We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barclay House Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

720 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 654: English reviews
Burlington
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Perhaps the only odd note about our three-day stay at the Barclay House was that we did not meet our host, Dennis, until the last day. He lives elsewhere and we were greeted by members of his staff, who served the generous breakfasts daily, on our arrival. However, on our departing day, Dennis was more than gracious with his time,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Never stayed at a BnB before but we stayed here as we could stay one night (post cruise) all hotels would only book for two nights. What a delight, I have been converted. This place was a fantastic location, we walked to town, it is in a beautiful street. We found the host Dennis to be fantastic, he had great...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RebekaKelen
Reviewed 16 July 2016

This B&B is in a prime area with easy access to everything! Quick drive to Stanley Park and walking distance to Roebson St. Dennis is a charming host and breakfast was splendid! Note to Dennis: We accidentally walked off with the keys to our room. We will drop them into the mail as soon as we can. Sorry for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
Lewes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

Location for shops, restaurants and main attractions - excellent Cleanliness - excellent Staff - very polite and Dennis was great, very helpful with advice and suggestions. Breakfast - very good, but would have liked to have orange juice and water and staff did not appear more than once to ask Bathroom in Garden Room needs updating, would personally prefer a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

Our first stay at Barclay House was in 2013. When our travels brought us back to Vancouver again, we did not hesitate to book our stay at Barclay House again. Dennis and his staff are the best. The house may be old (built in 1904), but it is well maintained and clean. The rooms are spacious and "cozy". The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SCKricket
St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Good Location, good breakfast and reasonably priced for Vancouver. They have off-street parking, too. We were here 6 years or so ago and liked it then and we were happy this time too, despite a change in ownership/management in the interim. We had the front room over the porch which was quite spacious. The only drawback was an old TV...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pickascreennamepicka
Eastsound, Washington
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Agree with previous reviewer that this is a difficult review to write. Upon crossing the threshold, we were presented with a charge slip for signature. While clean, the rooms could use some updating and repairs in the bathroom. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, cold store-bought muffin and an "egg-McMuffin" with lettuce and tomato on a cold bagel. This is not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jerry5162
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

A very difficult review to write, location, staff and breakfast are all excellent and could not be faulted or bettered. The problem was with the Garden Room. Whilst the room was comfortable and clean certain aspects needs improving, the shower was lacking in pressure and the bath had large areas of damage. A Floor Tile around the bath was damaged...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PHofUK
BarclayHouseBB, Public Relations Manager at Barclay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello PhofUK, Thank you so much for taking time for the comments. And we appreciate it a lot. But its a bit confusing. We inspect all the areas you've mentioned and we don't see anything that needs to be replace. The shower works perfectly and the pressure is just right knowing its on a ground floor. Large areas of damage...

Meopham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2016

An attractive Victorian house within an easy walking distance of all attractions. We had the room at the top which was clean, light and spacious. The extra steps to the room are quite narrow and steep. Breakfasts were varied and plentiful during our 4 night stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GordonRoger
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 3 June 2016

A great find in a B&B for our visit to Vancouver. The house is beautifully appointed, the room extremely comfortable and the staff wonderful. Our host Dennis was charming and gracious. His suggestions for things to see and do were right on. He even went out of his way to provide us with a "breakfast to go" on the day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sabba75

294 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (247)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
3,531 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
2,302 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
2,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#14 of 89 in Vancouver
2,110 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
2,789 reviews
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
A hodgepodge of landscapes, the West End combines verdant gardens and blocky modern architecture, with Victorian bits and Edwardian bobs in between. It is a paradise for takeout food, take-away coffee, and perhaps incongruously, some of Vancouver's most languid lines of beachfront. English Bay and Sunset Beach invite swimmers, strollers, and picnic-lovers to take in dusk settling over the water, or to jog along with the sunrise, offering breathtaking views at any time of day. The West End merges together so many looks and flavors probably because it functions a hub: its the leafy pit-stop between nightlife and entertainment venues along Davie Street, and the shopping paradise that is Robson Street, offering visitors beautiful parkland to rest on, and quick, easy food to re-fuel with in between ventures.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Urban living at its finest! The 1904 Barclay House has entered the 21st century as a luxurious, modernized five-star Bed & Breakfast centrally located in the heart of downtown close to major Vancouver attractions including Stanley Park, Vancouver Aquarium, English Bay, Canada Place, Granville Island and Vancouver's finest, trendy restaurants and shopping on Robson Street and Yaletown. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barclay House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1351 Barclay Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1H6, Canada (Formerly Barclay House In The West End)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Price Range: $134 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barclay House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Barclay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barclay House Bed and Breakfast staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Barclay House Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We've stayed in the 2 suites (Haida Gwai and Garden) and both were quite lovely & very private.”
 of 5 bubbles 822Richard, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Within walking distance to the center of town.”
 of 5 bubbles dddbh, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Two sets of stairs to get to the PEAK, but the room is spacious, bright and delightful.”
 of 5 bubbles 398patp, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The ground floor Garden suite has an outside entrance requiring a short walk and stairs to reach the main floor common and dining rooms.”
  • Bedroom
  • Panaromic photograph of bathroom
  • Suite's living room is through doorway on the right
 of 5 bubbles stephengG5775PG, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The Haidaway Room is your home away from home. Plenty of room to spread out and your own entrance.”
 of 5 bubbles jcim, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5