5454IHscottf. For the record, we have never promoted 24 hour room service. To get that in Tofino your going to pay a lot more than our rates, which are well aligned with our competition. Hope you enjoyed your time in Tofino.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bobcav wrote a review May 2022
Manitoba, Canada517 contributions110 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 2 nights in a room with 2 double beds. All rooms have a view of the ocean and the trees. For some the view is off to the side, such as in ours, but with the huge balcony, we could sit on the end of it and watch the sun go down over the water.

What I liked:

The balcony
The view
Location in the centre of town at the end of the main street right on the ocean
Private parking for guests
Very clean and modern
Heated floors in bathroom
Large stand up shower
Comfortable beds and pillows
mini fridge and room safe available
Shampoo, conditioner and soap available in refillable containers
Staff was very responsive by text

What I didn't like

No microwave
Somewhat unsure about how private the bathroom was. When sitting on the toilet you could see the BBQ of the cabin below.
No tables in the room except one counter in the front entrance
Nothing to put suitcase on (had to store it on the floor at the end of our beds)
The only other shelves were at the front entrance but were so high as to be unusable for anyone shorter than Andre the Giant (no stool either - the shelves were just for decor I guess)
There was some information missing from the "welcome to the hotel" email we received. I didn't know if anyone would come to clean our room on a daily basis - which we didn't want (turned out no one did, so that was nice)
Also we didnt know that we could get a free bag of ice at the liquor store at the end of the street. Although when we texted to ask about ice - they responded immediately.

For all my complaints, I would probably stay again. It was a little more expensive than I'd like to pay, but the view and location were worth that. I would hope that the next time I stay that I could ask for an extra table or two for the room just to store things on so as not to have to use the floor or the bed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amanda Fuchs, General Manager at Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging
Responded May 27, 2022
Dear bobcav, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging. I did want to start by thanking you for taking the time out of your busy day to review our property. I want to take a moment to address some of the issues above; As you mentioned, you did book our Double Studio option, and as such does not advertise a microwave in the unit and is a stand-alone accommodation. If looking for this option in the future I would direct you towards our beautiful A-Frame cabins or our lovely Two-Bedroom Condo as they both feature a Kitchenette/Kitchen option. I do apologize for any confusion. I can assure you, that our guests' privacy is of our utmost concern which is why the bathroom windows do have the frosted effect. When it comes to additional "desk space" as well as luggage racks these are all available upon request and do apologize you felt you were not properly informed as to such. I did take a look at our confirmation emails as well as our "Welcome to the hotel" email to confirm both do inform our guests that we do provide stayover service for 3+nights at this time. I recognize there is a lot of information to take in via email but we do try to be as transparent as possible with our guests. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future and showing you all the amenities we do have available to our guests. Be sure to mention you have stayed with us in the past and we will be sure to link your history for a 10% discount on your next stay. Sincerely, Dana McBride Guest Service Supervisor
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LambSpice wrote a review Sep 2021
Toronto, Canada66 contributions65 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This modern lodge has been restored beautifully. The views from the balcony are amazing. The location can’t be beat, as you’re right in town and walking distance to restaurants, shop and services. The rooms are a bit on the smaller side, but the large balconies and big bathroom makes up for this.

Now for the disappointing part. During our stay of 3 nights we saw a few guests flying drones around the property. On our final night we were on our balcony enjoying our only sunset (due to rain on previous evenings) when the loud buzzing sound of a drone, being flown by guests from their balcony, flew for back and forth for about 20mins. I eventually leaned over and asked politely it they would please put it away. Instead, they flew it directly in front of our balcony. At this point we, and many other guests trying to enjoy a relaxing sunset had enough. Staff are only available in person from 10am-6pm, after hours by text only. The couple eventually landed the drone, but it absolutely ruined our final evening. I won’t stay here again unless staff tell guests they can not be flying drones when bookings are confirmed and upon arrival at the lodge. It is so intrusive to our privacy and enjoyment of some peace and quiet.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
allie R wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have traveled the world and seen many places but I think this hotel is the best I've ever stayed at. Waking up to the ocean sounds, sunlight shinning off the ocean and a warm breeze every day was a small piece of heaven with a perfect mix of modern design blended into a natural atmosphere. The staff went over and above to make our stay comfortable and made sure we had everything we needed at any time. Rooms are amazing with a comfy bed, high water pressure, clean and spotless in all places. Location is just off the heartbeat of the town, with ocean access and all rooms having ocean view, and the building built into the cove. It was quiet, private and felt like our own space. We were here as a couple, but could have easily brought our child, or booked with multiple couples to share the experience. So glad we found this gem and this is now our new go to when in Tofino. Huge thanks to all staff and management as you can see and feel the effort put in to our experience.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amanda Fuchs, Guest Services / Front Office at Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging
Responded Apr 13, 2021
Hello! We can not thank you enough for the kind words and review. We really appreciate you taking the time to recommend us. It makes us happy to know that you loved so many aspects about our property & staff. Thank you for booking with us and we are looking forward to hosting such wonderful people like you again! Warmest Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike C wrote a review Nov 2022
Calgary, Canada3 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The room is the perfect size for a couple. It's not a huge room but is very well appointed and the bathroom is gorgeous with a floor to ceiling window in the shower (frosted of course) and in floor radiant heat. The room comes with a mini fridge stocked with creamers for the Nespresso machine. The bedroom features a huge sliding glass door which opens to a nice large deck with two chairs and a small table. Perfect to sit out there to listen to the waves and take in the views. We were there Oct 26 to 31st and while it rained quite a bit and was cool, we always slept with the sliding door open enough to hear the waves and was the best way to fall a sleep at night.

Check in and check out were extremely easy and one of the things we really liked were the text messages we would get welcoming us to the property the day we were arriving and a few other texts guiding us to some of the local spots in town for food and drinks. Was a really nice touch.

If you're looking for a romantic spot to call home while you're in Tofino, we would highly recommend this location and when you book, make sure you get the Premium Studio, 1 King Bed, Ocean View. You won't regret it!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carmen B wrote a review Oct 2020
Vancouver57 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
we booked the premium studio. It has a spectacular view of the cove. The room is spacious. The bathroom large. They provided with soap, shampoo,conditioner and lotion that smelled fabulous. The place is quiet and restful. The staff is very helpful. The place is pretty much walking distance to the city center and the restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kim and Mike Evans, General Manager at Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging
Responded Nov 1, 2020
Thanks for the review Robereugene!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dvenema wrote a review Sep 2020
Calgary7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 4 nights at Duffin Cove. The service was wonderful. We received a text from Mike and Kim before we arrived to let us know that our room was ready for us. When we arrived, it was an easy check in, Mike was very informative, he walked us to our room and made sure we didn’t need anything. We could text them at any time to ask for dinner recommendations, house keeping questions etc. They were quick to respond!
The hotel is newly renovated and beautiful. The room was a bit smaller than we expected, but met all of our needs. There were lovely soaps, shampoos and lotions for us to use. Wonderfully soft bath towels. The bed was very comfortable with very nice pillows and bedding.
The location of the hotel was very good. It is at the end of the road, in a lovely little bay. We enjoyed some spectacular sunsets from our balcony. It was extremely quiet during our stay, we didn’t hear a thing.... we could have been the only ones there for all we knew! We would definitely recommend Duffin Cove!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kim and Mike Evans, General Manager at Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging
Responded Sep 13, 2020
Such nice words dvenema! Thanks for the great review and hopefully see you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
newmama wrote a review Oct 2020
Red Deer, Alberta86 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We couldn’t be happier with our choice of this hotel! I checked out many options in Tofino but something about this property piqued my interest...the location was stunning, morning coffee and also the sunset...with that view...cannot be beat. We loved that it was at the end of Main Street and so easily walkable to all of the awesome restaurants in town. The modern decor made the room feel spacious, and the shower overlooking the bay Was an unexpected treat, loved the spa like amenities and the nespresso in the room. Property was pretty full while we were there, but it was quiet. The bed was incredibly comfortable, in fact I have written to find out what brand it is as we want one for home. The hotel gifted us a small bottle of champagne to celebrate our anniversary, a lovely gesture. The entire trip was outstanding and we couldn’t ask for anything more.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kim and Mike Evans, General Manager at Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging
Responded Oct 13, 2020
Thank you so much for your kind words - we're glad we could make your anniversary trip special!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from duffincove
Tofino, Canada1 contribution4 helpful votes
Hi Paul K, Please note that we do not have air conditioning as it is not as common in coastal areas like Tofino. However, we are happy to offer fans upon request. Please get in touch with a team member at the hotel to arrange to have one placed in your unit prior to your arrival. Guest Services
Answer from Guy on a Bike
Coquitlam, Canada16 contributions2 helpful votes
They do have some ground entry rooms
Shayna G asked a question Aug 2020
Is there a pool/ hot tub?
Answer from duffincove
Tofino, Canada1 contribution4 helpful votes
Hello Shayna. No we do not have a pool or hot tub on site.
Lucille L asked a question Mar 2017
Ottawa, Ontario
Do you take dogs?
Answer from duffincove
Tofino, Canada1 contribution4 helpful votes
Hello - yes in almost all of our rooms we do (everything except the upper Ocean front studios - if you want an Ocean front studio the dog can not be left unattended). Give us a call if you'd like at 1-866-425-3448
Luigi D wrote a tip May 4
Istanbul, Türkiye7 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are 3 buildings at the Duffin Cove Lodge. The building closest and just opposite the Reception building has the best water views. "
Read full review
Mark C wrote a tip Apr 2024
Urangan, Australia18 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking available "
Read full review
Lyndaloo wrote a tip Nov 2023
Esher, United Kingdom1,533 contribution244 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms I believe have the great views"
Read full review
Lewy83 wrote a tip Sep 2023
37 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you confirm a room without a restricted view on booking."
Read full review
RhiannonBW wrote a tip Aug 2023
Birmingham, United Kingdom21 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check gov websites regarding travel from the other side of the island. Current road closures mean that travel times are greater than normal."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tofino area.
PRICE RANGE
C$368 - C$463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
duffin cove hotel tofino, duffin cove tofino
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandAlberni-Clayoquot Regional DistrictClayoquot SoundTofino
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging
Which popular attractions are close to Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging?
Nearby attractions include The Whale Centre (0.4 km), Roy Henry Vickers Gallery (0.3 km), and Clayoquot Sound (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and baggage storage.
What food & drink options are available at Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Schooner Restaurant, Big Daddy's Fish Fry, and Common Loaf Bake Shop.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging?
Yes, guests have access to yoga classes during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Does Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All Tofino HotelsTofino Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Tofino
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars