We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cambie Hostel Gastown

Is this your business?
Save
Traveller (40)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (1)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent5%
  • Very good15%
  • Average29%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible33%
19 Oct 2017
“Was expecting worse. Location is key here.”
16 Oct 2017
“I don't recommend this hostel”
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Self-Serve Laundry
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
6
20
39
20
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
6
20
39
20
43
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2018

Okay so apparently there is only one Trip Advisor page for the Downtown and Gastown locations, so for the record, my review is for the Downtown location on Seymour St. I was staying for 1 night and needed something central. Check in time is 2pm...More

Thank LiddleWanderer
Reviewed 13 February 2018

It's not as bad as the reviews make it seem. Didn't see any mouse, the common room is not huge but is big enough, really fast internet and the room can be really big if you're lucky. The worst on this hostal comes from a...More

1  Thank dego s
Response from Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel GastownResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Dego, Thank you for leaving us a review! We're happy you didn't let the reviews affect your stay with us. We're really proud of the services we offer and it's good you noticed that! We hope to see you back again soon.

Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

Cambie was our first stop in Canada and we were a little jet lagged. It was easy to check in after booking the private room on Hostelworld.. staff all friendly, breakfast deal was so great! Each morning the from counter gives you a $5 discount...More

Thank Ella J
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

The only saving grace of this hostel were the staff. Polite and helpful. Other than that I don’t have a good thing to say about the place. The bar below looks like a really good laugh but as we checked in late we didn’t go....More

1  Thank RossB88
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Good option if you're trying to save some money. It's not fancy and the room where I stayed was a little stinky but it was because of the humidity so we had to leave the door open for a few minutes. That's the only reason...More

Thank Diego C
View more reviews
Best Value Properties in Vancouver, Canada
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Self-Serve Laundry
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$24 - US$76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$24 - US$76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (40)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (1)
Nearby
Gastown
A visit to Gastown is like turning back the clock and
stepping into a bygone era. With the distinction of
being Vancouver's oldest neighborhood, the many
plaques that stud the cobbled streets of Gastown tell
the story of its colorful past, giving Vancouver's
history a more lively presence here than anywhere
else. Having been originally founded around a popular
worker's saloon, it's no wonder that today some of
...More
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Cambie Hostel Gastown staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"If you still want to stay here, avoid the second floor by all means."
Read review
"maybe the second floor to be far away from the kitchen and mouse"
Read review
"Dont stay here at all"
Read review
"Recommend 2nd floor for better sleep"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing