We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sylvia Hotel

Booking.comUS$155*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Sylvia Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,372 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sylvia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,317: English reviews
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a hotel of real character - no corporate sameness. It has its quirks but that goes with character. We stayed twice - so had two different rooms, both quite big. No air conditioning - windows that open! Meals, including breakfast, are in a public dining room used by many non-residents and as such breakfast takes a bit longer...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave310551
Ross D, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

We are a heritage site hotel that is over 105 years old. We try to stay true to our heritage and are very proud of the history of the Sylvia Hotel in Vancouver. We are a full service hotel with meeting space, a restaurant, lounge and patio for you to enjoy you're morning coffee, lunch and or dinner. I know...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

After years of visiting my son in Vancouver, I have finally found a fabulous hotel in a beautiful location and very reasonably priced. There are various sizes of rooms so be sure to ask for a small one if that's what your budget allows. I realize the hotels are trying to sell their larger, more expensive suites first but the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lorbo2015
Ross D, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that it took you a few years to find us, (we have been here for over 105 years), but happy that you finally did. Yes we do have a number of room sizes and shapes at different price points. So always call us directly for best rates and so that we can find the correct fit for...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location walking distance to Stanley Park, Aquarium etc. View over beach and English Bay. Bay front walkway/ cycleway. Helpful staff, good food and drink overlooking bay. Vancouver marathon was on when we were there and we had front row seats as runners came right past on a beautiful sunny Sunday morning. Delightful old building from late 1800s, well maintained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SALLY B
Ross D, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for staying with us. The hotel was open in 1912 (105 years ago and still going strong). The location is often mentioned in the reviews as the views and convenience of the location are the best in the city. (my opinion). I appreciate you mentioning the quality of the bed (after all we do sell sleep). Please return again...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The iconic Sylvia hotel is a lovely place to stay. The staff are well trained in customer service. The rooms are classic. There are photos around the hotel dating back to the early 1900's when the gorgeous green trees out front were small. English Bay and the sea wall are right across the street for a great stroll or a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb D
Ross D, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you and you're group for staying with us. I appreciate you mentioning the staff and the service they offer. Our crew are some of the finest in the city with a great understanding of how guest want to be treated. Thank-you Cindy, Ace, Michael, and Billy for making a difference in the stay of the reunion group. You are correct...

Victoria, BC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night while in Vancouver for a concert. The location on English Bay is superb for sunset and walking and cycling. There is easy access to a frequent bus into downtown and on-site parking for $18 per day. Staff were super friendly and helpful and the price for a standard room without a view is reasonable. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lozzz
Ross D, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

I hope you enjoyed the concert? the location is very good for people wanting to be in Vancouver but away from the downtown core. We are blocks away from Stanley park and the beach and English Bay are steps away. You can always count on a clean room and friendly service. We do have many room sizes and shapes so...

Kenora, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were more then pleased with our stay at the Sylvia. Loved the old charm of the place and the location is perfect for a stay downtown Vancouver. Right across the street from English beach and the sea wall walk to water taxis to Granville Island or Stanley Park in opposite direction. Many great restaurants close by as well. Priced...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
Ross D, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to write your thoughts about your stay with us. You have managed to mention all the things other guests want to know before they book a hotel. We do offer great value and the location is fantastic in a major city like Vancouver. Please return again so we can serve you again. Travel safe.

Grande Prairie, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Many restaurants and pubs in the region, running trails, short walk to Stanley Park, ideal location. Great restaurant for any meal, or a quiet casual evening. The rooms were dated and small, but quaint, and this is offset by the small amount of time spent there relative to all the surroundings and conveniences.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank milled2017
Ross D, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

Great header, I know you will get peoples attention with that opening. You are correct, most people that come to Vancouver do not spend much time in their room as there are so many things to do while in town. The chef and food and Beverage Manager will be very happy to read you enjoyed your dining experience while staying...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got lucky with choosing the Sylvia. Beautiful older hotel, and as we were on honeymoon, we got a room upgrade to a stunning suite that was probably bigger than our old flat in London. Location on English Bay was amazing - such a beautiful part of the city, and the staff could not have been more helpful. Had a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stuart Y
Ross D, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

Congratulations on your wedding. I am so happy that you enjoyed our city and your stay with us. The staff will enjoy reading your comments about their service as they all work so hard to exceed every Guests expectation. We are a heritage site hotel and of course the location is the best in the city. (my opinion). Please travel...

Salmon Arm, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called there "help line". Called me a liar. Reluctant to allow me to speak to a supervisor or a manager. Worst customer service ever. Called and didn't even get the option from the automated system to speak to a rep. I had to keep pushing "0" until I was able to speak to a real person. They called me a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hatehotwire2017
Ross D, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, I am so sorry that you had some issues with Hotwire. We always inform our guests to book directly with the hotel to avoid a third party getting involved for those reasons. We can help you with any issue if you book directly with the Sylvia Hotel, but if you book thru a third party like Hotwire and Expedia...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has a great location and I can see why people might stay at the Sylvia for this and perhaps the history of this hotel . Would not return as it is not good value for the cost. The room was very dated with a poorlit bathroom which was almost the size of the oversized closet. Little silverfish insects...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ZmrOtt
Ross D, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that you did not appreciate the heritage of our 105 year old hotel. We are proud of our heritage and I know that other guests enjoy the great service and value in staying with us. Thank-you for mentioning the location as I believe it is the best in the city. We do have many different...

713 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (429)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (102)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
View from Room (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Other (159)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (250)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Bayside Double Full Room (42)
Viewed
King Room (36)
Viewed
King Suite (58)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)
Viewed
Two Room Suite (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
1,551 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#49 of 89 in Vancouver
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
2,436 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
734 reviews
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#47 of 89 in Vancouver
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
A hodgepodge of landscapes, the West End combines verdant gardens and blocky modern architecture, with Victorian bits and Edwardian bobs in between. It is a paradise for takeout food, take-away coffee, and perhaps incongruously, some of Vancouver's most languid lines of beachfront. English Bay and Sunset Beach invite swimmers, strollers, and picnic-lovers to take in dusk settling over the water, or to jog along with the sunrise, offering breathtaking views at any time of day. The West End merges together so many looks and flavors probably because it functions a hub: its the leafy pit-stop between nightlife and entertainment venues along Davie Street, and the shopping paradise that is Robson Street, offering visitors beautiful parkland to rest on, and quick, easy food to re-fuel with in between ventures.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Address: 1154 Gilford St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Price Range: $148 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sylvia Hotel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Sylvia Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for one with a water view. Corner ones are especially nice.”
victoriab993, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Pay extra for the executive suite on the eight floor, the views are worth every penny!”
JenniferH968, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“A room facing the bay would be nice, we booked too late on a busy weekend”
Y2621KPsallyb, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the ocean and English Bay with view of Stanley Park”
milled2017, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are oddly shaped, but super-clean and comfy beds. A sea view is great, but you pay extra.”
T7477LCjenniferp, 3 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$155* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$155
TripAdvisorUS$155
Expedia.com
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates