The Shoreline Tofino

The Shoreline Tofino

350 Olsen Road, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0 Canada
Traveller (222)
Beautiful views from the room.
Room & Suite (109)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 3 cottages in Tofino
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
We are a boutique oceanfront resort in the heart of Tofino, nestled between old growth cedars, hanging on the edge of the shore. Originally built in the late 1960's our property & its architecture are the definition of cabin vibes. A rich natural landscape surrounds the property which consists of an A-frame house and two A-frame cabins. With our modern surf shack cool, the comforts of home, and thoughtful touches we offer an inspiring yet laid back feel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Hiking
Fishing
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Room features
Dining area
Private balcony
Seating area
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English

Location

350 Olsen Road, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0 Canada
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 57 out of 100
57
Tofino-Long Beach Airport
11.7 km
See all flights
Alberni Valley Regional Airport
72.4 km
See all flights
222Reviews4Q+A41Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 163
  • 39
  • 14
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kate wrote a review Jan 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for three nights in early January 2020 in cabin 1, a simple, clean self contained unit with all you need, a comfy bed and breathtaking views over the east coast waters of the Tofino peninsula. The accommodation is perfectly located on the edge of Tofino so Town is about a 10 minute walk and Cox Bay and Chestermans beach are about a 5 minute drive south. Shoreline is next to the Tofino marina which offers numerous execrations and also has the 1909 restaurant which serves the beat breakfast and brunches we have ever had.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheShorelineTofino, Owner at The Shoreline Tofino
Responded Jan 8, 2020
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Hope to welcome you back one day soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laila PT wrote a review Apr 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were sad to leave Ucluelet originally, but when we arrived at the Shoreline with a rainbow over the mountains/water into our cabin suite 4 we were thrilled. Super simple check-in; we received a text with all of the details (and an email), the room was clean and there was a diffuser going that provided a beautiful scent the minute you walked in. The kitchen was well equipped! We had complimentary coffee and tea, cooking oil, salt and pepper. The products in the bathroom were the best (we're big fans from Toronto and used to always purchase these products from the Drake General Store). Wonderful aesthetic. Who doesn't want to stay in an A-frame with vintage flare. The reading nook was also a great sleeping spot (I wanted to wake up to ocean views so I ended up sleeping there). We even saw sea lions (or seals) from our balcony! Highly recommend using the sauna (with a view). We have already raved about the Shoreline to our friends and IG followers and can't wait to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Beautiful ocean AND mountain views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shoreline Tofino, General Manager at The Shoreline Tofino
Responded Apr 14, 2022
Hello, Thank you so much for staying with us and the amazing review! We appreciate you enjoying all the different aspects of our resort! So happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Please come back anytime! All our best, The Shoreline
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erica wrote a review Apr 2022
Toronto, Canada
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I traveled to Tofino as part of the last leg of a month long trip around the US and the island, to relax and rejuvenate.

The Shoreline is situated close to the town, but far away enough that you can enjoy the peace and serenity that Tofino is known for. This hotel is quaint, clean, cozy and equipped with everything I needed as a solo traveler.

The shower had good pressure and hot water, kitchen was fully equipped with a kettle and a bodum (very important for someone who wakes up at 6am and needs coffee ASAP). I felt "at home" during my short stay.

If you love birds, there are plenty to be seen right from the deck including Great Blue Heron a, Band Eagles and Rufous Hummingbirds (one has a nest right outside of Suite 1).

I just left yesterday and look forward to visiting again. Thank you Shoreline xo
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shoreline Tofino, General Manager at The Shoreline Tofino
Responded Apr 24, 2022
Hello, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Come back anytime. All our best, The Shoreline
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WeLeaveToday wrote a review Jan 2021
Vancouver, Canada
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed our stay at the Shoreline this summer and list Pros and Cons of staying here to decide if it is right for you.

Pros:

The location: The Shoreline has a great location in Tofino. It is close enough to town but also far enough from it to get a more peaceful and serene atmosphere. You also get lovely views of the bay and mountains in the background. We very much enjoyed sitting on our patio and watching the scenery.

The room: We stayed in cabin 2, which is a small 1 bedroom style unit on the 2nd floor (cabin suite 1 is below). We really liked the esthetic of the room overall; it had camping vibes with some touches of luxury, so camping shabby chic if we had to define it. The bed was very comfortable but felt smaller than a standard queen, the soaker tub and bath salts were lovely and the bathroom was clean and functional. They also had nice touches like a diffuser with a calming scent, local products like blankets, and upscale toiletries. We also really enjoyed the well-stocked kitchen that enabled us to go to the Crab Lady, buy some crab and boil them for dinner.

Cons:

The soundproofing: We did expect to hear some nose based on the age of the A-frames and other reviews and why we chose to stay on the upper floor but the there is no sound-proofing and you are truly at the mercy of the other guests and how considerate they are. Unfortunately, our stay was affected by how loud the guests below us were; we could hear them talk at all hours of the night, walk, and when they flushed their toilet.

The amenities: Due to COVID, some of the amenities were not available, which is understandable. We did not get to enjoy the sauna or the hammocks but appreciate that the outdoor shower was still available after swimming in the ocean and not wanting to trudge in sand.

Overall: We did enjoy our stay at the Shoreline but we are not sure we would stay again due to the soundproofing. If we travelled with family/friends and could rent both rooms in cabin 1, then we would consider staying again. While we did our best to walk without shoes on and speak quietly, not all guests are that considerate and you will hear way more than you want to. That being said, the views and setting were amazing and it is a unique style of accommodation worth considering.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from bridget reichert, Marketing at The Shoreline Tofino
Responded Jan 11, 2021
Hello! Thank you for your detailed review - apologies our sauna was closed due to covid but we wish to welcome you back and we love the idea of having friends / family renting the suites below - as it gives you each other privacy as well as a knowing the guests below will be on the same page as you :) Due to the cabins unique nature - our soundproofing is something we have been working hard on and will look to invest further in the future. Thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ruievnkamp wrote a review Nov 2022
The Hague, The Netherlands
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
When booking Cabin Suite 3 at The Shoreline Tofino, we were presented with a "suite" in a unique location, including a terrace, a patio, a seating area and outdoor furniture on the patio.
With this sketched image we decided to book this accommodation.

When booking, due to my wife's asthma, we already clearly indicated: NO PETS, which was also a reason to book Cabin Suite 3 (after all, it was already mentioned "NO PETS").

However, we came out deceived.
The beautifully described cabin was an old, poorly maintained loft where really nothing matched the description:
There was no balcony or terrace.
The patio with garden furniture consisted of the shelf where the front door was, with (just fitting) two iron chairs on it.
There was no seating area, no BBQ.
There was a dining table with two chairs that was so cramped that even the wall was already damaged by the chairs.
The bath was old and dirty, with the faucet continuing to drip.
The wardrobe consisted of a bar with two hangers for clothes.
The (too small) TV was on a rickety table at the entrance and could only be viewed if you sat on the floor next to it.

The cabin number3 was also equipped with thick (dusty) carpet, furs on the seats and wool blankets on the beds.
And all this on less than 18m3.

On the site of Booking.com there are several photos placed at this cabin that belong to another, much more spacious and better equipped cabin (number 4).
Admittedly, the location was indeed beautiful.
But a loft that cannot be closed on arrival (because the lock is broken) is not what we booked.

That was the reason for us to contact the landlord directly. When it turned out that it was impossible to get in touch with the landlord in any way (we telephoned, rang the bell at the inkeepers cabin, yelled in the yard), we decided to cancel and leave for another place to stay.
We have indicated this to the landlord via an email.

When you offer a SUITE we have a different performance. It is truly outrageous that this loft is marked with 5 stars.

As indicated earlier, the photos on the site are of Booking.com mainly of other cabins.
On attached photos you can see how poorly this loft was maintained (e.g. the entrance door and broken balustrade).
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shoreline Tofino, General Manager at The Shoreline Tofino
Responded Nov 26, 2022
Hello, We sincerely apologize that you did not have a good experience staying with us. Our cabin suite #3 is our smallest cabin which is the reason it is one of the most affordable accommodations in the whole town of Tofino. We do have a BBQ/deck/seating area which is open to all guests just next to the sauna at the front of the resort. Suite #3 does have a balcony with two outdoor seats overlooking the water. The manager did take a look at the door lock and we did not find there were any issues with it whatsoever. Again we apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. We will take the few comments in your review which actually have some truth and validity into consideration and continue to improve suite #3 and the resort as a whole. All our best, The Shoreline team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CliveDS56 wrote a review Nov 2021
Calgary, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for four nights and loved every minute of it! Central Tofino is just a five minute walk away. One of my favourite experiences was the outdoor shower which is equipped with body wash, shampoo and conditioner. Showering under a cedar in pouring rain in early November was magical. We never got tired of the bird life which included bald eagles, king fishers, hummingbird and stellar jays to name a few.. The place is very bright and has a very basic kitchenette and mini fridge. Though close to the road, the place is very quiet. Hiking in the area is excellent and ther are a number of surf shops I town if that is your thing. Information about the general area is available at the tourist office just outside of town. We would highly recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shoreline Tofino, General Manager at The Shoreline Tofino
Responded Nov 5, 2021
Hello, Thank you so much for staying with us and for your wonderful review! We truly appreciate you enjoying the nature surrounding our resort as well as our hot water outdoor shower and sauna area! Please come back anytime! All lour best, The Shoreline Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephanie Collings wrote a review Aug 2021
Stratford, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed three nights as part of our honeymoon. The view here was amazing! We really enjoyed our stay and took advantage of a lot of great activities within close distance.
We would recommend the sunset flight with Tofino Air, surf rentals from Long Beach Surf Rentals just up the street - we took these out to Long Beach and had a great time. The Cox Bay Lookout hike is well worth the uphill trek. As for food - the Rhino has the best donuts, Tacofino has amazing fish tacos, and the seafood at Schooner restaurant was phenomenal! It was also fun to go to the brewery and Picnic charcuterie for lunch across the street.
I wouldn’t say the hotel is super fancy inside, but it was all that we needed with the view and location. We would definitely come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make reservations for restaurants as things are super busy. The hotel was always nice and quiet...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shoreline Tofino, General Manager at The Shoreline Tofino
Responded Aug 7, 2021
Hello, We are so glad you enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us! Congratulations and all our best! The Shoreline Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joseph F wrote a review Oct 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Generally good and clean. nice location right at waterfront with view of pier and ocean. Major shortcoming is the lack of shower inside the suite, only a bathtub. This makes it hard to wash your hair. The shower outside is at the open area for surfers to rinse off sea water and it is no roof/covering.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: nice location but be aware of the lack of shower amenity inside the ensuite bathroom.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shoreline Tofino, General Manager at The Shoreline Tofino
Responded Oct 30, 2022
Hello, Thank you for the review. Yes our suite #3 is only equipped with a bath tub and no shower which is reflected in the cost of the suite. Our heated outdoor shower is actually quite nice and is covered and is available to all guests. All our best, The Shoreline Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharon S wrote a review Sep 2020
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a girls getaway in the A-Frame House. It was super cute and well decorated with a special blend of oils for the diffuser that made for lovely welcome. Beds were comfy and the kitchen seemed to have all the main things you would need (except no matches to start a fire so make sure to pack some). There is a BBQ on the patio in the front with a nice outdoor dining table and a great hot tub on the back patio (which also has a picnic table). Plenty of space. I do wish there was a screen door to prevent bugs/flies from coming in but minor issue. Was easy to retrieve the keys, neighbours were kind and there was even a friendly cat that dropped by the patio our first night. Short walk to restaurants - would definitely book here again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shoreline Tofino, General Manager at The Shoreline Tofino
Responded Sep 16, 2020
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate you noticing all of our details we have in place for the comfort and relaxation of our guests such as the essential oil diffusers. Happy to have you girls back anytime and thank you for the appreciation of our resort. Take care, The Shoreline
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vipul wrote a review Jun 2023
Vancouver Island, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed with my wife in cabin-3.. Just amazing 🤩 location.Cabin is very well meticulously made 🙌👌👌Being a vegetarian- we generally cook our own food on our vacations & take all necessary things with us but this time we missed so many things. Up on our request manger Shawn immediately organised electric stove & cutlery etc. for us - it was so helpful 🙏🏻 Big Thank You Shawn 🙌🙏🏻👍 It was an awesome 🤩 experience staying with shoreline 😊👍We’r gone a back soon guys 😃👍
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shoreline Tofino, General Manager at The Shoreline Tofino
Responded Jun 28, 2023
Hello, Thank you so much for staying with us and for the amazing review! Please come back anytime! All our best, The Shoreline
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelly H asked a question Jan 2022
Vancouver Island, Canada
Do you allow small dogs
Answer from TheShorelineTofino
Vancouver, Canada
Cabin suite 1 and garden suite 5 are pet friendly
tracy448 asked a question Mar 2019
Vancouver Island, Canada1,480 contribution146 helpful votes
Are there any bbq’s?
Answer from TheShorelineTofino
Vancouver, Canada
Yes - there is a common area bbq for use for all guests
tracy448 asked a question Mar 2019
Vancouver Island, Canada1,480 contribution146 helpful votes
Are there any bbq’s?
Answer from TheShorelineTofino
Vancouver, Canada
There is s common bbq for all suites and a private bbq for the house
Answer from TheShorelineTofino
Vancouver, Canada
Yes! You can easily book online. Please visit our website provided (unable to respond with a link) Would love to host you :)
Troy K wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We loved Tofino in the winter and the hot tub at The Shoreline was that special touch that made our stay even better!! "
Read full review
Ann G wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We loved Cabin #1 on the lower level. All units have their own private entrances. "
Read full review
Joseph F wrote a tip Oct 2022
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"nice location but be aware of the lack of shower amenity inside the ensuite bathroom. "
Read full review
natcav18 wrote a tip Aug 2022
Vancouver, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"#3 for singles or girls weekend, #4, #5, or main house."
Read full review
LoveTravel657261 wrote a tip Jul 2022
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No turn around in parking lot so had to back all the way out."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tofino area.
PRICE RANGE
C$240 - C$471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Tofino Inlet Cottages
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandAlberni-Clayoquot Regional DistrictClayoquot SoundTofino
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Shoreline Tofino - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Shoreline Tofino
Which popular attractions are close to The Shoreline Tofino?
Nearby attractions include The Whale Centre (1.0 km), Roy Henry Vickers Gallery (1.2 km), and Clayoquot Sound (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Shoreline Tofino?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a sauna.
Which room amenities are available at The Shoreline Tofino?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Shoreline Tofino?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Shoreline Tofino?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Shoreline Tofino?
Conveniently located restaurants include Shelter Restaurant, Shed, and The Schooner Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Shoreline Tofino?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Does The Shoreline Tofino have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Tofino HotelsTofino Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Tofino
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars