We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8 Canada
6 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Exclusive Member Rate
Expedia.com
US$335
View deal
Hotels.com
US$335
View deal
Vio.com
US$316
View deal
PricelineUS$334
Booking.comUS$334
Lol.travelUS$414
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (844)
360
Panoramas (42)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#11 of 87 hotels in Vancouver
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Exuding sleek sophistication and full of Zen-like energy, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver is your urban sanctuary nestled between the mountains and the sea with a Forbes Five-Star Rating. Occupying 15 floors of the tallest building in downtown Vancouver, the hotel sits at the heart of the city’s most popular areas. Venture to nearby Robson Street for luxury shopping, take in the stunning nature Vancouver is known for at Stanley Park or revel in the nightlife on Granville Street – all within walking distance. Relax with a unique blend of treatments inspired by the natural beauty of Vancouver and British Columbia’s indigenous well-being traditions at Chi, The Spa or delight in a healthy smoothie at Ginger Juice Bar.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Children's television networks
Airport transportation
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Romantic
Languages Spoken
Chinese
Hotel links
Special Offer:Exclusive Member Rate

Location

100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
208Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
38Attractionswithin 0.5 km
2186Reviews26Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,781
  • 271
  • 82
  • 41
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
JonSan539 wrote a review Dec. 2022
1 contribution
I was a bit underwhelmed give the brand and it’s reputation, perhaps I had set my expectations a bit higher. Rooms while they were nice they did give a bit of a dated feeling. There was no Horizon Club so breakfast and all meals were in their restaurants which were not that great to be honest. Very basic options so we just stepped out and there were plenty of better options we could choose from. Overall the hotel is just ok, if I had to pick one good thing it would be the lady at the reception desk who checked us in, extremely polite and professional (Name was with a S). A bit unsure if I would return
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Martin, General Manager at Shangri-La Vancouver
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear JonSan539, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedback. We are disheartened to learn that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. On the other hand, we are glad to know that Sandamala had provided you a professional service, she is one of our top and senior team member. We sincerely hope that you would still consider staying with us in the future. Kind regards, Kate Martin
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jason M wrote a review Nov. 2022
Calgary, Canada7 contributions14 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Having stayed at The Shangri La Vancouver multiple times I must say each stay is more and more enjoyable. Had the pleasure of meeting The Resident GM Kate again and was great to touch base with her. The room quality and overall product that you are paying for is excellent. Breakfast at Carlino every morning is a treat. Quality of food served is excellent. Every staff member I encountered during my Stay was professional and sincere. You really are treated extremely well and like a valued guest when you stay at The Shangri La Vancouver. Thanks to all I encountered during my stay, you all work as a great team and it shows.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Martin, General Manager at Shangri-La Vancouver
Responded Nov. 29, 2022
Dear jasonmB2567KX, We are truly humbled by your kind words about our staff and our property. Thank you for always choosing to stay with us whenever you are in Vancouver. We cannot wait to welcome you back to your Vancouver home. Kind regards, Kate Martin
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elliekarl wrote a review Nov. 2022
Woodbridge, United Kingdom18 contributions24 helpful votes
A very pleasant stay and as expected excellent Shangri La service and cleanliness. The pool and whirl pool although not large were very relaxing after a long day travelling. Good fitness facility and enjoyable breakfast at Carlino. Due to the small footprint the hotel does not have a large lobby , bar area and the reception is quite devoid of atmosphere. ( The hotel's piano picture was cleverly used). Staff helpful and also available.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Several taxis struggled to get a signal for card payments when dropping off at the basement level.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Martin, General Manager at Shangri-La Vancouver
Responded Nov. 7, 2022
Dear Elliekarl, We appreciate you taking the time in sharing your feedback. We are glad to know that you had a very pleasant and excellent stay at the Shangri-La Vancouver and that our service and cleanliness was up to your standards. We hope that you would stay with us again the next time you are visiting Vancouver. Kind regards, Kate Martin Resident Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Annie A wrote a review Oct. 2022
2 contributions
We stayed at the Shangri-La Hotel Vancouver for our wedding. Everyone was welcoming, friendly and helpful during our stay. A young gentleman who helped us with Check-in, he was extremely helpful, genuinely kind, and caring. We pre-arranged our IRD breakfast on our wedding day for our guests and it came in a timely manner and food was warm and fresh! We also want to leave a quick note to OJ (night manager) who helped us with our reservations, arranging a beautiful room for us and thank you for your generosity and great service! I asked for bar stool and they setup everything in my room prior to my arrival. Room was clean, amenities were nicely presented in the room. A special thanks to Sameena and entire Banquet team! We had an unreal time at the Shangri-La Hotel Vancouver! They were fantastic and service was phenomenal! One of the Banquet servers named Angela, took special care of our friends and family and she truly made our wedding day super special. Words cannot describe how amazing it was on my wedding day. We also would like to show our appreciation to the Banquet captain (Female), we were unable to finish our main course and she freshly packed and delivered to our room. We were very well taken care of. The management went above and beyond to ensure our needs were met and that we were happy. Again, THANK YOU - Sameena and Banquet team for everything. Shangri-La service was absolutely amazing. We will definitely come back for our 1yr anniversary!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Martin, General Manager at Shangri-La Vancouver
Responded Oct. 20, 2022
Dear annieaP1563XT, Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Vancouver for your wedding. We are truly humbled by your kind words about our staff. Personalized hospitality is our number one priority, and I am glad to hear that you experienced the best our team has to offer. Be assured that I will share your very kind review with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you and your spouse back for your first wedding anniversary. Kind regards, Kate Martin
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
M F wrote a review Oct. 2022
3 contributions
A first class stay. We arrived early evening and check in was smooth and efficient. The room was spacious and very well equipped, whilst the bathroom offered a wide range of toiletries. Without doubt, this hotel offered THE best room lighting we have encountered. Specific overhead downlights in addition to side lights afforded excellent night time reading. We welcomed the evening courtesy visit by housekeeping, to further supplement any needs. Wide, comfortable beds ensured restful sleep. A pleasure to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Enjoy the experience in full.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
BarryLiu451 wrote a review Oct. 2022
British Columbia, Canada1 contribution
I’ve stayed at a few shqngri-la properties in HK, and Xian; however this one just doesn’t give the same vibe. Definitely a lot smaller with limited dining options, yet still better than the odd fusion Italian Chinese restaurant they had last time around, the people that work there however were quite nice at the underground lobby same goes for the Housekeeping staff we met on the floors. The price is very much in line for a Shangri-La hotel but maybe not at this location. I stayed due to loyalty to the brand but at this price point there are a lot of other good options to explore.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Martin, General Manager at Shangri-La Vancouver
Responded Oct. 7, 2022
Dear BLiu451, Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. We are sorry to hear that you felt our hotel is not comparable to our other hotels in Asia. We are a boutique hotel with 119 rooms which has a more intimate and private vibe, we have also partnered with Kitchen Table Group who manages Carlino Restaurant serving Italian cuisine inspired from Friuli region of Italy. We are glad to hear that you were able to experience our lovely team especially our housekeepers. Be assured that I will share your kind feedback to our team. We hope that you would still consider staying with us in the future. Kind regards, Kate Martin
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
richard36 wrote a review Sep. 2022
Toronto7 contributions12 helpful votes
The staff was fine. But the place is grossly over priced compared to other places. Internet was awful. Couldn’t make business calls. I complained and was told basically that I was not being truthful. That’s is so incorrect. Do not stay here. Bad service
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Martin, General Manager at Shangri-La Vancouver
Responded Sep. 30, 2022
Dear richard36, Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had difficulty with the internet connection. Upon investigation, our team did not find any interruption by our internet provider. As discussed during your stay, we had offered to send assistance to help troubleshoot the issue with you. We hope that you would consider staying with us again in the future. Kind regards, Kate Martin Resident Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
N B wrote a review Aug. 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom8 contributions33 helpful votes
My husband and I visited Vancouver at the start of August for a total of five nights. Because we had sandwiched our trip to Seattle in the middle - we had two different experiences. The first check-in at the start of our trip was smooth - we managed to get a room early and Vincent was a delight to deal with. We took the offer to upgrade to an executive room (balcony) with breakfast, and were glad we did. My husband did wish there had been more options for the breakfast, however the different courses was a nice idea. The bed was faultless and was very comfortable, though the sheets sometimes were tired and torn in small places. When we checked in again after our Seattle trip, the hotel was fully booked because of a cruise. This made the check-in service feel dismissive and rushed and when we came back at 3pm for our room, it still was not ready. We were then given an accessible room (which we had not requested), and were told that nothing could be done for the first night because they were fully booked. So we stayed the first night begrudgingly, and as predicted the accessible bathroom meant the water from the shower leaked substantially over the floor. This was the first time we were given an accessible room though we had not booked one. We were however moved to a different room the next day - thanks to Hasan and Vincent. The staff really are a credit to the hotel and one of the best things about it - a special thanks to Vincent, and Charlie and Brendon at Concierge. Brendon thank you for arranging to send my husband's sunglasses all the way back to the UK! The cleaning staff were also great, did a thorough job, and unlike other hotels, they really make sure that you do not need to keep calling to request water/ toiletries/ towels etc. We have a tendency to stay at S-La when travelling, and if ever in Vancouver again, we would not hesitate to book it. The location of the hotel and the service is perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Go for the executive room with balcony.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Martin, General Manager at Shangri-La Vancouver
Responded Aug. 29, 2022
Dear N B, We greatly appreciate the time and effort taken to share this kind feedback. It is our goal to provide personalized hospitality from the moment you step into our hotel to ensure you feel comfortable. Please note I have passed along your gratitude to Vincent, Hassan, Charlie and Brendon in particular. We hope we have an opportunity to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Vancouver again soon. Kind regards, Kate Martin, Resident Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mgb38 wrote a review Aug. 2022
Mississauga, Canada145 contributions91 helpful votes
+1
The service was excellent and that is what made our week long stay at the hotel a good experience. As others noted, it was confusing to find the parking entrance, but valet service was great for most of the time, and check in was fast. It was strange to have the concierge at a different level than reception. I loved the availability of boxed water from hotel staff and inside our room (we took another trip the week after and really felt the difference!). All amenities were provided, with the touch of cookies and flavoured water for our arrival, and rainbow coloured frosting on complimentary cupcakes to celebrate Pride the next day were wonderful! We ate at a restaurant for each meal, so I can’t speak to the quality of the on-site restaurant. The large marbled bathroom had everything needed, and i especially liked the privacy stall for the toilet, as well as the shower heads. I didn’t enjoy the temperature of the water as it often fluctuated at hottest setting - which was needed as hot was somewhat warm- much lower than other hotels with anti scalding mechanisms. The bed and linen were very comfortable and my hubby who is very picky with bed and pillow quality loved it and had a good night sleep every night. The sofa bed for our son was also comfortable. I could see some need for renovations, especially for the elevators, but overall, it was a good stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Rent a car if you want privacy to drive to the mountains and various other tourist areas
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Martin, General Manager at Shangri-La Vancouver
Responded Aug. 18, 2022
Dear mgb38, Thank you for your very lovely feedback. I am glad to hear that you had a nice week long stay with us enjoying our personalized service, special amenities and comfortable beds. We do have our elevator panel replacement scheduled soon so we hope that you can see them on your next stay with us. Kind regards, Kate Martin, Resident Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hivedoc wrote a review Aug. 2022
Kensington, Maryland255 contributions218 helpful votes
Shangri-La Vancouver is a lovely property in a great location. Like all Shangri-La properties, the service is exceptional and hotel very clean and stylish. Rooms are large with a sitting area and modern bathroom. Because the hotel has a fairly small footprint, there is little common spaces to congregate (lobby or bar area). The pool as well is quite small and seating limited. The gym is very nice and never crowded. Shangri-La Vancouver is a great option for a traveler that wants a clean, quiet luxurious space. It doesn't have the large elegant common spaces or bustle that many other Shangri-La properties have.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Martin, General Manager at Shangri-La Vancouver
Responded Aug. 8, 2022
Dear Hivedoc, Thank you for taking time in writing this review. I am glad to hear that you loved our exceptional service, clean and stylish rooms. It is also a pleasure to hear that you were able to enjoy Vancouver sunshine by our pool. We hope that you consider staying with us again on your next visit to Vancouver. Kind regards, Kate Martin
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$323 - US$485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
shangri la hotel vancouver
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouverWest End / Robson Street / Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
119
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Shangri-La Vancouver - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos (British Columbia) - Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Shangri-La Vancouver
Which popular attractions are close to Shangri-La Vancouver?
Nearby attractions include Bill Reid Gallery (0.3 km), Vancouver Downtown (0.3 km), and Robson Street (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Shangri-La Vancouver?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Shangri-La Vancouver?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Shangri-La Vancouver?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Shangri-La Vancouver?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shangri-La Vancouver?
Conveniently located restaurants include Black + Blue, Alouette Bistro, and Ramen Danbo - Robson.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shangri-La Vancouver?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Shangri-La Vancouver have airport transportation?
Yes, Shangri-La Vancouver offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Shangri-La Vancouver located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Vancouver.
Are any cleaning services offered at Shangri-La Vancouver?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Shangri-La Vancouver offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.