The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens

The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens

1084 Pacific Rim Highway PO Box 886, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0 Canada
The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens
Traveller (46)
The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens
Dining (3)
Our comfortable, quiet rooms
Room & Suite (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#3 of 4 hostels in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Ecolodge at Tofino Botanical Gardens is a 10 room bed & breakfast lodge, located in a whimsical 12 acre rainforest garden. The Ecolodge was designed for the conscientious traveler looking for quiet, clean, affordable accommodation in Tofino, with a focus on groups, retreats, family reunions and education and learning opportunities. The Ecolodge features a large common kitchen, dining room and lounge, and cozy fireplace. Instead of TVs and telephones in rooms, the Ecolodge has a well stocked library. Most rooms have shared washrooms, with two ‘family suites’ featuring private washrooms. Classroom facilities are available to Ecolodge guests and other Tofino visitors for meetings, presentations, yoga classes and more. Rates include breakfast and all guests are encouraged to roam the 12 acre waterfront gardens, exploring the natural and cultural histories of Clayoquot Sound and take part in our educational offerings.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Board games / puzzles
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Coffee shop
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English

Location

1084 Pacific Rim Highway PO Box 886, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0 Canada
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 51 out of 100
51
Tofino-Long Beach Airport
10.4 km
See all flights
Alberni Valley Regional Airport
72.9 km
See all flights
50Reviews0Q+A15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 21
  • 16
  • 8
  • 4
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Rhonda - Sparks B wrote a review Aug 2020
Kelowna, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My bestie and I had a trip planned for over a month to Ecolodge in Tofino. We were on route to the ferry when I got a call from my mom tell me my son was going into an emergency surgery, so of course I turned around to go home to West Kelowna. When I call the lodge they asked for the reason we were cancelling and the fully refunded us our weekend stay. The compassion of the reservation agent blew me away and I’m so grateful for the service I received. I will definitely rebook my vacation as soon as I have the time to do so. Thank you so much for your amazing service and gratitude Ecolodge.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nelly_wanders wrote a review Oct 2016
Brussels, Belgium
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Lodging in Canada is generally expensive, ok, but THIS was a joke! We paid 365 Canadian dollars for 2 nights in a double room, shared bathroom and restroom (men on the ground floor, women on the first floor). Not even a sink in the bedroom. Breakfast is poor (no not everybody likes oatmeal), and you have to clean your dishes yourself afterwards.
Long story short: comfort/service of a hostel, price of a luxury hotel. Cut the price in 2 and you will have 5 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stuart A wrote a review Aug 2016
LONDON
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We paid 550 canadian dollars for three nights in a twin.
Room was very clean and the rooms were nicely maid but for the money I expected more.

There was no where to hang the towels.
You have to do your own washing up even after breakfasts.
Shared toilets and showers mean you rely on others being considerate after use.
The breakfast itself was limited ie porridge and toast, let them know ahead if you have dietary needs.

It really is an overpriced hostel and something more for ecolovers than your average tourist.

Worst thing was that that the walls and especially the ground floor ceiling is very thin, I heard every footstep of the littlen above me at 6 am. Very noisy .

For the money I expected so much more.
The gardens are nice but mainly for the views of the mudflats.
If I went back and wanted to see the gardens I would just pay the 12 dollar entry fee.

The people there were lovely and friendly but as a general place of tourist accommodation I found it to be misleading and accidentally missold.

Please understand however that wherever you stay, water in tofino and ucluelet really does have to be conserved so I agree with their ethos (even though I think a hand dryer would be more eco friendly than paper towels ).
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jutta R wrote a review Oct 2011
Abbotsford, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Ecolodge of Tofino must have used a set decorator for their website,because the place itself is bare bones, no soap,shampoo,tissues, tv or radio and minimal furnishing.The promised breakfast was cold oatmeal after which you are required to wash your own dishes.
Shoes can also not be worn in the house.
We felt totally misled already upon arrival but too tired to search for alternative accomodation, much to our regret, the next morning when we encountered an exterminator upstairs in the rooms wearing a Hazmat suit
Read more
Date of stay: October 2011
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoMaurino wrote a review Jan 2018
Madrid, Spain
3.0 of 5 bubbles
It is like a mountain lodge, with one shared bathroom for women and one for men, a common room and comunal kitchen. Rooms are a bit basic. Everything is extra clean, that wasn't a problem at all. Breakfast was ok (you need to clean your dishes after yourself though). I guess we had wrong expectations, as we thought we were heading to some sort of boutique hotel. You'll like it if you enjoy organic food and a hippy vibe.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trishalishy wrote a review Jul 2017
St. Albert, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked last minute 'walk in special' queen bed with a shared bathroom on the main floor for $149/night plus tax. The room was very clean and robes were provided which was a nice touch with the shared bathrooms. However the ladies bathroom was a bit of a walk down a hall and upstairs. The walls are very thin so people upstairs walking/ kids running till 10pm was very loud. No TV in room - not a biggie but for the price it would have been nice. Bed was AWFUL. I think for cleanliness there was a rubber topper on the bed so it sounded and felt like you slept on an air mattress.
Breakfast is a shared affair included in the price but came out at 7am and no coffee till 8am which seemed late to us. Breakfast was continental but you need to be sure to be on time or nothing will be left.
I have to compliment it was very clean, including the bathrooms but didn't appreciate the noise and poor bed for the cost. It was more like an $80/night upscale hostel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Camaci wrote a review Sep 2012
Geneva, Switzerland
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Don't expect a bedroom like the one shown on the website. The location itself is nice and it was high season, but paying CAD 149.00 plus taxes and not being able to sleep is unacceptable. The concept of sharing the kitchen and bathrooms was OK since it was the deal, but “eco” should not mean an old bed with a worn out noisy box spring, and a more noise due to thin walls. In fact, some people went to sleep in their cars. Bathrobes and slippers were less than inviting. Food smell was everywhere including in bedding. This is a lodge, but being cheaper should not mean less than decent accommodations.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2012
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from George P, Owner at The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens
Responded Sep 27, 2012
Dear Camaci, We are sorry to hear that the Ecolodge at Tofino Botanical Gardens did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that we take all feedback seriously, and will do our utmost to address the concerns you have raised. The bathrobes and slippers provided to guests are laundered between each stay, and we have inspected each bed frame to tighten them where necessary. While none of our mattresses or box springs are more than two years old (since our extensive 2010 renovation), again, we're sorry they did not meet your needs. We hope that you will give us a try again in the future, but regardless, we hope you will come back to enjoy the beaches, scenery and community of Tofino. Please contact me directly at info@tbgf.org should you have any more feedback or wish to reply to this. Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on Tripadvisor. --George P., Owner.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jbosire wrote a review Jan 2017
Vancouver, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I guess we had not read much into the hotel, it is more of an upscale hostel. We stayed in a double room without a bathroom, or fridge, and had not realized this was the case until we checked in. There is a large dining area with a fireplace and a common commercial kitchen. There are also clean common male restrooms on the first floor and female on the second. Other than for the inconvenience of shared bathrooms, the place is very homely, people chat at the living room by the fireplace, have a drink or cook in the kitchen. The bonus is the garden.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for a self-contained room if they have any.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AmaliaD wrote a review Aug 2011
Victoria, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I recently stayed at the Ecolodge for the weekend. A great property - very clean and well maintained. At only $145/night and a hearty (delicious) vegetarian breakfast included, it was a pretty good bargain for Tofino. The walls are a bit thin....it could just be that I had neighbours with fairly loud voices, but there is quite time at about 10pm, which everyone observed. Also, our window didn't have a screen, so if you keep your windows open at night and you have the light on, you can expect a couple of moths visiting your room. We were able to rent a room with private baths, so we had to use the common bathroom facilities. I would've preferred a private bath (but that's just me), however, I will say that the bathrooms were always very clean. What made our stay enjoyable were the grounds - the botanical gardens and paths through the rainforests to the coast were gorgeous - and the staff. Very friendly, personable and accommodating.
We would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2011
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elizabeth B wrote a review Nov 2015
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I just attended a wonderful yoga retreat that took place here. I was delighted with the clean, cozy, magical environment at ecolodge. I would highly recommend this spot, especially with a group. We had the space to ourselves. It's like staying at your own private estate in the forest.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong here
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Dave H wrote a tip Mar 2017
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada23 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The common room door is loud when it closes at night - aim for the west side/upstairs"
Read full review
jbosire wrote a tip Jan 2017
Vancouver, Canada31 contributions13 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a self-contained room if they have any."
Read full review
Elizabeth B wrote a tip Nov 2015
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada30 contributions47 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I don't think you can go wrong here"
Read full review
Robin H wrote a tip Nov 2015
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"all rooms are very good."
Read full review
Monika C wrote a tip May 2015
Barrie, Canada4 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Some rooms have a shared bath, but others have their own. Specify your need."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tofino area.
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Clayoquot Field Station at the Tofino Botanical Gardens
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandAlberni-Clayoquot Regional DistrictClayoquot SoundTofino
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens
Which popular attractions are close to The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens?
Nearby attractions include Tofino Botanical Gardens (0.07 km), Raincoast Education Society (0.07 km), and Maquinna Provincial Marine Park (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chocolate Tofino, wildside grill, and Tacofino Cantina.
Is The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Tofino HotelsTofino Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Tofino
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars